Next-generation Hyundai Sonata’s cabin previewed

sonata-cabin-teaser

Hyundai has released another teaser image of its next-generation Hyundai Sonata, which will be officially launched the end of this month in South Korea. Hyundai started receiving pre-orders for the D-segment sedan in its domestic market yesterday (March 5).

This latest teaser is of the new Sonata’s cabin, which is quite a big departure from the current YF, design wise. The flowing centre console seen in the YF and Elantra MD is gone, replaced by a centre stack that is more driver-focused. It’s sharper, more cockpit-like, more Optima K5 this time.

hyundai-sonata-teaser

Earlier this week, we saw the exterior of the new car, which has a more mature appearance afforded by the “Fluidic Sculpture 2.0” design language (see new Hyundai Genesis). If that hexagonal grille looks familiar, you might have seen it here before.

Hyundai says more advanced high-strength steel (51% vs 21% previously) has been used in the new car’s platform. Along with increased use of structural adhesives, more hot-stamped parts and the addition of dual-member structures in key body areas, the next-gen Sonata promises to be lighter and 40% more rigid than before.

The Korean carmaker is aiming for a “Good” IIHS small overlap test score with this one – seven airbags and “new seat belt technologies” are mentioned. Like what you see so far?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• cutester on Mar 06, 2014 at 11:17 am

The door handle on the left (driver’s side) looks so thin compared to the right side on the sketch. It looks like a big door pocket.

• Are you sure what you are talking about? That is just a sketch, what so much fuss about?

• Went to hyundai’s showroom last weekend, they said new sonata is coming this year. Is this the new model which is coming to malaysia?? :D i hope sooo muahhuahuahua

• Carlover on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:20 pm

You don’t hope that Sime darby will launch this new Sonata this year.Yes new Sonata already launch in S Korea and will make another debut next month in NY. You see this month Simedarby just want to launch the i30 aka Elantra GT while this car already on market since 2011.My advice,dont hope for new Sonata to come in Malaysia this year.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:18 pm

It that a XL size Mitsubishi Attrage ?? lol
      For the first time korean D segment copying Japanese B segment … muahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
      • jap junk on Mar 06, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Get lost you jealous jap junk! Jap car maker has no more creativity like korean do and they are keep climbing. Unlike jap junk maker only know to produce av craps

• Look good to me

• sudonano on Mar 06, 2014 at 11:20 am

Probably a good thing. The swoopy dash in the MD Elantra was not as usable compared to the Forte. And also, I hope they dump off all the piano black trimmings. Fingerprint magnet much.

• proton needs100 billions to come out a car half like this one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • fast5 on Mar 06, 2014 at 11:58 am

While maybe protong can do it with graphic but the end product out come will like saga n preve interior…

• Same Lor on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Proton need to BE BOUGHT OVER in order to come close to this.

Else, it will remain 4S forever. (Sendiri cakap, Sendiri Syok, Sentiasa Rosak, Sales Carnival)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • nabill on Mar 06, 2014 at 11:27 am

Interior look more germantic… Which is always a good thing

• sazali on Mar 06, 2014 at 11:37 am

All those who buy and having the Kimchi now will have no second value. Even your salesmen don’t value your car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 50
    • I’m not sure why there are always your kind on judging a car based on resale value. it’s the joy and fun of the car that counts. BMW or Merc have one of the worst resale value, i guess u’re so blinded by the badge. Regardless of the resale value, everyone knows the cars are depreciating assets, so what matters is the driving pleasure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Who cares about RV? May be those stingy farkers and misers cares.

• Same Lor on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Looked nice but don’t know build quality good enough or not?

One thing for sure is today you buy it, next year only worth 65% resale value.

But still, it is much much better than the J class Proton.

J = junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Low Budget on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Why don’t you open a Hyundai 2nd hand car shops and start offering 15 month old Sonata RM65K, Elantra RM50K, Accent 35K, i10 RM25K I guarantee you sure got business one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Zenyu on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:51 pm

i can see they’re moving towards more conservative and safer design path now, which is a good thing

compared to the current design, which is too overdone in my opinion

• Anti RV Comment on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:59 pm

It is really an eyesore…it is really wasting other readers time & space in PT when each time a new articles comes out, there will be a moron who keep on bragging about resale value..resale value…For god sake, people reading an automotive website to get info about car specs, about the new technology..about the new design..An as a mature reader, we shall discuss on those matter..I am strongly pledging PT team to ban those time wasting RV post..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Maseratti on Mar 06, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Ask my boss Sam to teach you RV subject.Sam is a successful businessman who trade in low RV car ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • RV is bullshit on Mar 07, 2014 at 9:07 am

kalau kau kata RV kereta Hyundai drop more than 50% in one years, please tell me where is your or your Uncle Sam Loo kedai/gudang. I mau angkat 1 biji Sonata or Elantra kalau murah sangat.. haihh, tak habes2 dgn isu RV bangang…

• Not bad at all.

• The koreans are improving with every new generations.

• Still not buying koreans, but i am pretty sure with this improving going on, soon i will be one.

• copy audi Q5 interior..korean fags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • Go naik yr kapchai lar rempit. Bising sini buat apa…rempit bojan

• Bro above, infact all cars with four wheels copy ford i think, as ford came up with the first four wheel commercial car.

• spyshot sonata 2015 on Mar 06, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Check it out, the front of the car :-

http://lh3.ggpht.com/-Zo6_rig6QJM/UxYxt-xBxLI/AAAAAAAQToU/z6eR6ju48N0/s1600/2015-Hyundai-Sonata-1%25255B3%25255D.jpg

• Bro, infact all cars with round edge copy iphone as iphone is the world greatest inventions. Now all you car manufacturers….be prepared to be sued by apple loyars.

• donuts on Mar 06, 2014 at 8:22 pm

this is going to be another Camry killer..
    The same price range of RM150K..

1) Accord – price and 5 years warranty
    2) Passat – Euro quality!
    3) new Sonata – looks cool!!!

bye bye Camry, till the next model then..

• boooon on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Where is the new Kia Carens?

• memang sama dengan subaru legacy laaa…. adusss.