Lexus NX crossover to debut in Beijing next month

Lexus LF-NX Turbo Tokyo 7

If you were seriously wowed by the Lexus LF-NX concept (pictured), here’s some good news – the Japanese luxury carmaker has announced that it will debut the production Lexus NX compact crossover at next month’s Auto China 2014 in Beijing.

According to Lexus, customer feedback from last year’s Frankfurt and Tokyo shows have been positive. The new sub-RX model will be the company’s first foray into the growing premium compact crossover segment.

The car you can eventually buy shouldn’t look as crazy as the LF-NX concept; expect the headlamps, spindle grille, massive wheels and those mad slashes everywhere to be toned down for production.

Lexus has trademarked “NX 200t” and “NX 300h” – the latter should share its 2.5 litre hybrid powertrain with the likes of the Toyota Camry Hybrid and Lexus ES 300h.

The NX 200t should debut the company’s upcoming 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo engine – no numbers have been released yet, but we know it has fan spray D-4S fuel injection, a cylinder head-integrated exhaust manifold, a twin-scroll turbocharger and an active wastegate valve.

Some time ago, an NX prototype was spotted testing in Europe by our spies. The car was disguised as a CT 200h, but the higher ride height and high-profile crossover-style tyres gave the game away – see the spyshots in their entirety here.

Lexus LF-NX Turbo concept at Tokyo 2013 (previews NX 200t)

Lexus LF-NX concept from Frankfurt 2013 (previews NX 300h) Lexus NX prototype spyshots

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Whoa…the S…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Lexus i......S on Mar 07, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Bad a.. Lexus designer..

• Prefer tis look “awesome” no changes please!!!

• Aceonz on Mar 07, 2014 at 4:43 pm

rascal design, show-off style

• bodoh proton on Mar 07, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Ooi..RM3billion can develope this or not??

Cannot please close shop!! Can also please close shop!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • Am i just saw a monster? Thats horrible man…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • bahonet on Mar 07, 2014 at 5:44 pm

i wonder how much would it cost to change the tail lamp.

• The spindle grill looks great on a sport sedan or a coupe but its just overly outrageous on a large high riding body like an SUV. Lexus’s spindle grill are very bombastic design, it works well on a coupe or sport sedan but struggles on an SUV which body designs are already outrageous design. Personally, can’t Lexus either add a bar across like Audi or like Audi, add a larger lower air intake.
    I did this as a side project a few weeks back as an example:
    http://i.imgur.com/IB9lXgb.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/B3JKTEi.jpg?1
    [excuse my shitty rendering, I am no Theophilus Chin]

Anyways, I think the biggest news will be the Turbocharged 2.0l. It will be Toyota’s first Turbo engine in quite some time so hoping it will turn out right.

• matsatay on Mar 07, 2014 at 8:46 pm

wow! accident proof design! if hit in front or back, it still looks the same! “Hey! you hit my car!”..”What hit? your car already crumple ma..!

• Samad Jain on Mar 07, 2014 at 11:02 pm

if the car laggar oredi, the repair of the body is gonna be nightmare for the “maggard-man”

• kami (Member) on Mar 08, 2014 at 9:34 am

fugly..

• Lela Rentaka (Member) on Mar 08, 2014 at 2:24 pm

the LF-NX concept is totally awesome!!! but not for me to buy bcoz i just dun like lexus.. it is just a toyota.

• alex259 on Mar 08, 2014 at 3:21 pm

FREAK, and looked like Sxxt!!

• justsaynaynay on Mar 08, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Lexus will soon be rebranded to Origami. Their new fleet of cars are all so damn FUGLY.

• Lela Rentaka (Member) on Mar 09, 2014 at 5:48 pm

PRAY4MH370

• Finally gasoline turbo based engine from Lexus!
    i wonder is it from Subaru ?

• Hello on Mar 10, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Is this same as Honda Vezel? seems like it…