Hyundai to launch more than 20 new models by 2017

Hyundai_Veloster_07

Emboldened by its recent successes, Hyundai will press on with a new model offensive which will see the Korean manufacturer unveil 22 new models by 2017, according to the company’s European boss Allan Rushforth.

Most of the models will be derivatives and replacements of existing models (some of them in the picture gallery below), but about a third of them will be all-new, taking the brand to new territories.

One of the most important of these cars will be the next-generation i20, which will compete in the fiercely competitive B-segment hatchback market. Larger both inside and out, the range will be bookended by models powered by the i10‘s 1.0 and 1.2 litre three-cylinder engines at the bottom end and a turbocharged N-badged hot hatch at the top.

hyundai intrado 02

Also significant will be a new compact crossover designed to take the fight to the Nissan Juke, Ford EcoSport and Honda Vezel. It will be based on the i20 and is expected to take styling cues from the Hyundai Intrado concept that will make its debut at Geneva. The crossover will replace the ix20 mini-MPV in the company’s lineup.

At the other end of the spectrum will be a right-hand drive version of the Genesis executive sedan, destined for the UK market in June. The car will undercut the competition in price but is only expected to sell dozens of units due to the sole engine option being a 3.8 litre V6 petrol, so it will be positioned as a showcase of Korean engineering instead. However, a diesel engine could be developed for the car if sales take off.

This bold plan is part of Hyundai’s push to become one of the world’s top five car manufacturers by 2020. The company (without subsidiary Kia) currently stands at number eight, selling 4.7 million units last year.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• tokmoh on Feb 28, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Hyundai the Samsung of car. Spam all the models!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
    • Spamming sometime work sometime not..this method work for samsung but im not sure bout hyindai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 28, 2014 at 4:37 pm

20 junks by 2017 they mean …lol

Soon every generation will look about the same like Samesung S3, S4, S5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 37
      • Quoted from Brendan Ng’s post…
        “Meanwhile Proton is planning to rebadge 22 new models by 2017 in a bid to become one of the world’s top five biggest car rebadgers by 2020”

• Vader on Feb 28, 2014 at 8:36 pm

That is you own opinion, but the fact is Hyundai is world top 5 car manufacturer and getting strong & strong now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • Lets declare 2014-2017 “Years of JUNK launching”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • ss427 on Feb 28, 2014 at 1:44 pm

The RHD Genesis sedan will be in SG by July too. With the same excellent 3.8L GDI V6 as the UK market.

I believe we will get the exact UK market model in SG as well.. So expect superb built quality, fit and finish, mile long equipment list, extreme quiet ride and interior, at only a fraction of Mercedes Benz S Class price.. :)

Can hardly wait :)

• Sam Look on Feb 28, 2014 at 1:56 pm

This news will definitely makes Hyundai RV to go up very fast. No more worries buying Hyundai car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo on Mar 01, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Checkout freemalaysia today on cars with the highest RV.

Its the 2008-2012 Civic, followed by Vios, Innova, Mini Cooper, Camry&Corolla, C-Class Benz&MyVi

No kimchi in the list, and there will never ever be rotten cabbages in the top 10 best RV cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
      • bodohSAM Loo on Mar 01, 2014 at 10:12 pm

Sam Loo jangan cakap bohong. You macam budak kecil. Malu lah you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • Maseratti on Mar 02, 2014 at 9:50 am

Learn from my boss Sam, he is rich and successful, make money from all sorhai Kimchi driver like you. Can you afford Camry like him ? If not pergi kerja kuat dulu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
  • That’s why I believe Proton is at least 20 years lagging behind Hyundai…despite both enjoying protection from own government policies…somebody not using the crutches properly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
    • Take care of my nickname…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Low Budget on Feb 28, 2014 at 4:00 pm

A strong session of physiotherapy is needed, not the crutches which make them weaker by the day.

• Albert Lee on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Protong not using crutches?
      In the first place,Proton is already PARALYSED.The doctors threw away all the crutches.
      Proton is waiting for the MORTUARY appointment and the NIRWANA burial plot is being finalised.
      Sayornara……………………..PROTON.

• So Proton, how many models you wanna launch by the year of 2020? Or do we still have chance to see your new launching by that year?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Feb 28, 2014 at 2:48 pm

3 new models at best, average 1 new model every 2-3 years, cannot count those facelift or re-badge.

• Brother Accessory on Feb 28, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Proton will launch saga r3 super beng, preve super pervert, inspira main telur sx kangkang, suprima pampers super value, and lastly, proton sawi super value buy 1Msia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Albert Lee on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:13 pm

No amount of so called launching(all the carnivals,SV,Super premiums)will save proton.Proton is specialising in facelifts while others are busy promoting exhilarating cars.
      The next global casualty will be the global small car.
      By 2020 perhaps,we might have only PERODUA as the national car maker.Proton would have ta pao and become a GIANT AP KING.

• That Intrado. If it really turns out like that, perghh.

• Low Budget on Feb 28, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Selling 4.7 Million units Hyundai last year and not counted Kia. Eat your words, all you Korean cars critics.
    All you Proton lovers, please shower Proton with more care ask Proton to marry Koreans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • alonso on Mar 01, 2014 at 9:45 pm

4.7 Million, so what?? Its only tell us that there are 4.7 Million Sorhai(s) in this world. That’s all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
      • sohai alonso on Mar 03, 2014 at 12:52 am

MOre than that la. Its 9 million plus sorhai that bought toyota in the world.

• sohai alonso on Mar 03, 2014 at 1:00 am

And you know what? Statistics show that dumb sorhais outnumber smart ppl. Thats y 90% ppl are poor while 10% are rich.

• veloMAster on Feb 28, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Ma velo styling will long last for 15 yrs more..

• Datuk on Feb 28, 2014 at 2:58 pm

so mr. sam loo, how many facelift that toyota will do by 2017?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • ss427 on Feb 28, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Wanna see how the Hilux, Innova and Fortuner will look like in 2017…Prob all Toyota can do is to have more fake wood and chrome at that time.

And Toyota will increase the selling price by at least 20% becos the cars are ‘all new’ and they’re lux looking now… see more chrome and fake wood=more lux LOL

• bodohSAM Loo on Mar 01, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Why ask Sam loo ? He is only a junior uncle sales man, why bother for his opinion ?

• pororo on Feb 28, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Hyundai Sime Darby, please bring i30 to our shore, also bring the new i10 and also the new i20 when the car is launch, i20 will bring back the popularity of Getz few years ago… Do aggressive promotion for i40. The Malaysians seems don’t know about the existence of i40 in our market.

• Hyundai I30 will launch soon… In march or april.. Means this month or next!

• azrul on Feb 28, 2014 at 5:40 pm

hyundai have the good engine & good body..
    but not good service & repairing accident car…
    the company take contract with Tokio marine insurence.
    this insurance is are bad company…

• yous faithfully (YF) on Mar 01, 2014 at 2:07 am

Then choose your own insurance. Its your right.

• Kausiapasayamurid on Feb 28, 2014 at 6:07 pm

proton also don wanna loseout…mskes 5 new models each month

• bluebird on Feb 28, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Potong cant even launch 1 completely new model in 5 years.

• TechSmart on Feb 28, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Koreans are clearly trying to take over the world. Samsung already owned mobile phone market, now Hyundai wants to take over Toyota and VW dy

• alonso on Mar 02, 2014 at 8:01 am

They are trying but never will be, korean car always classified as sorhais car, Lenovo HP will beat samsung hp in a very near future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • BLT Club on Feb 28, 2014 at 10:00 pm

That’s a lot of models. But competition is always good for the consumer. Best of luck HyunKia!

• Norman on Mar 01, 2014 at 11:55 am

By 2017 Hyundai is way better than Mazda,Nissan,Daihatsu and nearly as good as Toyota and Honda..Although Kia and Hyundai share most of the engines but Hyundai newer models is more refine while Kia maintain its heavyweight chassis..Great for automotive buyers..My neighbour whom drive Toyotas,Hondas and Mazdas suddenly change to the new Santa Fe days ago.To add on his wife Honda jazz already trade in for the new Elantra.

• Sam Loo on Mar 01, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Smarter sorhais will buy Hyundai, as they still can be traded in for now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • matdan on Mar 02, 2014 at 7:37 am

Just let go a Tucson after nearly 4 yrs of ownership, really it is a good car, no major problem