GALLERY: Old and all-new 2014 Honda City compared

2014_Honda_City_new_vs_old_ 001

We’re reporting from Thailand, to preview the all-new 2014 Honda City before it’s introduced in Malaysia. The drive report will be up at a later date, but for now, let us take you through what is, to most of us at least, the new Toyota Vios-rival’s defining feature – its looks.

When it comes to cars in this segment, price (Nissan Almera) and appearance (Toyota Vios) talk. So here is the upcoming Honda B-segment sedan, pictured next to the car it will replace very soon. In the next few weeks, in fact. Yes, we’re that close to the 2014 City’s Malaysian launch.

Ignore the exact specifications of this very car for now, as this is a Thai-built, Thai-spec vehicle, which differs from the Malaysian-assembled, Malaysian-spec models you can buy locally. Just focus on the looks at the moment. Not a bad change of style, eh? Give us your thoughts below.

2014 Honda City (Thai-spec) 2009-2013 Honda City (Thai-spec)

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Pondogon on Mar 03, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Nice…..

First!!! Compare to vios?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Mar 03, 2014 at 10:10 pm

As long as its not a kimci, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 63
      • JohnDi on Mar 03, 2014 at 11:21 pm

Your name should be Sam Loose nuts on your head… you don’t buy car for RV. Most people buy car to enjoy, you should try kimchi its good for your health.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 16
        • Actually RV is quite important for a ‘A’ or ‘B’ segment car. It will be easier for buyer to upgrade their car to ‘C’ or ‘D’ segment after 5-7 years due to the high trade in value. RV will be less important if u purchase a ‘C’ or ‘D’ segment car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 27
      • Sam Loo Loo scare liao.

• Same Lor on Mar 04, 2014 at 6:24 pm

No, Proton has no RV too.

Maybe people nowadays don’t even consider Proton, not a second of thinking it.

Simply, why Proton has RV if there no one even bother buying it first hand car? Similar to the question “Why would you think of delivering a baby if you are not even a woman?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • Najib on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:18 am

Sam Loo, people buying car for their own leisure. not for Investment..
        Shame on you..

• AutoFrenz on Mar 04, 2014 at 11:25 am

Wah they look so different…(sarcasm intended)…an evolution of the previous model…(being sarcastic again)…btw how u know u r first unless u work there…u must be paula tan…step sister to paul tan…i knew it…

• hvannees on Mar 03, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Look very same!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
    • Nissan on Mar 03, 2014 at 11:35 pm

No, the existing model looks better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 28
    • policeman on Mar 04, 2014 at 12:08 am

The front, but somehow the old City looks more complex and ha more ‘details’ at the front.

I don’t fancy the longkang from the front door all the way to the rear bumper. Looks like an accident car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • sudonano on Mar 03, 2014 at 9:12 pm

While the outside looks more of a evolution of the last gen (not a bad place to start in fact), the interior does look nice.

Looks better in and out and spec wise compared to the Vios and Almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • Idontgiveafak_guy on Mar 03, 2014 at 9:14 pm

Too many punctuation, Hafriz Shah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • lukeskywalker on Mar 04, 2014 at 12:07 am

Speak of such manner about Master Yoda Shah, you shalt not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • carlies on Mar 03, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Front looks like the same, rear overdone for B Segment coz the light too big and feels like covers everything, not well proportionate. Interior……..allow me to stop comment here as …….speechless. Going backward and one word, ugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 57
    • lamer carlies on Mar 03, 2014 at 10:20 pm

u should not even comment in the first place.. spoiler vios salesman.. going forward and one word, lamer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
  • roxas on Mar 03, 2014 at 9:29 pm

tis is the one i wanted to see ! instead of junk old vios n junk new vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 8
  • Both looks the same from front view!

• More City driver will scratched front bumper corner!

• I’m with you. Most city i found had a scratch either front bumper’s corner.

• roxas on Mar 03, 2014 at 9:52 pm

had never doubted on honda’s design, both old n new oso cantik ! 

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • ya la becoz its a Honda for u right? If Proton u will said damn proton why cannot take a better designer to produce a nice design? right? For me preve n vios has a better front looks than this car looks so dull like the new Civic FB. accord is nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
      • roxas on Mar 03, 2014 at 11:06 pm

lol, i didnt say anything abt proton, i have a saga lmst at home n still loving it. preve is handsome looking actually

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Oh my. Why the black tits still there on the hood. Ford, mini cooper, Peugeot. All still have those tits.

• roxas on Mar 03, 2014 at 11:18 pm

look carefully, the new one doesnot have it on the hood anymore …

• I’m sorry but is this the best Honda can do ? The old City looked great for its time, but the new one looks dated. I’m not saying the new City is ugly, I’m saying that it doesn’t look like a 2010s car, more like an early 2000s model. That’s fine if you’re a 50 year old uncle, but younger buyers will completely ignore this new City and get something Korean or even European for the same price.

At least the new City’s interior looks good and fresh. Typical Honda design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 22
    • BLT Club on Mar 04, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Looks wise I can understand going for a Korean? But European? The only on that is comparable is the Saga-looking Polo. The Fiesta sedan is hideous. In the end the choice still remains Proton, Toyota or Honda.

• Same Lor on Mar 04, 2014 at 6:30 pm

People don’t buy Proton because they like Proton. People buy Proton because it is CHEAP.

Try abolish the tax and allow Toyota Honda price theif car freely. Then you will see no Proton on the road, like Singapore.

After all, you think Vios/City can’t be sold as cheap as Saga? Think again.

• Denaihati on Mar 03, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Trendy aggressive front bumper. Beauty rear looks, nice lamp and better higher boots. nice meter panel, especially for odometer and others digital meter. Old model is good and new model is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • More like a refined exterior styling instead of an all new one. Elements from the previous gen are easily identifiable on the new City, which in fact makes it look a bit dated. Not a fan of the Vios, but it’s safe to say that Toyota has done quite a job in improving their designs (though some might disagree with me but well you can’t deny that it looks a lot better than the dugong one). The new City looks decent, nonetheless, just that it doesn’t really impress me. Plus, you have to give credit to Honda for throwing in better specs and safety features which are disappointingly lacking in other B segment contenders (let alone the Koreans). Will definitely be a killer if they have better noise insulation and an improved CVT.

• spongewai on Mar 03, 2014 at 11:12 pm

Honda

THE POWER OF DREAM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • the front looks similar to the current generation, which is not a bad thing.
    the back and the interior does feel a little bit more upmarket to me.

nice packaging for a b-segment sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • lukeskywalker on Mar 04, 2014 at 12:05 am

Good article, this is, Yoda Shah.

• Mr. F on Mar 04, 2014 at 1:41 am

eh wait a minute…mana air pancut wiper atas hood aka black tits? mmg tak ada ke atau tersembunyi? can somebody explain to me?

• theanswer on Mar 04, 2014 at 9:32 am

placed on the plastic trim(dunno what’s the name)under the wiper. same like current myvi.

• Current city is better. Just my opinion. Anyways you will not regret getting a City over a Vios!

I personally feel Honda drives and feels more sturdy than Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • No more single headlamp?. Now with twin headlamp system …

• Xplorer on Mar 04, 2014 at 9:38 am

Can consider to grab if price reasonable – Ha! Ha! Ha! But… Gearbox is 100% fault free version ?

• same old same old

• spongewai on Mar 04, 2014 at 10:26 am

Honda Civic has got latest sportcar at Geneva

when will developing the Honda City into City Type R?!

• totti on Mar 04, 2014 at 10:30 am

I think the exterior for City and Vios is subjective and my preference will go for vios.

but again, the City interior win against vios in :-

(i) with 2600 mm wheelbase (longer than vios by 50mm = 2″)
    (ii) Higher Console divider at front seat look more luxury.
    (iii) rear air-con.(like D segment car.)

The overall package win should be New Honda City if their price is cheaper as compared to vios.

• iluvcity on Mar 04, 2014 at 10:49 am

you should compare the 2014 city with the latest facelift of old city … that facelift looks the best … i think …

• Joker on Mar 04, 2014 at 11:58 am

Everything is ok with this new City except the rear.. The rear light looks so weird… interior is fine and hopefully the CVT drives well… All and all it’s better than the old City , old Vios, new Vios, and Almera… It’s the best among the japs we have here…

• Google on Mar 04, 2014 at 12:02 pm

no need see honda edi la,Mazda can tapao honda anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • This car looks better in the flesh i must say. From the pics here, it looks similar to the last gen City, but the changes are more apparent when u see the actual car. Are we expecting a total revamp in design every time a new generation is launched? This to me looks more of an evolution from the previous gen.

• breeze on Mar 04, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Overall design of New City is much better than the old one. It looks sportier.
    The main concept of the design are handling, safety and power, despite the soundproof. U can find them almost all the Honda car are noisy then other brand car.
    If u are the one who like car with good haldling n power. Then u will don’t mind the noise.
    The sound of the engine and gearbox rev may becomes excitant when u are driving. Feel it with you heart, let it rev with your heart beat. The dream will come true. Cheer

• honnnda on Mar 04, 2014 at 1:45 pm

i’ve got burning question, why current civic has got no cvt transmission whereas new city uses cvt? back in 2003, first batch of city (idsi with cvt) has got big issue with transmission reliability….are we gonna see this issue with this batch as well??

• Ananz on Mar 04, 2014 at 3:24 pm

The Star motoring section has quoted that this CVT transmission is the newly developed Earth Dreams Technology CVT. Even the Honda Accord in the states now use CVT so most likely they have ironed out the CVT issues. My 8 year old idsi cvt has no problems after clocking in 150,000 km. Regular maintenance and changing CVT oil at the correct intervals should not lead to issues.

• Almera on Mar 04, 2014 at 3:42 pm

I think the old idsi CVT issue stems from heavy foot, high revving and hard acceleration as one of my friend busted the CVT driving at 180km/h daily on MeX highway.

• breeze on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:44 pm

u r right, mine one already clocking 250k km got no problem at all. Just keep 20k km gear fluid CVTF intreval change. Mind peace.

• chris on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:50 pm

thailand or india model got sun-roof rite? how bout malaysia?

• IpohMali on Mar 17, 2014 at 8:20 pm

i’ve been informed my 1 of the manager the delayed was cause by the Custom Department. they rejected Honda application because Honda declared this model using 1496cc engine but the real cc was 1502. huge different with the custom tax. estimated launching by end of this month & 1st batch delivery to buyers by mid April.

• No GPS for the top Honda V range models …