2014 Honda City – white Grade S car at DRB Autofest

2014 Honda City White- 5

Say hello again to the 2014 Honda City, which was previewed to the press at a media gathering last week. That same black Melaka-assembled unit has since gone on a shopping mall roadshow circuit – done with the Klang Valley, it will be at the East Coast Mall this weekend.

So it was a pleasant surprise to see a white-coloured 2014 City at Honda’s DRB-Hicom Autofest booth. This is the first time we’ve seen the City in another colour other than black. At first glance, it looks similar to the black Grade E unit, with the same 15-inch wheels and 175/65 Goodyear GT3 tyres, but the differences show upon closer inspection.

This white car’s cabin lacks the previously seen push start button and steering audio controls. The trim surrounding the stereo is not in gloss black, and the dials lack chrome surrounds. Even the dial faces are different – this should be the standard meter panel, not the illuminated meter cluster.

2014 Honda City White- 7

It’s obviously a step down from Grade E, so this car should be either a Grade S or S+. What we already know is that Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA) will only equip the E and range-topping V grades, and that the full suite of six airbags and 16-inch rims are exclusive to the V. With today’s sighting, we now have a clearer picture of the gulf between S/S+ and E grades.

The DRB-Hicom Autofest 2014 will be running throughout the weekend at the EON Complex in Glenmarie, next to the DRB-Hicom headquarters. All DRB-related brands are there, including Proton, Lotus, Volkswagen, Audi, Honda, Mitsubishi, Isuzu, Suzuki, Modenas and Can-Am. We hear that there will be good deals in store, so do check the event out.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Nasi ayam on Feb 28, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Exterior is eye catching! But centre console was a big let down!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • Pinky on Feb 28, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Not the rims though.. Even the proton saga sv’s wheelcap looks better than those rims..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 11
    • Maserrati on Feb 28, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Vios is 10times better than this in term of look and RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 103
      • Market Report on Mar 01, 2014 at 9:22 am

Well take a look at the Market Report for vehicle sales by brand for January. Toyota sold 6578 units and is down from 7599 units compared to 2013. That’s a 15% drop in sales volume.
        Compared with Honda they sold 6393 units which is a 50% increase from 4295 units in 2013. Toyota has the new Vios to help drive up their sales but this City has yet to be launched and the sales volume is already the same. Wait till this car comes out and Toyota will be crying. If UMW does not do anything they might just lose to Honda this year in passenger vehicle sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 8
        • Charles on Mar 03, 2014 at 2:00 pm

The Vios sale drop in 2013 because on Otk is stop supplying the old model ,& the new Vios luaching mid of otk they is no vehicle sale in Nov & Dec 2013 ! Have you check before make this comment ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Sam Loo on Mar 01, 2014 at 11:58 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
        • PakcikSamSakitDiexx on Mar 01, 2014 at 5:55 pm

aiyoh….pakcik, i ingat you masih dekat hospital tidur diam diam….Korlian loh…still sakit.

• fatchicken on Feb 28, 2014 at 3:40 pm

OMG better looking than F30 !! Japanese design really making us speechless deeply inside…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 60
    • Better don’t buy it now…surely Proton will rebadge it later as new Saga…harap maklum untuk semua penduduk kampung, ok!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 50
      • Rebadge King on Feb 28, 2014 at 4:13 pm

If rebadge also will be the current model or maybe even the Insight. If not why Proton rebadge the previous gen Accord and not the new gen. Buy old tech at cheap price then only proton can sell cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
        • S2000 on Feb 28, 2014 at 11:42 pm

Then you better buy it now. Bcuz proton will rebadge it after 5yrs while next gen city is launch. So you can enjoy 5yrs instead of 1~2yrs.

• Afraid on Mar 01, 2014 at 9:37 am

Looks like many Toyota and Proton fans butthurt that Honda is eating into their favourite brand market share. It will happen sooner or later so just face reality now then not so butthurt later. Oh and don’t forget Nissan too. Both of them increased sales up to 50% while Proton and Toyota sales dipped.

• Dear fatchicken, not sure whether you are against bmw or u r honda die hard fans..or cock eye…. :-)

• The center console might look better with the 7″ display and auto climate control which is only available for the V spec. Now the question everyone is waiting for… whats the price of this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • Go Honda on Feb 28, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Come on Honda… price it lower than Vios and with better spec!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
    • Amongst the people viewing the car, I did hear someone said that it will not be higher than the current one, but spec and price is not finalised.

• shawal on Feb 28, 2014 at 3:50 pm

For simple reliable mobility,
    Price it well and itll fly off showrooms

Grade v is still d one to go for…

• Acrix on Feb 28, 2014 at 3:51 pm

The modulo twin grille as shown in the Indian and Thai car looks better than the standard stock grille.

• malik shah nawaz on Feb 28, 2014 at 3:57 pm

I am fan of. Honda cars mail me latest updates

• Denaihati on Feb 28, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Quite interesting in white color, so start button not for all variant.
    For who looking for a car, this is a good chance to see closely many brand and model.

• ThePowerOfDream on Feb 28, 2014 at 4:10 pm

If the price below 80k, i will definitely get one!

• It will be below RM80k, the starting price is quoted at RM73k, BUT! and here is a big but, the spec isn’t going to be great, 2 airbags+ABS+EBD will be your primary source of safety precaution and a normal HU instead of 7in ones. no rear seat vents and 15″ rims with rear drum.

• Hmmm, still no high spec showing. Anyways, I’ve notice a few chages compare to the black car I was viewing in the Curve. Theres now my favorite design detail what I call ‘headlight mascara’; a little strip of black insert around the headlights, it’s on almost every good looking car I know of, Preve, VWs(non-CKD), Optima and the previous gen city(yes opinion may differ).

Judging from the spec sheet, the City has always been an RM85k+ car since its inception, so the base spec is now heavily dumb down to avoid sales cannibalisation, namely the Jazz CKD. I was quite impress with the rear design of the car when I was there and the interior looks better than expected, but it is obviously design around a large touch-screen, not the typical HU.

• I wonder if Honda will lower the sticker price for this new City… If you compare with the new gen Accord and CRV, the entry price was RM3k and RM1k lower than the previous gen models.
      Based on current price S=86k, E=91k and E+=94k
      A decrease of 2k for each spec would be most welcome!

• I asked one of the SA over there, he said it will be priced AT RM90k for the top spec, If I am not mistaken, thats a RM2k decrese from the current E+ spec…..but with 6-airbags, VSC, touchscreen and rear seat air vents.

• Brian Gan on Feb 28, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Still haven’t see a clear shot of the rear seats & legroom.

• The white unit being displayed definitely looks more better and more suiting the Honda City compared to the Black colour being displayed previously

• I’m thinking to buy VIOS / CITY now. If the price of CITY around 80k- with the spec i want, i’m sure get CITY ady..

• If rims the problem…buy an aftermarket.., what I really like to know is THE PRICE and NVH….most of the car in this segment NVH not so good….please gives +- 85k and NVH with reasonable db….my latio is quiet you know..

• hippo on Feb 28, 2014 at 5:09 pm

This might be the new Proton Siti very soon. Perhaps price might be cheaper by then…Let’s wait and see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • Jebonr on Feb 28, 2014 at 5:22 pm

I have to say, the body looks nice. But what’s that on the dashboard? A Cassette player? Hah…hah…hah..

• rambutan on Feb 28, 2014 at 5:36 pm

those rims reminded me of JDM EK4

• Waste my time to drop by The Curve to just have a “LOOK” at the low spec!! Potong steam to the max when the brochure show 16 inch rim but i see 15 inch on the display unit.

• wannabe on Feb 28, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Honda Malaysia,

Please2 dont strip away paddle shift from the V spec in malaysia.

Rear disk breaks is confirmed not available in malaysia since thailands and india’s highest spec don’t have them.

Leather seats… please at least give option to upgrade to standard orignal honda leather seats. I just don’t want to go out install them. Always believe things came from factory are the best. i strongly believe the standard highest spec gonna use fabric seats.

Last but not least.. i know you keep the door visors and trunk lid for modulo..pls launch the modulo accessories along with the car launch. Senang bleh bli trus.. pelik kot highest spec still xde door visor..

• impossible without rear disc brake on Spec V…

• malik on Feb 28, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Seriously.. no rear disk brakes for the highest spec Kev! Wait till the launch to see and believe it!

• iqbal87 on Feb 28, 2014 at 7:56 pm

confirmed no rear disc brake. go see the sneak peek at Honda Malaysia website and click your mouse at the rear wheel. you can see clearly the drum brake installed compare to the disc brake on the front wheel..

• Really? Even high spec doesn’t had rear disc break? WTF

• Both Thailand and Indian versions only have rear drum brakes even on the highest spec, so most likely its the same here.

• Alanevox on Feb 28, 2014 at 6:53 pm

how come low spec got smoke head lamp and e spec didn’t have smoke head lamp?

• iqbal87 on Feb 28, 2014 at 8:35 pm

for v spec got 7 inch screen, but i sense it wont come with the rear view parking camera. hopefully aftermarket camera will be compatible to the 7 inch screen..

• malaysiaku on Feb 28, 2014 at 9:02 pm

wow…honda malaysia is following toyota malaysia footsteps…ripping malaysians off…good job.

• cheap things don’t come cheap but as long as City is offering good value and safety features, it should worth every dollars!

• Hotdays on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Those rims design looks like hybrid car rims lol.

• Chris Teo on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:24 pm

For the car design, the front grille is just my cup of tea. Neither the looks of the 15′ and 16′ are eye-comfy too! The rest of it, no complain at all. If the price is right, I’ll get one.. only if it comes with a paddle shift.

• Chris Teo on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:41 pm

One more point I found out that this new HC is 100kg lighter than the previous gen. Which I think it improve a lot in the FC aspect, of cos with the helps of the CVT too (Thou its not my fav). Besides I have a feeling that the lighter body will give a better driving experience than the last gen. From what i surf thru the forums, many HC owners complaint about the low torque in the low gears.

• rembat on Feb 28, 2014 at 11:34 pm

ada percuma payung tak

• Proton Jebat on Mar 01, 2014 at 8:52 am

Push start button? Proton dah ada lama dah, cuba tengok kat Preve, macam2 ada

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • bluek on Mar 01, 2014 at 10:41 am

Xmo ar proton.. xbest.

• Proton sales? on Mar 01, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Yeah but sales volume of Preve still lose to Vios, Almera, City. New Vios out for 3 months also see more on the road than Preve thats out for 3 years. Don’t even need bother mention about the dismal sales of Suprima S.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • IJSIJ on Mar 03, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Rosak pun ada, QC buruk pun ada

• macam2 on Mar 01, 2014 at 10:39 am

Every1 wants something from city that they see other countries hv but not coming here.

1.paddle shifters
    2.leather seats
    3.reverse camera multiangle
    4.rear disk brakes
    5.door visor
    6.sunroof
    7.trunk lid
    8.hill assist

I dunno if honda city have all this whats the price gonna be.

• iqbal87 on Mar 01, 2014 at 12:53 pm

no hill start assist? thats too much.. i was about to accept the fact that the car doesnt come with the rear disc brake and no reverse camera.. ommission of the HSA is like adding salt to the wound..

• norman on Mar 01, 2014 at 11:48 am

Quite eye catching but tire width could be a bit wider.16 inch version much better with 205/45-16

• This is definitely S+ because the lowest spec (S) come with rim cap oni. Price range will be from 74 to 89k. The highest spec without rear camera and disc brake which is quite disappointing.

• lol peace on Mar 01, 2014 at 7:42 pm

rear of the car looks like hyundai sonata + bmw 320i

• Sparcov on Mar 03, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Actually I don’t mind to get a base spec with less than RM 75K.

We see plenty of J spec vios around.

• The radio console looks like a 5 minutes design job… @_@!

• eh wait a minute…mana air pancut wiper atas hood? mmg tak ada ke atau tersembunyi? can somebody expalain to me?

• IpohMali on Mar 17, 2014 at 8:21 pm

i’ve been informed my 1 of the manager the delayed was cause by the Custom Department. they rejected Honda application because Honda declared this model using 1496cc engine but the real cc was 1502. huge different with the custom tax. estimated launching by end of this month & 1st batch delivery to buyers by mid April.