Renault Koleos – second facelift introduced, RM186k

SONY DSC

Less than two years after the last facelifted model made its way here, the second refresh of the Renault Koleos has just been introduced by TC Euro Cars earlier today.

The big news is the massive price drop to RM185,888 on the road with insurance, down from RM223,810 (without insurance) previously. This is due to the switch from the four-wheel drive setup on the top-spec previous car to front-wheel drive.

The Koleos has only been in for a slight nip and tuck this time around, so changes to the exterior are limited to a new Clio-style nose with a larger diamond logo and a new grille design, redesigned 17-inch alloy wheels and a chrome strip on the lower edges of the doors. Only three colours are available locally for the new car – Pearl White, Mars Grey and the Metallic Black seen here.

SONY DSC

On the inside, the Koleos gains new trim materials as well as Renault’s new R-Link infotainment system. Featuring a seven-inch touchscreen, the new system comes with voice control, navigation, Bluetooth, USB input and auxiliary jack ports A rear-view camera and a blind spot monitoring system has also been added, while the Bose sound system remains standard.

Apart from the aforementioned drivetrain change, the Koleos remains unchanged mechanically, so under the bonnet remains the Nissan TR25 2.5 litre four-cylinder petrol engine producing 170 hp and 226 Nm, connected to a CVT with a six-speed shift mode.

SONY DSC

Also unchanged is the safety equipment, so the Koleos retains its six airbags, load limiters for the front and outer rear seat belts, front seat belt pretensioners and Isofix child seat anchorage points on the outer rear seats.

Shown on the cars on display was a panoramic sunroof, which TC Euro Cars said will only be available on the first batch of five units. The specification of the other cars that will be brought in has yet to be determined, but it is expected that the rest of the specification will mirror that of the display cars.

SONY DSC

The local introduction of the new Renault Koleos coincides with the launch of TC Euro Cars’ new showroom in Glenmarie, Shah Alam. The new sales facility is part of TC Euro Cars’ aggressive push to expand its network to better cope with growing demand for Renault vehicles locally, increasing the total amount of branches to ten.

The showroom will only display the Koleos as well as the Renault Megane R.S. Red Bull Racing RB8 for now, but it will also add the Fluence and Clio R.S. to its collection when they get their own local launches soon.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• kadajawi on Mar 08, 2014 at 7:49 pm

So… this is the high spec X-Trail then? 6 instead of (I guess) 2 airbags, 2.5 vs 2.0.

Maybe TC should stress that it’s really just an X-Trail underneath, so potential buyers feel more confident (cause, well, it’s a Japanese cars).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • TeresaCockCNYClown on Mar 09, 2014 at 9:44 am

Facelifted into fuglier look.

• Bonsai on Mar 10, 2014 at 9:20 am

Sorry french lover. I hate to says this, for rm180k++ they are other better looking suv/crossover. This is just an eyesore from exterior perspective.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 10, 2014 at 9:52 am

Koleos base on Quashqai lah.

• Black Dog on Mar 10, 2014 at 2:00 pm

For 180k+, ppl already complain price is high. Is it any wonder I can’t even see one on the road with the previous price of 220k+?

• yea..:p a 186k last gen hyundai santa fe!

• ops my bad…dunno why i thought koleos was based on the old hyundai santa fe.

• certainly looks a lot more solid than CRV etc. but RM186k should have come with 2.0 turbo..

• kslee on Mar 08, 2014 at 10:26 pm

as a savvy manual (not amt ) owner ,

i look up this brand and car ,

but seriously why would anyone buy 186k for this and not crv or kia sportage that cost much less?

and this is front wheel drive now …………………

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 09, 2014 at 1:48 am

Well, this is a Nissan X-Trail in high spec, so I guess since that one is below 150k TC figured it’d be ok to charge 186k for a high spec version of that? Also, I doubt this is CKD, so the higher taxes are an issue.

But as much as I like Renault, I’d much rather buy a Mazda CX5 instead, especially considering the price. I wonder how long it will take them to sell the 5 cars they have brought in…

• Guan Yin Ma (Member) on Mar 08, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Coool

• mark foster on Mar 09, 2014 at 4:51 am

renault KOLOS.

• _xXx_ on Mar 09, 2014 at 8:18 am

CX-5 Skyactiv 2.5L 4WD CBU JPN laa…why this? Got 10+k change summore. Pricing failure.

• mmaker on Mar 09, 2014 at 4:08 pm

People will buy this if there wannabe a lil bit diffeerent. Prcing now looks quite okay i guess

• Aceonz on Mar 09, 2014 at 10:46 am

damn boring interior…

• Heskey on Mar 09, 2014 at 11:33 am

Janji ditepati!

• Good luck to your sales.

• taiko on Mar 09, 2014 at 12:06 pm

gulp.what type of car is this?

• motorhead on Mar 09, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Never see a Koloes on the road.. Thanks with the username registration.

• superbird #43 on Mar 09, 2014 at 5:13 pm

increased oil price last night…

• Lela Rentaka (Member) on Mar 09, 2014 at 5:44 pm

PRAY4MH370

• Seriously !!! For god sake, this is car forum lar. Please dont waste the kb here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Citizen of the Wolrx on Mar 10, 2014 at 9:49 am

i luv cars n i also hv a heart.. PRAY4MH370..

• Citizen of The World on Mar 10, 2014 at 10:35 am

i luv cars n i also hv a heart. PRAY4MH370.

• such a boring dashboard. its remind me of Proton Saga or Proton Savvy..

• motorhead on Mar 09, 2014 at 10:53 pm

I like the dashboard… only a minimalist can understand this. Not all like fancy2 stuffs.

• zeek (Member) on Mar 10, 2014 at 2:57 am

So far haven’t seen any other NEW car that is well equipped with lots of tech and a 5 star Euro NCAP that is cheaper than this

• maverick on Mar 10, 2014 at 9:19 am

Agreed with zeek.5star euro ncap and well equipped car like this shall not have a big issue on price plus it has more comfort and safety compared to others like CRV or such. Dashbord yes too simple but i like it that way for my SUV.BOSS sound system is an awesome feature of the car with BOSS written at the sides.In a nutshall, price is slightly higher but i will rather pay for a quality car instead a car with look which gives trouble along the life specially my current VW.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 10, 2014 at 11:07 am

In HiFi circles BOSE sound systems are regarded as crap. No highs, no lows, must be BOSE. Maybe their in car systems are better, but their home theaters only compete with better Logitech systems, while costing as much as a REAL HiFi system would cost.

I’d rather have the BOSE developed car suspension. That one is impressive. Completely flat in corners (probably also can lean into corners), you won’t feel any bumps in the road and it can jump over obstacles.

• dennisyeoh55 on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:31 am

agree with u bro..i dont mind give it a hot for 5 star euroncap which no one else has so far for their big toys…boss..much more comfortable then harrier which is too bumpy…

• maliq on Mar 10, 2014 at 10:14 am

Ive driven the previous version of the car. the car is good and it handled well. but sorry to say im not excited with the looks of the car.. it look like a car came from the year 2000. Even that time cars produced are a lot nicer. One thing i like about this new one is that i saw a BOSE subwoofer at the spare tire.. the sound system must be banging good!

• Baja Lapis Seng on Mar 10, 2014 at 3:00 pm

holy molly that’s some atrocious looking dashboard.

• tosai on Mar 10, 2014 at 4:28 pm

I thought mahindra look shite. This model by renault take the cake. I rather be seen inside a mahindra then this.

What the hell renault designer thinking by releasing such an ugly car ?

• dennisyeoh55 on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:28 am

i think they r in the design shift time..saw some great new models of Renault. Waiting for them here…ya not the great design but not that bad to compare with mahindra which is a shit..n well lot of new SUV’s does not look better then them too huhuh

• Koleos on Mar 10, 2014 at 8:06 pm

At least one thing for sure, no one want to steal this car.

• azmanfarris on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:04 am

went for a test drive of this…wont say that price is cheap but also not extremely high if i compare to the other new models…was impresed with the hill assist function n the default heated deats and the bose speakers…my wife is already considering it on…