Volkswagen offers up to five years free petrol – details

Volkswagen_Malaysia_Free_petrol

Nothing grabs the attention of Malaysian motorists quite like price hikes or reductions of cars and/or fuel. This new promotion by Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) – up to five years of free fuel – attempts to pull at both our heartstrings at once. Little detail is offered on VGM’s website, though, which piqued our curiosity.

Upon our request, VGM’s clarification of the matter is as such:

This promotion applies to all CBU models (except Polo 1.2 and Polo GTI). Customers get to enjoy free petrol of UP TO five years (model dependent). Calculation is made based on current RON 95 petrol price of RM2.10 per litre (or diesel at RM2.00 per litre), with two basic assumptions: 1) average kilometre per year is 20,000 km. 2) average consumption is according to the combined fuel consumption as per each model (found on the brochures).

So in essence, get a CBU Volkswagen model and VGM would cover the average cost of your fuel usage for up to five years (certain models are entitled to less). The Golf 1.4 TSI, for instance, is claimed to use 5.0 litres per 100 km, so it would need 1,000 litres of fuel to cover the average annual range of 20,000 km. That’s RM2,100 in fuel costs that you’d get back from VGM – for every year of free fuel that is offered.

If you think this is just another way of discounting, it is. But is that such a bad thing?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Tokong on Mar 10, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Great, now fuel is free. What are you waiting for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 48
    • Yes, don’t wait nw, get yourself a VW, then only wait for its dsg & tsi failure and hoping VW service center is competent enough to handle it.
      No, there is no bad comment about the Aftersales on any social media, not a single one. All posts on VW fb are positive and praise from the owners. Such a great car company. Thanks vgm.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 22
      • Haha ur comment is so interesting in the sarcastic way, perhaps u can share more what hv u encountered for all of us to hv a basic idea in evaluating which brand to go for for car purchase? Thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
        • Just go over to VW fb page, bulk of comments left by owners of all VW models with different failure and complaints, which can be concluded as total incompetency of a group, be it Aftersales, marketing, high management, communication and even the event management team.
          Frankly speaking, there is no perfect company able to address all customers’ need, but the way vgm performs is just mind blowing, certainly the worst among all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 6
          • Auto Frenz on Mar 10, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Thanks….i told you so millions times…proton is soooooo much better…but u just dont want to listen…now see see what happen what happen…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 13
          • The Truth About DSG on Mar 10, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Actually the DSG rumours are true. The free fuel is just to damage control because sales this year is so so bad. People have already realized that in 2014, the rumours about DSG problems are not just rumours but truth!

Any car, even with 2014 DSG box can only be sold in cold countries. If it is used in hot countries like Malaysia, it will be prone to continous breakdowns.

This was admitted in May 2013 in black and white by VW AG Germany in a press statement to the world.

There will be fanboys and owners of VW that will come here and say people are only spreading rumours. Well, they did this long ago when people were complaining about DSG issues in 2011. The fanbiys came here and said, all those spreading rumours were jealous and got no money, that is why they are jealous.

Then when VW AG came out with the press release in black and white, all the VW fanboys shut their mouths. All keep quiet and silent in forums.

Now, the VW fanboys and salesman are back again saying that the DSG issues has been cured and they were 2011 cars and older. But in actual fact, even VW Germany admitted, there is no cure for the faulty DSG. People in hot countries like Malaysia with lots of traffic jam will just have to suffer continuous breakdowns.

China got fed up with VW, they even told VW to give all their existing buyers 10 years warranty. When in Malaysia going to do the same?

Prospective buyers better read facebook comments in VW Malaysia page. Of course again, fanboys have come in and said those are fake facebook accounts. But strangely each of those negative comments come from facebook accounts that have been opened for years with at least 200 friends each. So, how can they be fake?

There is a reason why each service centre takes about 1 month just to make a regular service appointment if you want to service your VW. This is because they are overworked with hundreds of backlog DSG rosak cars. That alone they cannot handle. Everyday more than 100 cars come with DSG problems and all the workshops in Klang Valley cannot handle the complaints. You see Toyota, Honda and Nissan, call today, tomorrow can already service your car.

So to all VW fansboys and owners as well as salesman, instead of coming online and saying people are spreading rumuors, do something for your customers, go ask youyr HQ to give your customers at least 10 years warranty. Its not all about your sales. Do something for your customers. Because there are tons of customers having non stop DSG breakdowns and sometimes, even lives are lost because when overtaking happens, the DSG suddenly loses power.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 5
          • The Truth About DSG on Mar 10, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Actually, last year was a very bad year for VW Malaysia. Malaysians all are now Internet savvy and can read comments from previous rumours.

Actual fact, VW cannot sell at all because of the DSG problems and bad service centre. The only sales they make are in malls.

You see, VW is the only car company very aggressive in malls. They know, car enthusiast who are internet savvy will never touch their car. So, they target mall goers, who are mainly non car enthusiast and catch them in the malls.

Then they goreng about the German quality and the prestige of owning a VW. Then the mall goer just falls for it and signs up!

Most car enthusiast on the other hand know about VW Malaysia stinking service, their DSG scandals and also that their cars have zero prestige element. We know, VW is nothing but a common car globally and only in Malaysia that VW tries to put their cars sama taraf as BMW and Mercedes but all over the world, the VW is known as a common people’s car. The VW in Europe has the same prestige and status as Proton in Malaysia.

Only in Malaysia VW is priced in the same league as BMW and Audi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 4
        • Perodua on Mar 10, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Proton give rm3500 discount for Preve. 8l/100km, so 1600 liters to cover 20k km. RM3,360 in fuel costs that you’d get back from Proton plus extra RM140 (extra 66.7km some more) hehehe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • axel_stig (Member) on Mar 10, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • _xXx_ on Mar 11, 2014 at 12:31 pm

I am waiting for them to say ‘If your DSG fails, you can have the car for free.’. Free petrol? Not so interested….

• buy1free1engine on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:51 am

they should bundle it like how ‘Comel’ scooter last time – buy 1 scooter get 1 spare engine :)

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 10, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Nice unethical way to CON unsuspecting buyers into the troubles of TSI + DSG…

Seems like VGM never learns from customer experiences and keeps on profiting from them…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
  • bringmanualcars! on Mar 10, 2014 at 12:43 pm

VGM i want M/T Golf Gti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Datuk on Mar 10, 2014 at 12:44 pm

they should solve the DSG problem first, give free petrol but car stuck cannot be drive because of DSG prob also no use. anyway they gave money or voucher? or people have to fill the fuel first than bring the receipt to claim back?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • I totally agreed with you,Datuk. VGM should extend the warranty to 10 years like in China instead coming out with this marketing gimmick. Those 5 years free petrol does not justified the repairing cost for the owner and moreover they should not extend the warranty through insurance conpany that known for blood sucking……

• Tokong II on Mar 10, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Wish that Proton will do the same…

PrayforMH370

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • chester on Mar 10, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Now what are the terms and conditions? How many times can I pump in a month or in a year?

• Then i will top up myself to pump RON 97..haha

• Najib on Mar 10, 2014 at 1:01 pm

The only way to be happy if the fuel price rises.
    Let say today RON95 price up to RM3/L..
    Tomorrow i’ll buy Jetta..
    After 5 Years, the BN down liao, fuel price oso down to 2.10/L or lower.
    This might be stupid but i like it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
  • Guan Yin Ma (Member) on Mar 10, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Pro marketing gimmick. You should give discount based on the time the car masuk SC due to DSG TSI problem. Etc , 1 day allowance RM 200, like that baru good marketing way and social responsible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • tsiowner on Mar 10, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Then I guess I had gotten more than RM10k throughout the 3 years of ownership. =)

• Moores on Mar 10, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Is not a discounting. Its more of price drop or price adjustment whatever you want to call. Instead of just do the price adjustment, they market it as free petrol. In another way to see it, its a free Marketing for them too..

• Early Adopted on Mar 10, 2014 at 1:20 pm

So in essence and based on the example of savings (RM 2.1k per annum), potential buyers are expected to get up to RM 10.5 savings for 5 years. It is not as good as it seems as similar gimmick was introduced by VW previously, e.g. RM 17k rebate of their passat, RM 20k off their MK6 GTI and etc. So think about it wisely and in comparison with previous offers, is it really that rewarding or is this just another fast one that VW is trying to lure people into? From what I’ve heard, their sales numbers has been on a down trend recently and many “educated/knowledgeable” buyers are shying away from VW models because of the obvious reasons. Don’t get me wrong, I still think that VW models are good cars, but the after sales service and inherent mechaniical problem is just too disappointing. My 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • ruffstuff on Mar 10, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Orang yang dah memang kaya dan mampu beli Petrol lagi ditolong. Why the entry level model don’t have this promo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • lemer on Mar 10, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Free petrol for up to 20k km/year for 5 years. This is great!
    However I think Volkswagen Malaysia should offer free service for 5 years, instead of free petrol for 5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • ron97 on Mar 10, 2014 at 1:40 pm

so, can I used RON97 for free?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • V VV Gagal on Mar 10, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Red Herring Detected….. what a smoke screen.. Say pay you petrol back but with conditions… when petrol increase 1 sen… sorry, offer void like how when you miss 1km off the service cycle, warranty off.

Even when they pay, it will take a long time to pay, cos of the multiple layers of red tape… and when its time to pay, they say offset for the amount you owe from repairing the DSG…. so in the end, 0 value given back to customers…. LOLz

• Enthu on Mar 10, 2014 at 1:45 pm

But the Golf TSI is nowhere near 5L/100km in reality…so how?

• Limbo on Mar 10, 2014 at 1:45 pm

VW is giving average of 10k discount for most models meaning. But be warned ! Be prepare to endure the long waiting list even for normal service, best to book months ahead. And good luck !

• Bob_B78 on Mar 10, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Long waiting period for service? Not really.
      I called made to appointment to get my car serviced.
      Guess what… i just need to wait 2 weeks.
      Im in PG so perhaps service waiting period is shorter over in KL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
      • valjean on Mar 10, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Two weeks in advance?? And that is good???

No wonder VGM take us malaysian for granted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • Hamster on Mar 10, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Lol !!
        You call 2 week is short ? You sure didn’t own others car before.. For my toyota I can straight walk in to service without making an appointment and only have to wait 2-3 hours to complete the service… *i am not a toyota fanboy and I still own another 2 volvos.

• Bob_B78 on Mar 11, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Did you know that in PG island have only 1 authourized VW service center vs Toyota which have 2 in the island. Size wise, VW SC is very small whereby Toyota is much larger where it place more cars for service.
          Actually VW SC in Msia is very less compared to Japanese/Korean SC.

• motorhead on Mar 11, 2014 at 9:27 am

Two weeks is short? Your otak must be rosak.. used to wait that long. What a joke.

• BA Yeo on Mar 11, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Not correct. I rang them on Friday, they arranged for the service on Wendsday morning. DSG no problem they got it replaced within one week because the car was just over 2 years old and have to be adjusted by the insurance company. They even gave me a curtesy car to drive. When the DSG broke down they came within an hour and half to tow the car away and that was from Genting mind you. It is a pleasure driving a Volkswagen. Believe me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Paparazi on Mar 11, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Shame on you!

• Zapruder on Mar 10, 2014 at 1:46 pm

The VW 5 years service warranty is very misleading.. Now you guys want to add another misleading promotion? Please and please elaborate and verify customer more about this promotion.

• charkway on Mar 10, 2014 at 3:54 pm

utusan also wrote about this

http://tinyurl.com/lhjcgep

• The Truth About DSG on Mar 10, 2014 at 4:25 pm

The warranty is tipu. The warranty only 2 years. The remaining 3 years is insurance warranty. Insurance warranty all discretionary. 9 out of 10 times, the adjuster will tell you that your item won’t be covered. So, to all VW DSG buyers, please save up. After the 2nd year if your DSG kaputs, be prepared to fork out about RM50,000 to replace the DSG.

For sure 100% the adjuster will tell you “Sorry brader, this is not covered”. He has too because DSG complaints are coming in berlambak lambak daily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • ok computer on Mar 10, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Yes.. i totally agree. i’m owning 2 VW and already sold 1, will sell another one. VW is troublesome. Buy if you don’t trust.. and we will see :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • shhhh jangan bising on Mar 11, 2014 at 2:01 am

hahaha dont lie..
        dsg; mechatronic, clutch pack dont costs more then 12K rm..
        please get ur facts right..

• VGM should instead provide courtesy cars with all running cost included for the duration of VW car parked in the service centre due to DSG or TSI or any software problems. That my friends baru show of products confident plus attention catching advertisement. Agree?? Too bad VGM know their own sxxt that this just wont happen. By the way I own a Golf 1.4TSI so i KNOW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • #vw13314 on Mar 10, 2014 at 1:56 pm

You will find your car 3 months in the workshop with the lousy after sales services…lol

• axel_stig (Member) on Mar 10, 2014 at 2:01 pm

hmmm…

• Najib on Mar 10, 2014 at 2:10 pm

If fuel price go up today,
    I’ll buy Jetta by tomorrow.
    After 5 years, BN gov are down, then with the power of rakyat will oso drop the fuel price…
    this is my logic. sounds stupid but i like it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Sam Tow Truck on Mar 10, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Huuray…yes please go ahead and buy VW.

I need more VW owners.

So that i can get richer towing you poor soul car.

Don’t forget, the more you tow, the more points you get. Tow more and you entitle to free tow 24 hrs service.

Sikit sikit lama lama jadi bukit. for vw owners, my towing service will come with 1 free welcome drink (ice blended coffee) for you to cool down your frustration and my toyota hilux aircon will also freeze your balls.

Please call 1-800-SAMTOWTRUCK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
  • yea, great promotion.
    It’s just covering the fuel to send your car back to sc every times.

• Bernard on Mar 10, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Look up this FB page for all things wrong with VW & VGM…
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Vw-Dsg-7-Defects-Community/306447496142735

• Thava on Mar 10, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Any Passat users here?How reliable is this car?

Mr. Sam,
    Towed any passat?

• Sam Tow Truck on Mar 10, 2014 at 4:17 pm

If you are my best of bestest fren, i will ask you buy camry.

But if you are my normal fren, then buy VW. gaya mutu keunggulan. Moreover, you can admire your car from my tow truck seat also. How beautiful it is with its glory when i tow it to SC. I am sure no other car will get the same amount of glares as VW.

Go ahead. Life is short. Make me rich also. Moreover with VW, you also get to know me as Sam Tow Truck. Don’t worry, i can intro you to maserati wife also. She’s quite *ahem* with ais krim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • benchot on Mar 10, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Hafriz, lu salesman VW part time ka? selalu leview semua power power..sikalang promo pun kasi promote..lain olang pun kasi promo apasal takda cakap..itu T ada roadshow dengan promo pun..double standad la..DSG ploblem lu promote pun olang tak mau beli..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Early Adopted on Mar 10, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Another thing to add, the article ended with a comment from the author stating “If you think this is just another way of discounting, it is. But is that such a bad thing?”….

Well my humble response to that is a “BIG YES”. Click like if you agree with me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • passion33 on Mar 10, 2014 at 3:47 pm

I owned a 2013 VW Passat CKD. My DSG so far so good.. nothing unusual yet.

Received letter from VGM last week for free DSG gear oil change from Synthetic to Mineral oil base & got RM200 voucher for it.

I must admit that having seen so many complaints on DSG failure in FB & Worldwide posting, I am worried too. But the driving pleasure of this car are extremely good. I placed order soon after test-driving it. (Emotional decision!!)

• I owned a Passat ckd too.. just got it last Dec 2013.Now the gearbox (when turn to gear 3) jerking sound and also the fuel pump wave sound happened for the past 1 month. Complaint the SC.. but the technician said it is the characteristic of dsg gearbox… my goodness!!! So what should I do then?

• motorhead on Mar 11, 2014 at 8:03 am

Later offer free car lah.. haha.. this what malay say.. biawak hidup..

• passion33 on Mar 11, 2014 at 9:07 am

Hi KS, I m no expert here. Perhaps you can call your VW Sales Rep for advice.

My car just changed its gear oil from Synthetic to Mineral. So far just 1 week of driving cant give feedback now. But I feel its quieter than before & smoother. (maybe the oil still fresh.)

Do check if your car were subjected for DSG Gear oil change. If yes, pls call them fast for appointment. I heard they got shipment delay for DSG Gear Oil from Germany.

• sky8838 on Mar 22, 2014 at 2:03 pm

characteristic of the DSG? hahahaaa.. I like tat.

• kl fella on Mar 10, 2014 at 4:01 pm

if you want to get a VW, only go for gti or cc (wet clutch) or touareg (torque converter)

• Enthu on Mar 10, 2014 at 9:06 pm

One of the best comment here.

• u missed out the sharan & tiguan…both using the wet clutch dsg6…bro, correction – VW CC is using dsg7 dry clutch, its the older passat CC which is using DSG6

• Thava on Mar 10, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Passion 33,

Which service centre are you sending you car to?

Br/Thava

• Would VW Malaysia be willing to extend a performance guaranty that VW Cars owners be provided for with a courtesy vehicle in cases where VW cars be stranded in the approved workshop for an extended period of time of 5days onward? Actual experience of existing VW owners… i think 1-2 months may not be exaggerating at all.

Simple reason: I don’t purchase a car and get stranded being without a transport, and yet to be subject to all the unnecessary bureaucratic treatment of “pegging” for a warranty repair… and I meant meeting the required conditions. And too, pegging the authorised workshop to return your callssss, and I am still waiting!

Simply, having outsourced your warranty on such an “insurance” scheme may have provided the financial shield on the warranty repairs, but not your performance guaranty and fiduciary duty.

How am I going to enjoy the free fuel without a car to drive?

People out there, please ask them so that you could too enjoy the free fuel for the full term, and not just on paper.

• Ofcourse on Mar 10, 2014 at 4:23 pm

I would give that kind of offer too if I know that 3/4 of the time the car would in the workshop waiting to be repaired. Hence in essence, the pay for 5K petrol only. lol.

• tkhengong on Mar 10, 2014 at 4:30 pm

“The Golf 1.4 TSI, for instance, is claimed to use 5.0 litres per 100 km”. I do not think it is possible to achieve this low mileage in town use. My Prius is averaging 5.5 litres per 100km in strictly town use. However, on highways, I am getting 4.0 litres per 100km at average speed of 120km and as low as 3.6km per 100 litres at average speed of 80kmh

• Maserati on Mar 10, 2014 at 5:51 pm

stfu about ur ugly Prius, top gear has proven an m3 has a better mileage than your fish head vehicle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • LOL wtf ? A v8 have a better fuel efficiency than a hybrid four pot ?
        Source please !!

• Enthu on Mar 10, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Use your brain before you wanna blindly believe an entertainment TV Show.

• LimPek on Mar 11, 2014 at 2:46 am

my wife Prius avarage 4.3l / 100km in town; 4.7l / 100 in highway.

• bluemotion on Mar 12, 2014 at 2:35 pm

yup, a golf mk7 TSI can do 5l/100km…btw, a golf diesel bluemotion will easily do bttr than ur prius….how do i know, i driving one in the UK…., easily doing 3-4l/100km w/out trying, and the torque is just great!!

• i dont mind MPI + normal 6 speed auto, as long as they CKD golf, jetta, polo and maintain the materials and workmanship they have in Germany when assemblying cars in malaysia. a passat with 2.0MPI with all nice equipment same with CBU unit selling @ rm140,000 is going to be selling more than camry.

and a 2.0MPI 4 speed auto Golf with the same materials with CBU unit selling at RM110,000… who will resist??

• Surprise on Mar 10, 2014 at 5:28 pm

My personal thoughts.
    1. This seems more like a marketing gimmick
    2. TSI/DSG seems to have some known issues but whether it is really that wide-spread (by reading this forum alone, ones would have thought the failing rate is very high), I don’t know.
    3. Bad service vs others, seems likely. Having said that, I would prefer an experience mechanics than service center.
    4. Prius comment – No offend, but it really sounds bashing to me. Prius strength is in city, stop-go condition where it doesn’t require engine but generator to run, not high speed. At high-speed, the engine will kick in hence consuming more. This is consistent with my experience (rental car over a couple of months). Or maybe u always push the pedal as hard as u could on “go” …

• Samad Jain on Mar 10, 2014 at 7:35 pm

Ask yourself honestly….

If the sales of VW is damn good and the product is so good, would VW even want to throw in goodies, free fuel for the customers??

Be careful with “free lunch”….

• roxas on Mar 10, 2014 at 8:00 pm

erm can i say even a hyundai is more reliable if not better then the japanese, at least no continous problem like the germans

• Big Kok on Mar 10, 2014 at 8:49 pm

I heard to change bending lights bulb also take 2 months for passat from the dealer. I wonder if change dsg, have to wait 6 months.

• golfkaki on Mar 10, 2014 at 9:47 pm

2 times change dual clutch and mechatronic , 2nd one in Nov 13 via recall . Suffered abt 3 yrs with DSG juddering. So far with improved parts much better no more juddering. But lately when on D and moving without pressing pedal got some funny chicky noise dunno whether DSG issue again or something else. Quite tired need to check again. Golf TSI has good handling and acceleration compared to my previous camry . But would I buy VW had I known . NOPE too much hassle. 1 month advance service very real . Must time yr mileage ensure within warranty period else warranty invalid . Banyak hassle most of the time premature service .Maybe just change to Kia Cerato . Looks great.

• Danny on Mar 10, 2014 at 10:39 pm

I better order Mercedes A45 AMG

• the truth about dsg on Mar 10, 2014 at 11:22 pm

Actually the DSG reliability are true. People have already realized that in 2014, the rumours about DSG problems are not truth!
    This was admitted in May 2013 in black and white by VW AG Germany in a press statement to the world.

• Iniesta on Mar 11, 2014 at 12:13 am

Speaking from my experience as vw passat owner, I do heard a lot of dsg and mecatronic failure, the spare parts will take months to arrive, some from friends , some from Internet but I personally don’t not experience any major issue with my car after 1 and 1/2 year of ownership. As to the service issue I just walk in to vw balakong during Sunday and the service is done in 2 hours time. So no issue at all and it is only twice a year I need to send my car for service .

• tiadaid on Mar 11, 2014 at 5:02 am

I remembered when my family bought our Honda City they were running a promo where they provided a Shell fuel card preloaded with RM888. I guess the VW promo will be similar.

• tourantulan on Mar 11, 2014 at 10:34 am

haha…I AM CURRENTLY THE ONE THAT HAVING MECHATRONIC PROBLEM….CAR STILL IN WORKSHOP…WAITING FOR PARTS…there is no cure…..

• suggest on top of the free fuel, VW malaysia should also consider to include car rentals cost since u’ll need to rent cars once or twice a year since ur VW will be stuck at SC for clutch pack/ mechatronic…etc..etc replacement..frequently!! ; )

• AbsolutKev86 on Mar 11, 2014 at 1:14 pm

fuel is not free, all in the package already….

• jackass on Mar 11, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Vios J is still the best ^^

• there’s even an FB group called “Vw dsg 7 defect community” which are going to do a group complains at VW bangsar this coming thursday afternoon and submit a memo to the new VW Malaysia’s MD to complains on lots of issues and demand dsg warranty extended to 10 yrs as per China/US!..heard more than 100 owners are going!

• Ha this is volkswagens solution to all the spoiled vehicles. Give u free fuel and expcet you to drive at brochure claimed FC so at the engine never boosts and never spoils. If going to drive like this, why buy turbo car in the first place?

• VWGTI on Mar 11, 2014 at 4:08 pm

The DSG failures only apply to the 7Speed Dry Clutch gearbox (code name DQ200) that have been installed in 1.2TSI Polo, 1.4 TSI Golf, Jetta and Polo GTi, 1.8TSI Passat and CC. So at moment avoid this range until VW sort out the issues they have. The 6speed DSG is fine and has been trouble free on the Golf GTI and Passat CC 2.0TSI, VGM must improve their after sales if they are serious about taking care of their customers complains efficiently and in a timely manner. Great products and Extremely poor customer relationship management

• azman on Mar 12, 2014 at 5:04 pm

I owned a 2012 Golf 1.4 TSI. My DSG broke down when I was going out to buy goreng pisang one afternoon. I was driving up a hill when suddenly lost power and behind me there were several cars going at high speed. I had to make an emergency stop but there was very little side area near the road so one car nearly hit me. My son was traveling with me at front passenger. Trust me this DSG thing can be very serious and life threatening. Don’t bet your life on it. I would have sued VW if anything happened to me or my son. But trust me, your life or your son’s life is not worth trying a new technology like this.

• i don’t want the FREE PETROL. Can i have it as a rebate instead?

• itelcare (Member) on Jun 29, 2014 at 7:51 am

i rather if they can give direct cash discount more… but if I want discount but I also want free petrol can ar?

• Michael Eng on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:33 pm

VW car sucks problem never stops, and in fact, same so call solved-problems repeated after some months. There is only one solution for the owner: Sell the car (no matter how low the price, because you gonna pay more if keep holding). There is only one solution to others: Do not buy the car (no matter how cheap, because you gonna pay more if you actually buy one).