Jaguar XE officially announced – X-Type successor

jag_xe_image_040314_01_(82425)

The X-Type is back, or rather the car that represents the Jaguar in the C-Class/3 Series segment. The new name for Jaguar’s entrant in that jungle is the Jaguar XE, giving it progression in alphabetical order in terms of vehicle segment next to the XF and XJ.

Of course, rumours that this was what the new car was to be called were already very strong before today’s announcement, as Jaguar had filed the name for trademark in 2008.

When it is launched in 2015, the Jaguar XE will be the first car based on Jaguar’s new advanced aluminium architecture which was showcased in the C-X17 concept car. This is a big departure from how the X-Type was built, which was essentially based on a front wheel drive Ford Mondeo platform.

Power will come from a new family of engines called Ingenium, which will include a 2.0 litre turbo petrol engine that will replace the current Ford-sourced motor.

We only have one photo of the exterior of the XE for now showing the front end of the car. There’s also the teaser video you can see above, alongside naked photos of the underpinings. It will not be shown at Geneva, but more will be revealed later this year.

The XE will have plenty of German and Japanese rivals when it goes to market, so it’s going to have to put up quite a fight. We’re eager to find out how it’ll fare.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• seancorr on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:39 am

Front end looks good, hope the interior matches the sporty exterior with a decent price to boot. If Jaguar wants to penetrate our market, they’d better start working on opening more outlets nationwide.

• Jurutera on Mar 05, 2014 at 8:31 am

No problem. Bolehland here have the highest number of rich corrupt cronies per square km in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • akula on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:40 am

including you…
        You are jurutera right? :) :) :)

• AutoFrenz on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:17 am

No worries this corrupt people will go to hell eventually…as for us mortal people just make sure that we continue to earn rejeki yang halal…aman adja konsepnya…its a matter of choice and iman…renung2kan dan selamat beramal..

• RegShwartz on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Dont worry bro, Jag interiors are the best in the market.

• heybadigol on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:10 am

Pleaseeee no more crap FWD X-Type architecture. Its going to go up against the 3 series, so it needs to be good.

• RegShwartz on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:19 pm

OH.MY.GOD!!

I literally wet my pants in excitement!! I want one!!