Volvo to unveil new in-car control system at Geneva

139412_1_5

Aside from the fetching Volvo Concept Estate, the Swedish brand will reveal its new in-car control system at Geneva. Designed around a large tablet-like touch screen, the system will simplify and enhance the way drivers operate their cars, Volvo says.

The touch screen replaces the traditional selection of buttons and controls on the centre stack. It will blend tablet functionality, such as swiping and pinching, with new solutions that are specially designed for the in-car environment. It also interacts with the digital instrument cluster.

The layout on the portrait screen can be described as a stack of flexible ‘tiles’, each displaying a key functionality. Navigation is on the top, followed by media and telephone. A thin notification band is located above the tiles, while the digital climate controls become the ‘foundation’ of the pile.

The new user interface is designed so that the tiles on the touch screen expand on interaction. When one of the tiles expands to display required information, the others are compressed, still visible and instantly accessible.

“Creating this crystal clear, yet calm, environment is a core part of our digital craftsmanship. It is fine for an ordinary tablet to fight for your full attention but a touch screen in a car is very different. Information must be clear and user-friendly, without turning up the visual volume so much that you risk losing focus on the road. This also makes it easier to make really urgent information, such as a warning, much more distinctive,” said Thomas Ingenlath, senior VP of design at Volvo Car Group.

This new in-car control system will be introduced in the next generation of Volvos, starting with the all-new Volvo XC90 later this year.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kadajawi on Mar 03, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Tesla has this already. But I prefer buttons. You can get an orientation by touching it… Especially if the buttons and dials are of a different shape. Only little used elements should be on the screen only, because you always MUST look there.

• Yup……make mechanical control button as alternative to touch screen at both center console and on steering wheel…..a classic d-pad is more than enough with up down left right and enter in the middle…..perhaps a back/cancel button is a welcoming extras to the mechanical d-pad

• where’s CarPlay?

• There's a cock. on Mar 03, 2014 at 4:20 pm

the gear lever looks like impotent cock.

• ‘The touch screen replaces the traditional selection of buttons and controls on the centre stack.’

This should make assembling the car a lot cheaper. Only one CAN-bus cable instead of many cables with many connectors.

But I doubt that a touch-screen terminal will have the same lifetime as a simple switch. What, if in twelve years from now the touch-screen is broken? Will I be able to control my aircon?

• Denaihati on Mar 03, 2014 at 5:45 pm

so interesting and awesome, hope the driver can still focus on driving rather than busy with control/select the music etc.

• This device will create more distractions for drivers. Using phone while driving is bad enough.. now you need to look at the console just to increase the air conditioner temperature. What will the law enforcement agency think about this contraption

• BLT Club on Mar 03, 2014 at 7:15 pm

Cool. But really what’s wrong with buttons and knobs?
    Why not just voice activation? Easier too.

• roxas on Mar 03, 2014 at 7:45 pm

oooooooo ~ ppl now stil unable to accept too futuristic future, next time in the generation when it become production, thn everyone wants one ..

• volvo starting to act stupidly by fitting unnecessary features. Wht if the system hang like sometimes happened to the handphone and computer? To add some more trouble to the driver?

• kangkong on Mar 03, 2014 at 8:47 pm

tak silau ke at night??

• gavin on Mar 04, 2014 at 9:11 am

i think it’s bad idea to go full touchscreen, because the screen can display multiple functions in different locations with no tactile feedback, you always have to look at the screen to change something, unlike knobs you still look away but you don’t need to switch screens