Proton requested for funding, but not unusual – MITI

mustapa-miti

National carmaker Proton has submitted a request for funding, Minister of International Trade and Industry, Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed confirmed, adding that “it is still a work in progress.”

The MITI minister was speaking to reporters after a dialogue on Malaysia and the Asean Economic Community in KL yesterday. This comes after StarBiz frontpaged a report saying that Proton is seeking up to RM3 billion to fund the development of new models, and that MITI and Petronas have declined to assist in the funding, after the national carmaker approached them last year.

Mustapa, however, added that Proton’s request was not unusual, and that companies do approach the Government for tailored incentives and that the Government will reciprocate by dangling certain carrots and benefits.

proton-kuala-terengganu 061

He explained that companies in general were eligible for three types of incentives from the Government – pioneer status (which gives companies tax incentives), a research and development grant and incentives for training. “These incentives are available depending on the Government’s financial situation,” he said.

“We want to know if it fits into the country’s strategic direction. We also look at the merits of the case, the availability of funds at that point in time and we will do a thorough due diligence and cost-benefit analysis,” Mustapa explained.

Meanwhile, Proton has denied that it applied for any development fund from MITI and Petronas. The carmaker has also dismissed reports that it had committed RM3.8 billion to fund its business plans until 2017.

“Proton wishes to state that an article in one of the local English newspapers on Proton seeking development funds of RM3 billion from the ministry and Petronas is not true. The statement that Proton has committed RM3.8 billion until 2017 is also not true,” said Proton’s corporate communications head Nur Balkish Hood.

Proton_P2-30A_GSC_Spied_09

Nur Balkish explained that before the takeover by DRB-Hicom, Proton had applied for an R&D grant under the Pre-Packaged Incentive Scheme through the Malaysian Investment Development Authority (MIDA).

“When DRB-Hicom came in, we reviewed the application with MIDA and verified the R&D activities. Proton has complied with MIDA’s guidelines – the definition of R&D, eligibility of expenditure and procedures for disbursement of the grant. The MIDA team and external auditors have visited Proton to ensure that the company undertakes the R&D activities as proposed and that it complies with the technical and financial requirements,” she said.

The R&D grant under the Pre-Packaged Incentive Scheme is open to all organisations in Malaysia.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Enough is enough! What’s with that undying soul? Put it to rest for good before all our hard earned money wasted up.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 17
    • Tongkat Ali on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:59 pm

So many kind of names used to get free money…whatever it means lah.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 4
      • works on Mar 06, 2014 at 7:15 pm

3 years ago group lotus gets 1.3 billion and it ends up nothing….now want to ask 3 billion for funding new model? come on la proton…1 trillion also not enough for if you like this forever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
        • YouAllLoveProtonIKnow on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:26 pm

You are seriously sick man.. what is it that you don’t understand about this article? It is just a speculation and Proton has denied it. “Your” 3 billion is not going anywhere la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 69
          • Goosfraba on Mar 06, 2014 at 11:37 pm

not sick la. We know they requested la. Not official only ma. I know you love Proton. But don’t need to be so ignorant right? You think our P1 making a lot of money? This money begging has been going for who knows when. Now everything starting to surface online. Good la. Even though speculation, there is some truth in it. Don’t so butthurt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • works on Mar 06, 2014 at 7:34 pm

3 year ago group lotus gets 1.3 billion and it end up nothing. now proton want 3 billion? 1 trillion also not enough if the company still like this forever….

• Sunriver on Mar 06, 2014 at 9:05 pm

Deputy CEO (DLI) already jump ship. What does that you? No hope already laaa….

• Vader on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:58 pm

For the R&D, the engine may be the most costly.
      However, DRB-Hicom’s Proton has signed an agreement to buy all engine technologies and knowledge developed by Petronas at RM63mil, right?
      Everyone know the R&D need spend a lot, but the question is that if the new product not able to have break even and then gain profit, then this so call R&D structure or system is a failure.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
      • Tongkat Ali on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Most probably the Petronas engine ends up like the Russian space junk purchased for reverse engineering here. When we will launch our own spacecraft, that’s another day another joke lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • Proton’s R&D means ‘Retire & Dream’. Of course their products will stink big time. They don’t even bother with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
    • Off Topic:

Is it just me or does that Datuk Aisyah from MAA looks like Michael Jackson in tudung…? hurrmmm..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
    • Henry on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Population: 28 million. RM 3.8 billion works out to RM135 from every Malaysian man, woman and child.

I bet Proton won’t give you RM1.35 even if you ask, but they want you to give them RM135. Ironic, no?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 2
      • Anti CO2 on Mar 06, 2014 at 4:11 pm

http://www.nst.com.my/latest/only-one-million-malaysians-are-eligible-taxpayers-irb-1.304245

Referring to this nst article, your maths shud be: RM3.8B/1M = RM3800. Too bad if you are a tax payer in Malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
        • Anti CO2 on Mar 06, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Oh BTW, that’s just Proton…Another Big Brother coming… by the name of MAS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
        • RedCRZ on Mar 06, 2014 at 4:33 pm

forgot about GST??? yeah… eventually all malaysian who can buy stuff pays tax too, in the form of GST. we are all end up as tax payer in the end. 1 million? bullshit

• Henry on Mar 07, 2014 at 9:23 am

He forgot about all the taxes he pay on almost everything he buys or consumes and the saying “the only guarantees in life are death and taxes.” How naive.

• Same Lor on Mar 06, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Here you go why government increase this increase that? If not, how to cover the J class Proton?

It is all our own money. Proton suck money from our tax through MITI, MIDA, sell us overpriced car (their car don’t worth the price), and force us to spend regularly on repair due to their awesome build quality.

There is an animal similar to this – leech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 06, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Undying soul…? It’s called the Undead… Zombies…! Heard of it…?

Have you noticed their cars are all but the same, always being mutilated to be branded a Facelift… And look at the car color options… White as dead, dark like necrotic…

Ordinary human = NA engines, decent transmissions, healthy and reliable

Zombies = Noisy turbos, noisy transmissions, rot and break easily…

Their bangs are as deadly as their bites…

All these are the hallmarks of the undead… Zombies…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • You just described Toyota lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 06, 2014 at 6:29 pm

If Proton are zombies from the Walking Dead, Toyota are the aliens from Falling Skies…

• zombie2 proton pun org suka pakai mcm TWD lah org suka tgk

• salambangi on Mar 06, 2014 at 3:49 pm

We should support proton and provide it with interest free loans. More than 100,000 depend their livelihoods on proton and we cant just ignore that and most of these people are malays.I remember GM and Ford were helped by US govt. Lee Iococoa of Chrysler or his ghosst could attest to that.

Only non-stakeholders will be happy with proton demise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 57
      • katak on Mar 06, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Why scare if you have the skillset ? Don’t tell me the 100,000 workers cannot be absorbed into other industries unless those fella every day goyang kaki, makan kuih and main telur.

Why because of 100,000 workers, you rather have the 27 millions population folks suffer is it?

Use brain please. Don’t be like uitm graduate. Always tongkat and syok sendiri.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 11
        • salambangi on Mar 06, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Argue professionally bro! Dont be like RBAs ma.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
          • BLT Club on Mar 06, 2014 at 5:38 pm

So it’s ok for the state to continue to fund a charitable organisation which is “employing” 100,000. Therefore, the rest of us need to be sympathetic? Is that you’re argument. Hey, if you workd for any sane company, once a company is in financial distress, retrenchment is norm. That should be the way, not continue to provide financial backing to an unviable business. Same goes for MAS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
          • katak on Mar 06, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Sorry if i insulted those uitm graduate who did good.

Ok back to proton. Still, it’s not worthwhile to keep on pumping to a dying brand. Those 100k employees can be absorbed into assembling ckd vw or renault or toyota etc.

You know, if the govt do indeed pump in 3 billion, it will be another case like Mas. Every 3 years ask for money. Tak malu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
        • NoWonderYourNameIsKatak on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:52 pm

I am a UiTM graduate and very proud of it. Where are you from.. Oxford.. Cambridge.. I bet none of them! I can say that most professors teaching your sons and daughters in Malaysian universities are from ITM/UiTM.. so stop being stupid racist and ‘START USING YOUR BRAIN!’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
          • I am from MIT…blow water ah. Balik kampung tanam kangkung lor.

• Nowonderusyoksendiri on Mar 06, 2014 at 11:18 pm

No wonder our education is down the drain. Our kids are being taught with unqualified teachers. Sigh.

Luckily i send my kids to international school. No such uitm influence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
          • Vader on Mar 07, 2014 at 8:04 am

Your statement make us worry since your said majority of the local university lecturers from UiTM?

• Low Budget on Mar 07, 2014 at 10:44 am

This is why our Universities can’t even make it to top 400 in the world. So, to expect Proton to be top 10 in the world is wishful thinking.

• I just don’t understand Malaysians..They hate their own home grown products and when it is finally got rid off, they say Malaysia sucks la Malaysia not capable la Malaysia don’t have this and that and all those poops. You guys should put on a positive mindset and support your own local products.. Not just Proton but same goes to Perodua and other products! I’m just ashamed how Malaysian mentalities are nowadays. Buat malu je

• apamau on Mar 06, 2014 at 7:29 pm

1. What makes u think that those 100,000 people will loss their jobs ?

2. What kind of job this people are doing ? we don’t plan for proton to close down, it can be sold off. there’s many uses for proton facilities, plant, other than the proton brand , which worth less than RM1.00, the rest of investment still worth a lot and still can be a production center for other brand.

3. We all are stakeholders, that’s why we concern. I don’t want proton to demise, but it should be sold off at whatever price reasonable, and forget about selling proton cars.

You only remember GM and Ford were helped by US govt. but you forgot that this company have their great history and very successful story b4, that’s why they deserved the help. that’s what you forget, and all those company still have their technology and good R&D capability, thus the US government support them. They have a chance, Ford already prove it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • got ask for money then say got asklah.. dont need to hide behind some stupid excuse. bollocks.

• OMG…Baby (P1): Mum mum(G)…i want milk milk…pls give me now..lol.

• Rinnegan on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:44 pm

I am preparing my popcorn and waiting for the “bash-vaganza” to happen. Bring it on folks..!!! :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
  • Coogee on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Aiyah, never read properly. Understand now. It’s not called developement fund, it’s “research & developement” fund. It’s not RM3B requested, it’s RM3.8B. And Proton did not commit the money, they want the Government to commit.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
    • Tongkat Ali on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Next excuse, Proton will drag Perodua for getting the same free money.

Sore loser village champion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • Dr M and cronies on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:56 pm

We all know how much money goes into individual pockets and how LITTLE it actually ends up in R&D.

Let’s have a Bersih on Proton!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
        • BLT Club on Mar 06, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Agreed mate. With RM3.8 billion they will develop an engine which consumes 9.0l/100km and call it progress!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Why don’t Proton asked some money from Mahathir himself. He has a billionaire son and this Proton project is initially his idea after all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 4
    • Tongkat Ali on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Yes give back what you earned, by Kroni for another Kroni.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
    • dino years on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:38 pm

his “hard earned” money going from the real son to the adopted son? wild dreams…haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Henry on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Right, requests for funding is not unusual but the amount of 3 billion is. Another unusual thing is this company cannot seem to stop the financial haemorrhage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • Tongkat Ali on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Beggars cannot be choosy. No shame at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • And yet they denied it. And of course there are idiots still believe the drb hicom monkeys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Why need so much money when we just need to buy some design from car makers which have established all necessary technology R&D that has proven reliable and progressive. We just need to rebrand it as proton. History tell us that proton has little to offer in term of technology and not to mention the talent we have. Sooner with more liberalization of car prize and reduction of fuel subsidies, people will opt for more reliable, efficient and advanced technology available. I don’t think proton will catch up that fast in 2017. UK is another country struggle with their automotive industry. Same thing will happen in Malaysia as competition is fierce now compared to 1986. Hyundai, Kia, China brands are more aggressive penetrating both matured country like US/Europe and emerging countries. Where has proton penetrated in global scale?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
    • Tongkat Ali on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Zero monthly sales in Singapore…showroom units in Brunei the only units sold…Indonesia, Thailand joke sales…Australia epic failure…Middle East the Arabs pick kereta unta over a Proton…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 5
      • kzr and kzm will come in and say proton will survive because will target export market.

export market my foot. local market also people don’t wanna buy wanna target export market with no special treatment. haktuih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Proton fails because it does not have electron (confident from public and global market recognition) and neutron (competitiveness, resources, strategy). So it cannot be atomized and destined for self destruction.

• i found it not true in egypt where proton cars are found everywhere.

• Proton penetrated its people on a major scale

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • konga on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:55 pm

No words to condem,mas,proton bleeding financially then privatised instead,
    Over 2 decades n it still not manage to produce internationally recognized engine
    Showing proof of extreme corruption,laziness, semi r not qualified engineers,staf,n ……….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
    • smart_ass on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:21 pm

FYI, Proton already change hand between DRB Hicom and Government 5 times. A lot of $$ made.

• Guan Yin Ma on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Once again. duno what is SHAME. MALU.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • What a Joke "Proton’s request was not unusual" on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:01 pm

National carmaker Proton has submitted a request for funding, Minister of International Trade and Industry, Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed confirmed, adding that “it is still a work in progress.”

Meanwhile, Proton has denied that it applied for any development fund from MITI and Petronas.

So who is telling a lie here publicly, see how both the government and national car company twisting all their words and making the rakyat confuse, its all a game to them, end of the day billions will be given to proton….and sumore they can say “Proton’s request was not unusual”, well of course is not unusual, they have been getting funding of billions for 25 years !!

Every year there are the first to submit to gomen for funding and gomen are just giving, somebody should do an public audit report of how much money gomen has given to Proton for 25 plus years and how much profit Proton has made throughout this timeline. It might make WORLD Headline News and even enter Guinness book of records for the shocking findings it might uncover !!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
    • Tongkat Ali on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:13 pm

For every single cent car taxes paid to Proton, it’ll be recouped back by MITI.

Thief getting paid by the bank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Cannot make it means cannot make it la.

I guess they asking for funding and spend it all on themselves to buy new house, supercar, and maybe property.

They think we’re stupid enough to believe them. I’m pretty sure they will use the money for something else and not for R&D.

How many years have they been making tin can?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • … confuse & sad.

• rakyatkito on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:12 pm

After 30 years still wants to be spoon fed. Can you imagine a 30 year old baby in diapers with moustache and hairy chest still crying to be spoon fed.

Fact is, if you have a company with no brains and no talent, no matter how much money you pour into it, it will ALL BE WASTED.

Koreans found out and did the smart thing by hiring a good design chief and CEO and now I rate them to have better designs than the Japs.

Unfortunately they have turned down VW who probably can bring a wealth of experience and know-how to the table. Instead they had to rely on old senile advisor who only knows how to ask for more public money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
    • Tongkat Ali on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Only pervert adults 30 yrs still crazy about breast feeding. Yes sounds like Preve too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
  • Kevin on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:13 pm

why do you need RM3 billion to fund the development of new models when u can just rebadge other car.
    come on proton dont waste our tax money

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
    • relek ah on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:21 pm

relek ah bang belum ada org mati lagi malaysia boleh.

• Tongkat Ali on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:22 pm

I never know that govt can become a bank give interest-free loan to lucky friends. Lost records then write-off bad debts lah tak payah bayar hutang lapuk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Low Budget on Mar 07, 2014 at 10:56 am

To be fair, this kind of funding do exist to help not only Proton, but also to any other industries, even SME can also apply for it, I knew of a few NON MALAY guys who operate SMEs got a few million bucks from the Gomen funding to extend their business.
        The thing is the amount requested now by Proton is huge.. It used to be a few hundred million RM a year.

• Nine Inch Nails on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Isn’t Proton a private company now? How is it logical for the gov to give out RM3.0b of public funds straight into somebody’s pocket? If you don’t have the money to fund the company then why did you swallowed the company in the first place?

Just nail down the coffin and seal the damned soul laa.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • Tongkat Ali on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Proton will blame Perodua also later on just to even things up taking the same grant money.

You just wait lah the macai supporters will sing the same song.

• motorhead on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Don’t use taxpayers money. . Ingat duit tu bapa kamu punya? Stop it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Tongkat Ali on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Duit bapak lah best to waste…no sense of guilt at all…just keep on spend waste it like no tomorrow.

• relek ah on Mar 06, 2014 at 7:09 pm

relek ah bang u help me i help you
        give u 3b but masuk pocket 30m.

• kawan kzm on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:20 pm

obviously my good friend couldn’t sleep last nite as his beloved proton and kroni were being bashed ad laughed at…So he woke up early this morning and searched for the “truth”, he then found a news where proton drb hicom denied they asked to be spoon fed 3billion, imediately he proudly posted in paultan.org : “haha, all u bashers r fools, proton denied they asked money from miti and petronas!”
    so, he thought he is the smart one. Pity my good friend……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • Danny on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Proton!! Please die la!
    nobody wants you, you 30 year old big baby!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • motorhead on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:33 pm

3 bil is enough to build public highways without tolls!!. Daylight corruptions. Integrity finished dy. Why not give me 3 bil I make new models for poton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Just close shoplah brother! Let the rakyat benefit more. Let’s see foreign car prices drop. Time to move on in this already difficult situation!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Why need 3.8Bil? Why not just SELECTIVELY re-badge other brands’ ex models (let it be honda, toyota, nissan, vw or anything else)? I bet the final products will still be better than any current proton products while making better business case at cheaper cost. The important point here is correctly SELECTIVE re-badging and hope no one fxxk up. Agree?

• Find way to make money before spending the money that you dont have Proton.

• mmaker on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:48 pm

They need 3B to develop future suprima s, which is suprimadcow premium sucks

• Black Dog on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:53 pm

I’ll be buying MAS for 1 Ringgit, and then request a grant from MITI for 10 Billion to revive our national airline.

Sounds good? I bet somebody is lobbying for it right now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Tongkat Ali on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Good idea! Wait for me OK, I wanna register Ali baba company catering supply nasi lemak RM20 per plate for the next…75 years.

Election time I split 50% profits for your belanja kempen lah, janji you approve my catering contract!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Perodua on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Give you tongkat, now you asking for tongkat ali…if not capable why bother to run automotive business? main main saja

• I find the news regarding the requirement of $3bil either untrue or hard to believe. RM3 billion roughly translate to 1 billion USD, that’s the estimate amount Fisker used(wasted?) for the developement of the Karma which includes everything from developement of a new chassis, motor and batteries and also the Range extender drivetrain. Yes the company is now officially bankrupt from it but the car exists as a statement to its success in its R&D. Tesla on the other hand needs only us$400million(estimate) for the developement of the ground breaking model S. Proton is neither developing a car this advance nor has the luxury too.

Yes article did state it’s for models(plural), but why would proton need to fund developement of numerous model instead if making one and profit from it for the developement of next unless they either lack the faith on their product, or have secondary motives(than again ,Malaysia’s position in the worlds most corrupt everything dosent make this entirely unbelievable). There’s also the possibility that proton wants to develope a modular platform much like PSA EMP platform and VW MQB, this tech does regularly spiral to billions of Euro but require a diverse products using it to recuperate the cost of developing it, and proton as of now does not have that luxury.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Tesla has spent more than US10 bil in laying out the ground work that was needed. Model S is the resultant of that hard work. Tesla has come very close to bankruptcy a couple of times. But they always found investors that believe in them.
      So coming back to Proton, they base that they have setup is very weak. If they can’t sell cars globally means something is FUNDAMENTALLY wrong. I believe the RM3 bil that they claim they need is the tip of the iceberg. They and we damn right know they need way more than that in order to compete with the likes of Kia, Hyundai (very highly unlikely). Forget the Japanese, they are just too far ahead.
      tl:dr Proton is on life support. Sooner or later they gonna die.

• Tongkat Ali on Mar 06, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Proton must invent something totally new to justify such huge fundings. Maybe a flying car. A company that is very good in day dreaming shouldn’t find it difficult to do it lah. Right, Proton?!!!

• Really cant stand proton. the govt is also responsible for spoon feeding them like this. They are private now, why not ask funds from their billionaire boss Syed Mokhtar or Dr M?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Tongkat Ali on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Dr M a billionaire? Sure? Last time I check he’s easily a trillionaire…at least in Indonesia or countries with big digit currency. Zimbabwe good try too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • glaze on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Reject the funding to Proton. If the government still has the money for funding, please subsidise it on the fuel or lower your tax on foreign car makers, reintroduce tax exemption on CBU hybrids and close down Proton!

After so many years of failures still don’t wanna give up? The rakyat already gave up la, please be awake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • medic on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Gomen is like Ah Long,only the difference is if Proton goes bust no need to pay back..buta buta tax payer money go down the drain.Just close shop,lower tax rates,make all Msians happy to be able to afford better cars period.

• Tongkat Ali on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Gomen Ahlong is very good taikor. Sudah kasi pinjam tak payah lah bayar. Hutang halal. Ribu ribu tahniah terima kasih ini macam punya Ahlong.

• b sensible on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:23 pm

why drb is so greedy, got vw, got proton, got suzuki, got lotus, got audi, got modenas, got isuzu, got honda, and now want the whole country to contribute to its ambitious doubtful hybrid project. it should be that they have to give it back to the rakyat since they earned so much from the rakyat. can’t drb pool the resources from their own coffers and landbanks since it is a private co now. if they want the rakyat to contribute to its project, please give rakyat shares in the co. first, then only ask the rakyat!

• BLT Club on Mar 06, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Bro, if government can give you free money, would you say no? Of course not. That’s why Malaysia belongs to the cronies.

• shiftSpank on Mar 07, 2014 at 3:07 pm

MIDA does not answer to the rakyat EVEN if they are using taxpayers money. If funding Proton is legal, they can do it. Major butthurt for rakyat.

DRB will always take any opportunity to use external money before it reaches into its on pockets. Almost every business does that. Why spend cash when I can use the bank’s/Gov’s money?

If the Gov is smart, they should make DRB work for it ie: funding is free if they succeed but penalize them if they fail. Too much of these ‘grants’ lack in accountability. Place milestones and disburse money according to achieved milestones. Otherwise, I’d rather they invest more in affordable housing.

Alas, sealing Proton’s soul is probably equally as detrimental to the economy as funding it.

• Markus on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Son: “Papa, notorp mahu duit minum susu”.
    Dad: “Anak, engkau sudah besar panjang. Ada misai, janggut. Sunat pun sudah lama dah. Sendiri cari rezeki ye…”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Carlover on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:30 pm

MAS and Proton same kind of problems. No innovation, no cost saving implemented, spending money like hell, lousy management with high paid, too low productivity, not efficient. They still cant survive in real world even they get fund because they never have breakthrough change within company.

• enough is enough.. SHUT IT DOWN!!!

• What a @^&*# joke. 3.8 billion (ringgit) and they need funding from the government. Its not even a 1b euro. When you hear large corp. requesting aid from government, its a substantial amount. This small amount and they need help? This company is a fark waste of time. When VW wanna JV, they say no….citing National Interest. They can jam “national interest” up their arse now. Betul-betul malu la.

• Pororo on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Proton should be bought over by other company to keep this “proudly national carmaker” to survive in the market. Last few years, when vw want to buy, you guys jual mahal plak.. Bajet mcm hebat sgtlh proton ni, padahal tgh dying… Tak guna mintak funding sana sini kalau proton tu sndri ximprove… Mcm mana nak sokong proton kalau dorg sendiri tak boleh nak buktikan kt rakyat yg diorg boleh setanding at least sama level as koreans..

• blackbox on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:49 pm

January 2012 DRB spend RM1.3B to bought over Proton from government. Now ask back for RM3B, good business. No wonder Syed Mokhtar can be one of the Malaysian riches man.
    Just like someone pay you RM100 to put his hand inside your pants, then grab your balls and ask you to pay him RM300.
    What next? 2 years later sell back Proton to Government for RM5B?
    STOP THIS CRAP!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • the key question is ” what is the main cause of high tax for imported car”. Proton or the gov itself?

• Hansen on Mar 06, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Like it or not and buying proton or not, at the end of the day, certain amount gained from automobile excise duty will find it way back to proton. It is like a double edge sword and proton definitely need to be a history. The sooner the better.

• abdullah on Mar 06, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Throwing good money after bad money.

• Ofcourse not unusual la…. Proton already been asking and getting free money from Government for the past 20+ years… usual occurrence already.

• matzimba on Mar 06, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Selagi umno bn memerintah malaysia selagi itulah duit rakyat digunakan utk proton dan semua syarikat yg nak mampos mereka bantu kroni mereka. Utk selamatkan diri rakyat malaysia undilah pakatan rakyat all the problem akan selesai maa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
  • Come on. Instead of asking more money for RnD and creating more product, Would rather proton take a smaller amount ,invest and improve quality and in due time, reward will return. How hard is it to make a reliable and decent car?

• iskhalifah on Mar 06, 2014 at 3:49 pm

I don’t expect Proton to close shop easily. Just like Volvo & MG Rover which were sold to Chinese automakers instead of government bailout, the brands continue to survive, but with different owners.

My 2 sen speculation:
    1. Proton did not denied that Dato Lukman has resigned, indicating messed-up internal affairs.
    2. Petronas management didn’t like Tun Mahathir’s interference for the oil giant to fund Proton, thus explaining why Tun is leaving advisor position for both P1 & petronas.
    3. Najib knew treasury coffer is so low (to fund BR1M & other sweeteners), and will surely not allow MITI to approve the funds.
    4. The syndication loan Proton obtained from bankers (in Pound Sterling) to fund ‘Lotus turnaround’ is defaulting (aggravated by Ringgit depreciation). The lead banker CIMB owned by Najib’s brother, will surely asked for government bail-out.
    5. Najib won’t bother to save Proton using taxpayers money, and leave Proton to surrender to market forces. Proton will be bankrupt if the GSC & export plans fail to deliver, and thus defaulted its syndicated loans.

Solution:
    1. Reinstate Dato Syed Zainal back as CEO. Focus on R&D improvement of existing core models in terms of quality & fuel efficiency. Re-invigorate the existing platform by re-launching the Preve & Exora with different exterior, interior & NFE fuel efficient engine.
    or
    2. DRB-Hicom to sell Proton & subsequent subsidiary shares to VW Group, through Special Purpose Vehicle company designated to take over all Proton & Group Lotus assets & liabilites. The SPV may be joint venture between VW and DRB-Hicom with 51% stake held by former.

• Henry on Mar 06, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Proton itself needs “blood” transfusion and yet it had to give some of the “blood” to Lotus. Lotus is a huge millstone around Proton’s neck.

Proton products are for the mass market and they just don’t sell enough cars to be a viable manufacturer.

• BLT Club on Mar 06, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Solution: Just that muthaf@Rk3r down!

• Sorhai kzm on Mar 06, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Where is the bangau bodoh kzr ? Hide under mamak kain pelikat hisap susu ah….

• IdealTech on Mar 06, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Oh my, the Koreans have alrdy started their next big project on 7-speed dual-clutch transmission and yet proton is just about to reveal it’s 6-speed manual tranny. Oh my poor Malaysians..Oh my.. cant stop from whining, and now RM 3.8 bil… not blaming Proton purely coz it’s just a cosplay of the the ppl wearing it.

• Protong Steam on Mar 06, 2014 at 3:58 pm

The MIDA team and external auditors have visited Proton to ensure that the company undertakes the R&D activities as proposed and that it complies with the technical and financial requirements,” she said.

Hey MIDA Team and External auditors, please publish to the public what R&D activates Proton has proposed and how it complies with technical and financial requirements that come up to 3.8 billion, show the rakyat what space program proton is going to come up with their R&D program to the public, lets see if its worth 3.8billion !! Cannot even design a proper engine and cars and you can tell proton R&D activities complies technically and financially ….my foot !!

What Proton R&D spending on, 5 million for a spanner to tighten the screws on the campro fail engine ?? Another 10 million on screwdriver ..sumore …..this is the biggest scam/hoax to waste money and for cronies to keep pocketing more hard earn money from the rakyat !!

MIDA Team and External auditors, I bet you they don’t have any documentation to proof what they have stated above and when force upon, they will come up with some bullshit story saying they need 6 months to come out with an official report which will be like the NAP report …all a bunch of story telling to further complicate and keep the rakyat at bay !!

MIDA Team and External auditors.. which external auditors you all use…Ali Baba external cronie auditors or reputable Accounting firms like Deloitte, Ernst & Young, PWC and so on …. Publish and let the rakyat see for themselves instead of making up stories and twisting the public interest !!

• art appreciator on Mar 06, 2014 at 4:02 pm

I read about something called ‘the sunk cost fallacy’ and cannot help but feel that this might be why Proton painfully continues to exist. It has to do with the fear of loss. It is an interesting read:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunk_costs

http://youarenotsosmart.com/2011/03/25/the-sunk-cost-fallacy/

• Faizul on Mar 06, 2014 at 4:30 pm

the question is wether proton can deliver new models if let say the funding were approved? If so, then how many? 1 or 2 or 3 models? Then what happen after another 6 to seven years when its time for another new lineup? Will proton ask the government for another round of funding? If the answer is yes, then better sold proton to foreign makes bcoz obviously proton just can’t survive and will never be able to stand on its own feet

• wiralama on Mar 06, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Proton is like Malaysian football..no outstanding success..waste people’s money..they really need to work really hard to gain reputation…pleaseee no more rebranding…

• isuzuki on Mar 06, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Apa potong lagi mau?!

• Proton oh Proton ...Why Why Why !! on Mar 06, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Proton is under the spotlight yet again but not unusual, YES you got that right again but why are we wasting time and money on this fail company !!

Proton has proven that its cars are the worst quality and does not fit to be a car maker, their R&D has failed for 25 plus years wasting billions in the process to come up with what …cam tak pro engine, failed chassis for new cars like persona, exora and now the preve, fail sales and marketing from proton which cannot even compete with other local car makers let alone trying to sell in other markets like Australia, Thailand, Indonesia, Brunei, Saudi Arabia, UK … how many units has proton sold since they entered those markets ?? might not even pass a 4 digit number !! Fail customer service and warranty on their cars and ridiculous pricing for sub-standard parts produced locally for their cars until got even cap ayam parts from proton being sold all over which some works better than original parts !!

Its all a mess and complete utter failure by proton, so why not just sell yourself or close down completely, trying to imagine success is not going to happen, proton has being doing that for 25 years an still the same results, losing money and never making any breakthrough in their vehicles. Now they want to introduce hybrid cars, what a joke !! They cannot even design a proper engine to function and they want to go into hybrid !!

Just admit proton you don’t have the knowledge or technical capability, yet you do not want to hire people from other countries to utilize their knowledge or technical know how, you want to continue to remain in full control and not let other lead and learn from there ….what more you want to do !! Its the car company with a perfect fail business plan right from the start till now and yet still don’t want to admit defeat !

I’ll give proton one success on pursing an continuously getting the government to bail them out all the time but even that has pass its limit !

Government is broke so what more do you want Proton, think for a moment, do what is right, sell, joint venture or close shop…its unanimous decision you have those 3 options available, pick one and move on ! Admitting defeat is not always a bad thing, you tried but fail, does not matter, perhaps in time when the capability is finally available, proton can start back up again. The raykat will be happy to know that proton tried but fail and proudly admitted defeat in the process of becoming a better startup car company in the future :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • sonyman on Mar 06, 2014 at 5:06 pm

if Proton can submit and get 3.8Bil, i think we should all submit for 1 bil each from this minister.

At least fair enough mah, they can get why cant i get? No money just ask from mommy loh. I also can mah, everyone also can, why cant we malaysian each and everyone of us ask 1 Bil from the country.

Funny people, really a great joke. Anyhow i bet proton will get the money.

IF companies like these always declare losses. why not close them down, make Air asia as national air carrier. Honda as national brand. ohh sorry should be Perodua as national brand. It should be rebadge accord as Perdana, civic as preve 2, and vios as a new category loh. So susah ask money for what.

• BLT Club on Mar 06, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Proton fanboys where art thou? Some support your beloved company. Next time, just need to quote the post, all them Proton fanboys will shut up.

• Observator on Mar 06, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Useless car company, try to learn how to fishing, not always ask for fish…

• FRAK OFF Proton! Hands off or money!

• kak ros : Bang, saya mau 4 billion ?
    Najib: Why you need 4 billion ?
    Kak rosmah : I jealous la, proton minta 3 billion, you approve. I ask 4 billion, you tak sayang i ke ?
    Najib: errr…errr…

• sharon on Mar 06, 2014 at 6:48 pm

I want aluminium built engine now! better buy directly from honda and fir it to your preve, suprima s and new models…

• Proton No Show at World Auto Show ! on Mar 06, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Why Proton has never shown their global car “Preve” and now Suprima S in the Worldwide Auto Shows, there is the Geneva, New York, Beijing, Dubai and many more auto shows taking place yearly all around the world and almost all car manufacturers big or small takes part in them but never proton !!

They say their new line up of cars are global car and want to sell them in other markets apart from our own but why no show from Proton, yea I saw them opening the preve/suprima S in Thailand auto show with a sad amount of people even looking at proton booth but that’s about it ! Even our very own auto show KLIMS 2013, they did not take part giving stupid excuses, not enough space !!

Are they scared to show the world their global car !! Are they afraid the might be the laughing stock of the auto industry and Malaysia’s name will be tarnish going back to our beloved PM and our local hero’s here !! What gives proton !!

Any now you want sumore money in billions to create new models for who and what, Malaysians don’t want your fail cars !! Who you want to sell to other markets but nobody knows proton worldwide, even if they have heard of proton, its all about what lousy cars they produce, Lotus partnership was a failure, just hiding behind the Lotus name and what did Proton get out of it …Nothing, no new tech transferred, only ride and handling or so call what proton is telling everyone but not LOTUS !!

Now proton’s new Global small car going to come up, do testing like the big players in overseas countries but like everybody knows, its going to be a crappy small car with the same bullshit poor quality and crappy engine. Look at Peugeot and their new small car the Peugeot 108 at the Geneva Auto Show, looks really nice and good, can proton produce something similar, no point to wait and see, the rakyat already knows, its going to be a crappy Savy wannabe which will fail in time !!

Nuff Said … Epic Failure by Proton again and again, CLOSED SHOP SHAMEFULL PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Even proton has a very convincing model for the global, proton don’t have these
      1) brand recognition
      2) track record in other country
      3) supply chain and distribution system
      4) safety features that meets the stringent local law
      5) emission standard that meets euro x
      6) market position to sell at any sector be it entry low cost/ premium
      7) consumer royalty (even Malaysian lose royalty let alone global consumer)
      8) differentiating value and competitive advantage over longer run
      9) you all can add on….

• alwaysbeggarothersland on Mar 06, 2014 at 8:00 pm

I have said that this Paultan.org comment section should be replaced by Facebook plugin. While you bashing Proton, Proton still up to the challange. No genuine balls comment here. Too much bash & coward comment so people see those bash comment as the real loser

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
  • donuts on Mar 06, 2014 at 8:27 pm

get fund from Gov, profit goes to DRB, and you know where DRB channel to…the Ah Noh gang..

• rosmah nakal on Mar 06, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Proton must learn how indonesian aerospace (IA] finally survive.
    This famous cn 235 airplane manufacturer once was ineffective with huge operational cost. Their employee mixed between real experts and cronies (bosses nephew, son, cousin, etc). Indon gomen at 98 crisis finally no longer allowing DI get any financial support sourcing from tax money or loan under gomen name.
    The impact is very drastic. Majority of skillfull engineers leave the company for better working environment and offers. Some are going here also to Msia. While some other who’s staying are fired w/o sufficient benefit package.
    Time is clicking, remaining engineers and employee produce anything just for survive, from sattelite dish to wok pan! Very sad.
    Their patience slowly gaining fruits by received orders from boeing and some other giants aircraft manufacturer. Even casa spain (airbus military) relocate their cn 295 production line to pt DI site in Bandung. They turns minus into surplus in term of cashflow. Recently this 2014 they regenerate engineer by recruiting 50s best fresh grad from all over the country.
    Now after several years in condition what so called “hidup segan matipun tak mahu” pt DI management taking some strategic actions, e.g. within several years they will be launching new breed of air transport N219, N245. More than 50 units already ordered. All this success is without any bail out from their gomen.
    If our jiran serumpun pt.DI is able to reborn, why dont Proton?

• Redline on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:01 pm

MITI has rejected Proton’s request for funding last year. I hope MITI will reject this one too.

• Blackline on Mar 06, 2014 at 11:03 pm

Malaysians never ever want to work to make something for themselves. Just close Proton down because no matter what they do they won’t be appreciated – even if Proton produces cars of BMW quality they’ll be bashed to no end.

Better yet, why not call the Brits and ask them to recolonize Malaysia back, since the Independence isn’t really working that well after 50+ years. At least we’ll get to live comfortably with the Pound as our currency & the Queen of England as our head.

Pathetic…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 41
  • walaweh on Mar 06, 2014 at 11:12 pm

reading from the comments, i dunno whether they dont understand the article,or just read the title or ignorance.

the star stated prtn asked for special fund which isnt under nap from gov n petronas which being denied by tok pa n prtn.

some say contradicting statement between tok pa n prtn spoke person.

read carefully, tok pa said prtn did apply insentive,but not any special funding or unusual funding,as what prtn apply is the same as other companies apply,under nap.

prtn denied any application of special funding as 3.8b as stated by the star,n prtn mentioned that it did apply for incentive as per nap,before drb took over prtn, that is under previous nap. n now,is under new nap.

when all other national companies n non national companies apply for incentives under new nap,why is it wrong about prtn application,as per stated by tok pa.

what prtn denied was 3.8b special funding from the G n petronas which not under nap at all.

haishhh,no wonder facebook n whatsapp has become the source of knowledge, the reference, n the facts nowadays.

just wondering,when do malaysians want to learn to read properly.

no wonder toyota easily con malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 32
  • WaJib on Mar 07, 2014 at 12:34 am

The more this beggars ask for money..
    The more reason i dun want to buy Proton..

• Polo Saga on Mar 07, 2014 at 9:48 am

Proton has been fully owned by DRB-Hicom, whose boss is the richest crony in Malaysia. How convenient, isn’t it? If Proton lose money, seek public fund; if earning money, goto cronies’ pockets. So nice!

• Grace on Mar 07, 2014 at 10:31 am

Proton cars dont have quality build
    Protonn cars dont have a soul
    Proton cars dont give you good driving experience
    Proton cars even the new one is the most car that going to thw workshop for repair

People buy proton just because they feel pity to proton ma

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Norman on Mar 07, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Really amazed me how popular is when come to Proton…Love hate relationship.Proton should have been taken over by Petronas not DRB..Frontline staffs need to go for more motivation and courtesy courses.The management level need replacement preferably by those passionate in motorsport and automotive.Lastly have strict steps before purchasing and accepting spare parts.Employ those from Japan more better.Pay them nicely im sure many parts will be rejected and many vendors will have their contracts terminated and mind you those vendors are not Bumis

• YaakobMous on Apr 24, 2014 at 2:06 am

Wow. I have to agree that you have a point over there. Well, that would take time as well. True, that the results progress is imminent but we have to consider the risk of time and the period required for pre-RND and further on

• deaftek on Mar 07, 2014 at 10:36 pm

God is punishing cruel and heartless people

• pilux on Apr 21, 2014 at 3:04 am

aiyoo.every year asking, begging for money. a taxes payer would like to know where the hell your money gone!coz you’re asswipe! to much corruption! when peole such as ‘Datuk’ run the business ….. mampuss la proton. KAPOT

• pearjai on Apr 29, 2014 at 3:05 am

Proton ni bagi rakyat adalah seperti ibarat mendukung biawak hidup…..better close la as soon as possible !