Mitsubishi Triton facelifted for 2014, Pajero Sport grille

2014 Triton Facelift-1

We’ve showed you spyshots, now here’s the official launch report. The Mitsubishi Triton has been given another facelift, and it now sports the same new grille and bumper treatment the Pajero Sport SUV received in October 2013. The new face includes projector headlamps as well.

Four variants in the local Triton range will get the new look – the 2.5 MT STD, 2.5 MT, 2.5 AT and the range-topping Triton VGT GS. The entry-level Triton Lite does not benefit from this round of updates. The VGT (for variable geometry turbo) used to be available in GS and GL forms, now it’s GS only.

Inside, the VGT GS now comes with a 2-DIN touch-screen Bluetooth head unit, which 6.1-inch display is linked to a reverse camera (non touch-screen 2-DIN with Bluetooth for 2.5 AT and MT, single-DIN for MT STD). The multi-mode RV meter on the dash top is standard across the board. The 17-inch rims on the VGT GS (16-inch for other variants) sport a new design, too.

2014 Triton Facelift-17

Exclusive VGT GS kit includes a powered sunroof, powered sliding rear window, leather seats, automatic climate control and security window tint (Llumar for Mitsubishi). Note that the VGT GS comes with a shorter cargo bed – 1,325 mm bed length vs the standard truck‘s 1,505 mm. The short bed comes with a full matte black sports bar; the sports bar on the 2.5 AT/MT has some chrome on it.

No change mechanically, so under the Triton’s hood is a 2.5 litre commonrail turbodiesel with 136 PS and 314 Nm of torque. The DI-D unit is paired to either a five-speed manual or a four-speed automatic.

The VGT GS’ 2.5L engine takes things up to 178 PS and 350 Nm of torque, the latter available from 1,800 to 3,500 rpm. Its automatic gearbox has five speeds.

2014 Triton Facelift-29

All four variants come with MMC’s Easy Select 4WD system with the ability to “shift on the fly” at speeds of up to 100 km/h. All except for the MT STD are also equipped with a “Hybrid LSD” for better traction. Safety wise, we’re looking at ABS, EBD and dual-airbags for all except for the MT STD.

The facelifted Triton range starts from RM82,185 for the MT STD. The mid-range 2.5 MT and AT are priced at RM90,377 and RM95,247 respectively, while the VGT GS will cost you RM107,809, all on-the-road without insurance. Red is an exclusive VGT colour, and Pearl White joins the range for all but the STD.

Buyers enjoy a three-year/100,000 km warranty as well as a two-year free maintenance package. Read our review of the Triton VGT here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Enzoman on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:42 pm

zzzzzz

might as well get Ranger or the new Colarodo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Obviously on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:05 pm

The all-new Triton is a bit late. So they facelift the current outgoing one to keep things fresh till it arrives.

• TS.Lim on Mar 05, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Hi, may I know the new Colorado Muscle Edition is already officially launched with official price??

Because I can’t check the latest spec and price for the Muscle edition..

• Auto Frenz on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Without doubt with the new grille and flashy side mirrors it will sell like hot cakes surpassing kek pisang sold at school canteens…

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:10 pm

THe Trigon VGT GS has been on the road show circuit since last week.

Quite pricy, but oddly enough, it does come with a sunroof and rear powered glass window.

• Jebonr on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:38 pm

“non touch-screen 2-DIN with Bluetooth for 2.5 AT and MT” ? How to use that? Is it that much different in cost for a touch-screen?

• “How to use that?”
      Never heard and touch button before in your whole life?

• Bryan on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:02 pm

I still like the old Stormtrooper grill of the prefacelift Triton, that was when it was most handsome

• nabill on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:34 pm

One of da best trucks in terms of refinment…bt i stil choose da navara!

• like the front grill..

• seancorr on Mar 05, 2014 at 6:18 pm

They could have swapped the sunroof for something more practical and better like say traction control.

• odie m on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:35 am

Dude it come with ‘traction control’ but Mitsu call it ASC Active Stability Control…let keep the sun roof…

• Josh Ling on Mar 06, 2014 at 6:13 am

i do agree with you on this, as i think toyota does something better when it comes to standard features of the range-topper. i will swap the sunroof and powered rear glass window for electric seat and reverse camera (both are standard features on hilux 3.0G) anytime. not really essential features, but at least they are more practical than the sunroof and the window.

• Facelift?…..it looks more sad….depress or some sort..

• I went to showroom at ampang early Feb 14. The model already there. It is 2013 model. the new triton 2014 with rain sensor, dusk sensor, MASTC, stering whell remote control… refer this http://paultan.org/2014/03/05/mitsubishi-triton-facelifted-2014/#comments

• sorry here
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H25fo-XjNho

• I was hoping for a GL version. The sun roof lowers the cabin height significantly, which is a put off for me. Those 1.75m and above will have a problem.

• mitsubishi kedekut on Mar 10, 2014 at 4:02 am

Mitsibishi ni kedekut sikit, compartment sikit, tempat letak air size botol mineral kecik je muat, warranty sikit, seat belakang tak boleh angkat kalau nak boh barang dalam cabin banyak sikit, model GS 2014 baru ni walau dah di upgrade pun still tak boleh lawan apa yang ford ranger wildtrak bagi walau ford ranger tu dah lama model dia keluar. Tapi sayang wildtrak stok dah tak ada..Mitsibushi pon mitsubishi la