Proton Suprima S six-speed manual spotted in Perak!

proton-suprima-s-six-speed-manual-spotted-1 1

A reader who declined to be named kindly sent in these pictures of a Proton Suprima S apparently equipped with a six-speed manual gearbox. The car, which was spotted in Perak, is partly camouflaged (why the need for that, we don’t know), but we can see the stick-shift version retains the front fog lamps, projector headlamps and DRLs.

A peek inside reveals a few more things it hasn’t lost – engine start button (beside it is a new mysterious scroll wheel/row of buttons – headlamp leveller? Instrument panel brightness? Pic not clear) and Anthracite leather seats. Another pic shows the “SRS Airbag” fabric sewn onto the side of the seat – this one should have six airbags like the rest.

proton-suprima-s-six-speed-manual-spotted-6 6

And of course, there’s the unmistakable manual gear lever, encased in a neat leather gaiter. The gear knob has a satin-finished base on which sits a collar that presumably must be lifted to engage reverse. The R-1-2-3-4-5-6 gearchange pattern is debossed on the top of the gear knob in the Preve/Suprima S font (speedo and rev counter numbers).

Proton deputy CEO Datuk Lukman Ibrahim told us recently that this six-speed manual gearbox (which has been announced for Australia from 2014) will be paired with the turbocharged 1.6 litre CFE engine rather than the non-turbo CPS and IAFM mills (for which five-speed manuals are already available). Like the five-speeders, this six-speeder could very well be supplied by Getrag.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Guan Yin Ma on Mar 04, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Seriously ? Proton took more time to develop a 6 speed manual box for CFE compared to CVT gearbox? Something wrong here………..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 124
    • Najib Razak on Mar 04, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Be my guest, do it yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 85
      • _xXx_ on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:23 am

funny world….after so many innovative inventions like…torque converter, CVT, DCT etc…now, revert back to technology of the 40’s, manual GB. WTF.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 92
        • rally_fan on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:56 am

the majority of Europe still drives with what you call 40’s technology. (im sure manual transmission gearboxes go back longer than just the 40’s)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 1
        • Jason on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Hahahaha.. You’re funny by your sarcastic words. Oh you’re not? Then you must be fool. Please get back to school.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • ” Slow, but sure “

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 32
      • asrul on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 190
        • moluska on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Hmm i bet u must be happy driving ur dugong to show off with old folk japanese wannabe rite. Well as long as u happy dude

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 60
          • modenasluka on Mar 04, 2014 at 10:47 pm

jeles tgk org lain pakai Vios, isshhh….. perangai mcm budak tadika. Preve 2nd hand value drop like crazy, and so many problems found by those who own or drive Preve. As for Suprima S, people already started to complain in forums, just google it and you’ll know. The Suprima S has lots of goos features and excellent handling, I considered before but ended up booking the new City. x boleh tahan dgn kualiti Proton, now already 2014 bro, bila nk maju? tahun 2020 pun dh dekat ni….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 76
        • an idiot is in the making..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 35
        • abuya123 on Mar 04, 2014 at 5:29 pm

SURE??? Are you tok bomoh? Can know how it would be in future? How a waste your ability spend here to post comment. You should use it to buy nombor ekor and later buy Ferrari.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 8
        • BLT Club on Mar 04, 2014 at 8:24 pm

You do know it’s a manual gearbox right? Hard to believe it will hancur after one 1 seeing as there are still many Iswara’s on the road.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
    • shoku on Mar 04, 2014 at 2:52 pm

just wait and see, because manual gearbox can support more juice from the cfe engine..hehe hopefully more hp

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 6
    • Well, manual not making a lot of money unlike CVT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • red-supra on Mar 04, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Proton actually purchased a ready made gearbox from getrag not developing it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 6
      • almost all the car producer getting it from Getrag.. even for the R34 its from getrag.. so it should be good :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
        • forza on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:29 am

I am sure that the Gatrag is a tough gearbox.. even the legendard street legal racing car like bmw E30 M3 and Mercedes 190E Cosworth & Evo’s were using that since the 80’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • but the gearbox is not ready made for cfe engine..so they need to do some test before release it to market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
        • 4G63T DSM on Mar 04, 2014 at 9:07 pm

You make it sound like the CFE is some torque monster that would chew up gears.

After all said and done, why on earth are they not putting the CFE Manual in the Neo??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
          • I don say that but u are..i meant compatibility since current cfe does not has manual gearbox to begin with..no 1 size fit all..so one need more development..do u think same gear will work in any car without enhance, tuning n modification to suit the engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
          • use your brain la.. maybe Proton and Getrag needed to test many times to find the best gear ratio sets for the CFE.. with wide torqueband, I guess it will be 5 gears with normal ratio and 6th gear as overdrive (highway) tall gear for fuel efficiency. They need to find balance between FC, pickup and emissions… that’s what you gotta do to get Euro5 level..

Not like in the old days where they only pick a suitable Aichi/Mitsu box and stick it on the Campro..

Why they didn’t put CFE in the Neo? Neo was based on the 2004 Gen-2 chassis la.. so old already.. better develop new one. If you really wanted a forced-inducted Neo, then get a Neo R3 with Proreka (Proton OEM supplier) supercharger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
      • You no need clarify for those idiots laa…they don’t know about car industry. They only have bean size brains, cannot memory so many inputs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • Asalkan Bukan Protong on Mar 04, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Maybe Proton wanna test the FC not as much as CVT first lah….but if manual still 10KM/Liter then yes something is wrong there…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • Pinky on Mar 04, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 160
      • thefact on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:11 pm

6 Speed MANUAL! what problem its gonna give? ITS A MANUAL for gods sake. its not a DOUBLE CLUTCH Auto like in a VW… kutuk also..use brains dude!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 184 Thumb down 7
        • BLT Club on Mar 04, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Here. Take my LIKE!

• BLT Club on Mar 04, 2014 at 8:29 pm

I don’t understand the need for the camo. It’s not a facelift, so why bother? Maybe just a marketing gimmick or someone ordered to many stickers for the GSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • He got brains thinking meh? Looks like psychopath

• Hadi75 on Mar 04, 2014 at 9:07 pm

What’s wrong with 6 speed manual gearbox….my 4×4 also use 6 speed manual…..no problem whatsoever….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • BOMOH on Mar 16, 2014 at 6:20 am

enjin campro enjin terkuat di dunia

• wan m.i on Mar 04, 2014 at 3:09 pm

i think its because of the demands and marketing… so, nothing wrong for me… at least personally..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Tua Pek Kong on Mar 04, 2014 at 3:50 pm

as usual lah, delay everything, waste rakyat money, then simply pasang and sell to earn money, end up every car every model got problem. good example is the Preve, a long list of manufacturing faults but Proton dare not admit. no wonder rakyat rather pay more for Vios, City, Almera, Fiesta, Attrage also no mood to support Proton anymore. jaguh kampung forever, only support by kroni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 101
      • Albert Lee on Mar 04, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Bradder,CHING BENG coming.Have you got A NEW tombstone for Protong?
        If this rate of sales deterioration continues,in no less than 3 years Perodua will be the only national car manufacturer.Shall we rename it PEROTAMA or PERTAMA ?
        Proton’s volume if it drops to below 100,000 units will mean its days are numbered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 41
        • Waiting Proton file bankruptcy !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
          • Cheung on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:27 am

P1 will not bankcrupt bro. No matter how.

• Proton just announced today in The Star business section that they require RM 3 Billion from the government to continue develop more car models and electric vehicles.
          For those that say Proton is earning money and no longer require government help this will be a blow to their face. Its not 3 mil or 30 mil but 3 Bil!!!!!

• BLT Club on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:52 am

Yups, those fanboys just got reamed good.

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Business-News/2014/03/05/Up-to-RM3bil-needed-to-develop-new-models-including-electric-car/

• BLT Club on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:53 am

The news article:

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Business-News/2014/03/05/Up-to-RM3bil-needed-to-develop-new-models-including-electric-car/

• mimau on Mar 04, 2014 at 3:54 pm

The 6-speed Getrag manual Preve CFE actually finished at the same time as (maybe earlier than) Preve CFE CVT. There’s a running full spec prototype of it, wearing Inspira 17 inch rims, inside Proton RnD centre.

There’s a picture of it on Instagram, uploaded 2 yrs ago, before Preve launch. There’s also a pic of it during -60°C testing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • OMG…P1, pls wake up and design all new engine to replace the Campro/CFE/turbo/IAFM & so on…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • Terrible front end design! cant even see 1 unit on the road!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • bukan CVT tu diorang outsource ke? LOL

• Ada Aku Kesah on Mar 04, 2014 at 2:31 pm

As if I care…read my name above ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 94
    • aku kesah on Mar 04, 2014 at 3:26 pm

you don’t care but you’ve made a comment??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 3
      • Veneno on Mar 04, 2014 at 11:09 pm

he is just a retard attention-seeker.. tak payah pedulikan dia..

• kadajawi on Mar 04, 2014 at 2:36 pm

What the hell! The placement of the numbers on the gear lever! They don’t have a graphic designer to fix it? Or couldn’t they be bothered to? It’s the details that matter if they want to make a good impression… Appear as if they cared. Tried to make the car perfect.

Maybe they disguised it so that peoole notice that there is something new about it? So that some will take photos?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
    • moluska on Mar 04, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Maybe the finished product is way better than this.finger cross

• Datuk on Mar 04, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Finally the 6 speed manual tranny come alive. Will it cost below Rm70k? hopefully proton will follow all the spec in the current model. As many people know, if the manual model, its always be like ‘spec kosong’. May it will launch after the proton GSC or end of this year? Anyway good news for people who love manual tranny, like me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Auto Frenz on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Really…wah latok u like to play with transvestite issit…no wonder u love manual tranny…nevertheless we r all happy for u…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
    • Nenek on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Just make sure after long drive, your leg is not tired. If not night time duty kapot also no use lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 31
      • haiya nenek.. u talk dirty about datuk, how bout yours? still function meh?

• Prominence on Mar 04, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Which area in Perak?

• lemer on Mar 04, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Will Proton tweak the engine to increase more on power and torque?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Chris on Mar 04, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Exciting times. Can we have this in the Satria Neo please?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • khairilyazit on Mar 04, 2014 at 2:55 pm

That probably is the headlamp level…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • 1,2,3… start…

• Auto Frenz on Mar 04, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Will sell like hot cakes surpassing secret recipe and baker’s cottage combined…a great option for racing enthusiasts and ah beng wannabees who have been dreaming of racing on Penang second bridge (which upsets guan eng bcoz it is not named after him which makes him pray day and nite for the tunnel to be approved so that it could be named after him but too bad kit siang wants it to be named after him instead…so the story goes…quite complicated orso)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 76
  • Suprima Super on Mar 04, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Why is there a jumper cable on the passenger seat?

• The choice of a CVT transmission is one of the major letdowns for the Prevé CFE / Suprima Turbo.

I sat in the Suprima Premium for the first time 3 days ago, and I’m generally impressed. For the price, it’s excellent value for money. The leather seats are great, but the plastics are a disappointment. The gaps are also too wide and obvious. If Proton can swap out some hard plastic panels for better quality materials, the Suprima’s interior would be just miles better. However, the leather seats are epic. Also, the Suprima’s steering wheel is the tits ! The Saga FLX / Gen-2 / Persona steering wheel looks and feels like sh*t, but the Suprima’s is the polar opposite. I’m glad Proton finally made such a nice steering wheel, it is after all, the most interacted with element of any car.

If the 6-spd Suprima S turns out well (and I’m sure it will), I will gladly buy one, no questions asked.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 3
    • asrul on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Proton cars all nice to drive nice to sit when new, try to test older Preve and Persona and also the 1st batch BLM, then come back again to Paul Tan to leave your precious comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 25
    • Anonymous on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Me too! I’m holding off from buying a car just to see how the 6 speed MT fares for the CFE. I was generally impressed with the Preve CFE already except for the CVT. Sincerely curious if Proton can pull this off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • policeman on Mar 04, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Weak engine, with history of broken crankshaft, cracked block. Stay away. The steering wheel don’t feel like tits and I’m not sure about sh*t, I’ve never felt sh*t like you have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 43
  • Yea… I saw they doing high speed test at Gerik-Jeli road that day. Drive in very speed while taking corner. Whole car seem like wanna flung out of the corner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
    • asrul on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:07 pm

very common case, Suprima and Preve cornering stability is as “good” as any Kembara. sekali try, sepuluh kali takut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 44
      • moluska on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Wondered how slow dugong will be when enter sharp corner…torsion bumping with very latest 4 speed tranny or 5 spd manual.dun weri it 5% fc more efficiency that later batch bios kikiki

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 36
        • asrul on Mar 04, 2014 at 5:48 pm

u wont have chance to see it, very sad case because u already far behind canot catch up with 1.6 turbo engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
          • moluska on Mar 04, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Owh..really? Hahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • armandd on Mar 04, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Have you drive one? If not then don’t badmouth la bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
        • moluska on Mar 04, 2014 at 5:24 pm

He just frustrating the god car he drive can only drive at 25kmh when enter sharp corner. Driving at karak highway is a nighmare to him. What make him suffer till die when fully loaded exora bold overtake him while going steep hill and sharp corner kikiki

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 31
      • Safri on Mar 04, 2014 at 9:10 pm

u wrong!!!!! persona handling is the best…i try to catch it s road at mersing… vios loose…i own vios with 16″ rim

• do you even know what “cornering ability” is?

• Sesenol on May 22, 2014 at 11:47 am

i truly feel sad that u compare suprima with kembara. i guess u never know what “center of gravity” means. on that principal alone, what u said were total rubbish

• It’s great to see a 6-speed manual option for some good old manual shifter fun while retaining all the necessary safety equipments such as air-bags, traction control etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Maxxer on Mar 04, 2014 at 3:08 pm

If starting Preve use 5 or 6 speed AT , maybe more people will buy , cause CVT durable no confidence to some people.

• Cheung on Mar 04, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Please have this manual option in the PREVE as well !

Please have the manual shift feels like the one in the Civic type-R
    and also please improve the clutch also

The manual clutch on the Gen.2 CPS is really hard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • ahmadjohnson97 on Mar 04, 2014 at 7:40 pm

And also please have manual option in Inspira 2.0 as well

• powershot on Mar 04, 2014 at 3:15 pm

would be interesting to see how do proton price this fella

• Proton’s losses again !! on Mar 04, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Well Proton is loosing money again…no surprise here, its a company failing and failing over and over again not pulling down DRB as well …. Even if they come out with 8 speed gearbox still won’t make any differences, this car still drinks fuel like water, so just like the water cut, this car might be drivable every 2 days once !!!

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Business-News/2014/03/04/Longer-turnaround-seen-for-Proton-National-carmaker-still-making-losses-market-share-shrinking/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 24
    • Low Budget on Mar 04, 2014 at 3:47 pm

They are the distributor of 9 other brand names, this means they can cross subsidy the profits from other brands to Proton.
      TDM is also being reported leaving as adviser and this is good news for DRB, because they can now follow NAZA or P2 footsteps by starting 100% re-badging business without TDM’s grumbling and this is good for Malaysian motorists.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • Albert Lee on Mar 04, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Bradder,to close a company down,where to get the SSM forms?Oh,you can get MyEg to assist,for a small fee.Remember the MYEG commercial,where Ah Lian replied the handsome Malay gentleman.

• moluska on Mar 04, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Wow..wonder can it be install to exora cfe hehe

• asrul on Mar 04, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Exora is pointless as Livina and Innova, better get Stream, Wish or Alza also better in many sense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 27
      • moluska on Mar 04, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Why dont you put innova into the list hehehe..let describe the goodness of it for u…the gud is, aa the gud is err..nothing…!! Pity u Toyot fanboy kikiki

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • no name on Mar 04, 2014 at 7:01 pm

malay version of sam loo maybe..??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • abjohn on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:30 am

comparing exora with wish,stream?? agreed with no name.. another sam loo in making.. haha…

• Still at 6 speed?? So out!!!
    Some more need to cover here n there n make mysterious…so funny

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 36
  • mystvearn on Mar 04, 2014 at 3:28 pm

I bought the wrong Suprima…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Nice

• Proton change their emblem too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • sudonano on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:05 pm

I think it is meant for the export markets like Australia and UK. I remember when they launched the Preve and Suprima in Australia, they said a 6 speed manual will come.

Not too sure if they will bring it for the local market though.

• No Bajet on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Nobody there bother much to buy Proton anyway. Just saying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
  • gavincsy on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:20 pm

what it means is, this opens up a huge modification options market as the gearbox is no longer a limiting factor, and with 6 ratios to play with , there’s potentially some sweet results.

• mayb this one will bcome youngman so the purpose of camou sticker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • YouAllLoveProtonIKnow on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Hey at least this is one good news from Proton to racers out there..will buy this one and work it out for private entry to BTTC…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Ahmad Zainudin on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Proton ini memang keras kepala. Never learn… Suka pakai painted plastic bits. Gear lever tu, kalau tak ada budget pakai yang hitam sahaja (material colour), kalau ada duit pakailah aluminium.
    Tak ingit ker Gen2 catnya tanggal selepas 6 bulan. Kita rakyat miskin hutang kereta 7 tahun.

Patut kita orang nyawa-nyawa ikan… and berotak ikan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 20
    • Cheung on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:54 pm

the idea here is here proton don’t want owners to have trouble free car.
      That’s why certain things will not last and wil require owner to change the parts so they can earn some keuntungan.
      for your gear lever , u can wash your hands 1st before u touch the knob OR buy a gear knob cover and steering wheel cover to protect it so it can last for a longer period of time :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
    • Terersuckcock on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:57 pm

U mualaf?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Albert Lee on Mar 04, 2014 at 5:29 pm

I sokong pandangan encik.You talk like a true bumiputera who dares to speak your mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • y u use the name…u sound no like one..

• Bro, instead of menyamar jadi malay, better you embrace your heritage and use a more ‘oriental’ nickname. piece of sh1t

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • BLT Club on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:54 am

What does race have to with anything? That’s why you ppl (yes I went there!) are so backwards. Perasaan hasad dengki yang terlampau!

• using google translate from english to malay that will happen..

• Jebonr on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:52 pm

OK? Proton is upgrading something? Following the trend I guess. Looking forward for it’s performance and quality thou.

• The Expat on Mar 04, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Preve r nice car and option for manual with turbo then it would nicer.

• moluska on Mar 04, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Proton i doing a business not build a free car.malaysia love auto tranny esp those in city due to traffic.manual is just for a minor people who prefer to have 3 pedal.if this tranny 6 spd come with cfe i am pretty sure with the roght price suprima s can be hot cake. Engine frm proton is proven already just the build quality is minor letdown.what make people feel unease is their service center. Performance is tip top

• Motorsport Guy on Mar 04, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Auto tranny is for pussy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
      • many supercar hypercar..use auto trans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • Woo Fat on Mar 04, 2014 at 7:39 pm

dragster in US with 2000+ hp car use 3 speed auto gearbox..and heyy,they got balls mann

• turbokaput on May 23, 2014 at 4:31 pm

not true at all bro.. me too a self-called motorsport guy but prefer to drive auto tranny car hadap jalan tun razak hari2… hobby car keluar weekend sudahhhh… pussy juga ke?

• Albert Lee on Mar 04, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Proton,there you go again.6 speed manual.
    You might as well get 10 speed and 10 airbags.This car is for MATcar REMPITS.Those fools will buy this variant.Other than that,Protong……I think you better CLOSE SHOP ,pay off your staff handsomely or redeploy them to other DRB group of companies.
    IT is GETTING SICKENING for all these petty facelifts to surface again and again.
    NO AMOUNT OF FACELIFTS WILL save PROTONG.
    Honda and Nissan combined sales this year will overtake Proton,apart from Toyota closing in.
    The writing is on the wall.FALLING SALES=PANIC MARKETING.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 49
    • policeman on Mar 04, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Not sure if stupid or brain damaged.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 21
    • Syameer on Mar 04, 2014 at 7:28 pm

You’d better get your brain checked for any damage dude before it worsen. Sincerely…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • Veneno on Mar 04, 2014 at 11:14 pm

the doctors from Tanjung Rambutan are coming to take you bro..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Chyan on Mar 04, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Facelifts?

I think you need a brain-lift instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • YouAllLoveProtonIKnow on Mar 04, 2014 at 11:43 pm

Hold on there brother..an ambulance from Tanjung Rambutan is coming to pick you up very soon..poor guy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Sparcov on Mar 04, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Toyota fans said, why need a 6 speed manual when 4-speed gearbox good enough for everything …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 18
  • Steve Kok on Mar 04, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Be it stick shift, belt driven or torque converter transmissions. It’s still a Proton.

I would stay away from this brand if i could.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 23
    • It’s pretty dumb to dislike/buy a car just because of it’s brand. Are you buying the car or the brand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
  • Pleaaaaase make that black gloss/Preve interior finish as an option for Suprima. The current silver print looks cheaaap

• Denaihati on Mar 04, 2014 at 6:08 pm

good news and good move, and i believe this 6 speed manual will attract young people who need extra performance and driving pleasure.
    congratulation proton and waiting for next news…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • This company is selling product that they syok sendiri, not the product what the consumers want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 21
    • AlexAlex on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:51 am

And you alone doesnt represent all the consumers.

• Most consumers. Look at their pathetic sales figure. Even Toyota sells more dugong that both Preve and Suprima combined.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • piano black trim unlike current suprima whcih silver checked pattern. better this way

• policeman on Mar 04, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Inspira better

• hisyammazlan on Mar 04, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Good.. bgus nih proton..

• Johnny on Mar 04, 2014 at 8:17 pm

Great! Now who want’s to be the first to try?

• sambalbabi on Mar 04, 2014 at 8:19 pm

nice….can the CFE together with this 6 speedo fitted in the neo later?

niceeeeeeee

• wahedenator on Mar 04, 2014 at 8:25 pm

x rase gear lever tu rendah sgt k?
    as a daily manual driver, i’d prefer it is higher

• Dulu cuma ada 7 speed protonic pun complain… Sekarang dah ada 6 speed manual kenapa tak puji kerajaan..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Albert Lee on Mar 04, 2014 at 8:55 pm

The RED INK smells like rotten dung!
    Proton lost Rm67 million in last quarter where 35000 Proton Saga SVs were sold.Everybody at first was excited.An insider source revealed that ,for every unit of Proton saga SV sold ,Protong is losing money.RM67,000,000 divided by 35000 units=Rm1,914.
    For every SAGA SV sold,Protong lost RM1914,close to RM2k.Now you know why it can reduce Perodua’s relentless marketshare.
    The insider revealed that if sales kept dwindling,they would have a MASSIVE RETRENCHMENT exercise.If you lose Rm60 over million each quarter,annually you would have lost rm Quarter Billion.
    Proton,your founder and adviser is leaving you in deep waters,you better CEASE OPERATIONS and become an AP King.Just get a massive bumi licence to bring in exotic cars like NAZA.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 16
    • tujuhpakale on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:20 am

dude! relax, y u so bengang one?
      u better go to the proton HQ tomorrow & u can shout all day, all night as u like in order to express ur dissatisfaction.. u can even held a demonstration there, don’t forget to bring along the media as well.. sure nobody gonna stop u.. period!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • BLT Club on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:59 am

Bro, don’t worry, no retrenchment one. Afterall you know who’s the majority in Proton. It will continue to be just like our Malaysian Hospitality, lose money, it’s ok, the government is rich to bail out.

• smokey on Mar 04, 2014 at 9:24 pm

please launch it below 70k with all the goodies intact

• motorhead on Mar 04, 2014 at 10:05 pm

Hmm manuals… proton? No thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • Chyan on Mar 04, 2014 at 10:42 pm

They’ve got to stop using awful matte silver paints on their interior. It cheapens the look tremendously.

• Who cares?? Even if open bare without the disguise oso NOBODY cares..

• Fahmi on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:29 am

6-speed, 3 pedals, nice tranny combo, but in my opinion Proton’s ‘Turbo’ engine have lots of room for improvement.. 138hp and 205nm is quite low and conservative for a 1.6 turbo engine, could tune it for a little bit more power though, giving rivals a run for their money…

• policeman on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:09 am

Damn I just noticed. This car does not cope with carpets/mats. Wow what a way to cut cost proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • A psychopath policeman here

• Either on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:20 am

either you are super stupid, or super annoying without any women in your life, or you just very lazy to read. or maybe you cannot read, or maybe you super retard.

• budlee on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:34 am

I don’t drive a manual, but I love that the reverse gear is located near 1st gear. Its just seem more logical in my point of view. We used to have a Volvo 240GL 4 speed with a the reverse gear near the 1st too

• AlexAlex on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:46 am

Plot twist: its a toyota, then everyone start to praise it and proton fanboy start to kutuk it.

• Eddie on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:50 pm

FINALLY!!! MANUAL! UR DOING IT RIGHT PROTON

• Samad Jain on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:00 pm

There is nothing to be so excited about, unless some Malaysians are living under coconut shell, or being Jakun.

There are bunch of car manufacturers with cars equipped with 6-speed quite long time ago….

• MattEvoCivic on May 21, 2014 at 3:58 pm

so anyone being excited with 6 speed tranny are jakun?

so those car ethuasiast racing their own car at sepang are jakun also?

• Cheung on Mar 12, 2014 at 8:49 am

Looking forward on this car
    CFE engine with 6 speed manual transmission
    Test drive to See how its performance would be
    If satisfy, will get one for myself

• 6MT not for sale in our land…. this only for export only….

• MattEvoCivic on May 21, 2014 at 3:54 pm

At last…!! this is what im waiting for.. CFE mated with manual tranny..

for those with cvvt,dct or any other auto-T development arguement. you guys can talk to your adik2 bcoz this is purely for those who loves “3 pedals”

• takde siapa on Jun 30, 2015 at 12:23 am

krik.. krik.. still no news bout 6speed MT?
    2015 already..

• ali baba on Dec 30, 2015 at 11:49 am

2016 coming already. Still no news. Proton… give me a sub 8 second car for 2016 present pls…