SPYSHOTS: Mercedes-Benz CLA 200 sighted at JPJ

DIN A5_Datenhandbuch_Polo_GP_final_20-09-2013.indd

The Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class has finally been sighted at JPJ Putrajaya by our contributor Anol Alias. This grey unit looks like the same car that was seen at Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral in January.

While the grey import CLA units sighted so far have come with the AMG Sport kit and with a diesel engine, this particular CLA is a turbocharged petrol CLA 200 equipped with the Urban equipment line, a dual tailpipe exhaust system, and the Night package, which is identifiable by the black wing mirror caps and high-gloss waistline trim strip. Wheels are two-tone twin-spoke 18 inchers wrapped with 225/40 tyres.

Under the hood is the same 154 hp, 250 Nm 1.6 litre turbo four-pot engine from the A 200, mated to a seven-speed dual clutch gearbox. Word is that Mercedes-Benz Malaysia might skip the CLA 250 and only offer the CLA 200 alongside the high performance CLA 45 AMG.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• How much will it cost both CLA200 & CLA45?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Cetak Tak Mati on Mar 02, 2014 at 4:14 pm

WOW!! All the ahpek very excited about this boring FWD car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 78
    • AutoFrenz on Mar 02, 2014 at 6:58 pm

One headlights fit all…the same design for new a b c s sl slk xcept for e clc n trucks…yeah u sure save a lot aaa merz..no bajet issit…or lazy to.think anymore..haiyaaaaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
    • Red Evil on Mar 03, 2014 at 1:14 am

An arm and a leg

• TeresaKokRacist on Mar 02, 2014 at 12:28 pm

CLA same as the C200 is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 25
    • Gracke on Mar 02, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Same as A200, underpower. But, got the look!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • CLA is slotted between A and C class. So so review in UK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • AutoFrenz on Mar 02, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Im konpius issit slotted between c and e…issnt it a 4door coupe of c class…just like clc which is a 4door coupe of e class…hep me hep me…not that it will affect my increment or bonus anyway..muhahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • dodgeviper88 on Mar 02, 2014 at 6:46 pm

wow, you’re as ignorant as your username suggests

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Ur name shows that u r ignorant bastard and foolish. Here is car website not some shithole like parlimen for you to throw racist remark or make any political comments.

• Slightly higher than A-class

• brazbuz on Mar 02, 2014 at 12:32 pm

White 2014 e class coupe park behind the CLA

• Wait, are those white seats? They surely look nice but…

• Abang on Mar 02, 2014 at 1:17 pm

How much is CLA 200 ? CBU ?

• yolol on Mar 02, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Rear air-con vents missing

• aiya, no rear air cond, malaysia weather very hot. should just gave us rear air cond. hahahaha

• Cetak Tak Mati on Mar 02, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Want cheap and want rear air cond some more, where to get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Buying a luxury brand, i would appreaciate it if rear aircond is provided…but oh well, i still love mercs anyway

• Cetak Tak Mati on Mar 02, 2014 at 11:34 pm

this is not the real me this is fake

u copy my name again u will be getting my lawyer’s letter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • thumb down bcos no rear air cond vent.

• crys_crys on Mar 02, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Even Honda City got rear air cond vent

• I don’t see any S-Class-style COMMAND dial like the upcoming C-class…come on…this is CLA we are talking about…

• Front look is fierce.
    Rear look is acquired taste, something like eating blue cheese.

• In the States, the CLA is affecting sales on Eastern D-segment like the Toyota Camry and Honda Accord……but of course the High end V6 variants which this is priced very competitively against. Wonder will it affect the sales here?

Also, is that a facelift E-class coupe I see behind

• heybadigol on Mar 02, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Just a FWD Mercedes that is shlightly bigger than a Vios. Nothing to see, move along :) Of course, it looks nice, but only for those really desperate to get a “bintang 3” badge. The kind of money it will eventually charge (more than RM200k one suspects), you’d be better off with a VW Passat or BMW 316i if you really want a German car. Else, the Mazda6 is pretty good buy too, with much more space than this CLA, and no less luxurious. Anyways, thats just me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • mizuru on Mar 02, 2014 at 7:06 pm

my thought exactly.but the look of this car make me rethink about my choices

• neutral on Mar 02, 2014 at 6:39 pm

FL E coupe at the back

• biggo on Mar 02, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Better get an audi a4 or upcoming a3..great car no flaws be it on performance,exterior and interior looks and pricing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • Back so boring…remind me of Nissan Almera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Heng Lee on Mar 02, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Seven-speed DSG no good! Better buy four-speed Vios!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • meowmeow on Mar 02, 2014 at 8:44 pm

I like the gearbox switch behind steering, for create more storage/space in the middle.
    hopefully is cost cheaper than A200.
    Is a sexy SEDAN. :D

• my Golf GTI MK7 sure smoke this CLA 200!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • BLT Club on Mar 03, 2014 at 1:06 am

What video game you playing that got Golf MK VII? Which platform, PS3, XBOX,PC,iOS,Android?

• LHKEAT on Mar 02, 2014 at 11:20 pm

Dear Paul Tan,

No news mention on the new E class coupe FL coming soon available?
    Isn’t in that photo is a white E class coupe which is parked behind this grey CLA.

TQ.

• the 250 should be included in the list. Just like everyone else said, the 200 seems underpowered for Mercedes.

• King Khong on Mar 03, 2014 at 6:03 pm

no more “STAR” on front bonnet :(