Mitsubishi Pajero Sport V6 launched in Indonesia

pajero-sport-v6

The Mitsubishi Pajero Sport V6 was launched in Indonesia last week. It is the sixth Pajero Sport variant in Indonesia, and the first petrol powered one. The facelifted Pajero Sport range was launched in the archipelago in October last year, the same time it was introduced here in Malaysia.

The Pajero Sport V6 is powered by a 6B31 3.0 litre V6 petrol engine with 220 PS and 281 Nm of torque, the latter available at 4,000 rpm. The SOHC MIVEC unit is mated to an INVECS-II five-speed automatic with Sport Mode. It is available only as a 4X2 in Indonesia. For perspective, the Pajero Sport VGT, with a 2.5L diesel, makes 178 PS and 350 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 3,500 rpm.

It looks similar to the facelifted Pajero Sport that we know, save for a new Deep Blue Mica colour, V6 3.0 emblems, body coloured wing mirrors and door handles and 17-inch alloys. Equipment highlights include HID headlamps with washers, a 2-DIN head unit with navi and reverse camera, and a sunroof.

Priced at Rp. 481,000,000 (RM137,854), the Pajero Sport V6 is the second most expensive variant in the Indonesian range after the Rp. 514,500,000 (RM147,510) diesel-powered Pajero Sport Dakar 4X4 A/T. The Pajero Sport leads its segment in Indonesia but they won’t sell many of these petrol SUVs – the target is a modest 150 units per month.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BoXy (Member) on Mar 11, 2014 at 12:13 pm

PRAY FOR MH370

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Head Hunter on Mar 11, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Not the right place to post this bro. My uncle Andrew is on that flight. Please lah, we are praying, but don’t simply post the pray for MH370 all over. Post appropriately. Even we want to have peace for a moment to read into paultan.org without feeling traumatized. We’re from Kpg Tanam Dalat, are still awaiting for the news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • pooyu on Mar 11, 2014 at 2:54 pm

expensive…indon shd lower their tax

• turboman on Mar 11, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Please bring this to Malaysia.

For those of us who loves a good 6 cyl howl, our options for new car below 250k is nil, if you count out the old Teana, 2nd hand 325i and Recon IS250.

• support aero on Mar 11, 2014 at 3:28 pm

it’s selling cheaper than malaysia because indonesia don’t have tax.
    also because their currency is higher and they’re richer than malaysia.

er wait. nevermind. jangan persoal!

• A much better alternative to the Fortuner 2.7. More power, better equipment, more comfortable and equally reliable. But please design a new front end to better differentiate from the recently facelifted Triton.

• Gavin on Mar 11, 2014 at 9:11 pm

how bout a v6 diesel ?

• I’ll buy this over fortuner 2.7

• Lexus RX330 Owner on Mar 14, 2014 at 10:23 am

I have always had a soft spot for the macho-looking Pajero Sport and refining its engine to include the 3,000 cc V6 is a smart move from MMC. I regularly use Hilux, Prado, Strada, Ranger and Everest at oil palm plantations; and these are all workhorses. The Pajero Sport would be a better machine with the refined V6, plying the normal tarmac roads in Malaysia. And if they are serious about transforming the variant to the SUV market, how about improving the suspension and NVH too? There are many of us whom use workhorses in the rough, but back on regular roads, we want to be pampered in the cocoon of our soft-roaders.