Citroen DS3 1.6 VTi 120 auto launched – RM117,888

Citroen_DS3_VTi_launch_Malaysia 039

It has been a long time coming, but the Citroen DS3 is finally on sale here in Malaysia, through official distributor Naza Euro Motors (NEM). This completes NEM’s Different Spirit lineup in Malaysia, following the DS4 and DS5 models introduced last year.

Rumours of the baby DS’ local arrival stretch as far back July 2013, and the three-door premium B-segment hatchback was duly previewed at KLIMS13 before the year closed. More recently, it was spied at Citroen’s Glenmarie outlet in January.

Now, the final specifications and price of the Citroen DS3 you can buy have been released. As expected, it comes in a sole 1.6 VTi 120 automatic guise. It gets the same 120 hp/160 Nm PSA 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated engine and four-speed automatic transmission combo that you’d find in the Peugeot 208 VTi. Zero to 100 km/h takes 10.9 seconds, on to a top speed of 190 km/h.

Not exactly a hot-hatch, then. But then again, performance is perhaps of the DS3’s target customers’ least concern. This one is all about style and standing out in the crowd, and my, does it deliver. It may be a four-year-old design, but with such bold details and panache, it has solid showroom appeal.

The “shark-fin” B-pillar, in particular, works well with the contrast-coloured roof and door mirrors – there are seven colour combinations to choose from, each matched to a colour-coded key fob. Elsewhere, the LED DRLs, 3D-effect tail lamps and 17-inch ‘Bellone’ wheels add sophistication to the class.

This off-beat, yet wholly fashionable approach continues inside too. Here, you’ll find a pair of body-hugging seats upholstered in what Citroen calls ‘Mistral Claudia’ leather. The snug rear seats, which are fitted with Isofix anchor points, can be folded forward to expand the 385-litre boot.

An eight-speaker HiFi sound system – complete with a dash-mounted central speaker and an amplified subwoofer in the boot – comes standard, along with an MP3-compatible head-unit and Bluetooth connectivity. Auto lights, single-zone climate control and cruise control are packed in as well.

This little car takes safety seriously, as it’s equipped with six airbags, all-around three-point seat belts, ESP, ABS, EBD and EBA. Specced as such, the Citroen DS3 boasts a five-star Euro NCAP safety rating.

As for the price, the Citroen DS3 1.6 VTi 120 Automatic retails for RM117,888 (with insurance). And if that sounds like much to you, remember that the MINI One, with the same PSA 1.6 litre engine but downtuned to 98 hp and 150 Nm of torque, goes for RM146,888. So, is the DS3 worth the wait?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Wahhhhh on Feb 26, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Overpriceddddd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 11
    • danny on Feb 26, 2014 at 10:30 pm

how much do you want?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • Oooo I see all the girls, I stim like hell!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
      • I wonder what kind of panties the girls are wearing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
      • the real farq on Feb 27, 2014 at 10:56 am

i’m flattered that someone is stealing my nick, but pls do your mother a favour and not make sexist remarks to the women.

also, pls find your own identity instead of faking others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Pls lah they think they are popular here but no one know about this brand! start at lower price first pls!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • Isn’t Citroen a dead brand in Malaysia. Buying this is like buying a Fiat. Next year, sell at Rm50k also like kena lottery.

Dead brands like Volvo, Fiat, Citroen, Renault, Skoda should all close shop in Malaysia. Pity Malaysians, excited when first buy but later must top uo loan so much. Rugi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 31
        • Then you should buy house. and i can tell you are poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
        • everything also like buying fiat, man… u have some mental issues man… go and dig a hole for yourself. if you don’t have the money to buy, just say, nobody will laugh at you. putting retarded comments. you should be staying in an asylum.

• the real farq on Feb 27, 2014 at 11:32 am

guys, ignore him. he’s a fake who stole my nick and start posting everywhere senseless comments.

• Chris on Feb 27, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Might sound stupid saying this but.. how to add an avatar so at least we can kind of know who’s who?

• Bodoh Chris on Feb 27, 2014 at 3:01 pm

You pun bodoh. Tak taruk avatar and preach people pulak. Balik lar Chris.

• the real farq on Feb 27, 2014 at 3:58 pm

no use putting avatar. avatar can be faked as well and the low life impostor will put the exact same avatar as you.

• people who do not “know” citreon should stick with rubbish cars since they are so damn ignorant to drive one like this anyway.

• Please learn on Feb 27, 2014 at 11:16 am

Do you know how much for a MINI One today?

• French Sai on Feb 27, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Yeah, nice to have hydraulic. Naik turun manyak stim. Koyak satu kali, poket pun koyak. Naik motor je.

• that glossy dash looks like one hell of a finger print and dust magnet to me

• piupiupiu on Feb 26, 2014 at 8:25 pm

mahal siottttt

• tHe^CuLpRit on Feb 26, 2014 at 8:25 pm

CBU or CKD?

• So, is the DS3 worth the wait?

Frankly, as much as I like Ciroën and I love the lastest stuff coming out from them, I havw to admit this little Mousquetaires has lost quite alot of its charm. When I was in KLIMS, i was greatly dissapointed in the lack of size and quality(there was a gaping hole in the dash), and next to the Peugeouts next door, with the 2008 and 208 GTi, the looks isn’t breataking as 4 years ago. Now that the spec is out, for RM118k its just rubbing salt in its wouds. 4-speed auto with an accelaration that won’t be leaving many cars behind its aptly dissapointing since its not playing the spacious 4-door cards most other company has, and thou full Intternational standard in safety compliments, so are so many other cars in the market today that are cheaper(Kia, Peugeout, VW…etc).

Its still a good car, but the price and spec couple with the fact that it’s competing in a nich (2-door fashionable hatch) I am not expecting many on the road….thou, La Vie est pleine de intempenstive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • tokmoh on Feb 27, 2014 at 2:20 am

Since when Frenchies = quality?

They got nice magic carpet ride, though.

Pricing will always be fcuked up so long the govt remains the same. Worse, incompetent buffoons handle the brand.

• kadajawi on Feb 27, 2014 at 11:36 am

The magic carpet ride is history, but they did improve the quality a lot in recent years.

They want to go against the Mini and the Audi A1 with this, but I think the pricing is still quite optimistic…

• Hmmm, whe I started visiting Paultan, the main perception of a french brand was that it has continental quality in the interior workmanship.

‘incompetent buffoons handle the brand.’

I don’t know, I actually prefers Naza ways on brand handling, most of their cars if not all that Naza brought in has a Paultan-commentator aproved safety equipment, namely 6-airbags and VSC/ESC. In other words very well spec for their price, I mean look at Peugeout and Kia for exmple.

• tokmoh on Mar 02, 2014 at 1:05 am

Errmm, i see the perception of French cars are mostly -ve than +ve.

Comfy, Conti ie better handling, acquired taste in design. But unreliable, expensive parts, poor rv makes them a nasty ownership affair unless u rly love the brand so much u can put up with its flaws.

Naza after sales is questionable.

• smarty on Feb 27, 2014 at 2:30 am

panjang benor reviewnye…….ape bende laa citroen..interior saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • the real farq on Feb 27, 2014 at 11:00 am

again my fren AVH, this car is not for the practical like you. it’s for the fashionable and those who need to stand out in the crowd. this car will be bought be emotion, not rational thinking.

• Good point, since fashion and taste differ from one individual to the next. I do undestand the conveyence of emotion in a car design, cars like the DS5 and most Alfa Romeos as well as the Fiat 500, they remain chic and nice alternative. I do struggle to understand the concept of teh DS5, but like I said earlier, fashion and taste differ from one individual to the next…..and I am not the guy that likes fashion.

• nobody on Feb 27, 2014 at 6:28 pm

You a man ? Thought you a girl all this years. Your avatar looks like a girl.

• LOL, My Gravatar is used for 2 other sites and I usually choose anime character I find the scariest, and anime being anime, they are usually a girl.

• Man..this is one not that good looking n overprice car…y? Unique?

• veloMAster on Feb 26, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Sheshhhh

Chics gonna run away, wait till they see ma velo da chic magneto!

• RedCRZ on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Velociraptor bro? chicks lari… =D

• veloMAster on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:50 pm

Sheshhhh
        Who drives crz these days? Rem-Pimps??

• SomeGuy on Feb 27, 2014 at 1:37 pm

I don’t think a Veloster is that much better in terms of appeal than CR-Z no? Don’t bash people’s preferences lorh… He even put an emoticon too. He’s just messing around bro.

• Guan Yin Ma on Feb 26, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Come on. 116K ,at least give a 6 speed auto.

• spongewai on Feb 26, 2014 at 9:45 pm

excuse me, DS3 is B-segment??!

• kensomuse on Feb 26, 2014 at 10:12 pm

Yes, it is. The bigger DS4 is a C-segment hatch whereas the DS5 is D-segment hatchback.

• the real farq on Feb 27, 2014 at 11:01 am

they can call it whatever segment they want, but they sure lose out big time in terms of size to competitors in that segment.

• Naza Sot liao..

• Flamingo on Feb 27, 2014 at 3:08 pm

With that kinda pricing, i am sure mahindra will sell more vehicle in Malaysia than this citroen.

Price wise too expensive for such a car.

Moreover, i have to agree with Sam Loo on this when it comes to RV. This car will suck hairy balls when it comes to RV the moment you sign the dotted line. Automatically slash 40%.

Citroen in chinese….Seet Toh Loong (bankrap sampai akihir)

• what?? no turbocharged engine? for that kind of price, no way man. Maybe chicks will buy this car.. its certainly for the niche market.

• the real farq on Feb 27, 2014 at 11:03 am

and the niche market sells. people will buy this car with emotion, not rational thinking, and that’s ok. as long as it sells.

• TechSmart on Feb 26, 2014 at 10:08 pm

2015 Honda Jazz/Fit <—probably the best
    2015 Mazda 2
    2014 Peugeot 208

The above 3 are cheaper and better buy. Not to mention other options like Prius C, Suzuki Swift, MyVi, and etc.

Someone will always pay for this but anybody sane would not

• Denaihati on Feb 26, 2014 at 10:25 pm

external appearance, not sure this is Malaysian taste. but daylight led located at side of bumper is so cool.
    from upper photo, the car is quite small or the cute model is too high…heeee

• DS range of cars is the wrong range to bring in. It should be the normal Cs because DS range is suppose to be the more premium range of citreon and price point, this makes it stupidly expensive.

• kadajawi on Feb 27, 2014 at 11:42 am

I think they want to have small sales at the beginning. Establish a few 3S centres. Train staff. Get the machine running before introducing some mainstream models. Also those mainstream cars require CKD to be competitive. Maybe they are not ready yet. The Picasso will surely come.

• boris on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:56 pm

its not a mini wannabe, its mini alternative. and if you say its overprice, the Mini which has the exact same engine is way more expensive but people still buy it.

• Heskey on Feb 27, 2014 at 12:05 am

Love those French chicks

• thetruth on Feb 27, 2014 at 1:18 am

First the Ford Fiesta 1.0 was 96K. Now this.. 117K. F*ck this. I’m outta here.

• Who will buy this car at his price tag? Not even for those got money. They will rather buy Mini!

Better buy Peugeot208 VTi with much lower price tag with more service centers!

• Mahal-Letchumy on Feb 27, 2014 at 8:29 am

2008 crossover = $120k
    DS3 = $110k…
    and have not even updated the new Pug 308 yet…
    expecting also the normal 1.6VTI engine to be $120k range as well…

Naza Naza…. your greed is just so big….

But I suppose those “rich” ladies would buy it…

Hoping Honda Vezel comes in…with a 90k range.

• Jaybond on Feb 27, 2014 at 8:32 am

Compared to 208, the DS3’s interior is a bit outdated, especially related to the cockpit controls/display unit.

• SomeGuy on Feb 27, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Actually not bad interior. Have to see in person. Makes you feel special on the road. But yeah, it is old design. Not that it matters that much. And sound system is pretty good at that price bracket.

• Jinggo on Feb 27, 2014 at 8:33 am

the aweks cantik, the car ugly & overpriced..

• sutrak on Feb 27, 2014 at 11:05 am

the awek just looks high maintenance just like the car. nothing attractive there.

• Flamingo on Feb 27, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Aya, lu pigi pikat tu mat minah kat kilang je. Naik motor kapchai pun sudah dapat korek.

• seancorr on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:03 am

Car looks good on the outside but interior looks dated. I think a refresh is due.

• paucharsiew on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:10 am

what i really want to see is the ds3 racing.

• Jordan on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:10 am

I remember renting a Citroen in Europe about 7 years ago. They sure have come a long way since then. This looks really sporty.

• I rather wait for Proton P2-30A Global Small Car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • nabeh... on Feb 27, 2014 at 11:38 am

Who cares about the car, it’s the babes that matters. man. Looking at them makes me ejaculated 3 times now. Feel great spreading my stuff on the laptop screen right on the photo on their faces. Hold On, i sense an erection again…. be right back.

• honest on Feb 27, 2014 at 12:23 pm

This car is for rich & famous ppl only

• Maluri on Feb 27, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Naza, your mind sound anot? Almost 120k without sunroof/moonroof? U use this DS3 to make your Pug308/ Cerato sales grow izit? 4-speed summor? Good try ma, next time import a 3-speed model for Malaysian to see can anot?

• Gear Knob – same as my old Naza Bestari (melted after 6 years under Malaysia hot sun)

Indicator Toggle – same as my old Naza Bestari

Not sure the gear box is same as my old Naza Bestari or not?

• Joker on Feb 27, 2014 at 4:51 pm

It’s fair i think to compare the Pug 208 with DS3…
    Same engine same gearbox… but the price difference @@ even for the same price i’d prefer the 208 more as it’s more funky…. Top up a little bit more can get 208 GTi d…….

• michelin on Feb 27, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Julie Woon, I love you!

• i can tell you the interior is almost the same with the current 308.
    steering,door handle,hud unit, the gear nob.etc.
    for this money, get the 308 turbo,
    you get 6 speed with much faster machine, and more space.

• surprised me aft DS4 & DS5 trendy & urban look.. they came out with this ugly overpriced tiny tin sardin?!! got no taste at all. yacks!!! i wud go for HER brothers or 2008

• paucharsiew on Mar 01, 2014 at 12:11 am

can somebody tell citroen malaysia that their fb page is quite lame

• tiadaid on Mar 03, 2014 at 10:31 am

The DS subbrand of Citroen should not be compared to a 208 etc. It should be compared with the MINI as DS is Citroen’s premium models.

So compared to a MINI One, is it still overpriced? BTW I did stop by BSC yesterday and it’s an amazing looker. Sadly I can’t afford it yet!

• Mungkin on Mar 14, 2014 at 9:27 pm

trying not to compare.. .
      but 208vti very comparable to this car, what more different?
      add another 10k can get 208GTi 1.6turbo 200hp. this one 120hp. Now can compare?

• Rino Carey on Aug 05, 2014 at 4:22 am

There is a mistake in this article is the boot capacity is 285 litres.