Automakers do ‘market research’ at motorshows

While going through the photos sent in by our Geneva Motor Show correspondent Robert Kah / SB-MEDIEN, we saw an interesting directory titled ‘Chinese industry spy’. The directory contained some interesting photos.

Basically it was photos of this guy who was at the Geneva Motor Show during the press (and trade?) days and was looking very very closely at a Peugeot 308 SW, the wagon version of the new Peugeot 308 which recently won the 2014 European Car of the Year.

mr4

After closely inspecting the car and taking some close-up photos, observing things like gaps and such, he would write his findings down in a table on a piece of paper he was carrying.

Our photographer got a close up shot of his paper – the data to be filled in by make and model based on cars that could be seen at the motorshow. Mind the Renault ‘crio’. Once I saw the text on the paper which was filled with Japanese characters rather than Chinese, I knew this researcher wasn’t Chinese as per what the photographer assumed.

Most cars are refreshed every five to seven years, but the work on a next generation model starts way before a car’s eventual release date. The learning never ends and you need to constantly one-up your competitor with every new generation of car.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:44 am

Whoever he is but I am sure he is not from those well known manufacture!!! Because well known companies such as: Toyota, Honda, Nissan, etc…. definitely NOT so cheapskate sending a spy to a motorshow to “investigate”. Simply buy the car & dismantle pieces by pieces in closed door factory. Pathetic “Car BRAND”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 49
    • driver on Mar 05, 2014 at 6:14 am

What’s wrong with you??

It’s definitely japanese. full of katakana’s here and there. Anyway, it’s a smart thing to do to have a rough idea on many cars at the same time. Save money and time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
      • yup, those who think that this is stupid and cheapscake thing to do are definitely ignorant about coporate stategy implementation..A good coporation, big or small will do (and hope) to do tasks the simplest and most effective and cost saving way…
        u dont need to take down ur pants when u want to phart..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:36 pm

Nothing wrong with me but maybe “you”. The reason I said this is because Proton actually brought few models to dismantle and develop model such as Suprima/Preve. Proton really push very hard to make their model comparable with B-segment or C-segment. Toyota Australia too send it Holden/Ford inside their factory to check every tiny details in order to be competitive in Australian market!!!
        Which is why I never criticize Proton because their car really as good as other but just other ppl mentality still think PROTON sucks!!!
        How I know, because I work in Aus Toyota and really impress how they do their job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Chris on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:54 am

Maybe he’s a car otaku?

• slk3879 on Mar 05, 2014 at 8:08 am

So who is the cheapskate (your word) Japanese brand you think it might be?

• Sunriver on Mar 05, 2014 at 8:42 am

He’s checking the bumper gaps…. so he MUST be from Protong…. hehehehe.

Waaaa…. perfect cover one, look like Jap, write like Jap but not Jap. Instead a Jap look-a-like fella from Tanjung Malim… hehehehe ROTFL!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
        • if proton has been doing this, then we would hv seen better quality finshing in our prot9n these days…proton usually just watch n eat curry puff..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Why so much work? Ask 3 billion from whatever government of yours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • During the development is the R35 GTR, Nissan themselves have a Porsche 911(997) turbo for them to compare and evaluate. It’s not a hidden secret that car makers will buy a rival car and evaluate them side by side espacially large scale mass production.
      Base on the evaluation sheet, this guy is actually gathering data from all the new cars in Geneva , the faster new info gets to the manufecture, the faster they can develope a better car.

This is more common and well known in military, eg; captured tanks would immediately send for reevaluation so that a counter solution can be develope. The only difference here is that the winner is us! The market. Companies will strife to better each other and this will translate into a better product introduction to the market which can only benefit the consumer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • klata-klata on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:27 am

Those show models are the latest, which the Japanese cannot buy yet to evaluate and reverse engineer.

• Obviously on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:57 pm

How are you so sure?

• DonkeyKong on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:20 am

Even the Germans do it.. who can forget Winterkorn’s outburst when he summoned his guys to explain why Hyundai could accomplish such a good build quality, and why doesn’t Hyundai’s telescopic steering wheel adjustment doesn’t make a “click” sound like Volkswagen’s

• it’s a chinese manufacturer who hired a japanese spy.

• normal. go to airshows. intelligence are gathered by spying on human (not the showgirls) and it doesnt end at the exhibition booth

• Chris on Mar 05, 2014 at 8:37 am

This is what men do. Peeking up skirts. Car’s or girl’s, doesn’t matter.. haha, just kidding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • In your close up photo of the note it’s written in Japanese, NOT Chinese.

• jtshin on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:30 am

Japanese characters on papers. or is he some kind of student from automotive engineering?

• Probably replica of 308 coming out from chinese market. He just wants to make sure all his mark up will match the replica. Just my thought I could be wrong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • slk3879 on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:04 am

You should finish reading the whole post before you comment. Why do you still think that the guy in the picture is from China?

• Maybe some people need to learn how to differentiate japanese to chinese characters before making judgements. Anyway “Major” car companies would have just buy the targeted car and dismantle it to pieces behind closed door for details studies.

• swoosh3553 on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:42 am

Those are definitely Japanese texts. The checklist is asking about silicone rubber/gaps/fittings/aesthetics. I think these are normal for benchmarking. Furthermore, to benchmark by buying a car make and reverse engineered it may not be too cost-friendly for R&D. New model launches for the automotive industry is getting pretty short to be competitive. That is why shortcuts like these will be more evident in near future…if not now.

• kusoking on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:58 am

Actually, he is not a Chinese, he is Japanese. On his checking book in last figure was Japanese language, :).

• taiko on Mar 05, 2014 at 8:22 am

how about pro ton? any automaker have a desire to spy the model?

• Jurutera on Mar 05, 2014 at 8:27 am

Proton never got such hardworking attitude to check spy other cars lah.

Any defects in their cars, just send in for repairs nonstop with tagline “biasalah kereta Proton”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Protong does the easy way out. Just rebadge the car and call it a new model. What r&d? What design? Pffffttttt. Waste of time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • sipaigong on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:07 pm

And yet ask for 3billion to do research . To research on how to re-badge ?

• DonkeyKong on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:23 am

Exora is a rebadge of: ??
          Persona is a rebadge of: ??
          Satria Neo is a rebadge of: ??
          Saga BLM/FL/FLX is a rebadge of: ??
          Preve is a rebadge of: ??
          Suprima is a rebadge of: ??
          Proton GSC is a rebadge of: ??
          Inspira is a rebadge of: Lancer
          Perdana Replacement is a rebadge of: Accord

Well? Can you please fill in the blanks?

• azrai on Mar 05, 2014 at 8:36 am

In Tokyo auto show there are many kind of these ‘spies’. Do you know what they do? They are actually aftermarket parts company guy. The do all those measuring on display cars just to make new body kit, etc. for the new cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • You might have a point there. Or maybe one of those parts manufacturers or vendors checking out competitors products.

• Haiyaa on Mar 05, 2014 at 8:48 am

The documents in Japanese. But he is Chinese.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • He could be from any country born to look like Chinese/Japanese/Korean/Asian, trained and mastered the Japanese language, sent there by any car brand. Jeng jeng jeng!!!

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Could be some Korean fellow disguised as Japanese, after all they king of CopyCat.

• dugong on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:13 am

but altis new design copy K5 wor… how??

• Sor Chai Sam on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:14 am

Nowadays the japs are copying the koreans as they cannot keep up with the speed the koreans are progressing.

• mmaker on Mar 05, 2014 at 8:57 am

Proton is smarter, they never send spy to see clear picture of other competitors. But Proton will write official letter saying ‘May I rebrand your car’?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • the paper he’s carrying is in japanese (i can read japanese)looks like a survey on car specs.

• heybadigol on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:07 am

For all we know he’s a student doing a thesis for his degree. But Azrai has a good point, could be from aftermarket parts companies.

As for build quality such as panel gaps, the secret is not in the car itself, but in the manufacturing process, eg what is the tolerance for defects, the quality of QA, the machines used for manufacturing, etc.

Anyways, car companies (heck any companies for that matter) would know details of rivals’ cars even before they come out :) Industrial espionage is everywhere, and the most common one is through hiring. Not to mention all manners of spyshots and checking at patent registrations (though you are not allowed to copy them). BMW can just hire some engineer or designer from Audi, and get details of what Audi is doing from him. Im sure the engineer would have kept some top secrets to himself before he left, and there’s usually no way to prevent this. Even if you ban use of thumb drives, he can just take a picture of details on his computer screen using his personal smartphone, then email out immediately before deleting it from his phone.

• Okay, doesnt matter if the japanese suddenly decides to “copy”, even though i highly doubt they would, but here’s to hoping that all car manufacturers including the chinese would take these “notes” as inspiration and improvement in cars and not COPY car designs as i think that is frankly lame.

• why call it spying when it is already revealed on a show and public. spying is only consider when the product is not announced.
    its a very normal practise to study the competitor weather up close like what this fella is do it from a distance. every smart competitor do that. only the arrogant one will not.

• rally_fan on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:49 am

its normal practice by all car manufacturers. they just have different ways of doing it. they even do benchmarking by getting a hold of competitor cars and testing them head to head against their own products or taking them apart.

• KangKungMan on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:55 am

Today Star Paper – Proton need RM3Bil for their new car/electric car project lor! Again … “New Wave” is coming … digging out … those hard earn tax payer RM RM RM …

• yeah right, 3Bil for R&D. More like 1Mil for R&D and the rest masuk poket.

• adam lee on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:08 am

aiyoo yoh just buy and operate in the lab like proton.

• tungck on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:28 am

Nowaday feel that the best design car is Korea like Hyundai and KIA, already take over Japan Car best design.

Those Japan company like Honda and Toyota just tried find the way to lower the manufaturing price only…..

• fatchicken on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:37 am

How I wish we can check a gal like that before committed a relationship…

• If Proton sends ‘spies’ like this, most ppl would probably whine about lack of innovation and originality looool

• Sparcov on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:25 am

What’s wrong? If don’t allow people to check the car, better don’t sell the car to public.

Proton also buy Toyota Wish for the Exora production and Vauxhall for the preve production.

So,it is common in auto industry.

• Marieta on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:27 am

Why went through all the hassle and embarrassment like that..just bought the car and dismantle it piece by piece for your research

• Joker on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:49 am

Perhaps the japs wanna know why da 308 won the european car of year and why japs car rarely wins world car of the year…

• yeah how the hell did this french car won car of the year??? i know, it must have something to do with the gaps between the bumpers.. how bout the japs stop designing such boring soulless cars. mat salleh all like that, they always go for originality and innovation. if you have ever studied or worked overseas you know how strongly they despise plagiarism. who cares if do well at it if you just stole someone elses work

• Denaihati on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:38 pm

item in the checksheets looks like visual check only, i think he is a student. if from car manufacturer, afford to buy one car for good research.

• Petrolhead on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:53 pm

This is normal when car manufacturer checking their competitor product, even there is one time where VW CEO is doing research by himself the Kia Cee’D by bringing himself a measuring tape to measure the car in one of the motorshow. Our own manufacturer learn from this.

• Joe Radzif on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:39 pm

on the checklist,
    is that Preve?

• Redline on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Aiyoo, so obvious one. This guy should have at least be more discreet and more subtle about it.

• Samad Jain on Mar 05, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Proton no need sending spies to check rivals. They would “smartly” spend time sticking “LULUS” stickers on car windows to ensure quality control….

100 cars rolled-out from Proton factory, 100% cars sure lulus.