Volvo V40 gets Drive-E engines and eight-speed auto

Volvo_V40_T5_D4_11

Already introduced on the S60, it’s now the Volvo V40’s turn to receive the company’s brand new line of Drive-E engines and Aisin-sourced eight-speed automatic gearbox. Offered in T5 and D4 forms, the Swedish carmaker claims the V40 now offers the most powerful and lowest emission engines in its segment.

On the petrol front, the new V40 T5 gets the Drive-E 2.0 litre turbocharged direct-injection engine that’s good for 245 hp and 300 Nm. It will replace the existing 213 hp/300 Nm five-cylinder turbo model, which we’ve pitted against the VW Golf GTI, Mercedes A 250 Sport and BMW 125i Sport in our Driven Web Series.

Paired to the new eight-speed transmission, which now includes paddle shifters, the V40 T5 is said to average 5.8 litres per 100 km (17.2 km/l), a big improvement over the outgoing model’s 7.5 l/100 km (13.3 km/l). CO2 emissions have dropped from 174 grammes per kilometre (g/km) to a just 136 g/km too.

Volvo_V40_T5_D4_04

Meanwhile, the updated Volvo V40 D4 gets the Drive-E 2.0 litre twin-turbocharged four-cylinder diesel engine that’s tuned for 190 hp and 400 Nm of torque. This one features Volvo’s own i-ART technology to offer high performance, improved fuel economy and considerably lower emissions.

The diesel variant is sure to get better fuel efficiency numbers, but the difference is staggering. Matched to an enhanced six-speed manual gearbox, the V40 D4’s combined consumption figure is 3.3 l/100km (30.3 km/l), while emitting just 85 g/km of CO2. The V40 Cross Country D4 does 4.0 l/100km (25.0 km/l) and 104 g/km.

Called VEA (Volvo Engine Architecture) in the development phase, the Drive-E engine family will be available on all new Volvo models, including the S60, V60, XC60, S80, V70 and XC70, from May 2014. The next-gen XC90 will be the first new model to pair it with Volvo’s SPA (Scalable Product Architecture) modular platform.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Xplorer on Feb 26, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Sui :)

• Volvo is already a dead brand in Malaysia. Same fate as Fiat. Nobody buys Volvo anymore. Although supposedly got OEM, everybody now knows, every single part of any Volvo car is Made in China. for what I pay Rm300,000 for a China car? Might as well buy a Cherry Tiggo outright!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 68
      • keyboard warrior on Feb 27, 2014 at 3:39 pm

yeah…farq..better stick to ur honda city or toyota vios then, assembly in malaysia, much better….

• Everything made in China Except you on Feb 27, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Everyone on this Earth shouldn’t buy Apple product such as Iphone because our brain is not from China. I hope Proton made in China so we can afford to buy if your quality mind set is cheaper then German product :)

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 3:41 pm

“Made in China” doesn’t necessarily mean bad product quality. Quality control there also varies from company to company, just like everywhere else in the world. Neither does “Made in China” mean that it’s a crappy product. You can see it for yourself, how Volvo has been progressing after the Geely acquisition.

Please, don’t be so close-minded.

P.S. Are you even the real farq?

• GTR36 on Feb 26, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Will this ever come to Malaysia unless 2013/12/11 stocks run our first?

• aerotourer on Feb 26, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Sad to know that as I just got my V40 Cross Country last month. Now with the new engine and gearbox.

• dude, American volvo fans are willing to kill just to get your five cylinder V40 CC. One of last models running on the famous volvo 5 cylinder engine!

• Fake Farq Monkey on Feb 27, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Sorhai betul…hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • tikus on Feb 26, 2014 at 6:07 pm

This car should be getting 0% tax if CKD in bolehland.

• BLT Club on Feb 26, 2014 at 6:42 pm

17.2 km/l from a 2.0L Turbo? Only if you drive on the highway all the time. Combined with city driving in Klang Valley, you’re lucky to average 10km/l.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • qwerty on Feb 26, 2014 at 7:32 pm

Aisin-sourced 8-speed gearbox? That’s the same unit on the LS460!! Good stuff!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • gavin on Feb 26, 2014 at 8:42 pm

3.3 litre per hundred km is like two 1.5 bottles of diesel only to drive until nearly seremban

• just me on Feb 26, 2014 at 9:25 pm

I will take this over the hybrid.

• old dog on Feb 26, 2014 at 10:02 pm

Volvol is back! still remember in the 1990s those directors all driving volvo instead of Merc/BMW..

950, 850 is the common models..

• Twin induction engine….good.

• Impressive… too bad in Malaysia all cars are overly tax, else i would not care about second value and will get a Volvo over Merc…

• Fake Farq Monkey on Feb 27, 2014 at 3:15 pm

volvo….coffin on wheels for life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • AllenC on Feb 27, 2014 at 4:23 pm

When will V40 come to M’sia?? Need to upgrade from my trusty 19 year old 850R.

• me meor on Feb 27, 2014 at 4:34 pm

..no more the V ery O dd L ooking V ehicular
    O bject…

• Poobs on Feb 27, 2014 at 5:00 pm

I love volvo! but cant afford one.

• RealTime on Mar 01, 2014 at 11:51 pm

Just to correct above comment, this Aisin 8 speed auto is not exactly the same as the LS460 because the LS460 is a RWD/AWD car. And V40 is a FWD car.

More likely, this 8 speed auto on V40 is the same transaxle on the Lexus RX front wheeler.

But in any case, same gearbox used in different cars will have their softwares tweaked differently by the car makers to suit the torque output.

• Volvo on Mar 16, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Hmm.. Volvo saleman told me this new engine is never coming to Malaysia.

• Based on the new engines, wouldn’t this qualify for EEV since this car is ckd?

• Allan on Apr 07, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Any updates on when this Drive -E, 8 speed V40 will reach our shore?

• Anti-Toyota on Jun 29, 2014 at 5:54 am

I love the V40 design and considering to get one. Is it a high maintain car? Is it reliable?

• SKYjack on Mar 08, 2016 at 4:14 pm

It is a relatively high performance engine. Wear & tear will be higher then NA engine. Long term maintenance will be high as compared to a NA engine. But it will certainly be a fun & lively car to drive.