Citroen Grand C4 Picasso to hit Malaysia year-end

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso

The second-gen Citroen Grand C4 Picasso is set to hit the Malaysian market towards the end of the year, according to Naza Euro Motors COO Datuk Samson Anand George.

He also told us, at yesterday’s Citroen DS3 launch, that models from the PSA Group’s HYbrid4 diesel-hybrid line-up were being considered for local assembly.

The new Citroen Grand C4 Picasso, which surfaced last June, sits on a new EMP2 platform. The seven-seater is 110 kg lighter than its predecessor while offering more room inside, thanks in part to a longer 2,840 mm wheelbase.

Citroen Grand C4 Picasso

Globally there are 1.6 VTi 120 and 1.6 THP 155 petrol engines, 2.0 BlueHDi 150, 1.6 e-HDi 115 and 1.4 litre e-HDi 90 diesel units, plus manual, auto and ETG (Efficient Tronic Gearbox) transmissions – all with six speeds. We wonder which engine-gearbox combo we’ll get.

Concerning HYbrid4, our regular ‘JPJ correspondent’ Anol Alias has spotted no fewer than four such models in Malaysia, based on Peugeots 508 sedan, 508 RXH estate and 3008 crossover, plus the Citroen DS5.

All of them see a 2.0 HDi FAP diesel engine driving the front wheels and an electric motor driving the rear wheels. Altogether you get 200 hp and nearly 500 Nm of torque. A start-stop system is standard, and they can be driven on electricity alone (ZEV mode), too.

Expect impressive fuel economy – 27.8 km per litre in the case of the Peugeot 508 HYbrid4 sedan, 24.4 km per litre for the Peugeot 508 HYbrid4 RXH and 26.3 km per litre for the Peugeot 3008 HYbrid4 and Citroen DS5 HYbrid4.

We reported back in April 2011 that Nasim was exploring the possibility of bringing in the Peugeot 3008 HYbrid4, the world’s first production diesel-hybrid, to Malaysia, and that Peugeot was then conducting tests in France with our Euro 2M spec diesel.

“So far the tests have yielded positive results, but there are still more tests to be done. Once we can conclude that the 3008 HYbrid4 will have no problems running on Euro 2 diesel, we will look into launching it in Malaysia,” Naza boss SM Nasarudin was then quoted as saying.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Gaban on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:03 am

i like the rims..kinda look like BMW hybrid’s rim as well..

• “So far the tests have yielded positive results, but there are still more tests to be done. Once we can conclude that the 3008 HYbrid4 will have no problems running on Euro 2 diesel, we will look into launching it in Malaysia,” Naza boss SM Nasarudin was then quoted as saying.”

See MITI, even your ‘friend’ is complaining our local fuel grade.

So what you waiting for MITI, tak mau listen and help good friend of yours kah??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • thefact on Feb 28, 2014 at 3:23 pm

hahhaa…only NAZA is gud fren bro?
        DRB-Hicom and UMW Toyota and Sime Darby are not Malaysian la bro?

• MOHD NIZAM on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:08 am

Good news. Since I’m looking for MPV, this item can include my list (Mazda5,VW Sharan,Peugeot 5008). And hope this great product come with great SERVICE too from NAZA Euro.

• Majuperak on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:21 am

Great service as in after sales service or pre-sales service from NAZA ? After sales service is terrible with half past six mechanics servicing your cars …:

From your price point should be VW Touran and not Sharan as it is way above the list you have in mind …. 280k for Sharan and Touran is 160k while the rest of your short listed are in the VW Touran price range 150k plus plus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • MOHD NIZAM on Feb 28, 2014 at 11:07 am

Thanks for your info Majuperak.

• touran on Feb 28, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Been driving the Cross Touran for the past 1.5 years, maybe a bit cramp if u need all 7 seats but i used it as a 5 seaters wt Big Boot!(ala an estate), Fc averaging 12km/l mix kl jam & hyway. the infamous Dsg 7 still doing fine eventhough my missus 3 years old golf got it clutch pack & mecha unit replaced recently at 60,000km. Good 220nm (from 1,500rpm) low down torque from its little 1.4 liter engine, hence no need to rev much which aid in fc. Anyway, go for the Sharan if u need to ferry 7 ppls regularly. happy hunting, cheers!

• kadajawi on Feb 28, 2014 at 5:56 pm

I agree. It is nice to drive, but the 3rd row is ridiculous. I’d say an Alza is more comfortable due to how low the Touran’s third row is… there is hardly any height difference between the floor and the seat. If you put lots of cushioning (like those for wheelchairs) then it might become ok.

My main issue with the Touran is the harsh ride though. It is quite painful, especially in the beginning. The C4 Grand Picasso should be much more comfortable, besides being more spacious. And probably more affordable. Also, Citroen doesn’t have any DSG they could offer, so it will be either an AMT or an AT. I doubt they would be stupid enough to import the AMT version, cause it enjoys an awful reputation in Malaysia (Savvy AMT), let alone overseas, where many don’t like the EGS6. It is problematic, it is uncomfortable, it is extremely slow. And Citroen already admitted that they have simply renamed it for marketing reasons. ETG is EGS6.

• RejimKejamGanas on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:19 am

Before anyone starts anticipating for these vehicles anytime soon, it should be pointed out that the news about HYbrid4 coming to Malaysia has been around for 3yrs already with no launch in sight. So don’t bet on it happening anytime soon. Furthermore, with the new EV policy, Nasim may now have to consider assembling this vehicles here to make it even remotely affordable.

• slk3879 on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:40 am

google the net then you can come across news on compatibility issue of Peugeot diesel hybrid under extreme hot climate like ours.

Peugeot in Australia had long scrapped the idea of importing the Hybrid4.

• Coconut on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:42 am

So is the problem related to PEUGEOT diesel or just Peugeot diesel hybrid?

• slk3879 on Feb 28, 2014 at 1:09 pm

From what I read, it’s the diesel hybrid, some issue about overheating

• thefact on Feb 28, 2014 at 7:20 pm

serious? can i get a link please..i googled for a long time but couldnt find the issue u said.

• kadajawi on Feb 28, 2014 at 6:00 pm

LLD seems to have talked to Naza, and they say they consider CKDing the HYbrid4 models. Perhaps next year they can introduce those cars?

• vee-oh on Feb 28, 2014 at 11:38 am

later the diesel engine will be clogged up with the euro 2 diesel.and then the hybrid system will broken due to cannot stand the hot weather here.soon the C4 owners will join VW owners by the roadside waiting for towtruck

• neutral on Feb 28, 2014 at 11:40 am

year end? what a long wait…

• budlee on Feb 28, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Fap diesel…

fap fap fap

LOL..

I am so immature..