Next-gen Toyota Yaris to use Mazda 2 SkyActiv tech?

mazda-hazumi-studio-0009

A partnership between Toyota and Mazda to build a sub-compact (B-segment) vehicle for the North American market had been confirmed in 2012, and the latest reports now suggest that the next-generation Yaris will be built in Mazda’s new plant in Salamanca, Mexico, based on the upcoming second-generation Mazda2.

Speaking to Automotive News, Keishi Egawa, director of the new Mazda facility, confirmed that the upcoming Toyota model will use Mazda’s high-compression, direct-injection SkyActiv petrol engine. Toyota will plan out its own sheet metal (exterior) and “some of the interior design work,” but it will use “our engine,” said Egawa.

This is a neat role reversal for the two Japanese carmakers. Just last year, Toyota licensed the Prius’ Hybrid Synergy Drive system – battery, control system, electric motor and eCVT – for use in the Japan-only Mazda3 Hybrid (which keeps Hiroshima’s own 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G mill).

As part of the 2012 agreement, the Mexican factory will allocate about 50,000 of its full annual capacity of 230,000 units for the Toyota model. Output for the Toyota spin-off is expected to begin in the second half of next year, a year after the new Mazda2 enters production there. Closer to home, we’re expecting the Hazumi-based Mazda2 to arrive in Malaysia by the end of 2014 too.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• why dont buy a Suprima S? is biggere, better looking, safer and of course cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 61
    • iAmANoob on Mar 11, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Well bro that is different.. This for people who care for running cost more than ever.. Suprima S is a good car but fuel thirst are turn people away that beast..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
      • Same Lor on Mar 12, 2014 at 12:39 am

Truth tell everything. How many Suprima s and new Vios you saw on the road? So you think most Malaysian drivers are more stupid than you because they don’t buy Suprima S?

The J class has fuel hunger engine and typical “anything could go wrong will wrong gao gao” built quality. You end up paying more than a Civic.

Bigger? better looking? safer? cheaper? Compare it with a pre-tax Altis, then you know what is the J class. It is the government who make foreign car so expensive, Civic/Altis supposed to be same range as Suprima S.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • PAS Tua on Mar 11, 2014 at 5:46 pm

no quality, always rosak, break down, power windows until today also got problem, squeaky sound here and there, drink fuel like drink Heineken.

bigger? better looking? safer? cheaper?
      yes it is, but sorry lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 15
      • fuuyoh on Mar 11, 2014 at 6:16 pm

how many times ur suprima S rosak?

Power window was fix quite some time ago, even the Saga does not have the power window issue now. Atleast my power window is not giving me any issue on 6th year now.

Or purely a keyboard warrior bash?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 14
      • Shaun on Mar 11, 2014 at 8:10 pm

Bigger, yes..better, no…better looking, hell no

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Even big companies like Toyota do rebadging and people are bashing Proton because of rebadging the previous gen Honda Accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 37
    • In case you missed out this:

Toyota will plan out its own sheet metal (exterior) and “some of the interior design work,” but it will use “our engine”, said Egawa.

Downvote your own comment please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
      • So isn’t it the same for Proton rebadging the Honda Accord? They have stated they will be coming out with a different exterior and interior but the technical specs like the Engine and Gearbox will remain the same. The current rebadged Honda Accord without any change of exterior is only for Govt Officials and NOT FOR THE PUBLIC.

Now, Down vote your own comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
      • Syameer on Mar 11, 2014 at 7:06 pm

In case you missed out, Proton did mentioned that the new Perdana for the mass market will be a new model with new interior and exterior developed from the Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Same Lor on Mar 12, 2014 at 12:49 am

The more Proton rebadge the accord and keep its original design, the better the sales will be.

Go ask public if Inspira or Suprima S a better car, then you know.

Don’t laugh on Toyota. You think people will buy a Proton if they can afford a Toyota? It is the government who make Toyota expensive.

Toyota use Mazda engine for Yaris, Toyota use Subaru engine for 86, Perodua use Toyota engine for Alza Myvi. What does Proton has?

• Toyoproton on Mar 11, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Toyota is another out of idea company, what makes u think they are any better? It seems like Toyota have sacked everyone in their engine R&D department…and still there are ignorant ppl buying brand new car with old tech under the hood. Ripping their customers off!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • Octopus on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:44 am

To be honest, I do not mind using the so-called “old” tech as long as it’s proven. I want a car that is reliable, not something that is gimmicky but breaks down often, especially in front of friends. Buang air muka lah~

• Enthu on Mar 12, 2014 at 3:16 pm

You can’t even tell the difference and here you are barking around.

• finally, toyota submitted to mazda’s superior engine…who said you need to go hybrid to become efficient

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Chronikel on Mar 11, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Don’t you know that Mazda has already launched its SkyactivHybrid? They started with Mazda6 Skyactiv Hybrid (known as Atenza Hybrid in Japan. Mazda’s ultimate goal is to go with EV by 2020. Skyactiv is the first stage of improving the “basic” element such as IC engine, chassis, transmission etc.

Skyactiv > SkyactivHybrid > EV

Yup, Mazda adopted Toyota’s well-proven Hybrid Synergy Drive technology.

• dugong on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:54 am

Last time toyota fanboys say mazda skyactive engine is just hype and not reliable and powerful like their god the vvti. ahahahhahahaha

• Means next vios will he using skyactiv engine…

• Syameer on Mar 11, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Where are the bashers?

• Guilt79 on Mar 11, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Sam Loo says now Toyota, Honda and Mazda have high RV.

• Denaihati on Mar 11, 2014 at 6:05 pm

I think it is a goods news for Toyota fan and this is something that we want to hear, totally new and better performance engine.
    This changes might bring a attractive engine specification and one step ahead to it competitor.
    Also i think it is a good business strategy for both Toyota and Mazda.

• roxas on Mar 11, 2014 at 7:33 pm

meh..

• Najib on Mar 11, 2014 at 7:47 pm

Come on dude.. once its mazda, always be mazda..
    For me, Yaris is a dumb ever invention of Toyota small and compact car.
    do u think a RM100K ++ is reasonable for a small little junk like Yaris??
    I don’t have any idea what the hell are Yaris buyer think before the own it.
    I can get K3 or Cruze or even Civic for Yaris Price.
    I don’t know if malaysian is really rich enough to buy a tin with the price of gold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • qwerty on Mar 11, 2014 at 10:09 pm

The last time I checked, Civic was still 110k+ and Yaris is still selling around 90k. Did I remember wrongly? Or u did?

even though they cost the same, there will always be people buying it; all because they want different things in their car. Some might want big boot, but some only needs a car that saves fuel and easy to drive around the city, especially parking.

should everyone do what you say, why isn’t the Saga everyone’s choice? :)

• dugong on Mar 12, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Yaris was selling at 102-105k. No one bought it and then they lower the price discount now is 90k+

Yes alot of fools buy tin kosong with gold.

• Toyota copy Mazda…pity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • samoron on Mar 11, 2014 at 10:24 pm

I don’t give a damn who is using whose engine. Just make sure the consumers get high quality stuff for the price they pay.

• totti on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:44 am

The out dated engine for Vios (since 2003) is the preferred choice for most malaysian with:-

1) bullet prove engine and gear box.
    2) Spare part available at every tyre shop.
    3) maintenance cost is cheap and easily available.
    4) Most fuel efficient 1.5 Engine as to date.Beat the Nissan/Honda/Mazda.

So, Why need to update the reliable engine where the competitor still struggling to develop a fuel efficient car with reliability.

Vios will be the King again despite new City and new Madza 2.

• dugong on Mar 12, 2014 at 12:05 pm

IF the junk excuse for an engine is so great toyota won’t plan to use mazda engine la. What a clown.

VVTi from dugong crap belongs in the junkyard. Noisy, weak, inefficient, smelly( fail emissions test in europe and US), vibrates like vibrator, comparable to magma 12 valve at this age.

• Aiyo toyota no more ideas,have to use Mazdas’ platform?

So next gen Vios oso based on Mazda 2

Well it shows how innovation can push a company forward.Good for Mazda