RON 97 price goes up five sen to RM2.90 per litre

ron-97-rm2-90 038

The price of RON 97 petrol seems to have gone up another five sen to RM2.90 per litre. The last price change for the premium fuel happened only a month ago, when the price was upped by five sen to RM2.85 per litre.

The price of RON 95 petrol remains at RM2.10 per litre and diesel at RM2.00 per litre. Unlike RON 95 and diesel, the pricing of RON 97 is minimally subsidised and claimed to be derived by market forces, so price changes happen more often than the other two fuels.

The last time RON 97 was priced at RM2.90 per litre was from March 2013, representing a 20 sen jump.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Lane Tamer on Mar 07, 2014 at 12:38 pm

G, this increment is for filling the RM3 billion fund asked by the big crying baby, Proton rite? Thanks. Now I can die peacefully…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 8
    • abuya123 on Mar 07, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Yeah… you are correct man… By the way, you’re not die peacefully man… It’s really hurt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • Up and goes up again huh~~! Bagus! Up until RM5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • Markus on Mar 07, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Fuel hike and Proton has the gut to ask for RM3bil from gov. Hybrid car punya shadow also belum nampak rakyat sudah suffer banyak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Mugilan on Mar 07, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Ultraman is banned.
    Price of Ron 97 gone up.
    Nice, kick a man when he’s down …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
  • Rosmah on Mar 07, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Well done najib! Long live BN! :) Live of luxury of yours and burden of rakyat.. Salute najib! Country going bankrupt soon with proton asking rm3b and gov debt of more than RM500b!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 6
    • Vader on Mar 07, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Dear Rose, can you teach us how to start saving pocket money so we can buy RM24mil diamond ring? Please..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 6
  • Stupid and Brainless all gone up!

• ahjib on Mar 07, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Rm3billion requested by proton from the government is for their own luxury and beli susu for their childs and grandkids. I dont see the RM3billion gona make any improvement for malaysia’s economic status.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • as if all you bashers use RON97…pffftt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 35
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 07, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Of coz lar bash… Use your brain a bit… Global oil prices going up thanks to the new conflict between Ukraine, Russia and the West… Our G is making leeway now for RON 95 to go up soon… Else people will complain why UNSUBSIDISED RON95 would be more expensive than a market-floated RON 97…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Rosmah on Mar 08, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Eh. My husband najib buys for me s350 ok! I use Ron97.. Gotta spend more on fuel and can’t afford my RM24 million diamond ring and Hermes bag.

• Saturday on Mar 08, 2014 at 6:52 pm

dude, it’s very logical that people voice out wrong doings though they’re not involve. Aren’t you not?

• zafroonaldo on Mar 07, 2014 at 3:46 pm

everyone here bash as though they are filling up RON97 petrol. most of the time, the ones making noise are not even using RON97.

Sam “Hailat” Loo – if thats the reason why RON97 is being increased (i.e. due to conflicts going on between Ukraine, Russia and West), who’s fault will that be?

I think if the ongoing conflict is the reason why price increased, i dont think its controllable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 07, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Does it matter whose fault that will be…? As long as our G sees the opportunity to raise everything they can…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • zafroonaldo on Mar 07, 2014 at 4:41 pm

not about who’s fault.. talking about being reasonable in blaming Govt for increasing fuel price.

u cant blame msian govt for whatever is happening in Ukraine, can you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
        • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 07, 2014 at 8:07 pm

But I can blame the msian govt for TAKING ADVANTAGE of the situation in Ukraine by manipulating us into believing that global oil prices has gone up, so must the necessary increase RON97 price and possibly cut subsidies on RON95…

Tell me, are you one of their cronies…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • kangkung style on Mar 08, 2014 at 2:12 am

Rileks. Minyak naik tapi kangkung sudah turun. Itu dia market forces.

• zafool on Mar 08, 2014 at 2:07 am

You fool. Its called taking advantage of the situation. But when world oil price went down i don;t see the price moving down as efficently.

• norman on Mar 07, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Singapore which many level of jobs experiencing no pay rise for the past 5 years with absurb housing price,crazy car and bike price,breakdown prone MRT system,govt which care for foreign talents more than its own people silently increase RON95 price to $2.35 per litre and $2.65 for RON98..Singaporeans are getting poorer everyday thanks to its policy.So who think average Singaporeans who drive a normal bread n butter 1.5 cars earn an average $5k per month is rich i welcome them with open arms live and breathe in Singapore for 3 years period.Only then you will know who is the big bangsat.I rather take average cash rich assets rather than more cash poor assets..And Singapore is ranked Asia No 1 expensive city to live in overtaking Tokyo..Now currently climbing up to 4th spot in the world ranking…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Kelvin on Mar 08, 2014 at 11:16 am

In case you are not aware of, the survey is done based on an expatriate lifestyle of having a private car. Condominium and private schooling. While it may be true the private housing is ridiculously high, an average salaryman can go thru his day comfortably on the public transport. Private schools are for the upper class anyway. The G bashings here are not due to fuel price increase alone but rather squeezing the rakyat while treating us like 3 year old. Well apparently it works towards a certain group of us and it will continue to….

• motorhead on Mar 07, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Why marah2?.. you folk can buy cars at few hundreds thousand.. you won’t talk like poor people right? Better make it RM3.. and lower down RON95 to RM2.. besides. . Singaporean cant use RON95.. tolong rakyat sikitlah Datuk Najib.

• Sterling on Mar 07, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Bila price turun tak puji, bila price naik you scold me…yEEeerrrr ini tak adil.. :~

• BLT Club on Mar 07, 2014 at 4:14 pm

As a RON97 user this is bad news. Oh well, as long as Proton gets the 3.78 billion, all is good!

• There will be a point in this country when everything gets so screwed up everyone have no choice but to start saving up and leave this country.

• After Ron 97, will be Ron 95…WTF ‘G’!!!

• bluebird on Mar 07, 2014 at 5:03 pm

lucky i filled up RON97 right before price increase. I have saved RM 3.85, yes, thanks Jib kor. Janji Dicapati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Samad Jain on Mar 07, 2014 at 7:44 pm

To BN voters, you have been screwed AGAIN and AGAIN and AGAIN…
    BN supporters really crave to be screwed. The harder the screwing, the better they would feel??

• Albert Lee on Mar 07, 2014 at 9:04 pm

When war breaks out in Ukraine,the price of oil will skyrocket.
    His Excellency,our PM will jack up local gasoline prices without hesitation eventhough Petronas is also jacking up international oil prices.
    Who suffers? The rakyat, especially those still driving the older Wira,Waja,Saga BLM models.Fuel efficient cars like Myvis stand to gain as people want a lower monthly fuel bill.
    But Proton cars are at a disadvantage cos they are FUEL GUZZLERS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • bleukaizen on Mar 07, 2014 at 10:45 pm

thanx so much for increasing…..

• V Power on Mar 07, 2014 at 11:04 pm

Premium fuel such as the RON 97 should have individual pump at petrol station so that drivers opting for the premium fuel can have a separate queue something like the smart tag on highway toll booth

• Littlebear on Mar 08, 2014 at 10:43 am

Back then before ron95 was introduced, Ron97 was the regular fuel for malaysians and shell VPower Racing was the premium fuel.

Thanks to the gomen who downgraded our standard of living, now ron97 is considered as premium fuel. Shouldn’t a country that is going to be ‘developed’ enjoys better quality things instead of being downgraded?

I am also sick & tired of some people keeps saying ‘syukur malaysia masih aman’… :(

• guan eng jr on Mar 07, 2014 at 11:47 pm

i use ron97 for my Demak scooter since day one. It keeps the engine smooth n silent, the power always at the utmost peak when needed.

• My friend asked me why is petrol price high in Malaysia, don’t you guys export oil?
    I said that’s why we say “Malaysia Boleh”!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • seancorr on Mar 08, 2014 at 3:36 am

Haven’t seen how the government does it’s calculation on when to increase and decrease the price of RON97. So this is another national secret like the toll rates calculation? XD

• donuts on Mar 09, 2014 at 10:38 am

Read today’s news that our Ah Jib needed Ah Ma to notify the 370 situation during Ah Noh meeting….now where are those minister in charge and did not notify him or Ah Ma is the filter level? She thought its all right but it is a international laugh stock…imagine Obama need first lady to inform him about any national incident…
    What current politician cares are the $$ to their pocket, and this Petrol is been excuse for long. Take away the subsidy, but cut those car tax as well.