Volkswagen Jetta CKD to arrive next month – VGM

2014-vw-jetta-ckd-0008

It’s confirmed – the locally-assembled Volkswagen Jetta will be introduced less than a month from now. This announcement was made by Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) managing director Christoph Aringer earlier today.

This news has been a long time coming – DRB-Hicom has already confirmed that the CKD Jetta would be arriving sometime this year. The Jetta will join the Passat and Polo sedan and hatchback in VGM’s locally-assembled lineup.

To recap, the current fully-imported Jetta features a turbocharged 1.4 litre TSI engine producing 160 PS at 5,800 rpm and 240 Nm from 1,500 rpm to 4,500 rpm. This engine is mated to a seven-speed DSG gearbox. The CBU Jetta retails at RM151,888.

Volkswagen_Jetta_1.4_TSI_ 003

The locally-assembled version is likely to follow the Passat and keep the European specification of the current car – which also includes a soft-touch dashboard and multi-link independent rear suspension – instead of the American version featuring a 170 PS 2.5 litre MPI five-cylinder mill, a six-speed automatic transmission, hard plastics inside and a torsion rear beam.

This means the price decrease will be relatively modest – the Passat, for example, became RM14k cheaper through the switch to local assembly, compared to the Polo hatchback’s nearly RM30k drop.

Spyshots of the CKD Volkswagen Jetta at JPJ Putrajaya have already appeared, showing a car that is virtually identical to the current model externally. Inside, the head unit has been upgraded to the newer RCD 320 unit from the locally-assembled Polos, and the triple-knob air-con controls from the Mk7 Golf replaces the dual-knob ones on the current car.

CKD Volkswagen Jetta spyshots

Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI (CBU)Volkswagen Jetta CKD to arrive next month – VGM

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• SagaFTW on Feb 25, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Still..looks like a Saga to me!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 59
    • BMW Fanboi on Feb 25, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Aduh……. Drivetrain Selalu Gagal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 20
      • The Truth about DSG on Feb 26, 2014 at 7:53 am

Actually the DSG rumours are true. Any car, even with 2014 DSG box can only be sold in cold countries. If it is used in hot countries like Malaysia, it will be prone to continous breakdowns.

This was admitted in May 2013 in black and white by VW AG Germany in a press statement to the world.

There will be fanboys and owners of VW that will come here and say people are only spreading rumours. Well, they did this long ago when people were complaining about DSG issues in 2011. The fanbiys came here and said, all those spreading rumours were jealous and got no money, that is why they are jealous.

Then when VW AG came out with the press release in black and white, all the VW fanboys shut their mouths. All keep quiet and silent in forums.

Now, the VW fanboys and salesman are back again saying that the DSG issues has been cured and they were 2011 cars and older. But in actual fact, even VW Germany admitted, there is no cure for the faulty DSG. People in hot countries like Malaysia with lots of traffic jam will just have to suffer continuous breakdowns.

China got fed up with VW, they even told VW to give all their existing buyers 10 years warranty. When in Malaysia going to do the same?

Prospective buyers better read facebook comments in VW Malaysia page. Of course again, fanboys have come in and said those are fake facebook accounts. But strangely each of those negative comments come from facebook accounts that have been opened for years with at least 200 friends each. So, how can they be fake?

There is a reason why each service centre takes about 1 month just to make a regular service appointment if you want to service your VW. This is because they are overworked with hundreds of backlog DSG rosak cars. That alone they cannot handle. Everyday more than 100 cars come with DSG problems and all the workshops in Klang Valley cannot handle the complaints. You see Toyota, Honda and Nissan, call today, tomorrow can already service your car.

So to all VW fansboys and owners as well as salesman, instead of coming online and saying people are spreading rumuors, do something for your customers, go ask youyr HQ to give your customers at least 10 years warranty. Its not all about your sales. Do something for your customers. Because there are tons of customers having non stop DSG breakdowns and sometimes, even lives are lost because when overtaking happens, the DSG suddenly loses power.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 12
        • medic on Feb 26, 2014 at 8:46 am

If what you say it’s true,basically any car with DSG can possibly have reliability issues inc. Ferrari,Porsche,Merc A class etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
          • Cant Have it all on Feb 26, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Not true. Not all Dual Clutch system is built the same. Its like not all Automatic Transmission is built the same.

Even for VW, the 6speed wetclutch DSG is reliable; but the 7speed Dryclutch DSG is rubbish. So not the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Spirior on Feb 26, 2014 at 9:07 am

There is a strong link to DSG failure and DRB-HICOM connection to Proton. Because of their ownership of Proton, VWAG has become somehow infected. Detailed scientific researches are underway to prove this link.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
        • another copy and paste of a long text on dsg again. why are these guys so pain in the arse about dsg? do u actually own one? if not why are you wearing such tight panties?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
          • owner on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:54 am

mention vw, so sick of hearing people spewing dsg from their mouths always. give me a break. it can be so irritating. as if they owned a vw car. sigh. anyway, the jetta is really impressive. twincharged 1.4 litre engine – it’s a breath taking experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • Farq urself on Feb 26, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Do you own one? If you dont, then FarQ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
          • Acrix on Feb 26, 2014 at 4:01 pm

I would say VW is not doing anything to improve consumer confidence in the brand. Thus a 50% drop in sales in 2013.

• as a matter of fact, i do own one and very pleased with it. also, pls don’t hind behind stupid nicks like “farq urself”. be a man and use consistent nick across the comments. unless u’re wearing panties of course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Farq urself on Feb 26, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Lol. Its ur sister’s panties I am wearing…. :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
        • Bob_B78 on Feb 26, 2014 at 3:48 pm

i am a proud owner of a jetta n i still buy it even though i am aware of the dsg failure.
          Basically, VW TSI are easy to upgrade the engine performance.
          Like Jetta, upgrade the ECU only will get you 200 hp with 300nm. But recommended service is 5k instead of 15k.
          I have yet to sent my car for the 1st service therefore i would like to ask.
          Question 1: Can VW detect a modified ECU under normal service?
          Question 2: Will an owner whose car is under warranty but modified ecu service their car every 5k interval at VW just to avoid warranty void if VW unable to detect a modified ECU.
          I have feeling that some of those failed dsg issues are from those modified VW that did not reduce their service interval.

• Answer 1: They will hook up the ECU diagnostics system during every service and repairs to scan for error codes, datalog. Sorry to say, your ECU and engine warranty is now gone. Probably DSG warranty is gone too. (They will make up ANY excuse to NOT let you claim warranty if you did any tuning)

Answer 2: Unless you still have warranty, any VW owner would search for cheaper, more experienced specialists to service their cars. You should know that official VW service centres/aftersales service are expensive and SUCKS. They don’t have enough experienced guys, and parts availability is ridiculous!

Another thing to note: DSG failure is not because of carelessness/abuse/improperly serviced. It’s because the clutches and it’s mechanism could not handle the stresses in Malaysian/Asian traffic and weather.

Come on, frequent traffic jams (clutch frequently slipping/engage-disengage) + humid superhot weather + cooling system designed for EU climate + your ECU tuning = A perfect recipe for DSG failure.

• I am so scared my RV is falling. I want to sell my car also, used car dealers offer me RM60k. How to sell at that price? They all tell me DSG got lots of problems and use that against me.

• AutoFrenz on Feb 25, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Yeah told u so…PROTON has revolutionised a design language that makes others a mere follower…go go PROTON…gimme a P gimme a R…gimme an O…gimme a T…gimme an O again and gimme an N…yeehaaa….ngeeeiggghhh (this is a horse sounds)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
      • Maserati(Official) on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Damn it! why am I imitating the horse sound while reading your comment zzzz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • AutoFrenz on Feb 26, 2014 at 12:12 am

Hahahaha…what a joke…bunyi kuda betina ke jantan….hahaha…

• Sam tow truck on Feb 26, 2014 at 12:21 am

Maserati my fren. So happy to see you again today at chowkit. I know yr dsg fails again. Dont worry I wont tell your wife that you went for a quickie with some ah gua.

Thank you for your continous support of my tow truck service. Look like my funding for a new hilux for my mistress is emerging earlier than I thought.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • your sarcasm is almost as loud as the CVT roar in the proton saga when you step on the gas.

• Nothing to comment but i want to say…
      hi to all paultan reader!

• Yay! With the lowered price, now everyone can afford VW’s crappy service and use-less VW gearbox with the false 5 year warranty claim!!! Das-Rubbish!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 11
  • My prediction of price – 140k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • _xXx_ on Feb 25, 2014 at 6:24 pm

cut 5k, so 147k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Ang Pau on Feb 26, 2014 at 8:37 am

How to sell at that price? Jetta was a big failure to begin with. Hardly see any on the road. Sales were so bad.

Current Jetta owners will see RV plummetting. I think can get a good 2012 Jetta now for RM$70,000

Ooops, are you a Jetta owner? Sori lah bang, facts are facts. Now DSG scandal open to the world, I think RM$70k also lucky to get!

• Ang Pau, u got 2012 jetta for RM70k? I want to buy one. Pls sell to me. If u don’t have, then by all means, u can zip your mouth. All talk to balls is testament to a weak species.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • alldisc on Feb 26, 2014 at 12:10 pm

in mudah – 1 year old Golf TSI that was sold at between 148-155K in 2013 – advertised at 93K today.

a mere 60k drop in value in less a period of 1 year. imagine how scared used car dealers to accept trade ins.

see link:-

• where’s ur link?

• RV Jatuh Gila on Feb 27, 2014 at 7:50 am

Yes, Golf and Passat are dropping like gila but the biggest drop is Jetta. Nobody wants it. Only a fool will pay Rm140k for a problematic car. Annual leave 18 days, all 18 days spend at service centre to repair DSG. So, who wants to buy VW now?

• Advertised is one thing. Whether can get that price is another. In the Golf TSi, it will be finally sold for RM70k to RM80k.

So VW is champion of depreciation. In one year can lose about RM80k. How to top up my loan?

• Leon Loke on Feb 25, 2014 at 6:16 pm

I don’t think people here are bashing Jetta for nothing. Unless VW entend the 10 year warranty on DSG gearbox…. how to buy this car?

The new MD should take a respectable move to change the policy so that all claims are covered under VW and not Allianze in this case. SC simply void warranty for coming to service late by a small margin, but when make appointment for service they will tell you it’s full. Please correct me if I said anything wrong here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 16
    • Tango on Feb 25, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Totally agreed with the above comment. Being another victim here that was told to wait for est. 1+1 months for claim approval pending repair … bureaucracy whatever!

It is totally unacceptable to victimize your VGM customers with a such bureaucratic move. Really wonder will VGM ever come forth in disclosing or sharing the real technical issue behind the warranty claims on either DSG or 1.4TSi, in Malaysia???

• policeman on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Aik, kereta import pun ada masalah? Aku pakai kereta nasional Inspira takda problem. Gearbox super. Mivec power. Servis baik.

Mungkinkah Proton lebih baik dari VW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 20
        • The Truth about DSG on Feb 26, 2014 at 8:23 am

Memang Proton is better than VW because Proton hardly breakdown. VW ALWAYS breakdown. Orang Malaysia sahaja think VW is a luxury car. Actually all over the world, VW is considered a cheap normal car.

People in Europe think VW is so normal it is like how Malaysians think Proton is.

But in Malaysia, orang Malaysia think VW same standard as BMW, Audi and Mercedes. In truth, VW Passat must be sold for RM80k, Jetta RM60k

Malaysians are so stupid. If I sell you a Casio watch and tell you it is a Rolex, would you pay Rm25,000 for your Casio watch?

This is what VW Malaysia has done. Sold you a Casio watch but told you it is a Rolex watch.

Or better, sold you a VW but told you it is a Rolls Royce.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
          • jettaowner on Mar 02, 2014 at 10:55 pm

aku dah pakai 2 tahun lebih Jetta..mileage pung dah 72k..dok ulang KL Penangtakda APA pung…hampa saja exegerate story..salesman Kreta apaa.. !?kawan aku pakai golf tsi pun takdak masalah..

• medic on Feb 26, 2014 at 8:41 am

Not only face lenghty warranty claims,but the mechanics really don’t know what they’re doing.My neighbourhood mechanics took 2 days to find out & solve my car probelm after Vw SC took 2 months,change few thousand ringgit parts &yet FAILED to solve the probelm.My neighbourhood mechanics just charged me $150 for parts/labour.This really shows the in-competency of Vw mechanics.

• Timothy Loh Beng See on Feb 25, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Hey Leon Loke, BMW Fanboi and other car salesman. Please focus on your own car reviews. Stay out of this one if you are not interested. Nobody is interested in your eneducated views and your excessive “like” clickings to make yourself look popular. Stay in your inferiority complex day camps and mix around with similar like minded fools like yourselves.

Ha, ha, ha, what losers. Ok, go ahead and do your “dislike” clicks as you always do. Nobody will listen to you anymore, except your fellow salesmen in Naza and Sime Darby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 53
      • See the Ah Beng! on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Man… yet another sad loser VW salesman in denial trying to bash a customer. Great job… product failure…. its the customer’s fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 16
    • Idris S on Feb 25, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Leon Loke – Give your contact number la, so i can bash you for your stupidity,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
      • Ah Boy on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:12 pm

Neanderthal detected! Uncivilized!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
        • ah boy ah.. ur mother calling already. time to go home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
          • Ah Boy on Feb 26, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Your wrong… its ur momma call me. BooYA! Whose your daddy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • non comprehendo.. i guess u syiok sendiri with that.

• RV Jatuh Gila on Feb 27, 2014 at 7:52 am

farq, you are so worried about your RV dropping, you talking not sense anymore. Better go and save up, you will have to top up your loan big time. It won’t be known as Jetta, maybe Shitta.

• policeman on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:15 pm

My phone number 03 2266 2222.

• policewoman on Feb 26, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Why you give Indah Water number. Need to remove shit ah?

• The Truth about DSG on Feb 26, 2014 at 8:15 am

That is very true. VW very famous for voiding your warranty because you are late for service interval. But even when you tell them that you had called 2 months ago and they could only give you an appointment 2 months later, they say “too bad”

Is it VW owners fault if you got too much of red tape in your organisation for you to void their warranty?

So many DSG owners had to spend about RM40,000 to replace their DSG because VW Malaysia say their warranty void because they don’t come on time for their service intervals.

Of course there will be owners of VW now that will come here and dispel what I said. All scared their RV falling like meteor from Mars.

Well, your RV is already dropping like meteor. Don’t blame people like me who tell the truth, blame VW Malaysia for coming clean about DSG problems. Even when VW AG Germany admitted in black and white that all DSG cars are prone to coninuous breakdowns in hot countries and bad traffic jams, VW Malaysia still has not come out with any statement advising customers what to do and to give them extra warranty. I think all DSG owners must be given 15 years warranty or else the RV is going to be so bad, your VW will be same price as Lada (solid Russian car)

• only solution for 7DSG fiasco is to do total recall and convert all 7DSG to 6DSG (if this is even remotely possible). No problems with 1.4tsi…engine is good, but like i said long time ago, 1.4tsi should be mated to 6DSG in Malaysia or countries in the equatorial. anyway, with 10years warranty on GB, i doubt it will solve the RV issue as no one willing to suffer facing this problem (like car is stuck in Svc Center for 10 years period !) So, VW, possible to recall and convert to 6DSG for your 7DSG dry clutch units( but i doubt this is possible due the parts shape/mould and specs. But then there are 2.0 models for teh 7DSG models as well..). Well, I believe this will not happen as it is akin to asking VW to admit their design flaw and failed product..

• medic on Feb 26, 2014 at 8:36 am

I agree..Vw cars are great to drive,but reliability issues,poor after sales service,the wait for spare parts to arrive,lenghty process of extended warranty claims are scaring consumers away.The cars are genuinely better than most jap offerings…

The new MD must first give 5 yrs ‘manufacture’ warranty.Send & re-train the mechanics,espescially in electronics & diagnostics.Provide more complimentary cars to consumers,open SC service to full day on Sat & half day on Sun.Stock up your inventory.More consumer friendly where complains are dealt with quickly.

• Das sotong on Feb 25, 2014 at 6:33 pm

To all current cbu owners, congrats, u have just been fooled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 20
    • because it’s mostly going to be RM10,000 cheaper? and how much is that translated into reduction in monthly repayment again?

lrn2finance

• policeman on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:23 pm

That’s around RM200 less per month for 5 year loan.

• sutrak on Feb 26, 2014 at 10:58 am

all cbu owners will rejoice & celebrate!

now with this pricing for ckd, we can retain our cbu resale value better!

• das ikan bilis on Feb 27, 2014 at 3:15 pm

current cbu owners were the victims of VW water test. when market response is good, they convert model to ckd. cost of water test is passed to current cbu owners.

• melayu dgn melayu pun nak dengki..bodoh! on Feb 25, 2014 at 6:47 pm

murah tetep murah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • policeman on Feb 25, 2014 at 6:56 pm

OK, let’s list out what will be omitted and what will be of lower grade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Read the article before you give your comment

• VW Fanboi 1001 on Feb 25, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Hey fools, no matter how much you bash this car, people read reviews in car magazines, newspapers etc will still buy his car. Have you seen even ONE negative review about VW cars? I have not.

In fact, VW cars are always given 5 stars by Malaysian, Singaporean and western car reviewers. Why do you think so? Who do you think know more about this car, you guys or the professional car reviewers? Think about it before you run down car companies with your rubbish,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 28
      • policeman on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Delusional VW fanatic spotted!

Car reviewers don’t own VW, they’re smarter than that! Any of PaulTan.org reviewers here own a VW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
      • Yo Yo on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Yo Fanboi! Reviews are only for one day… ONE DAY….. and the reliability tests are all European… cooler weather. Put your money where your mouth is… but a TSI and keep a 5 year journal then talk….. other wise…. Shaddap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
        • sia sia shj on Feb 25, 2014 at 11:10 pm

Hey bodoh. Reviews are not just done in cold weather. They are also done here in Malaysia, including technical reviews. So if you are not a motoring journalist, dont act like one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
          • Please study up on your English, then read his comment again.

Or better yet, I’ll explain it to you:
            He said the reviews done locally (hot weather) are for 1 day.

The reliability studies are done overseas (cold climate)

• carnut on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Being a GTI owner I agree that VW cars are nice to drive and deserves the rave reviews from car journalist, though I have only driven Golf GTIs and Sciroccos in 1.4TSI form.

But driving a car for a weekend magazine review and owning a car are very different. I have personally experienced the after sales service from VW and I have to say that they are not well trained and lacking in technical knowledge of their own cars. The hike in sales of VWs recently and the various technical glitches that beset the cars add fuel to fire.

My car is no longer under warranty but I know enough about all the possible gremlins and issues with the car that I can easily get parts and know how to get them fixed. I enjoy this experience and am comfortable to keep the car since I like the way it drives. But if you are an person who just buys the car, doesn’t enjoy looking into the technical details and prefers to wait for after sales service from VW, I would advise against it. They don’t even stock parts properly for crying out loud.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
        • i agree with this comment. at least it’s a matured and objective view rather than the useless bashers up there.

the after-sales service is quite appalling but the dsg issue is actually blown up in m’sia by internet warriors who do not actually own a vw themselves.

most real owners out there don’t have much issue with dsg. the juddering issue is limited to the said batch and every vw owner i talked to who had the issue belongs to that batch.

• nabill on Feb 26, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Agree…most jus read frm internet n blow it up 10times…ody 3ys never had an issue with da dsg…thosr who thrash dsg r convincing themselves to buy japanese cars…dsg issues is 80% rumours 20% real…those who wan to buy plz get a feedback frm real owners nt frm vioa/city fanboys…

• RV Jatuh Gila on Feb 27, 2014 at 7:57 am

Not true, my bro used to own a Passat and it was problematic like hell. My neighbourhood also has about 8 Golfs and 6 Passats, all complain like mad! So, don’t lie lah salesman!

• BLT Club on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:52 am

Want real German luxury? Get a Mercedes Benz.
        Want real German driving pleasure? Get a BMW.
        Want German Proton? Get a VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Josh Ling on Feb 25, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Unless the price dip to below 140k, I don’t think there will be a huge demand for this car even after CKD. People will always compare it with larger D-Segment cars, and it’s not like it’s super well-specced that people can just overlook the fact that it is still a C-Segment sedan.

• the price will be 139,888. there u go, below 140k!

anyway, this car is competing with altis, civic and focus. the highest range from altis is 140k which puts it at par with this jetta. jetta scored full 5 stars in euro ncap while altis and civic is nowhere to be seen.

• RV Jatuh Gila on Feb 27, 2014 at 8:00 am

But Altis and Civic don’t breakdown non stop with DSG problems. Altis and Civic also got problem, can repair tomorrow. Jetta have to wait one month. So, what to do in one month? Naik helicopter ke?

• RV Jatuh Gila on Feb 27, 2014 at 11:19 am

But come to think of it, Mercedes also got problem. So all I think we should ban all European car la!

• BLT CLUB on Feb 25, 2014 at 7:37 pm

The main selling point is the badge. Welcome to “premium” German motoring. Only in Malaysia.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 26, 2014 at 9:41 am

Perhaps only in Malaysia that a “Premium” badge forgets to include “Premium” SERVICE.

I have many friends with VWs. Their GTIs have so far been lucky not to be affected by the DSG issues but service remains a sore point. You have to wait for months for spare parts.

• BLT Club on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:48 am

Wonder how VW plans to achieve their 2014 sales target with the bad service?

• Guan Yin Ma on Feb 25, 2014 at 8:18 pm

5 year warranty. Total over 6 months time in and out SC. Can dont pay installment when my car in SC or not ??

• DynastyLimGilaKuasa on Feb 25, 2014 at 8:29 pm

waht car is this? my one is merc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • VW Sagitar.. overpriced..

• Jay Jay Denis on Feb 25, 2014 at 9:19 pm

If the Polo is to be judged by precedent, it may well be that this Jetta will have its specs severely lowered to be in a similar pricing range as the Civics and Altis’ of this world.

• intermilan on Feb 25, 2014 at 9:21 pm

VW Malaysia will face unsurmountable challenge to shift this even if they price the CKD Jetta at RM120K.

The truth on DSG fault is out and widespread like wildfire amongst us Malaysian and no damage control exercise will be able to turn the table in VWM favor.

Even a 15-years warranty on the DSG ain’t any good.
    Why? Anyone prefer not to have their car for at least 1 month every year due to the need to repair the damn gearbox?

And endanger themselves and their loves one in the middle of busy road, junction, hilly road, roundabout, highway or while attempting overtaking manouver if the DSG decided to ‘disengage’ all of a sudden?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • intermilan, do u own a vw?

• RV Jatuh Gila on Feb 27, 2014 at 7:56 am

No need to own one. Everybody has countless of friends who fell for the marketing gimmick of VW malaysia the past few years. Have you noticed only VW has the highest number of car shows in all the malls? That is because they can catch ignorant and unsuspecting people who don’t read online forums. they bluff it is German quality and same taraf as BMW. So mall going suclers sign up

real people who read PT and forums know the DSG trash. Real car enthusuast stay away from VW big time!

• Why ckd car that not selling well? Im sure the price wont drop much even after ckd-ed..useless unless price very much drop after ckd

• policeman on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:20 pm

CKD so they can make more profit from tax cuts.

• can be cheaper if MPI engine and aisin GB….but this defeats the purpose of getting a VW.

• VW really spoiled us. We hate Toyota for gave us old tech old same chasis for two generations if not three BUT dry DSG 7 really made a VW not better than Toyot- we relentlessly curse for old tech etc.

I rather have an old tech than hi tech but unproven reliability. Unless they come out with DSG6 wet buying a VW is unwise if you have less than two cars in your driveway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • My guess is RM138,888

• Kak Limah on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Setupid car……avoid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Golfkaki on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:44 pm

I only saw 1 GTI MK7 so far 2 months back and handful of Golf MK7 . I think Malaysian now wiser to VW scam . I own Golf MK6 and what said above on warranty and service waiting period is damn correct. VW now rojak selling cheap polos think the service level will only get worse. Stay away from VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • KakiGolf on Feb 26, 2014 at 6:03 pm

In PJ near my hse, there are 7 GTI’s and about two dozen Polo’s. Not to mention about another dozen or so Passat’s. All registered between Nov 2013 to February 2014.

• neemfa on Feb 25, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Dear VWM, do yourself a favour and use the 6-speed conventional autobox, then maybe you can sell the Jetta.

• Steve Jobs on Feb 26, 2014 at 8:15 am

must be cheaper than Honda Accord or don’t think it will sell well

• chris yee on Feb 26, 2014 at 9:32 am

i always wanted a vw car especially passat but after reading so many negative reviews and complains regarding the dsg gearbox, it really making me thinking twice before i make a horrible mistake. Each time i see the passat at the showroom, i always admire the solid built quality,the simplicity and the functionality of the switchgear…what more to say to the ride and handling. With the dsg problems, it keeps on delaying me to become an proud owner of vw car, i really hope that VW can come out with a perfect solution. As for me, i’ll just wait……

• u can wait forever.

• RV Jatuh Gila on Feb 27, 2014 at 7:53 am

clever people wait. Only silly people buy RM140k cars that drop to RM70k in one year’s time.

• sutrak on Feb 27, 2014 at 3:46 pm

successful people take risks. losers wait forever for the prom queen to come to their hands.

• vwjetta owner on Mar 02, 2014 at 11:12 pm

sedap…je kau cakap..orang bodoh..orang punya duit..dia punya sukala nak pakai kereta apa.. yang kau susah apahal ..bukan duit Emak bapak kau..orang beli sesuatu kereta ikut citarasa dia..aku krrja kat putrajaya …ramai macam2 model VW Ada..bersepah mana yang aku dapat sembangowner vw takda pun OK je..takdala yg masalah teruk pun..

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 26, 2014 at 9:47 am

If VWM doesn’t get its act together and fix the PR nightmare that is the DSG and its service issues, its going to kill off the VW brand here quicker than Federal Auto has killed Volvo.

• gtr36 on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:09 am

Yeah, I’m like you too. Tried the CC sport and found it ticks all my boxes. However, problems following its DSG box and any future breakdowns is still putting me off. I do not want to be the cause for traffic jams by the side of LDP or Mex when sorhai people slow down and look at me and my CC while I wait for the tow truck. Spending 230K to be a subject of laughter is not what I want.

• Youneedamedic on Feb 26, 2014 at 10:49 am

Never go full retard

• Yeap, stay away from VW….go buy those toyotas/hondas/nissan…they are more reliable ; )

• notahero on Feb 26, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Hi all readers. Im one of the polo 1.2tsi owner who bought his car in 2011. I’ve been reading about the DSG problems since before i bought the car. Luckily the DSG related problem never occured to me after driving it for almost two years. I started to think that it just a made up problems. And so i thought… 2 months before manufacturer warranty ended, the car can’t be started. Suddenly all the horror stories about the notorious DSG overwhelmed me, and if its dsg problem im sure my car will be held for some months in the service centre. I hate VW and vow not to buy any VW cars anymore at that point. The good news is that the car came with free 5 years road assist. Within 20 mins, my car was towed to the service centre. After 20mins arrived, one of the mechanics told me a bad news,and it was the DSG (as the P on the gear lever was flickered). The good news is, now they can repair it within 5 hours which they did. Im a happy driver again. I think VW service is catching up. Kuddos to them.

• Steve Jobs on Feb 26, 2014 at 1:34 pm

the solution is simple,initially DSG can’t hold the hot climate in Malaysia while using synthetic transmission oil.

They just replaced it with mineral based transmission oil.

Apparently, using the synthetic oil in a DSG and then subjecting it to stop-and-go conditions or heavy loads in a hot and humid climate can lead to electronic malfunctions, according to a Volkswagen press release. The switch, from the sounds of it, is largely a preventative measure.

• You are one lucky guy. Most VW centres would try anything to NOT repair/replace the gearbox under warranty.

Anyway, I hope you save up some money, if anything happens to your DSG after the warranty ended.

small tip: quickly convert to manual transmission after warranty ended lol.

• Sparcov on Feb 26, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Is that true DSG got so many problem?
    We are blaming hot temperature in Malaysia that make the DSG malfunction. What about in China, they also facing the same DSG problem right?

So, it is because of the temperature or because of the design fault in the first place?

I also realise most of the VW in Germany are powered with 6 speed manual instead of DSG. can anyone confirm this too?

• Tear up the badge and you will see a stretched Proton Saga lol. Even Saga SV is far more reliable than this DSG-equipped-car-that-can-endanger-your-life-when-it-fails.

Forget the badge, guys. Even the Germans here are upset with VW, and are looking into Ford, and other Japanese/Korean brands. A carmaker that’s named “People’s Car” should make affordable and reliable cars, not overly-complex-expensive-luxury-wannabe ones.

• Former Golfer on Feb 26, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Like it or not, the DSG issue has affected VWGM sales. I just sold off my mk5 golf gti and all the used car dealers I asked harped on DSG issue as their tactics to lower trade in. You can say that it only affects 7 speed DSG but in our ignorant society, that does not count at all. So VW owners, you are done for….

• Actually, with the internet nowadays we can read about car reviews from owners all over the world.
    Most car magazines do not really focus on the DSG problems.
    Its only when we read owners reviews that the scale of the problems become known. Its happening everywhere, in the UK, since we read in English, the problems date back many years and are widespread.
    So why are they blaming the hot weather here.
    It might not help, but those with four seasons have the same DSG failures.
    I quite like VW, and would not hesitate to buy one if not for the DSG.
    Fix it…

• Modesto.hann on Feb 26, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Don’t ever trust car magazines or tv shows related to cars. 99% of them will only say good things about brands which they receive sponsorship from. Who do you think has funded Jeremy clarkson and the team to shoot the red toyota hilux challenge in the North Pole? Have you ever heard him even bash toyota since the first episode of top gear? He even mentioned lexus LFA is the best super car in the world, ever wonder why?

• VW project 20,000 car sales this year. I think they get even 5000 car sales this year also very best. Now, everybody knows about DSG!

• Mr Jetta

• Mr Jetta on Sep 04, 2015 at 3:55 am

I’m happy with my new VW MKVi

Joint us at FB (Volkswagen team Johor Singapore