DRIVEN: Mitsubishi Attrage – 21 km/l claims put to test

Mitsubishi Attrage review-2

It’s a very competitive market out there these days, especially in the B-segment, where the cars are bigger than ever, with prices that have never been lower.

The sub-RM100k buyer has never had it this good in terms of choice. Outside the default “Big 3” (that’s the Nissan Almera, Toyota Vios and Honda City), Naza provides two well-kitted hatchbacks – one Korean (Kia Rio), one French (Peugeot 208). The facelifted Ford Fiesta, available in both hatch and sedan, is another popular urban choice, while the Honda Jazz Hybrid is a green and practical option. Even VW is now in the game with the CKD Polo Sedan and Polo Hatch.

Faced with such stiff competition, a newcomer will need a strong unique selling point for it to rise to the surface and stay afloat. The Mitsubishi Attrage you see here has one pretty convincing USP in the season of inflation – outstanding fuel efficiency that will save you money at the pumps. 21 km/l, they say.

Challenge accepted. We put Mitsubishi’s New European Driving Cycle claims to the test with a journey from KL to Ipoh, plus another few hundred kilometres of the daily grind to see what else the Attrage has to offer.

It is understandable if you approach manufacturer fuel economy figures with scepticism. We generally take them with a pinch of salt too, especially when it’s usually near impossible to replicate the claims in real world driving. Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia begs to differ. The company is confident that 21 km/l isn’t just theoretical, but practical as well, so they organised a drive to Ipoh for us to challenge the Attrage.

The eco challenge started at MMM’s headquarters in Subang, where we got on the NKVE heading north. It was then straight all the way, before exiting at Tambun and joining the lunch traffic in Ipoh’s Old Town.

Two up, air con speed and temp set at the middle points, highway cruising speed ranging between 70 to 100 km/h (no coasting in neutral), no driver change (stop and start = less efficient), an allocated time of three hours (which we used to the max) and a feathery right foot combined for 24.19 km/l. Did we gain from driving a manual? The winners of the challenge did 24.7 km/l in a CVT, so no.

Mitsubishi Attrage review-7

Yes, we bettered the combined score of 21 km/l, but it has to be qualified that our route was mostly highway with just a small portion of city traffic, and it was a conscious effort to be light-footed, cruising below normal highway speeds to maintain a consistently low rpm.

A constant 110 km/h cruise with occasional overtaking wouldn’t have delivered such spectacular results, but it was a test to prove what’s possible with some willpower. And we’re not talking about extreme hypermiling.

After achieving what’s possible, we set out to do something more probable. Another stint with the Attrage CVT over a couple of working days (normal routine, mixed driving with jams, including one trip to Sepang and back) returned 365 km for my 20 litres of RON95, which is equivalent to 18.25 km/l – better than expected, and more surprising than the aforementioned best efforts.

Mitsubishi Attrage review-36

To put that in context, 18 km/l is better than a mixed cycle in my own hybrid car. Yes, I’ve been gentle with the Attrage’s throttle, but that’s what driving an economical car does to this writer – an extra 0.1 km/l is a “Yes!”, achieving the next 1 km/l is a victory. That’s what driving an eco car is all about, isn’t it?

Luckily, the media drive route from Ipoh to Penang gave us a chance to get out of eco mode and get our horns out. The back roads off the PLUS highway between Kuala Kangsar and Bukit Merah served up a good mix of high speed sweepers, narrow hill twisties and lumpy surfaces, a good cocktail of a road to test the Attrage dynamically.

The Attrage is softly sprung, and the long travel suspension gave it a somehwat loping gait over the dips and crests that peppered our B-road section. There’s no hiding the body roll, but the overall performance was more composed from behind the wheel than what it would have looked like to a spectator. The Attrage is an honest little car in terms of handling, and it’s easy to drive it hard.

Mitsubishi Attrage review-16

Grip was surprisingly good. We were expecting squeals of protest from the tyres in a few tight corners, only to find dogged determination to hold line. Upon closer inspection, were were surprised to find sporty Bridgestone Potenzas (S001, 185/55 R15) on this eco car!

The steering channels a decent amount of feel to your palms, and the turning circle is superb, but the trade off is that it’s a little slow. Not the sharpest helm in class, too. Ride comfort is good, but the Attrage would have chalked up a more solid impression had low speed bumps been dealt with less noisily.

It was pedal to metal (literally) for the entire stretch, so it was good that we were in the manual. When power is limited, it’s good to have control and timing in your hands, and that was the case here. The M/T’s clutch is light and the whole gearshift process is rather vague, but this trait is typical of stick shifters in budget cars. No excuse for the cheap and ‘designless’ gear knob, though.

With two on board, we would say that the 80 PS/106 Nm 1.2 litre MIVEC engine has adequate reserves for a fast drive, although one must be prepared to rev out every ounce from those three pots, which in itself is a fun and rewarding activity in a modestly powered car. High speed stability isn’t the best in class, though.

Both points in the above paragraph are connected to the Mitsu’s lack of weight – at just 875 kg for the M/T and 905 kg for the CVT, the base Attrage is lighter than a Lotus Elise! It’s no rocket science – with less weight to haul, one can get away with a small engine with a matching appetite for fuel.

The CVT wouldn’t have been fun on that particular stretch, but in every other situation, on any other day, its smooth and easy character shines through. A progressive right foot is the seamless gearbox’s best ally; likewise, sudden and big stabs at the throttle will elicit a noisy protest. The smooth and comfy overall experience led to thoughts of a “junior Nissan Sylphy”, which we mean as a compliment.

Driving the Attrage over a few days meant that we noticed a few quirks that didn’t surface in the cross-state dash. It could have been an isolated case, but the test car’s idle wasn’t perfectly smooth – throbbing can be felt through the brake pedal (subsides when gear lever is pushed to N), which is slightly at odds with the drivetrain’s general manners.

Nitpicking further, radio signal from the 2-DIN Kenwood head-unit was poor, and while rear legroom is very good – with plenty of room under the front seats for feet to tuck under – rear headroom isn’t as generous. It’s obvious that the Attrage isn’t a wide car, and three abreast is a tight affair at the back. It isn’t cramped by any means, but some rivals boast more space.

The Attrage, in our tester’s fully-loaded SE spec, is very well equipped. There’s the abovementioned touch screen head unit with reverse camera, entry is keyless with a push start button, and the AC is digital auto, but it still manages to feel somewhat basic inside. I suspect that it’s due to the very conventional design and layout of the dashboard.

Mitsubishi Attrage review-35

On the plus side, the generous amount of strorage spaces, including a tray above the glove box, is much appreciated. I also like wing mirrors that auto-fold when the car is locked.

Taking a few steps back for the bigger picture, the Mitsubishi Attrage is a unique entry in this segment, a true eco car that delivers great FC without costing hybrid money. We’re looking at a minimalist approach to making an eco car here, and it’s refreshing. The economy claims are real and achievable, and for those who care more for km/l than km/h, the Attrage is an attractive proposition.

For more on the Attrage, read our review of the Thai-spec car as well as our local launch report.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• annihilated on Feb 26, 2014 at 10:29 pm

Danny, .. and a feathery right “food”?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 26, 2014 at 10:33 pm

I was hungry :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
      • annihilated on Feb 26, 2014 at 10:43 pm

lol.. I see it has been corrected.

Good review anyway. Looking forward for one to one comparison with its hatchback sibling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 169
          • Chris on Feb 27, 2014 at 8:49 am

In case you are not aware, there are people out there who doesn’t switch cars like switching phones.

The two oldest car in my family are 33 years old and 17 years old. I’m sure there are people out there who did just the same: buy a car and use until it rots.

This will be a good car for them.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 228 Thumb down 4
          • Obviously on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:39 am

RV isn’t everything, brah. The second hand market can fluctuate, you know?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
          • Besi Buruk on Feb 27, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Using your crystal balls to predict the future of RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
          • gud review..
            Look now at my cloner 1 step ahead..now using same avatar as me. Very desperate to humiliate me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
          • People here who read my comment know that i dont drive wira…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • This is my [email protected] RBA

• the real farq on Feb 27, 2014 at 3:52 pm

it could be the same low EQ guy doing this. he stole my nick also.

• i feel u bro…now i know how Sam Loo feel…i be change my nick to KZR

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 141
        • Chris on Feb 27, 2014 at 8:56 am

I see Triton, Mirage, Attrage on a daily basis. I see ASX when I visit the mall walking through the parking lot. It’s true I’ve never seen the i-miev, and also hardly seen any new Pajero on the road.

What part of town are you from? Or just another Mitsubishi hater?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 4
          • Wisdom on Feb 27, 2014 at 11:14 am

Easy. He’s a Nissan salesman.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 1
          • the real farq on Feb 27, 2014 at 11:25 am

actually he’s a fake. he stole my nick and start posting everywhere like a rodent with repeated senseless statement in the hope to tarnish my nick. it’s amazing what people with little EQ do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
          • FrothBite on Feb 27, 2014 at 1:55 pm

In Langkawi, they gave this car for free for every purchase of Pajero.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
          • cskiat on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:44 pm

HIIIIII …… ASX owner hereeeeee…..

Bet he is surprise to see me ….. look! A MITSUBISHI owner !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • Maseratti on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Vios is far better than this junk, ask my boss Sam Loo to give you discount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 58
    • maliq on Mar 04, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Here, i would like to compare with my suzuki swift 1.4. I bought the basic version around 65k otr. this mitsubishi cost more than that, my suzuki FC is about 17 km/l on mix driving and 14-15km/l when in town. if highway fc, it could reach up to 24km/l if i keep it steady around 90km/h. Still, if i go up to 170km/l, the average figure is still around 14-15km/l. I know the attrage fc is slightly better but the thing is i have to spend more just to get the slight savings.If the attrage is set to be cheaper, i would consider one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • samuel on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:31 pm

The claimed FC of 21km/lit is nothing to shout about. The latest 3rd generation MINI which is 1.5cc with similar 3 cylinder engine is giving a better FC of 62miles/gal (100km/4 lit or 25km/lit). Hence it not a very good investment to buy Attrage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • Sedan, hatchback or SUV – whatever it is a person has right to choose as the money is theirs anyway.

• isuzuki on Mar 06, 2014 at 9:01 am

Since when a car becomes an investment?I thought it is supposed to be a liability? No ? aiai

• samoron on Mar 09, 2014 at 12:11 am

It is an investment only if you buy Vios. You buy Vios now and next year Sam Loo will take it for 100K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
        • Obviously on Mar 07, 2014 at 10:58 am

Have you forgotten the ~200k price tag of a MINI? You are comparing 2 different cars intended for 2 different markets.

Compare it with its most likely rivals (The Vios, the City, the Almera, etc.) and then you can sound more logical. Buying a car is never really an investment, anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
        • what is the price of that mini? might be slightly under 200k hahaha

• PreveLover on Nov 17, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Can u state the price of that “MINI” you referring to ? PaulTan team got 24.7 km/l for Attrage… so, just to get that 0.3 km/l savings, car buyers will have to spend a lot more ( let me help you with the pricing…the MINI you were referring to cost more than 178K)…Attrage and Mirage cost only 60K – 77K (1/3 of the price)…maybe you need a calculator and a Maths tutor…

• Kenneth on Feb 12, 2019 at 2:51 pm

I bet to differ. You are comparing a continental car with a Japanese car. Both cars are on different price range. Yes, your latest 3rd Generation Mini is better performance in term of Fuel Consumption. Have you ever thought the price discrepancy among these two cars, maintenance, and part replacement? You have to fork out RM220K or more for your said Mini 3rd generation if compared with a Attrage which is approximately RM76K or lesser. The extra of your money you can keep for maintenance for the next 10 years or buy for other cars.

I think Attrage is far more better of investment than your continental car.

• fuelsave on Feb 26, 2014 at 10:29 pm

Fuel save yes!!!
    When i drove this car i did felt a little underpowered when driving uphill especially with 4 people in the car. But i drove auto car la..manual maybe ok kot..kancil relek je naik 4 org balik kelantan.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
    • MITI should give this car only 10% excise duty car tax for being fuel efficient car (not 75%)

But for fuel thirsty car like Proton 10KM/Liter, MITI should punish it with extra 25% car tax to 100% (from 75%)

20KM/Liter Fuel efficient car = 10% car excise duty

10KM/Liter Fuel thirsty car = 100% car excise duty

OK setuju? Fair solution?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 15
      • Above 2 are cloner@minion@RBA…that not my way of commenting..people who use to read my comment should know the different..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Better u guy threat to kill me than impersonating as me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Kancil … balik Kelantan … tengok rear view mirror tak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • xinoc on Feb 27, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Kancil leads the way! 40km/h

• blublibla on Feb 26, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Definitely a nice car to own! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • Keris Jawa on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Tempting…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Green on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:21 pm

In Short from this review::

Achivement:
    Highway:24.19 km/l
    City:18.25 km/l

Altough it’s 1200cc.
    It gives a Power to weigh ratio same as Preve 1600cc IAFM.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 6
  • David khoo on Feb 26, 2014 at 11:41 pm

Having my eye on this car for some time now but the missus isn’t too thrilled with the 1.2L engine. Her friend’s insight can barely do steep uphill roads.
    Nevertheless I’m pretty convinced that it’ll make a good daily car for Malaysia; part highway cruise part slow traffic jams.

The only other car I’m considering is the new city since it’s CVT as well and weigh it against the anticipated price tag of up to 93k. 15k higher than the attrage.

Wish attrage had better colours to choose from tho…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • insight really that weak?

• Green on Feb 28, 2014 at 12:44 am

Honda insight is really weak::

take a look:
        Honda Insight:
        The 1.3 litre IMA system – with 88 PS and 121 Nm from the engine and 14 PS and 78 Nm from the motor.

Toyota Prius C:
        the VVT-i mill makes 73 PS and 111 Nm of torque.
        The electric motor in question makes 61 PS and 169 Nm of torque.

169Nm of torque in the Prius C.
        starting from 0km/h. this torque can never be found in any petrol car below 1.6.
        immediate oomph feeling on Prius C.

Honda insight.
        starting 0km/h only get 78Nm.
        and up to 40km/h still get 78Nm, where engine is off.

of course no power. u need to step pedal hard on Insight to activate the petrol engine.

Honda Hybrid –> Underpowered.
        less fuel efficiency too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
        • different types of hybrid on Jun 23, 2014 at 11:44 pm

Some correction to do.
          The Toyota and the Honda have all over different type of hybrid.
          The toyota hybrid only have their engine activated at speed above 40km/h, but the honda on the other hand their engine starts the moment you put your throttle on. not at speed above 40km/h.
          The reason? Coz honda still believed that the engine have to be the main power producer at all speed while the motor is just there to assist.
          Therefore based on ur statement, it should mean that the insight basically get back their 121NM of torque with their 78NM of torque from 0km/h. The only difference is the amount of assist you get from the motor differs based on your throttle input while the toyota is purely full electric motor which means that Honda had never been underpowered.
          However it is true that the toyota hybrid have better fuel consumption due to the fact that honda will activate their engine the moment you step on the accelerator.
          More engine runtime -> less fuel efficiency. not underpowered.

• Autoexpert on Oct 29, 2014 at 1:59 am

You must be a Toyota salesman who doesn’t really know automotive engineering and just trying to BS around with some torque figures from the brochures. FYI, at traffic light, I can beat a 2.4 Toyota Camry any time, because my Honda Insight can do the century sprint under 10 secs. flat!

• I do not sell car man..y need to clone my id n avatar

• Danny, can you please explain more what is ‘costing hybrid money’? Is it referring to expensive hybrid cars, or expensive maintenance/parts of hybrid car? Just wondering..

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 27, 2014 at 12:25 am

Sticker price. CBU hybrid exemptions have ended. The only CKD hybrid is the Jazz Hybrid at RM89,912.

The Attrage GS CVT is RM67,978.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • max speed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • roxas on Feb 27, 2014 at 12:11 am

actually it looks nice although abit dugong, simple is the best

• FFSAGA on Feb 27, 2014 at 12:20 am

The next SAGA R should be atleast 15km/L(CITY) and 19km/L(Highway). Hopefully so. But this car is cute…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
    • Low Budget on Feb 27, 2014 at 3:51 pm

I think you expect too much from the Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • FFSAGA on Feb 28, 2014 at 12:50 am

Who knows right? maybe Proton can develop better for fuel efficiency. If Viva others can support why not Saga?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • canyon on Feb 27, 2014 at 12:24 am

very good car. but malaysian mind set “1.2cc and that price! kidding me? better buy vios. chick magnet”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 17
  • Raptor on Feb 27, 2014 at 12:46 am

Could you elaborate more on the ‘honest’ handling? Do u mean it betrays a feeling of not being able to handle the car well enough? Just wondering.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 27, 2014 at 12:55 am

No sporting pretensions, simple and straightforward

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • tokmoh on Feb 27, 2014 at 1:04 am

Fuel efficient, competitively priced, 2 airbags + ABS as std. Sat in one during their roadshow around The Curve some time back, impressive interior space.

This car is full of win over its rivals. My recommended pick over vios keli, almari. City is safer with ESP, but priced too steep.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
  • 3-cylinder engines will definitely rattle like hell with a few years. Inherently unbalanced. And that cheap interior with that handling. Almost looks like a Proton. Throwing lots of equipment at it doesn’t even begin to justify its price, and for less I’d have the Picanto, which is so much more grown-up and refined.

Wonder when will DRB bring in the VW up, still the best small car I’ve seen, and according to the base prices in UK, the Mirage is more expensive at 9k pounds (up starts from 8k)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 36
    • iskhalifah on Feb 27, 2014 at 8:38 am

The picanto sips more fuel than this car, despite all being more equipped, safer & better looking. For fuel cost in the long run, this car is brilliant.

When Malaysians bought a car, they dont think much about running cost. Most with salary 3-4K bought Vios, instalment is high even for 9 years, plus harga minyak naik, then how to take care of other expenses??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Enthu on Feb 27, 2014 at 10:20 am

That’s because the Picanto is more equipped with safety features and kits making it a heavier car. The mirage/attrage is featherly weight for such a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Chris on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:02 am

Isn’t Up a small city car? This one is Polo size. Fair enough if you say you want an A segment car but then if that’s the case, the Attrage or Mirage isn’t for you anyway.

• The difference between A and B segments are blurring these days anyway. The Up and the Polo is not that different in terms of space anyway, so is the Mirage compared to a Viva. A small car can be fun to drive, well equipped and fuel efficient as well.

Comparing it by price, the Fiesta is fun but too expensive. The Swift has cheaper built quality but is so grown up in the way it drives. Anyone who says that the Swift is overpriced should drive it, feels like driving a bigger car. And its smaller than most A segments in terms of legroom and boot space.

For the Picanto comparisons, 6 airbags and ESC is so much more desirable compared to an extra 3km/l. You never know when you need safety until you really need it.

• Low Budget on Feb 27, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Agree with you that the car will rattle after a couple of years, because its not 4 cylinders firing,
      not only will it rattle it will also emit crock,crock,crock sound, but then it will ‘jimat minyak’

• isuzuki on Mar 03, 2014 at 12:32 pm

3-cylinder..

Think Daihatsu Charade of the 80s……. 1-litre 3-cylinder….. :)

• Ford Ecoboost , PSA Peugeot Citroën VTi 82, BMW and Renault TCe 90 are the current latest 3 cylinders engine available in Europe countries. 3 cylinders engine set the trend among the well known car manufacturers to reduce pollution.

• norman on Feb 27, 2014 at 1:53 am

Boot space not bad but 3 cylinders put me off..Wonder if theres plan for turbo version?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Wei Kiat on Feb 27, 2014 at 3:22 am

I have booked this car. However, I found out the handling isn’t ‘smart’ compare to Honda City, no auto-turn back when turn the steering. Is there anyway to fix this?

• Below comment was posted earlier by me on Mirage page – Feb22.
    http://paultan.org/2014/01/26/driven-mitsubishi-mirage-1-2-gs-tested-malaysia/#comments

Finally I upgraded my horse 2009 Vios J to 2013 Attrage. Below are my personal views after driving for 500km and still 1st tank of fuel:

1. Paintwork is not fully cover the body piece inside the engine compartment especially the engine hood. Paintwork generally look great from the outside view but you got “2 tones” for the hidden spot.

2. Many colleagues of mine have bad perception for a 3 cylinder engine. During idling, the 3A92 is really “shaky” but thanks to the engine mounting to dampen the vibration. Now the question is how much is the cost for engine mounting and also it’s life span as for the excessive movement.

3. After a week of driving, my best fuel consumption that I achieved was 15-17km/l for town driving. Tried a short stint of 20km highway drive, the computer trip showed average of 20.3km/l. I set the air cond to 26° Celsius, engine rpm below 3000. Most important, your foot must be gentle on the throttle pedal.

4. This is my 1st time to drive a CVT transmission car. The so called rubber band effect does exist in this car but only experience when the speed from 20-40km/h. However, if you press the throttle pedal right e.g after paying the toll and accelerate and you won’t feel the effect. From my experiment, keep the rpm at least 2500 and I don’t get the effect. The pickup is adequate for single driver without passengers. Since my engine is still in break in period but I have a feel that the car can be very fast and strong after rpm hit 3000 and above.

5. I can’t comment the handling of the car now as I need time to adapt after switching from Vios J. Initial, the body roll is beyond my expectation. I change the seat position for a few times as the design have limited lumbar support. I lowered the tire pressure as I got the car with very high tire pressure from the sales centre. Then I changed the height of the steering wheel so that I can have optimum comfortable seat position and I feel confident to make sharp turns. No matter how, the body roll is bad if compare to my old Vios and agreed by my passengers. This car needs driver skills to drive in aggressive mode. Surprisingly, I feel Attrage is more comfortable to drive than my old Vios after the third day. I did missed my old car after a day and two :)

6. The car undercarriage sound proof is poorer than my old Vios. I just don’t like the sound of the suspension when the car hit certain potholes. It will sound like a “gong”. Speed bumps, uneven road, etc are fine for me. Overall cabin insulation is good when I switch on the Kenwood HU to elimate the CVT, engine and outside noise.

7. Attrage seems more premium than my old Vios in term of digital stuffs. The HU, keyless operation system, digital aircond, EBD brake system, auto-fold side mirrors (my colleagues wow for this and pray that it won’t spoil easily) and the most significant are leather wrapped steering wheel and gear shift :) It lacks of coin compartment, arm rest console (ask SA to order for me) and luggage boot tray (ask SA to order too).

I just hope the car is problem free and less maintainance cost for years. I’ll give two thumbs up if the resale value is high in future.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 2
    • ayamxxx on Feb 27, 2014 at 8:47 am

That “Legendary” Vios is no match with this Attrage. Should compared the “Legendary” with a BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • – The front seats very thin paddings and a bit cramped rear seats for tall people (head nearly hit the roof).

– Door handle flat type (old fashion). If pull type and chrome it’ll look premium.

– Engine is timing chain, surely less maintenance costs.

– No audio control button at steering for all models. But for Thailand Attrage it is available.

– Digital aircon is a big plus point, the first for any cheap B segment, not even Vios have it.

– Dashboard plastic not too rough, comparable as Myvi. Still smooth to touch. Door panels just decent quality. But overall acceptable quality lah.

– Price big problem. Either Mitsubishi Malaysia being forced to put RM10K more expensive than Thailand unit or trying to rake quick bucks. Only MITI knows the real mystery…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • Obviously on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:57 am

Something these reviews usually don’t mention is the slightly quirky nature of the CVT. It carries with it a subtransmission consisting of a single high and a single low gear in addition to the CVT pulleys. The gears are sth like the H and L gears on some bicycles. At certain speeds when the low gear switches to the high gear or the high gear switches to low gear in a kickdown, it can feel like a conventional autobox in operation. It also sometimes allows for a speed burst for when you need it in a kickdown-like effect. ;)
      Really depends on how you play with the throttle for smoothness or aggression.

P.S. I’m an Attrage GS owner since the end of December 2013. Love the car for its inherent qualities, except for the body roll, which is very apparent. Going to install some Ultra Racing bars, in due time….

• abuya123 on Feb 27, 2014 at 11:03 am

I doubt your comment. Here is my view. Before I start, bear in mind that you said just 500 km with 1st tank. Ok, lets,

1. Paintwork is not fully cover the body piece inside the engine compartment especially the engine hood. Except continental car, this is normal. I dont know if you try to tell others your ‘seluar kecik’ is red color and try to highlight that rather than tell others that you pants is black.

2. Now the question is how much is the cost for engine mounting and also it’s life span as for the excessive movement. Are you try to say that is car is high maintenance compare vios? Bro, viva semua 3 cyl. Ok je.

3. After a week of driving, my best fuel consumption that I achieved was 15-17km/l for town driving. Tried a short stint of 20km highway drive, the computer trip showed average of 20.3km/l. We all know that computer trip is just estimation. Need to fuel up for accurate result. You dont eh this procedure? Pakcik google can help you.

4. The pickup is adequate for single driver without passengers. You say so long dear, pusing sana sini… why not said, pickup vios is better than this 1.2 liter car?

5. the body roll is bad if compare to my old Vios and agreed by my passengers. Aha…. this is point. Good one

6. The car undercarriage sound proof is poorer than my old Vios. Same as above

7. (my colleagues wow for this and pray that it won’t spoil easily). Quality question right? In other words, vios is better right?

I just hope the car is problem free and less maintainance cost for years. I’ll give two thumbs up if the resale value is high in future. Ya ya…. Vios is more reliable and high resale value. Hello, put the hell resale value. If car is reliable and low maintenance, why just use it for 9 years only?

After 4 years, your insurance premium goes crazy. Plus, incoming car now more cheaper and insurance getting higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
      • Obviously on Feb 27, 2014 at 2:27 pm

For your number 3, let me vouch for the accuracy of the trip computer. I’ve had 5 refuels for this car and if I consistently see 16.1km/l for most of the days between refuels, the actual calculated mileage per tank is very very close to the most commonly seen mileage on the trip computer.

Quality remains to be seen, since the car is relatively new. However, Toyota’s quality track record is quite good so Mitsubishi will be hard-pressed to top them, as will many other autocompanies.

• JohnDi on Feb 27, 2014 at 7:49 am

Although the FC is really great but sorry guys it looks like coffin with wheels on it. Not attractive to look…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
    • Obviously on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:30 am

Wow, the coffins from your country sound quite amazing. Never heard of roundish coffins before. How can I order them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • So you think Saga prettiest car of them all lah? Poor macai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Shahril on Feb 27, 2014 at 8:16 am

Who is stupid enough drive 70 – 100 KM/H? Even in mid kl MRR2 malaysian drive average 120KM/H

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 42
    • Shahril on Feb 27, 2014 at 8:18 am

The TEST absolutely BUSTED. Unless Malaysian Driving mentality are in Law order. No way.

• Obviously on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:31 am

That is not the point of the test. The point of the test is to prove that it can be achieved in the real world. They did test it in the real world, after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Chris on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:09 am

Stick only to the left lane. Seriously it’s only 70-100km/h on E1.

Except for one time I almost hit a kancil doing 60.

They should put up a sign saying unless traffic jam, min speed is 20km/h slower than speed limit.

• tawil on Feb 27, 2014 at 12:06 pm

whats actually E1 mean?

• Chris on Feb 27, 2014 at 3:51 pm

The Northern route of the North South Expressway.

Normal for me to drive 80-100km/h if I stick to the left most lane. Occasionally will see a supercar, luxury car or SUV speeding down at break-neck speed on the right-most lane.

• holofanboi on Feb 27, 2014 at 2:40 pm

This is the kind of attitude which justifies AES cameras everywhere regardless of whether or not the government is making money out of it.

Speed is infinitely relative from person to person, road condition and traffic. Expecting everyone to drive at YOUR flawed standard.

Back on topic, this review is surprisingly fun to read o_0. While I have seen one in the metal, the boring design did not manage to interest me in the slightest. After reading this though, im kind of interested in arranging for a test drive…hmm. Oh well, thanks for the great read!

• isuzuki on Feb 27, 2014 at 8:36 am

Hm….

Can MMC share the maintenance cost?

• JeremyNg on Feb 27, 2014 at 10:36 am

You can check it at their website ! I saw it b4 and it’s cheap to maintain ……

• Should test these lil eco cars like what top gear S21 E03 did. Love to see what it can do ^^;

• Just wondering if putting hybrid to Attrage.:))

• Denaihati on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:53 am

Never drive M Attrage before but, from this test shown is the good choice in FC.
    Personally, no high expectation in performance.
    Interior looks spacious and quite comfortable for long distance driving even for 5 passengers.

• Obviously on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Tried to fit in the back before. 3 adults cannot fit in the back comfortably. Rubbing elbows, baby!

• the real farq on Feb 27, 2014 at 11:13 am

danny, u guys should not throw sepang trip into the mix. u should go full traffic daily commute. throwing a long distance journey just dilutes everything as almost all cars are fuel efficient running on highways. the real test is on daily commute with jams jams and jams!

• Sii Pai Gong on Feb 27, 2014 at 11:43 am

The next Proton Preve replacement model ? Proton Pretrage !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • Guan Yin Ma on Feb 27, 2014 at 1:00 pm

I average 25-26km/l in my prius everyday no matter what type of driving condition except speeding over 120km/h

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
    • Same Lor on Feb 27, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Bro, your prius can buy 2.5 Attrages, ok? There is nothing much to be proud with additional 7km/l if you pay additional RM80k lar…

Well done Attrage, it totally put Preve, Suprima S, Inspira those junk in shame!

Proton please rebadge it (with Mitsubishi engine and gearbox) to benefit Malaysian. After all, you guys doing better in rebadging compare to new model aka 4S model (sendiri design, sendiri cakap, sendiri syok, and sales carnival lol).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
  • Danny, would like to know your view on the comfort of this car especially for sound insulation on highway. Thanks

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 27, 2014 at 4:51 pm

It was pretty decent for me, nothing really stood out to catch my attention, which is a good thing

• I maintained the engine to 4000-5000 rpm and the CVT push the car to reach 140km/h. The Eco mode light off and then when I ease off the throttle pedal to 3000 rpm, the Eco mode light on back. Surprisingly, I can’t hear the engine roar but only wind noise. My first 1000km with Attrage today.

• NELSON on Mar 03, 2014 at 10:31 am

i test drive yesterday,but 4 plp in car… try in city feel sti ok.. pick up also nice even 4plp in a car… full tekan habis minyak engin no noise in gear D. the power feel like drive a kelisa… air con with out tinted is hot a bit even open max n 18. 1 thg ur car will show 9.5l per 100km?cz test drive car is show tat,saleman say many people test drive so is like tat.(mayb jam,full press oil drive…)*this point ganggu me want to buy or not… = =”’

• During my test drive, I tested with 4 person too. The trip computer can be reset at any time by pressing the odometer button for more than a second. The 9.5l/100km was the history data kept by the trip computer for last 4 hours.

Try to test drive again after resetting the data. Do have fun with the car!

• albag on Feb 27, 2014 at 8:26 pm

one question to ask – where the hell is the temperature gauge? i saw fuel gauge, saw RPM, saw speedometer… how to monitor the car engine temperature???

• Obviously on Feb 27, 2014 at 10:01 pm

Most new cars, including this one, make do without one (check the new Vios…). There is a green temperature light that lights up when the engine is cool to remind you to be gentle and the same light will become red if the engine starts overheating.

• not to mentioned this car using which grade of engine oil ? 0W20 or 5W30 ?
    because different viscosity make huge different in city drive…

this car factory engine oil in thailand using 0W20..
    so test drive unit is still under 1k km or ?

• I asked service centre to change oil and filter during 1st 1000km free inspection. They supplied Shell HX7 E 5W-30 3 liters.

• Terence on Feb 28, 2014 at 8:52 am

Proton should rebadge this car and Mirage as their Global small car rather than spent dunno how many billions to develop a new model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • bystander on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:25 am

“It could have been an isolated case, but the test car’s idle wasn’t perfectly smooth – throbbing can be felt through the brake pedal (subsides when gear lever is pushed to N), which is slightly at odds with the drivetrain’s general manners.”

Hi Danny,

I test drove the Attrage, and similarly experienced the same characteristic with the CVT version. It isn’t a very strong vibration, but noticeable. I guess owners would just get used to it.
    Agree with your review and some of the points mentioned by other owner’s comments. I guess you just have manage your expectations for what this car is, and isn’t. Sound insulation is understandably less, probably to save weight.
    End of the day, didn’t buy the Attrage as well as the Almera (was shopping around), for one personal reason – rear seats do not fold down, which I do need from time to time, so ended up buying the City. Told my wife, if we didn’t need this feature, Attrage would have been my choice!

• samlok on Feb 28, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Very good fuel consumption! My new swift is only able to do 15.2km/l no matter how hard i try

• Just now feel naughty and press my car hard along NSE highway to Rawang toll. Distance 40km, trip computer show 12.4km/l, rpm always stay above 3000 and maximum hit 6000 when overtaking slow weekend morning drivers. The 3A92 engine is rev happy type. The engine noise is still quite hard to notice since it’s small and sound like a lawn mover :)

• NELSON on Mar 03, 2014 at 12:47 pm

3000 above 12.4 km/l = 1500cc car run at 150km/h (my 94 wira manual) ur speed is?
      attrage engin noise realy not big when i pull all,better thn inspira…

• CVT transmission ratio is not fixed. It was 140km/h that morning for 4000-5000 rpm then when I ease my throttle it dropped to 3000. During descend the hill, the car can hit 110km/h at 2000 rpm but it’s depend on the road terrain. That’s why CVT is more fuel efficient than manual transmission if you know how to maintain the car momentum by correct engine speed rpm.

• NELSON on Mar 03, 2014 at 11:35 pm

LOOK NICE… 110KM/H AT 2000RPM…
          if 120 km/h how many l/100km?
          after test drive,feel most like kelisa just it is sedan car … pickup also nice…smooth cvt.. your car is SE?got add any package?
          now plan want buy it or not… hehe…

• Please take note that the trip computer is just only estimation. Most of the time I maintain 2000-2500 rpm and the speed stay around 90-120km/h on the flat road. In actual calculation, my first tank was 17km/l and second tank was 15km/l after fuel refill in petrol station.

Current Attrage offer while stock last with Rm1000 rebate. Limited colour available and new 2014 batch stock may subject to new prices. If your first priority is fuel economy and everyday you travel more than 100km a day, this car worth to consider. Will fuel prices increase very soon after BR1M? Who knows?

• Obviously on Mar 07, 2014 at 11:05 am

On a flat stretch of road, 2000rpm yields 80km/h. 2100/2125rpm yields 90km/h. The acceleration to get there by maintaining 2000rpm is quite gradual, however.

• Carl Wong on Mar 02, 2014 at 8:49 pm

You drive a Hybrid too Mr. Tan? So what car do you drive?

• Archangel on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:37 am

Decent looking car with good fuel consumption. Nice review.

• kyheng on Mar 09, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Testing the best FC challenge under highway drive is like eating a tomyam without any chili and hot spices and telling other that :”this tomyam is not hot”.
    Just try cruising it under traffic jams and pure coastal road. It won’t yield 21km/l at any 1 time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • bystander on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:47 am

Obviously you don’t read the complete article and jump straight to shooting blindly. Next time, try not to embarass yourself.

“Yes, we bettered the combined score of 21 km/l, but it has to be qualified that our route was mostly highway with just a small portion of city traffic, and it was a conscious effort to be light-footed, cruising below normal highway speeds to maintain a consistently low rpm.

A constant 110 km/h cruise with occasional overtaking wouldn’t have delivered such spectacular results, but it was a test to prove what’s possible with some willpower. And we’re not talking about extreme hypermiling.

After achieving what’s possible, we set out to do something more probable. Another stint with the Attrage CVT over a couple of working days (normal routine, mixed driving with jams, including one trip to Sepang and back) returned 365 km for my 20 litres of RON95, which is equivalent to 18.25 km/l – better than expected, and more surprising than the aforementioned best efforts.”

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Heard my name being called out. Thanks for shooting him for me. I would have responded in a similar manner had you not.

Accidentally posted new comment down there instead of replying.

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Heard my name being called out. Thanks for shooting him for me. I would have responded in a similar manner had you not.

• Jenny on Mar 14, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Hi all, i have a few question:
    1.) Can the car speed up to 150km/h with load 5 passenger? How about the fuel usage?
    2.) Is it easy to find Attrage spare parts in Malaysia? How about the price?

• 1. 150km/h is beyond speed limit permission in Malaysia therefore it’s not recommended. I’ll not risk my passengers. Why not you go to showroom and ask the sales guy to allow you experiment with your loved one / 5 passengers?

2. No owners can tell you about spare parts because Mitsu mirage/attrage are still less than 3 years in Malaysia. Maybe you can write to Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia for their commitment and list out thousand of parts selling price to you.

• NELSON on Mar 15, 2014 at 12:53 am

Attrage compression ratio is 11.0:1
    Mirage 10.5:1

The compression ratio of an internal-combustion engine or external combustion engine is a value that represents the ratio of the volume of its combustion chamber from its largest capacity to its smallest capacity. It is a fundamental specification for many common combustion engines.

In a piston engine, it is the ratio between the volume of the cylinder and combustion chamber when the piston is at the bottom of its stroke, and the volume of the combustion chamber when the piston is at the top of its stroke.[1]

For example, a cylinder and its combustion chamber with the piston at the bottom of its stroke may contain 1000 cc of air (900 cc in the cylinder plus 100 cc in the combustion chamber). When the piston has moved up to the top of its stroke inside the cylinder, and the remaining volume inside the head or combustion chamber has been reduced to 100 cc, then the compression ratio would be proportionally described as 1000:100, or with fractional reduction, a 10:1 compression ratio.

A high compression ratio is desirable because it allows an engine to extract more mechanical energy from a given mass of air-fuel mixture due to its higher thermal efficiency. This occurs because internal combustion engines are heat engines, and higher efficiency is created because higher compression ratios permit the same combustion temperature to be reached with less fuel, while giving a longer expansion cycle, creating more mechanical power output and lowering the exhaust temperature. It may be more helpful to think of it as an “expansion ratio”, since more expansion reduces the temperature of the exhaust gases, and therefore the energy wasted to the atmosphere. Diesel engines actually have a higher peak combustion temperature than petrol engines, but the greater expansion means they reject less heat in their cooler exhaust.

Higher compression ratios will however make gasoline engines subject to engine knocking if lower octane-rated fuel is used, also known as detonation. This can reduce efficiency or damage the engine if knock sensors are not present to retard the timing. However, knock sensors have been a requirement of the OBD-II specification used in 1996 model year vehicles and newer.

On the other hand, Diesel engines operate on the principle of compression ignition, so that a fuel which resists autoignition will cause late ignition, which will also lead to engine knock.

• they said the higher compression ratio- the higher octane-rated fuel we should use, is it true ? thank you very much

• Frankly say, my 2.0 turbo diesel will get 21km/ltr for that kind of speed in highway route.

• But 18km/ltr on combine traffic is pretty impressive though.. Well it small engine.

• So far I got an Almera and a Vios car drivers challenged me to speed along LDP and Federal highway. I guess my Attrage front chrome look fierce for them :)
    Weird stuff I found out lately. If you check your smartphone Map apps, the speed different is lesser compare with my old ride, 2009 Vios J. For example, when I maintained my speed 110km/h for a minute, Map apps in Mitsubishi car shown 107km/h and in Vios car shown 103km/h.
    In short, it seems like traveling 110km/h in my old ride but in my Attrage 110km/h seems more faster and quieter with 2000-2500rpm.

• NELSON on Apr 02, 2014 at 12:50 am

and whn speed 120km/h plus ,the eco light stil hv at 3.3k rpm whn run a bit uphill way…

• Again.. This morning after the morning jam I was being “chased” by a Proton Inspira along LDP highway till the toll booth. Sweat.

• So many complaints here. Too many technology expert. What’s the best alternative for this car..? Good FC..good price. ..powerful. ..faster…smooth. .?

• Good FC..good price. ..powerful. ..faster…smooth. ..?
      Yes, ask your government to build more bullet trains route surrounding your area.

• agreed on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Agreed. So we have no choice. This is the best choice compare to others car in the world. ..

• Shanghai Boy (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 1:25 pm

I am seriously considering getting an Attrage for daily commuting. Can’t seem to find the NCAP rating for this car. Any ides?

• new attrage owner on Apr 30, 2014 at 8:36 am

If not mistaken for the malaysian version I think it is 3 stars, other countries have 5 stars with the ESP. you can check with the SA

• new buyer on May 21, 2014 at 11:43 pm

how is the attrage power to climb up 19° hill road (14km long) ? There r many hills road n crocker road in borneo. anybody experienced it?

• Sorry, can I ask you a question ?

What is different between vehicles for Euro 5 regulation and the rest ?

I live in VietNam, I don’t know what is the reason they said that : for Euro 5 regulation and Azerbaijan vehicle use unleaded 95 Ron ?

I think Mitsubishi made the same engine for all Mitsubishi attrage CVT so why we ( Vietnamese) should use unleaded 90 Ron instead of 95 Ron? ( they said with 90 Ron the engine’s performance reduced ) like European use?

What is different between Euro 5 regulation and Vietnam ?
    what are different between unleaded 95 and 90 Ron?

I have just bought one attrage CVT 2015,… please reply me, thank you very much.

• All of the mirage discussion but why on the earth does some of ppl still bash proton?

Shit

• alvin on Mar 20, 2016 at 4:24 pm

can i still buy mitsubishi attrage with a manual transmission ?

• After 3 years and 70K km mileage, my Attrage still running like very new but the second hand value between Rm30-Rm40K. It’s more valueable to buy as used car now.