2014 Bentley Continental GT Speed: even more grunt

bentley-continental-gt-speed-2014-2

Seemingly not satisfied with 625 PS and 800 Nm of torque, the second-gen Bentley Continental GT Speed has taken an extra dose of steroids, such that its 6.0 litre twin-turbo W12 now develops 635 PS at 6,000 rpm and 820 Nm of twist at 1,700 rpm.

The 2012 GT Speed was already the fastest production Bentley ever (and its drop-top sister the world’s fastest four-seater convertible), covering the century sprint in 4.2 seconds on its way to a 329 km/h top speed (convertible 4.4 seconds, 325 km/h). This one, however, gets from 0-100 km/h in four seconds flat before topping out at 331 km/h, or 327 km/h for the convertible version.

Resuming their duties are the eight-speed ZF auto with Quickshift, Block Shifting and shift paddles, ‘Speed’ lowered and stiffened suspension, AWD and Continuous Damping Control.

Set to appear in Geneva next month, the updated GT Speed is differentiated from the 2012 model by a front splitter, side skirts and a rear diffuser – all discreetly-styled.

A horizontal bar is added to each end of the front lower intake, and a dark finish has been applied to the headlamps, tail lamps and 21-inch Speed wheels. Behind the huge alloys now are red brake callipers, and on the front wings sit stylised ‘Speed’ badges. A new Candy Red body colour is offered.

The plush cabin features a new Speed-exclusive colour scheme – contrasting accent stripes and stitching jazz up a dark interior. ‘Speed’ lettering adorns the passenger side dash panel and all headrests.

Crewe has also announced that for 2014, seven distinct customisation packages will be offered across the Continental range, namely Premier, Interior Style, GT Classic, All-Seasons, Mulliner Driving, GT V8 S Sport and Classic Mulliner Styling Specifications. These offer anything from a Naim sound system and carbon-ceramic brakes to in-seat neck warmers for convertible models.

Read our review of the 2012 Bentley Continental GT Speed here.

2014 Bentley Continental GT Speed Coupe

2014 Bentley Continental GT Speed Convertible

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• taiko on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:11 am

on my dream…………………….

• Bentley design so boring yet command crazy prices…such an insult to Proton!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • hadi75 on Feb 26, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Atleast the fit and finish and the material use is ten times better than proton….

• Same VW makes engines for this car. I won’t be surprised if it becomes like my Jetta, full of DSG problems. Sure this car also will stall like my Jetta.

• How can you compare with Proton, Proton almost the worst car in the world with junk quality and most ugly design.

• abuya123 on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:21 am

Nak beli pun tak berbaloi….

• its look like nissan GTR

• AutoFrenz on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:29 am

Me too…sigh…so beautiful esp the goldish brown…now this is the ultimate driving machine not bmw or merz…but hey the 1st gen recond one can be bought at 400k now ONLY…at least something issnt it….nggeeigghhh (a horse sound again for that special effect)

• Damn…should have start saving since birth…

• venven81 on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:48 am

in the past (many many years back) when i looked at bently the word “ah pek” came to my mind. now, look at this beauty and i scream “i wanna get it somehow, sometime…” :)

• Jinggo on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:58 am

kalu mau kena rompak, beli la ini kereta..

• Nak kena rompak pun ade orng yg beli.. Tapi golongan orng yg beli kate ni takkan bertimbul di kawasan orng miskin atau slum area. Dan skrg dah banyak kes rompak, hati2 je la. Kalau satu hari Malaysia tak de rompak, tu pasti semua askan hairan kenapa orng2 dah jadi baik?

• GTR36 on Feb 26, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Mouth watering non-stop..have to keep wiping the side of my lips :)

Too bad we can never afford this car in our country if we draw above normal wages unless you’re a crony with direct links to ruling ministers.

If you make executive wages in the UK can at least afford the 4.0 version or used.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Sorry sir, no average person can afford this car in any country. Even in the UK, this car is expensive & used by wealthy peoples & celebrities. The used ones may be cheaper but the UK insurance is very expensive for this kind of car with big engine. Road tax is generally expensive too if the car is a used car depending on emission, etc..

Speaking based on my experience earning & owning car in uk & us in the past. Even though we earn expatriate income, most citizen settle for 2.0-2.5 cars only to avoid exhorbitant insurance & tax.. U may see lots of mercedes & bmw there but theyre mostly 1.6-2.5 litre. Average peoples’ range rovers & Q7 are mostly 3.0 diesel. :) usually, bentleys are parked in big house & mansions rather than normal homes..

• Exactly Cath, When i was in Europe for 1 year. yes i do see many ppl driving luxury cars. But 70% of them are low spec with no LED or any exclusive gadget that come standard as in M’sian specs. Besides, at least 80& drives 2.0 diesel which is lame. Anything above 2.5L is considered expensive to them. Only football stars or rich spoilt brat driving M3, M5 or Bentley.

• Damn, Wat a typical Malaysian mind-set “only crony and ruling minister can afford”. C’mon dude, there are many honest businessman which anti-cronies who also drive this car. If u think only crony can afford, clearly you are goina join them sooner or later. Open ur eyes.

• iskhalifah on Feb 26, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Not all millionaires can afford to buy this. Its something for the upper-upper class, someone with net worth of more than RM20 million at least. Billionaires can buy this, definitely.

In a country which ranks badly in terms of transparency & corruption (refer to transparency international), its quite a fact that high % of people who succeeded in business (worth RM100 mil above) went they way up through special ‘privilege’, ‘cable connections’ and cronysm. Of course not all of them gain wealth thru such means. But to find genuine & pure ethical businessman, its like finding a needle in a haystack.

• Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 26, 2014 at 8:43 pm

haha chances if u cant afford a bentley in malaysia u will never be able to afford in other countries. malaysia is one of the easiest country to make it because of stupid capitalist peasants like you

• niterunner99 on Feb 26, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Lets do this once & for all…whether 4doors or 2 doors…give the car 1000BHP, 800NM torque at 1000RPM!
    Happy now!?

• If only you can drop the Veyron’s engine into this. Anyway, if the Speed already boasting 635 PS, how much the Supersports going to have? At least 650 PS, i reckon.