Nissan Juke Nismo RS – 218 PS, 280 Nm, LSD for FWD

116130_1_5

The Nissan Juke range has a new flagship, the Nissan Juke Nismo RS. Previewed at the 2014 Geneva Motor Show, the Juke Nismo RS is based on the Juke Nismo, but packs more power, a sharper chassis, stronger brakes and extra equipment.

The Juke Nismo’s 1.6 litre DIG-T engine has been boosted to 218 PS from 200 PS, while torque in 2WD/manual transmission versions is up by 30 Nm to 280 Nm. To ensure the chassis can successfully transfer the extra grunt to the road, 2WD models also benefit from the addition of a mechanical limited slip differential on the front axle.

An LSD is not required in 4WD versions which have torque vectoring, Nissan’s Xtronic transmission and 250 Nm. The performance gains are matched by a retuned exhaust system with a large diameter muffler.

116133_1_5

Other improvements linked to the increased engine performance include strategic body strengthening to increase torsional stiffness, while the brakes have been enhanced for even better resistance to fade – front disc size is up from 296 to 320 mm, while the rear discs are now ventilated. Revised spring and damper settings complete the chassis changes.

Nismo exterior design cues include red door mirror caps and a red pinstripe that encircles the bottom of the car. The package is completed with new LED daytime running lights set within the lower air intake grilles, while 18-inch alloys accentuate the Juke’s bold stance.

The Nismo treatment continues inside with a performance-oriented steering wheel, pedals, gauges, gear knob and door trims. Special suede-trimmed Nismo sports seats with red stitching provide extra support. Options include Recaro bucket seats, xenons and Nissan’s Around View Monitor and Safety Shield.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• coming to Malaysia?

• Yeah. Fat hopes. Wait till 8 more years then the ah peks in TCM will bring it in. Instead of bringing in qashgai, they are still selling the aged x trail.

• Yah Emma, you wish….I you like Juke just get from grey importer. TCM is no balls to bring odd or new model here

• norman on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:37 pm

This kind of chassis,need more power for what?Enter rally ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • New headlights and new taillights! It’s a facelift!

• Talk3Talk4 on Mar 05, 2014 at 6:32 pm

looks like Mini Cooper to me… yay or nay?

• Despite it’s kinda ugly but it does attract me~!

• MonopolyRobertKuok on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:47 pm

i dont care abt this car in Malaysia. i live in HK.

• Denaihati on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:32 pm

impressive power output and torque. bucket seats is not comfortable for normal or highway driving(long distance), but it is so interesting when the airbag at seat side.

• motorhead on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Look like bugs.. I love it. Bring it here.

• spongewai on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:49 pm

c’mmon man, bring it here to Malaysia la ETCM

• razorkat on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:01 am

Stupid tan chong malaysia management.Bunch of bastards.When the hell are they bringing this monster into malaysia.Dump Almera junk oni here izit?Singapore tan chong has this juke why not in bolehland? Useless jokers

• Tracks on Mar 06, 2014 at 8:38 am

Dear “razorkat”. A stupid TCM management would not have increase their market share and profits. If TCM management were considered useless while managing a company to profitability, what do you consider about yourself or even the management of the other automotive related companies.
      I like the Juke too and I too hope that TCM would bring it in. But you must understand that as a business owner, unless the market demand is really high, it won’t be brought in.
      On the Almera, it is not the best B segment car. However, it’s surely not a junk. E.g. Class leading wheelbase at 2600mm which others had followed.

• razorkat on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Dear friend, u must go to singapore in person and ask tan chong sg people there regarding their nissan jukes and gtrs.Observe and listen to their positive comments regarding their business strategy there.Apparently, they dont have problems bringing in those models and sell to the public regardless of huge market demand or not.their population is wayyy smaller than bolehland friend.TCM here are just plain lazy and outdated individuals compared to say Honda Malaysia.cheers bro, dun angry:)

• Tracks on Mar 07, 2014 at 8:15 am

Dear friend. Your comment is somewhat valid. But aren’t you forgetting that business strategy must accomodate to the actual market it caters to. What works in Singapore may not work well here. Similarly, in Thailand the people there are all for Pick-up and in Indonesia the people loves MPVs. E.g. You try selling the Nissan Grand Livina in Singapore and it will not achieve the same sales ratio as in Malaysia would.
          Market intelligence would have provided some data to justify the profitability of bringing the Juke model. As for Honda Malaysia, the are now rank 3rd in terms of vehicles sales in the non-national categories for 2 consecutive years after the lazy and outdated individuals in TCM help achieved being 2nd for 2012 and 2013. The same group of TCM individuals also announced the launching of 5 new models for this year.
          No offense taken and I hope the same to you too. Cheers.

• ss427 on Mar 06, 2014 at 9:20 am

The Juke may be butt ugly. But you cannot deny its a really unique looking car.. one to standout in the crowd… pity about the built quality though. Lots of cheap shiny plastic in the cabin..

At 200hp, the engine o/p matches Hyundai’s own excellent 1.6L Gamma GDI Turbo. Finally the Japs can pull something equally efficient as the Koreans..

Meanwhile… over at Proton, someone still believe the CFE is world class.. LOL Just look at your power o/p AND fuel economy figures la… And don’t talk about overall reliability… cos there’s little to speak of…

Can’t deliver since day one and still wanna talk big tsk tsk tsk… LOL

• Tan Chong on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:20 pm

I can bring this car in BUT will any of you really buy it?

You can talk and comment here all you want, but at the end of the day, the people with CASH determines what they get.

That is why I run a business while you work for a boss. I make CALCULATED, RISK HEDGED DECISIONS.

No offence, this is a strictly business world.

• aninimous on Apr 24, 2014 at 9:02 am

dah spot kereta ni at bentong.rear side look sporty but front side macam katak