SPYSHOTS: Hyundai i20 – next-generation spotted

Spy-Shots of Cars

This is the second-generation Hyundai i20, seen here parked at a European winter testing facility. The current B-segment hatchback model is getting a replacement after six years on the market.

Set to debut at this year’s Paris Motor Show, the new i20 is likely to feature Hyundai’s new design language that will first be showcased on the Hyundai Intrado FCV concept, including a large hexagonal grille and sharper surfacing all around.

Hyundai-i20-005

Underneath, the i20 will share its platform with the upcoming ix25 crossover, while the engines are reported to be taken from the new i10. Hence, the i10’s two Kappa engines are rumoured to be included – a 1.0 litre 66 PS/94 Nm three-cylinder and a 1.2 litre 87 PS/120 Nm four-cylinder.

Other possible variants include a new N hot hatch – the new Hyundai performance sub-brand was first seen on the Korean maker’s current i20 WRC challenger. Next year’s entry is expected to be based on this car.

Currently the new Hyundai i20 is not slated to arrive on our shores as the previous model was not offered here either. But with the local B-segment market heating up the way it is right now, who knows?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Hyundai i20…the real actual Global small car in over 90 countries…

unlike some local jaguh brand…furthest country selling is Australia…not even half global journey…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
    • BLT Club on Feb 25, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Here, take my like! But seriously, the current version looks crappy so any improvement is welcome!

• Lol..the GSC u talk bout is still not available for retail. Not even on bolehland…cloner@minion

• ek eleh.. we dislike fake kzm.

• But tbh, when in wrap, the proton gsc looks more promising…. but that is when in wrap la, final product may be not… hohoho

• are they really good? I heard many times korean car owners said they wont go for another korean car after current ownership. This related to fuel thirsty and cost of spare parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Low Budget on Feb 25, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Those jokers talk kock to you-lah. Korean cars are really ‘Japanese Quality’ cars, you only need to see that their total yearly sales in the World to know why they can sell million cars a year.
      Just look at the regularity of new models being introduced year in and year out.
      Fuel thirsty? Depends on which model.
      Spare Parts? Yes, it can be a bit expensive, because Sime Darby is milking the car owners, by the way cheaper compatible parts are available from Ah Chong Workshop.
      The only catch in Boleh Land is the negative perception on Korean Make and thus the resale value is lower compare to Japanese make.

• fatchicken on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:14 am

oh korean cosmetics products very positive perception here, selling like hotcake!

• Lindalum on Feb 25, 2014 at 11:19 pm

I own a hyundai elantra. Good fuel efficiency, japanese car quality and jdm car accessories. If compare korean car and the japanese cars, i will choose korean car.

• ex-toyotafan on Feb 26, 2014 at 1:12 am

I used to buy jap cars in the past. But after giving the koreans a try. Its been 7 yrs now and i never look back at overpriced jap cars again. Money hard to earn lo…why should you let UMW milk u dry selling you substandard cars at ridiculous prices?