Honda Insight – production of second-gen ending

Honda_Insight_ 002

After poor sales worldwide, it is confirmed that the Honda Insight will be axed almost immediately, with production in Japan coming to a close at the end of the month.

The news came after several months of speculation – the company reportedly informed US dealers as early as November that the five-door hybrid would be canned this month and told them to stop taking orders for the car. More recently, Honda ended European sales of the Insight as well as the sportier CR-Z sister last week.

The original Honda Insight made headlines in 1999 by being the first hybrid to go on sale in the US, beating the Toyota Prius by seven months. However, the impracticality of the three-door body and odd looks meant that it never reached the sales heights of its competitor.

Honda then followed a completely different route with the successor – switching to a Prius-aping five-door bodystyle and slashing prices to undercut even the Prius c (in the US at least) – but even then sales still trailed the Toyota, hampered by poor performance and fuel efficiency.

Cumulative global sales of the Prius up to the end of last year stood at 3.19 million units, outstripping the Insight (at 280,629 units) by more than ten to one. Last year, Honda sold just 4,802 Insights in the US and 1,242 in Europe. This makes the car the second worst-selling Honda model in both markets, beaten only by the CR-Z.

As of now it is unclear whether there will be a successor to the current car, which if produced would almost certainly be using the Earth Dreams powertrain of the new Fit/Jazz Hybrid. Also unclear is the fate of the CR-Z, given that it shares the Insight’s platform, basic hybrid technology and production line, but it is understood that production is set to continue in the meantime.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• sudonano on Feb 27, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Oh well. In Malaysia it sold well initially as it was the cheapest hybrid in the country. Until the Prius C that is. The one thing that killed the Insight was the engine. Same reason why the Civic hybrid didn’t do well in the last gen. The 1.3 has not enough power, cause when paired to the motor, it only can achieve what a 1.5/1.6 is achieving. At least the newer 1.5 IMA system is more powerful. Civic Hybrid sales are not bad actually.

The 1.3 IMA would be ok in smaller cars like the Jazz, but the added metal in the insight takes too much away I think. Also the radical styling.

Anyway, RIP Insight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 11
    • carlies on Feb 27, 2014 at 8:28 pm

This is what I expected all the while. Honda IMA is simply a toy to compete with toyata’s real hybrid. I really feel so sorry to those own this and the second hand price shown at oto here gonna revised soon. Maybe ÷2???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
      • What exactly do you mean by “real” hybrid?
        Honda was the one who actually invented the hybrid drivetrain you fcktard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 73
        • zalendo on Feb 28, 2014 at 3:23 am

U sound likes u are not understanding the different in hybrid system between insight and 3rd prius in msia and forth gen plugin hybrid ver in Europe. Insight ima is like putting battery in ur toy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • Insightgoesintosoup on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:04 am

The first to try to invent it but the first to become rubbish.. Battery reliability issue.. No pickup.. Childish-ish low torque from electric motor.. Engine turns on after releasing the brake n to top it off… Aircond turns off while idling.. Just like me 10 years old saga…

Meanwhile toyota has never had such issue.. No aircond problem in fact aircond needs not service until 200000 km.. Engine turns off while cruising and in traffic for a very long time.. Electric motor alone gives 169Nm.. What was the torque from insights motor, again?

In fact toyota can go with unlimited km/l going downhill genting.. Now can honda do that? I suggest honda go practice with attrage boys first for fc then only can dream competing with toyota boys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
        • Sunriver on Feb 28, 2014 at 3:44 pm

hello Ben… why SO angry?

Chill out dude.

IMO, I choose the Prius over the Insight for the 1 simple fact that the Prius can go all electric for those short drive to the convenient store.

Peace

• ProtonHonHybrid on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:45 pm

why worry, the IMA technology can sell to Proton, they like to take those outdated technology and do rebadge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 17
      • Same Lor on Feb 27, 2014 at 11:42 pm

Good one! Proton should stop burning our money (every car you buy, you subsidize proton) with some junk models like Emas, Exora hybrid, Persona hybrid, Preve no brake etc and do the real thing: REBADGE the INSIGHT!

Please at least do something good to Malaysian, ok? The IMA is a perfect match to Proton’s fuel hunger monster engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
      • kington on Feb 28, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Yes, one can only expect Proton to take up this offer from Honda. Hence the revision to NAP to kill other hybrids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • BTW, Honda did say that they will make a City Hybrid from the current gen. But reports states that it will be sold exclusively in Japan first.

http://paultan.org/2013/11/21/city-hybrid/

Perhapse this is the CKD hybrid they are talking about.

• oh my honda on Feb 27, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Well, Prius is still the King!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 35
    • Honda Insight big problem is the fugly awkward rear design unlike Prius of which Toyota managed to proportionate it nicely.

Whoever fails in rear design will suffer very poor sales…just ask Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Polo Saga on Feb 27, 2014 at 6:04 pm

Oh No, I quite like this car….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
  • Poor drivetrain and questionable quality was what killed it, the Prius for example, was larger and better built, and the HSD was technologically ahead of the IMA.

But this brings me to another question, earlier this month, Honda said there will be 2 CKD hybrid, now with Insight ticked out, whats left is the Civic and the CRZ hybrid, both powered by IMA powertrain that is similar to the current Jazz hybrid CKD. Unless Honda Malaysia decided that it has what it takes to assemble advance 2-motor hybrid system of the EarthDream family, I doubt we could see CKD-version of the Accord/new Jazz and Vezel hybrid….but I am no analysis, so 50/50 chance I might be wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • AutoFrenz on Feb 27, 2014 at 6:28 pm

10 to 1…oh wow…why honda why…even vios-city is 2 to 1…and to add more insult…even in europe they cannot stand crz…only.here people feel so premium driving honda…as of they hv got it in life…kesian kn..sob sob

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 17
    • Honda and Toyota was never a premium brand. We here bought their cars because of the reliability and after sales service.

• Low Budget on Feb 28, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Correct, they are actually brands build for the masses. only our Gomen impose high excise duty on it to make it like premium brand.
        In Boleh Land one often sees those who bought Toyota and Honda are proud like hell and also brag like hell, actually in Mat Salleh countries, coolie also can afford to buy such cars, no sweat!

• division93 on Feb 27, 2014 at 6:35 pm

looks like we wont even get the chance to try the facelifted insight with the 1.5 IMA engine. man that engine would be better suited to the car. kinda like the looks of the car compared to the tall-ish looking prius c. oh well, life goes on

• lowprofile on Feb 27, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Just get rid of the hybrid engine and the car will sell again. Fit it with maybe the L15 or better still, the R18. Market it as a sportier version of the City.

• To those current owners good news is that your car less likely to get stolen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
  • The Insight has no place in Honda’s current line up. It has the Fit/Jazz Hybrid which undercuts the Insight in terms of price, and the Civic Hybrid that will be more expensive than the Insight, but offers more space and power.

All in all, the Insight is more like a rushed effort from Honda to counter Toyota’s Prius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • lowprofile on Feb 27, 2014 at 6:53 pm

I agree with you. Leave the hybrid duties to the Fit/Jazz and the Civic but let the Insight live on with a conventional engine. Too many hybrid models within the same brand and the market’s general slow take up of hybrid models due to fear factor will deal it a difficult blow unless it the Insight is rebranded with a conventional engine.

• Even if they put in a conventional engine, it still wouldn’t sell, because Honda has the City. The City will sell more compared to the Insight, for its more conventional sedan look.

• Proton Insight on Feb 27, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Perhaps good time for proton to re-badge this hybrid car, buy over the complete platform from Honda, they already re-badging the previous gen of the Honda Accord so why not this model which is going to be axed. After re-badging, sell the proton Insight for RM50K or lower, should be a good seller with it being a locally produced hybrid !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Feb 28, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Proton to become re-badge specialist?
      Might as well be, the Proton’s owner also is the distributor of several car brand.

• kalai on Feb 27, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Gonna have spare part problem in future when it become limited addition units..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • I doubt it, the powertrain is shared with the hybrid version of the previous gen Civic and Fit/Jazz(our current Jazz hybrid CKDs). Also, there are many other JDM Honda that runs this powertrain, the Fit Shuttle for example. I believe that the LDA engine shares many Similar parts with other L-series engine.

Mass produced cars like this is nearly impossible to run out of parts due to the fact that it shares many similar components with other cars in the company line up.

• proton accord on Feb 27, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Guess this is the karma for partnering with potong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 18
  • albag on Feb 27, 2014 at 7:55 pm

congrats on the current Insight owners! your car is getting rare soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Guan Yin Ma on Feb 27, 2014 at 8:06 pm

RIP. dun worry. You still have your new NSX coming up in 2016.

• Jebonr on Feb 27, 2014 at 8:39 pm

Too bad for Insight. I like the look compare to Prius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
    • ProtonHonHybrid on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:46 pm

You have no taste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 37
    • DrCooper on Feb 28, 2014 at 7:21 am

you obviously has a limit sense of look taste. And no this is not about beauty-is-in-the-eyes-of-the-beholder shit, it just you

• Insightdoomed-foreseen on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:16 pm

Insight? A lot of battery breakdown reports.. Aircond not working during idling and the best part is…. Attrage does better in terms of fuel efficiency than this mild hybrid.. Kesian.. Proton should rebadge and sell less than rm50k.. Afterall thats what it is worth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
  • Denaihati on Feb 27, 2014 at 9:21 pm

bad news for h insight. i hope CR-Z will continue in production and hope h insight will replace by most popular h city hybrid, another variant of h city(1.5L i-VTEC+IMA).

• Dear Honda hybrid owners,
    you do realised that honda is a mild hybrid and kenot move with 100% electric unlike the Prius. paying almost the same price as Toyota but lousy drivetrain?
    come on la, people have come out an engine shutdown clutch on Myvi that is very cheap and the tech is similar to honda hybrid, just without the motor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • donuts on Feb 27, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Honda will sell this phase out technology to Protong…and Protong will have Honda so-called hybrid technology couple with Preve soon…

• wht happened to honda recently? They r the first jap to enter us market, their collaboration produced f1 champion, their vtec engines got cult status, nsx…superb till today and the best jap soprtcar. They used to be ahead of other jap automakers and so legendary, toyota only at taxi standard.

• DrCooper on Feb 28, 2014 at 7:23 am

Just face it, the Japs glory of automaking is lone gone since 2000’s, now is the rise of Korean and China…maybe in the future proton…hahahaha

• JeremyNg on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:13 am

No worry , Honda is back to F1 next year as engine supplier maybe a team too ! Let see , I believe they will success because they team with mclaren which is a team know what they doing

• gdntsk on Feb 27, 2014 at 10:27 pm

News related to automobiles with eco-friendly technology in 2014 so far:
    1. Honda Motor Company has decided to stop producing the Insight gasoline-electric hybrid due to bad sales worldwide (according to Bloomberg).
    2. This year, Hyundai Motor Company will start rolling out the Tucson/ix35 FCEV (world’s first mass-produced FCEV) from the production line into California which is one of it’s first few markets.

If Honda doesn’t buck up after this sad failure story, they may more than likely lose their share of the cars with eco-friendly techology market to Toyota (the Prius still continues to be popular) and Hyundai (given that the Tucson/ix35 FCEV becomes a success)

• The phasing out of the insight is also mostly due to the fact that they have a more advance hybrid technology in the form of the EarthDream family of hybrids.
      http://paultan.org/2012/11/14/honda-unveils-new-sport-hybrid-intelligent-dual-clutch-drive-system-with-seven-speed-dct/

This renders almost all Honda’s IMA system obsolete. In fact, the new Fit Hybrid with this system just surpoass the Prius C as the most Fuel Efficient hybrid in Japan.

and anyways, I wonder Hyundai solved the pricing for the Tucson hybrid, Honda still continues to built the FCX Clarity in Japan, but only available for leasing in the US as price for a vehicle of that type is well over USD$100k. Honda also have plans to mass produce FCV by 2018, most likely in the form of the next gen FCX Clarity.

• insightdoomed-foreseen on Feb 28, 2014 at 9:30 am

yeah it took years for honda to learn from prius that atkinson cycle is better.. but still unable to come up with a reliable gearbox for the so-called advance hybrid technology EarthDream-ing..

http://paultan.org/2014/02/11/honda-dct-recall/

by the time honda solves the problem with the so-called new “advanced” technology, prius is already one step ahead of honda.. prius is now working on wireless charging of its proven PHEV.. does honda have such thing?

• In such, when there is advancement in technology, there is always some setback. The movement from CVT to DCT. In the same ways that I do conceit that a Toyota Vios is a more reliable car than my (3rd gen, 4th if you count the JDM City Hatch) Honda City, but the City has an edge in engine technology and performance. This can be seen even clearer in military technology where usually the early products suffers massive reliability setbacks which are improved on later.

The Accord PHEV and Jazz Hybrid surpasses both its Toyota competitor in both performance and efficiency while Honda still is developing FCEV mind you. In my mind both are at the same level with neither one ahead, I am a Honda guy so I have to take a defensive statement where I can.

• Green on Feb 28, 2014 at 12:46 am

Honda insight is really weak::
    take a look:
    Honda Insight:
    The 1.3 litre IMA system – with 88 PS and 121 Nm from the engine and 14 PS and 78 Nm from the motor.
    Toyota Prius C:
    the VVT-i mill makes 73 PS and 111 Nm of torque.
    The electric motor in question makes 61 PS and 169 Nm of torque.
    169Nm of torque in the Prius C.
    starting from 0km/h. this torque can never be found in any petrol car below 1.6.
    immediate oomph feeling on Prius C.
    Honda insight.
    starting 0km/h only get 78Nm.
    and up to 40km/h still get 78Nm, where engine is off.

with only 78Nm, u need to step pedal hard on Insight to activate the petrol engine.
    Else, Heavily underpowered.

Honda Hybrid –> Underpowered.
    less fuel efficiency too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • insightdoomed-foreseen on Feb 28, 2014 at 9:34 am

not to mention battery failure + aircond gets warm during idling..

as a conclusion insight is a LOSER.. hahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Hopefully spare parts price wont go up.
    Those who own an Insight insure your windscreen…!!
    It cost almost RM4k replace…!

• motorhead on Feb 28, 2014 at 9:34 am

Well actually I like this car.. look & practicality. . But I heard dy about it’s underpower problem. . So I stay away & wait.. now going to stop production. So let’s just forget it.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:39 am

Never a big fan of the IMA. Even tested the first gen. At least the first gen was funky.

Honda should have taken a gamble and fitted the Insight with a conventional engine and sold it against the Vios instead of the City for a sportier alternative. Although the rear quarters of the Insight is quite cramped, if Honda removes the IMA battery and electronics, the hatchback design would be more practical for the younger demographics.

• Berann on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:39 am

I think many ppl don’t understand that Honda hybrid is diff from Toyota Hybrid. Honda engine will never off and operate like normal car and battery is to assist the engine to be more powerful. Meaning when start driving, 78nm from battery will come together with engine power unlike toyota is only on battery. This is why toyota hybrid is more efficient in fuel. I’m driving Cr-z cvt and max torque come in at 172nm from 1000-3000rpm. Pickup definitely faster than most 1.8-2.0 cars. Jazz & insight hybrid pickup is better than City too (tried before)

• Green on Feb 28, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Congratz.

Both Toyota Prius and Honda CRZ is the most reliable car from T&H.

However,
      Let’s take a look:

Honda CRZ:
      1.5L i-VTEC 120 PS, 145 Nm at 4,800 rpm
      Motor: 20 PS and 78 Nm

Honda Insight/Honda Jazz Hybrid:
      1.3L with 88 PS and 121 Nm.
      Motor: 14PS and 78Nm.

Comparing Honda CRZ to Insight/Jazz Hybrid,
      CRZ is powerful thanks to it’s 1.5L engine and more powerful motor.

Toyota Prius C:
      1.5L: 73 PS and 111 Nm
      Motor:61 PS and 169 Nm.

I doubt you have driven either Jazz Hybrid/Insight.
      U may just defending the fame of Honda because u own a CRZ.

I am neutral. CRZ is definitely powerful and fun to drive, as long as it’s Non Eco-mode.

S+ mode on the CRZ, with the closer gear ratio is the 1 that boost the oomph/pickup feeling.

Again, I would like to rest assure u that CRZ is a Great Buy. Powerful yet Reliable.

• paucharsiew on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:45 am

goodbye.

• skatax on Feb 28, 2014 at 1:09 pm

good news for blind used car buyers, as this will be their ‘Honda Mampu Milik’, if there’s such a swindling scheme of course :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • hullox on Feb 28, 2014 at 2:54 pm

I’m surprised they took so long to end it. Prius, next to go. Ugly as F.

Am curious why most hybrids need to be an eyesore.

• perodua on Feb 28, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Please wait another 30 years. Prius will be longer than your life. Brother

• Milton on Feb 28, 2014 at 6:27 pm

There are even some which can be painted with exotic images.
    Considering this need, there have been lots of companies providing car and limousine services here since a relatively good time.
    They will set you back than the wheel covers and hubcaps but less expensive than chrome
    rims.

• michael on Mar 03, 2014 at 1:48 pm

I owned an Insight and I have no regrets owning one. Is just like “Love in the eyes of beholder”.

I will keep the car as long as I can…

• How many years now, mine 5 years and still like new, just went for polish and re-coating FOC under warranty. Love it maybe another 5 years more

• sucks on Mar 04, 2014 at 5:32 am

Insight will become a collector marque and increase in price!!

• It’s power scheme may not be up to scratch but it’s looks could have helped things if it looked better -especially the rear third. It’s like a butt-enhancement gone wrong.

• totally did not agree all fxxking keyboarder who never own this H.Insight and give a stupid comments on it.
    I am being own it 3yrs times …AND YES I am 2nd Owner of it. production 2012 and now is 2020 (almost 8yrs of time)…OMG Mileage almost 100K KM ..(fully service in HONDA SC)

what I can said so far I own until now Hybrid battery and system have give me non and ZERO problems and issues
    I am happy own it…So far it still vry solid and during my daily usage I will never face under power like some said need step down like kancil in order to move…

But so far I only need to step 1/3 during city daily drive. but no doubt you can feel a bit under power only when climbing up hill or high speed over take in highway.(then u really can feel the difference, BUT let me ask you how high speed and fast do you want to travel daily in your live ????)

IMA is compact lighter and not as complicated system like toyota Hybrid system . so u can image when you carry a big battery pack and complicate and heavy motors…how you gonna move fast compare to carry lighter one ??

PLs dont simply judge other by a figures and bias pls pls..you never own u will have no way to say somethings is for sure bad for you and other.