Toyota Aygo – second-gen city car officially unveiled

_DSF2406

You may have been wondering where the new Toyota Aygo has been, since both Peugeot and Citroen have already revealed their versions of the jointly-developed city car. Well, here it is, and it’s looking, um, rather cross.

Running across the front of the car from the base of the A-pillar to the lower corners of the front bumper is a large “X” graphic which ties in the headlights, the Toyota badge and the split air intake. This gives the car an extremely aggressive look that surely will not be to everyone’s tastes.

Still, it’s at least a striking look, certainly when compared to its siblings. Indeed, much of the bodywork is bespoke to Toyota and as such is much more distinctive than the C1 and 108. The dynamic look is enhanced by the car’s dimensions, which sees the car grow in length by just 25 mm to 3,455 mm, while the car actually sits 5 mm lower at 1,460 mm. The track front and rear is now 8 mm wider.

_DSF2396

The interior, meanwhile, is much the same as on the other two cars, with a trapezoidal console taking centre stage. The console houses Toyota’s new x-touch multimedia system, featuring a seven-inch touchscreen and a rear view camera. Aside from controlling the car’s audio, phone, connectivity and vehicle and journey information functions, the system also features a “wide choice” of navigation and social media apps.

Other interior details include an instrument cluster that is dominated by a large central speedometer with an integrated multi-information display, circular air vents on either side of the dashboard and body-coloured door trim like the previous version.

040314toy-h

The new Aygo is powered by the same 1.0 litre three-cylinder engine as before but runs at a higher compression ratio of 11.5:1. Power and torque rises slightly to 68 bhp at 6,000 rpm and 95 Nm at 4,300 rpm, an increase of 1 bhp and 2 Nm respectively. Like the previous model, the Aygo is available with a five-speed manual and a five-speed automated manual gearbox, which Toyota says is much improved over the old ‘box.

With these improvements, coupled with a drag coefficient of just 0.29, the Aygo uses less petrol than before – fuel consumption has gone down to just 4.1 litres per 100 km. Meanwhile, carbon dioxide emissions have dropped to just 95 g per km, which means it qualifies for annual road tax (VED) exemption in the UK.

As is the norm with most small cars today, the new Toyota Aygo is also offered with a wealth of customisation options. On the outside, the “X” graphic, rear bumper insert and wheels can all be customised, while inside, the instrument panel, centre console, air vents, shift knob and gearlever surround can also be swapped out.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Gundam Turn X!

• Same Lor on Mar 06, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Toyota please leave the J class Proton a little mercy!

How Proton going to sell its GSC (Global Small Car) competing with this outstanding Aygo? Then Proton will ask MITI for RM6bil, RM10bil, RM50bil…

It is us who pay the money after all.

The logic here is simple: Proton will not go bankrupt before every Malaysian bankrupt.

1. We first get poor then we can’t afford foreign car and buy the J clas.
      2. We get poorer due to paying so much petrol for Proton’s engine.
      3. We get even poorer due to barang naik + GST, coz government need more money to feed Proton.
      4. We get bankrupt finally by regularly pay RM500-RM2k to repair the awesome Proton car.
      5. Proton will only bankrupt after WE ALL BANKRUPT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 42
      • AutoFrenz on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:52 pm

No need to make so much noise…its a universal problem…even big 3 in detroit faced the same problem…gm crysler and all…even all the british marques faced this problem…rover bentley jaguar rolls royce even mini…u name it…even volvo and saab…so nothing new…unless of course u just want to make noise bcoz being a malaysian is not somethi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 58
        • AutoFrenz on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:54 pm

…something to be proud of…pity people like u…forever hopeless…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 47
        • Vader on Mar 07, 2014 at 7:56 am

Blabla..bla…
          After read your comment still dunno what point u wanna say.. then suddenly said everyone is hopeless???
          Weird guy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
          • AutoFrenz on Mar 07, 2014 at 11:27 am

Maybe u shld be watching tom & jerry at home n dont interrupt when adults r talking…thats y u r so blur…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
          • Vader on Mar 07, 2014 at 11:58 am

u r funny..

• Same Lor on Mar 10, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Comparing Proton to GM, Rover, Bentley, Mini… It did show how HOPELESS YOU ARE!

Those brand you mentioned, spread across the world and of course every company has its crisis at some time.

Your beloved Proton, can’t even penetrate Thailand market, only establish 22 years (go calculate how long the brands you mentioned have established?) and have crisis all the time, begging money every years. And you still dare to compare it with Jaguar, Mini, Rover?

Those brands produced good quality or performance car and went through crisis.
          Your beloved Proton, produce only J class and still in crisis!

* J = junk

• U forget to include cheap car price in USA

• Nice car

• Scottish on Mar 07, 2014 at 5:36 am

Indeed. But they should just paint the Blue one with the White ‘X’ instead of black :|

• I like the X on its face

• AutoFrenz on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Wow…tastefully furnished pls bring in to compete with a class 1 series and a1…ultraman taro has finally spoken…with the x trademark…

• farghmee on Mar 07, 2014 at 8:41 am

amakakeru ryu no hirameki!

• The X is on the side of his face while in this one is in the front. There’s some of future punk to the design, think GITS or Evangelion.

• OMG…P1, u can see so fast they can unveil they car…so nice, how ur GSC? still pending & testing? or malu nak present let ppl see ahh…puihhh..

• do'oh on Mar 06, 2014 at 6:20 pm

myvi aiyoo!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • Proton GSC design more nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 36
  • Proton GSC design more nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
  • Korean fans/kimchi/Kpop fans sure don’t like this and prefer their Kimchi car.

Even Kimchi car looks much more ugly than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
  • spongewai on Mar 06, 2014 at 6:45 pm

er, Gundam Turn X plak!!?

It should be X-men

has Toyota running out of idea design??!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • “If they want fun and exciting design, I believe Toyota is on track to achieve it ……,,But like the slew of new Lexuses it seems to be overly agressive and manga style atypical with the Japanese culture and I like that, but not sure it will it appeal to the more sophisticated Europeans….”

That was what I said during the Aygo teaser article and I’ll echo it here. It certainly looks youthful and striking, and has many hints of Japanese sci-if pop culture, and this extands to the interior as well. But this is a car that will be sold almost exclusively in Europe, and I am not sure weather this extreme design will suit their eyes, I know some Germans I know would like them. Like recent Lexus’s, the look will definitely devide opinions; it’s not good looking I do admit, but I do kind of like it because like the C1, it looks unique.

• kadajawi on Mar 07, 2014 at 12:20 am

Well, here’s one. I like it. Though I hated the previous Aygo. But this one is good look. Shame about that dated drive train.

• Annoynimouse on Mar 06, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Cute city car…

• Someguyonthenet on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:40 pm

cute? It looks angry..like it is going to eat a kitten and throw the kitten’s head during a road rage and the head explodes, killing millions. This is an angry car.

• amigos on Mar 06, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Trying so hard to be different..

• mark x face?

• Ash Menon on Mar 06, 2014 at 7:41 pm

“Well, here it is, and it’s looking, um, rather cross”

Oh no you DIDN’T, Jonathan!

I actually love the look of the car. I don’t know how it will look on a daily drive, but it looks fabulous in photos. After all, people used to complain that Toyota designed boring cars, no?

• Same Lor on Mar 06, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Sad but true.
    The J class Proton only looked eye-catching whenever it is a rebadged model.

Simply compare Inspira with Preve…

• Someguyonthenet on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:43 pm

sadly…i agreed. But the preve concept was superb. Wonder why they didn’t stick to that.

• Don u remember people hated the 80’s taillight on the tuah concept…

• I don see inspira is eye-catching…a bit ugly to me…overall look of preve nice except the juling tailight..

• X Factor!

• TaiDeeSuprima on Mar 06, 2014 at 9:04 pm

“front:brave.rear:BORING”

• So ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Again, the most ugly and jerry built car of the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Still have 4 tyre nothing special just ‘X’

• Someguyonthenet on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:37 pm

…not sure if Air-cond vents….or sub-woofers.

• smallar on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:40 pm

Toyota Aiyo !!!
    The X looks weird la, still prefer C1 and 108 design.

• Keris Jawa on Mar 07, 2014 at 12:40 am

Now that’s one helluva huge cross on a tiny car! Yike!

• Aiyo... on Mar 07, 2014 at 1:49 am

toyota aygo/agya. daihatsu ayla, just wait for the perodua Aiyo to be launch this year…

• 4Wheels on Mar 07, 2014 at 8:17 am

look like compact version of nissan leaf..

• Once again, it’s good the Jap tries to improve on design but they are trying too hard and they can never get the formula right at all. Never!!

• Sam Loo on Mar 07, 2014 at 9:53 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Joker on Mar 07, 2014 at 12:00 pm

This Aygo looks like it’s sharing the same chassis as Prius C… Will P2 rebadge this as the new Myvi??? It’s great looking though.. The ‘X’ is bad ass!!!

• kadajawi on Mar 07, 2014 at 5:33 pm

This car is an A segment car, the Prius C B segment. This would have to be the Viva replacement, and for that it will be way too expensive to make.

• Norman on Mar 07, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Saw the previous gen Aygo in Indonesia..Quite fast acceleration.Great for a 1 litre car..Hopefully below RM65k
    Can consider for my daughter…

• carscene (Member) on Mar 08, 2014 at 9:02 am

Looking at the trend of Malaysian car price, I wouldn’t expect it to be sub 65K. Even if it is, UMW would have hacked off many of its features….probably with only 2 airbags, ABS and EDB to boast. Call it pessimism, but having waited eagerly for the new vios, I was left in utter disappointment with its launch. So I won’t put much hope in this one.

• Krasher on Mar 07, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Fugly!! Should name it Toyota Aiyoooo!

• Hang Tuah on Mar 07, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Perodua please bring this to replace Myvi. Thanks

• carscene (Member) on Mar 08, 2014 at 8:40 am

The big X is a love-it or hate-it thing. Bold move by Toyota.

• fengshuinogood on Mar 12, 2014 at 1:03 pm

haiyooo X very the pantang weh, suey wor, boleh mati wan. avoid avoid!