A first taste of Sepang – getting a ride in the Proton R3 Suprima S Malaysian Super Series Touring Car

Being a motor journalist has a habit of taking your preconceptions of what a job should entail and setting them on fire. Having started my stint at paultan.org less than a month ago, I was all set to just sit in the office hammering out news while my colleagues were out covering cool events or driving the hottest new cars. I mean, that’s what a newbie is supposed to do, right?

UPDATE: We’ve just been informed that the Proton R3 Suprima S Touring Car draws 155 hp at 7,500 rpm and 185 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm from a modified 1.6 litre IAFM engine (same setup as R3 Preve racer), and not 178 hp and 224 Nm from a CPS as previously stated.

But then an email came in about a Proton test session for a race series I had never heard of at the Sepang International Circuit, and an invitation to ride with one of their drivers out on the track. The editorial team thought it was a good idea for me to get a taste of racing and of the track itself and told me to have fun out there. These guys are nuts, I thought to myself, entrusting this to someone like me.

Not long afterwards, I braved my way through the suffocating haze to Sepang, and as soon as I parked and got of my car my ears were inundated, no, assaulted by the sound of engines buzzing around at full chat, some of them I knew were very serious race machinery. I was about to get my first taste of the Malaysian Super Series.

For those of you who don’t know, the MSS works pretty much like the VLN championship at the Nürburgring – it consists of five rounds all held at Sepang (the first race is a support race for the Malaysian Grand Prix later this month), culminating in the Sepang 1000-km endurance race at the end of the year. Each round consists of two races – one for touring cars, one for GT and Sports Production cars.

The paddock really was a spectacle to behold. Walking down the pits, I spotted race-prepped Porsche 911s and Ferrari 458s nestled in their specific garages, while Lamborghini Gallardos and Audi R8s roared down the main straight. There was variety too – further down the pit lane sat a Honda Civic Type R and even a Caterham Seven.

But I wasn’t here for those cars. I was instead gestured to Garage 5, where Proton’s R3 boys competing in the Malaysian Touring Car class were stationed. There I met Gary Lee of Proton Motorsports, who showed me the car I was actually here for: the Proton R3 Suprima S Touring Car. Here for its track debut, it will be racing alongside the Prevé, which was also present.

SONY DSC

The car, covered in the team’s new blue, yellow and silver livery, sat low and looked mean, if a little under-wheeled – the tallish body, normally fitted with 17-inch wheels, instead sat on lightweight 15-inch R3 wheels wrapped in 195/55 Hankook Ventus Z221 semi-slick tyres. The wider track helped with the stance somewhat, but at first it looked like nothing more than a Mat Rempit‘s wet dream.

But this car is not to be sniffed at. Under the bonnet sits a 1.6 litre IAFM four-cylinder engine, modified to produce 155 hp at 7,500 rpm and 185 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. By way of comparison, the Persona SV‘s IAFM unit delivers 110 hp and 148 Nm, while the Preve Executive‘s IAFM+ motor does 107 hp and 150 Nm.

To extract that kind of power, the engine has been extensively re-engineered – so much so that only the block and crank remain unchanged. Drive is sent to the front wheels via a CUSCO close-ratio five-speed manual – with dog engagement for faster, more precise shifts – as well as a 1.5-way limited slip differential.

Keeping the Suprima under control are an Ohlins racing suspension kit as well as Alcon racing brake calipers all around. The bodyshell has also been lightened and strengthened, and a six-point roll cage fitted inside, with a new design compared to the Prevé. Completing the package are a front splitter and side skirts lifted from the Prevé, as well as custom brake ducts cut out of the front bumper.

In addition to its two racing cars, Proton R3 also brought along a Satria Neo road car, which was used to test new components that will eventually be sold to the public. Aside from the usual performance addenda you can buy right now, the car was also fitted with a half-cage, one of the planned additions to the R3 catalogue.

After I was made to sign a release form, I donned a helmet and got into the Suprima, five-point harnesses tethering me securely into the hefty Recaro buckets next to Syafiq Ali, who along with teammate James Veerapan claimed the class title last year. The door slammed shut and now all I could do was wait until the one of the mechanics gave the signal for Syafiq to set off.

Finally, the go ahead was given and we shot out of the pit box, immediately restrained by the pit lane speed limiter. A few seconds later and we were out, the limiter went off and we speared towards the first corner.

Now, at this juncture I’d like to say that I’ve been fortunate enough to have been to Sepang many times, with a number of Formula One races under my belt as well as the Super GT race last year. I’ve also driven around the track virtually many times through countless F1 simulators. But I had never actually been out on the track before, never mind in a proper racing car at full bore.

The first thing that struck me was how wide Sepang is. You just cannot take in the full scale of a modern Formula One track through watching races on TV – only when you’re out on the circuit and the kerbs are wider than half your car do you feel dwarfed by pretty much everything around you.

The second thing I noticed was just how fast Syafiq was negotiating the first corner and how resistant the car was to understeer. The car cornered flat and had so much mechanical grip through the corners it felt like the car was literally trying to tear my face off.

We sped at full throttle out of the first two corners and at first the car didn’t feel particularly fast – with a high-revving, naturally-aspirated engine you’re never going to get a thump in the back every time you step on the accelerator. Only after a while did I realise how much speed we’re carrying into the fast-approaching 90-degree Turn 3, and Syafiq is supposed to be braking hard now…

But he didn’t brake. The car carried on, Syafiq’s foot still planted firmly on the throttle. I looked at the metre boards indicating the braking zone and I was sure we’d gone past the point of no return; that this could only end in bruises, tears and an embarrassing write-up. The car screamed right past the 100 metre board and Syafiq finally hit the brakes, thrusting me brutally into my harness.

We flung through the corner, clipping the apex, my heart stopping as the grassy run off and the wall at the end of it loomed frighteningly close. We skirted right past the kerb and onto the brick edging beyond it. Expecting a sickening crunch, then a spin, I was surprised the Suprima instead handled it with aplomb, remaining composed through the bumps. I looked in the mirrors to find dust billowing from the back end.

Throughout the rest of the lap, the car displayed the same incredible composure and grip, all the time reminding me of how serious this bit of kit is. Syafiq pushed on, undoubtedly egged on by the hard-edged soundtrack – a blaring highly-tuned four-cylinder snarl, accompanied by the exhaust’s metallic bark.

At one point, through Turn 14, just as I was about to finally breathe easy again on the long straight ahead, the car flicked sideways, which Syafiq cured by administering a considerable dose of opposite lock. I whooped, half ecstatic, half cowering.

At the end of the straight, we pulled into the pits. Harness undone, I extended my hand to shake Syafiq’s, but he pointed to the red lights above the start/finish line and said we could go for one more lap as soon as they turned green again. Hurriedly, I was strapped back in and we set off again, pulling to the outside of the first corner to allow a McLaren MP4-12C GT3 to rumble past.

So, around the track we duly went for the second time, the speedometer, g-meter and stopwatch that was the seat of my pants indicating that it was faster than the first. And as soon as that, we were back on the final corner and the Suprima slid sideways into the pits. We came to a stop back at the pit box, I finally thanked Syafiq for the amazing driving and I emerged out of the car, shaking furiously but with a great sense of exhilaration.

After I got some time to come back to reality, I sat down with driver and team principal Tengku Djan Ley to talk about the team’s strategy for the upcoming season as well as Proton Motorsport and Proton R3’s plans as a whole.

Djan spoke about the increasing competition year by year – the series having only started in 2010 – and the team’s main focus was simply to stay at the top of the Malaysian Touring Car Championship.

The “Prince of Drift” also pointed out the changes the team has made into building the Suprima after two years running the Prevé, with a focus on improving the car’s roll centre and bump steer characteristics, among other things. “We’ve got a better weight distribution now between and front and rear axles and a slightly different geometry to improve the handling of the car,” he said.

Djan also heaped praise on the Suprima S road car, claiming that it was a much better base than the Prevé on which to develop a racing version. “You can actually feel that the chassis is a bit tighter, the way the car moves is a bit more fluid compared to the Prevé,” he added.

SONY DSC

“We had to do a lot more work on the Prevé to achieve what we wanted to get, whereas for the Suprima S, we are only on our second day of testing and we are already quite close to where we want to be.”

Djan also reiterated Proton Motorsports’ focus at the moment on the domestic arena – the MSS and the Malaysian Rally Championship (MRC) taking up the lion’s share of its efforts – while they are plan for their expansion into other events within South East Asia.

When asked about full-on R3 versions of the Suprima and Prevé, Djan remained mum  – saying that whatever information currently available has already been reported – but he did let slip that the company was aiming to put them out on the market in 2015.

SONY DSC

As for bolt-on performance parts, Djan said that Proton R3 sees a big market in grassroots motorsports. “We are actually working on a specification for entry-level motorsports that will be targeted towards the Satria Neo as it is a three-door and with a really good chassis to start off with, and that will be out pretty soon.”

I left Sepang that evening, gaining newfound reverence for the track. It was much more thrilling and engaging than I would’ve ever expected driving around the countless virtual recreations that I have.

I also emerged with greater respect for the team at Proton R3 as well as the local motorsports scene as a whole. With the industry growing from strength to strength, I have faith that its future will shine brighter than ever before.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 249
    • Najib Razak on Mar 11, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Wow !! Can’t believe Macai like you willing to read them all till the end. Bravo !!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 179 Thumb down 31
      • Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 12:25 am

Put that tuned up 178hp engine in the upcoming manual Suprima S for the market then it would be arguably the best Proton ever made in terms of looks, handling, safety and performance

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 5
      • Same Lor on Mar 12, 2014 at 12:27 am

Because of this kind of so called “race”, many young drivers are encouraged to drive recklessly on the road with they J class Proton, and cause danger to public safety! There are too many cases that Proton driver thought their J class can brake and handle wheel lock, under/oversteer and end up kissing other cars, divider and trees.

If your car is meant for the daily road use, don’t extensively modify it to a race car and claim “wow, it is a good sport car!”. Do you ever see Toyota modify their Vios/Altis/Camry to be a race car? A sport car look-alike model with 1.6 engine and literally close-to-none safety feature, will only poison the young driver mind to kill themselves and others on the road, what a irresponsible strategy!

If you want a sport car, you look for Koenigsegg. If you want road safety, you look for Volvo/Mercedes/Toyota. If you want to achieve both with limited budget, end up you get nothing, but you still syok sendiri, you go for Proton.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 127 Thumb down 158
        • Amei (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 12:54 am

the thing is. Malaysian can’t afford a Koenigseggisseggggnignigsegigisegggg

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 1
        • Shame Lor on Mar 12, 2014 at 1:37 am

I have seen Vioses and Hiluxes rammed into trees/into longkang/turned turtle on perfectly dry condition and straight roads.Of course, i seen other makes involved in accidents as well. It depends on how you drive, not the brand of the car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 5
        • Heng Lee on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:29 am

‘Do you ever see Toyota modify their Vios/Altis/Camry to be a race car?’

No. Normaly Vios/Altis/Camry owners modify their cars to transport their canes and walkers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 36
        • the most modded car you can see is Toyota Vios.. With crappy handling, the driver thought the ‘sporty looking’ Vios were meant for racing and its end up going turtle.. you can see it everywhere.. and so many cases of big tires Toyota Hilux also going turtle.. Toyota = Crappy handling

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 33
          • samoron on Mar 12, 2014 at 8:58 am

Of course the handling is crappy. After all it is a TOY car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 27
          • ToBohLanSamLoo on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Sam Loo old camry also modified to look like K5.

• gone are the days of the wajalution..there’s no more proton car who ride like daredevil nowadays..

king of the roads presently is the ‘not-modified-toyota’ and myvi..even without modification, they drive like crazy on the road..

so stop living in the past bro..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
        • rally_fan on Mar 12, 2014 at 12:18 pm

since when has driving recklessly have to do with the make of or type of car? poor driving is just that.. poor driving. if you are a lousy driver, you would be lousy even if you drove a golf-kart. all you’ve done is to show everyone the level of your maturity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
        • Same Lor on Mar 12, 2014 at 2:23 pm

See! All your comments are about handling, turtle speed, look etc. these already prove how the J class Proton poison her owners – Speed and style.

On congested roads in KL and you are so concerned of speed and tyle, then you can only get closer to reckless driving.

If you can’t afford Koenigsegg, buy BM lar, or 86 also ok. If you really have to buy Proton, don’t speed lar. This is the problem: Proton try to deceive the onwer with sporty look, but end up offering fuel hunger low spec engine and poor safety features.

Maybe you live in uptown where vios is the cheapest car they buy. For my area, most mod are Saga, Viva and Myvi.

Myvi does run fast and think they are Lambo, and you will see Saga full throttle trying hard to follow, can’t brake in time and do the kissing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 39
          • fanofthisite on Dec 06, 2014 at 10:02 pm

bising aje . nothing else to contribute

• teamsleepnine on Mar 12, 2014 at 10:48 pm

well,even if i have the money…i will go for carrera gt or may an f40 stripped down…raw sheer power…no tractions…no abs….damm horny yo!!!!!

and you know jack shit about “fun” cars!
          proper enthusiast can tolerate comfort and yes..safety(men use balls to think sometime,same applies to petrol head).

• Sam is Dumb on Mar 23, 2014 at 4:55 am

Any car can crash . It depends how you drive .. or how you tune your car to perform better.
          Car brand doesn’t matter
          Either your just a road hogger or an ass.
          Talk when you own a BMW. Your just bashing on malaysian made car.
          Toyota no modify sports car? then what is the 500HP vios? you just suck at driving thats all there is to it

• You think I am so free reading it? I just scroll down so many times wanting to comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 45
        • samoron on Mar 12, 2014 at 10:03 am

Commenting without even bother to read first?? Bro, that’s utter stupidity.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
          • Read a liability is even more stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
          • samoron on Mar 12, 2014 at 12:25 pm

At least people with brain read and know more about its liability (if it is a liability)and become wiser. That is million times better than being dogmatic forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
          • Yes but not for a company that has been a liability for close to 3 decades.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
    • Maseratti on Mar 11, 2014 at 9:57 pm

long report for no RV car. Ask my boss Sam to give you a vios TRD to smoke this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 78
      • Maseratits on Mar 12, 2014 at 1:41 am

And you actually read it to the end. Such a dedicated basher/RV naysayer, you are!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • teamsleepnine on Mar 12, 2014 at 10:50 pm

for someone who’s nickname “maseratti” it’s funny that you talk rv.

it’s maserati btw!

• Wow that butt is hideous even with those sporty kit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 32
    • pirlo on Mar 11, 2014 at 11:18 pm

ioma, kenapa lah kau ni busuk hati sangat dengan proton? tak faham aku. rasanya proton tak pernah kacau periuk nasi umw/toyota. toyota lagi power daripada proton. semua dah tahu. okay?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
    • All race cars are ‘low sales cars’?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Cap amoi on Mar 12, 2014 at 1:28 am

ioma=amoi=p2 salesgirl/man?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • OMG…nice look from the front, but the rear look like sxxt…puihhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Aniq Affandi on Apr 02, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Kalau itulah pandangan anda terhadap buatan negara kita yang dikatakan lebih baik daripada produk sebelumnya, sorry la bro. You are beyond help.

• I am seeing quite a few of Suprimas on the road nowadays. The more you look at one, the better it looks. The rear end looks disproportionate at first but with familiarity, it actually looks acceptable.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 7
    • Proton’s design is quite unique. Most other carmaker’s design looks so good at first, but then gets boring over time. Preve/Suprima design looks ‘meh’ at first but you’ll love it more, the more you see it. I guess the ‘timeless’ design cues works quite well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 19
      • gOOsh on Mar 13, 2014 at 3:24 pm

yeah bro… I’ve to admit that this car has a look…

• anno1110 on Apr 07, 2014 at 7:35 pm

i do agree.. i like to think that they design the car for the long-time owner who uses the car after the loans are finished..

• Infernis on Mar 11, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Thrilled to read about the R3 division. I’m looking forward to the upcoming GSC. Hopefully, it’ll reinvigorate Proton and provide additional revenue streams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 37
  • Ahmad on Mar 11, 2014 at 9:07 pm

You are one lucky fella. I consider myself lucky too, as during my days with HCOC, I managed to hitch a ride with HCOC’s MMER entrant, an oversteering EG6 ( original blue plate EG6 ). I really wish you guys can coax more about the silver Satria Neo ( I strongly believe the silver Neo is a culmination from what they learned from the ultra – limited custom ordered 20 uits of Satria Neo Clubsport ( yes, I drove the one parked at Lamborghini KL when Lamborghini KL was still based at Sunway courtesy of Ron Lim, Marcus Chye and Hisham Jahudi ) and I own one, a sekon – han 2007 CamPro manual GB. Yes, the stock chassis + stock dampers + stock springs is a fun car to drive in terms of handling. Can’t wait to see the Suprima S R3 version. Please R3, please Tengku Djan, make it a really propper full – on R3 version, not just a wheels / tires / lowering springs / bodykit version please.

Oh ya, I wrote this years ago days after I driven the Satria Neo Clubsport http://myneoclubsport.wordpress.com/about/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
  • teamsleepnine on Mar 11, 2014 at 9:17 pm

anymore details and picture of the r3 satria neo pictured?

• cobra on Mar 11, 2014 at 10:02 pm

The Suprima looks nice and sporty. But can anyone tell me why is this car not selling well ?

• Drive one to feel it yourself. The fc, the electronics. Oh ya …dont forget to test the powet window.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 53
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 1:16 am

Not all people like car without big butt aka hatch in bolehland..I’m included..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Generally, Malaysians prefer sedans than hatchbacks. I guess that’s why. Not surprising because Proton themselves said “hurr durr it’s a hatchback, we don’t expect much domestic sales”

• Norman on Mar 11, 2014 at 10:12 pm

For a non aspirated 1.6 powerplant that
    produce 178hp@7000rpm and 224nm@4000rpm its astonishing..Probably those cps powered road cars like Exora & Neo should just retuned to an acceptable 140hp@6500rpm/170nm@4500rpm to boost sales..Preve Iafm should just use
    cps engine..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Jason on Mar 11, 2014 at 11:31 pm

I agree. Preve executive should use the cps engine instead of the iafm.

• ruffstuff on Mar 12, 2014 at 6:54 am

CPS is not euro 4/5 compliant.

• farghmee on Mar 12, 2014 at 8:47 am

tp kn bro, byk jek kete MY ni yg xlepas Euro4/5.

nape ble jual lg?

if u know what i mean.

• Malaysia tak pakai emissions tax. Dkt negara2 Eropah pakai. Euro4 dgn Euro5 boleh jdi besar beza tax kena byr tu

• Samad Jain on Mar 11, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Quite impressive write-up for the tuned car.

But, we still cannot deny that the real deal and focus is producing cars for consumers, the public.
    Good quality cars with attractive pricing.

Remember that, it is pointless that even the R3 wins 10 championship worldwide, but NO USE if the cars cannot sell, fail to attract buyers and lose money by Proton at the end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • pirlo on Mar 11, 2014 at 11:51 pm

that is what subaru facing before. they used to be a king of rally scene with their impreza, head to head with evo, citroen. but for mass production sales, not that remarkable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • heel-and-toe on Mar 12, 2014 at 12:33 am

Lucky newbie, huh? That finally wraps up your “induction phase” at Paultan I guess.
    Kind of jealous of you for being able to board along talented R3 kids.
    Hopefully the tested half-cage would finally offered to public. Gonna install it in my Neo R3.

• Only for the under achievers.dream big but nothing.that is what proton existed for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 21
  • Jason on Mar 12, 2014 at 3:07 am

Ahhh… Am I to late for popcorn?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • I don’t see any logic to prove/tune normal road car for high power. Proton need numbers, volume to make money. Please be rational how many will go for sport car? It more appropriate for Proton to prove that their car is reliable, good after sales service, as well as their sales outlet. Listen and take action on customers voice. The most important let the car comparable with established brand not load with so many gadget but it only for counting. Proton should set the future direction and communicate to all stakeholders. Remember stay away with political theory if you targeting export market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Motorhead (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 8:24 am

So?? Wasted few minutes of my life time reading this.. so what data we learn from this Suprima? Sprint time? Max speed? Best lap time?.. totally suck & rubbish. No nothing. Conclusions? Also none.. puiihh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
    • pirlo on Mar 12, 2014 at 9:35 am

dah tahu wasted time, buat apa luangkan masa untuk membaca pasal proton, siap beri komen lagi? bukan engkau pangkah proton cukup-cukup ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • The Suprima laps under 2:40. That’s faster than most BMW M3. That’s a cheap C-segment beating a purpose-built premium luxury sportscar.

That’s what I see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
      • Motorhead (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Haha.. you are comparing heavily modified car that cannot sell with a standard car issit? Belajar sampai mana? Ada guna otak betul2 tak? But at least thx for the info on lap time. Yes mmg pangkah proton.. but I like some facts & figures in everything I read.. the fact that P1 asked 3 bill for R&D for instance, remember?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • pirlo on Mar 12, 2014 at 5:06 pm

this car is 1.6 N/A. yes, a modified one. but BMW M3, what is the engine displacement? what is the engine power & torque? plus, tuned by more reputable tuner, M. not the standard BMW 3-series.
          the story about 3-billion was misunderstood by the star. MIDA has actually offered to all eligible R&D based in Malaysia a scheme for research grant. that is what Proton asked for, not a specific 3-billion. that happened before DRB take over.

kalau pangkah proton, tak payah komen yang tidak membina. metafora dia seperti, penyokong BN menyemak di page PR, dan sebaliknya.

tak faham.

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 5:26 pm

What grant is anyway? Not taxpayers money?.. come on lah kalau nak jilat buntut pon.. & please keep politics out of this.. it ll become worst.. BMW M.. tune yes.. but it’s a road legal car without any further modifications… it sells.. not this Suprima.. & please la give me good reasons to give comments membina for a company that making lost.. & need NAP to keep it alive? Please be my guest… list down some good reasons. . Share with us. We want to see.. before you do.. don’t forget we ve Perodua. So watch it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • budak baru on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:31 pm

ioma, aku rasa, apa yg pirlo maksudkan ialah, not apple to apple comparison between BMW M-series and this suprima racing prep. ambil contoh 2013 BMW M3 coupe: enjin V8 4.0L. logik akal, tak mungkin 4cyl sesaran 1.6L boleh beat V8 4.0L output. maksudnya, standard M3 pun memang tak boleh beat on paper dengan mana-mana even 2.0L N/A yang heavily modified. nak compare suprima 1.6L heavily modified ni mungkin dengan other 2.0L like civic ke baru ok.

• pirlo on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:44 pm

read this thing out: http://mygov.malaysia.gov.my/EN/Relevant%20Topics/IndustryInMalaysia/Business/ICT/ICTGrant/Pages/ICTGrant.aspx

i don’t jilat bontot proton anyway. i don’t have anything to do with proton, neither my family nor my friends. i don’t use proton cars. i respond to your feedback because you said, you are wasting your time by reading this post. so, why are you bother to comment here? that makes me curious.
            the ‘komen membina’ that i meant was not about ‘wah proton is the best in the world, proton is number 1 in malaysia etc’. the ‘komen membina’ referring to facts and figures, without blindly bashing.
            what the writer wrote above was just his experiences sitting in suprima at sic. a ferry ride i would say. that’s why no best lap time recorded, sprint time.
            yeah. i know you like perodua. everyone knows you love your new myvi and considering to buy new alza. we know that.

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 10:44 am

What is wrong bashing? What is any significant of this Suprima R3? Why wasting time & money when making lost? What with the whooa.. huyoo factors when ask for taxpayers money for R&D? What’s is wrong with Proton? When P2 is also a National car?.. well ley me tell you in the face.. It is because P1 syok sendiri, fail to understand the market & fail to respond with bashing like mine & others. You & proton should be grateful we bash. . & will keep bashing until they improve or bungkus terus.. either way fine to me.. yes.. I ve two myvi & a Vios.. & now Im eying on XV or ASX.. thx to poton.. I may ve to fork out 20-30k just for taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • Of course including those heavily modded ones. Ever been to races in Sepang dude?

sure, this thing is not road legal but remember, this Suprima is *currently* powered by a 155hp IAFM with STRICT tuning regulations. A similar but road legal track prepped Suprima with tuned CFE would be surely faster.

It’s funny how you quickly made conclusions and suddenly melenting lol

• Sam is Dumb on Mar 23, 2014 at 5:00 am

BMW tune road legal car.. the parts are most are same as those tuner parts. if proton has the same tech even proton can put v8 engine into their car.
          BMW without further modificatioNs? their parts are already modified from extensive research and development.Go and look the m3 engine before you run your mouth.

• Herman Tino on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:10 am

ntah! Motorhead, lain kali klu nampak je post pasal Proton, terus shut ko punya PC/Laptop/MAC or whatever..pastu lari keliling rumah, kendian tekup muka ko dgn bantal…k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Vios and Altis are crappy car, Proton in term of performance and handling are waaay ahead. Dont forget as well about full safety package from Proton as Standard. Proton move step forward does not compromise with safety, while Vios or Altis sold to Malaysian with cripple and downsized specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 20
  • Albert Lee on Mar 12, 2014 at 9:01 am

I think we Malaysians are FED UP with all these CRAP from PROTON.
    The masses do not need this R3.Only Car Rempits will go for this R3.
    After losing RM105 Juta last quarter,Proton is still in Slumberland.Datuk LUkman who launched this car has already sacked himself.
    In the coming 6 months,you will see PROTON BLEEDING more red ink.
    Proton is still in VVICU( VERY VERY INTENSIVE CARE UNIT)and on critical life support from MMC.
    Once financial life support is removed,Proton will be like an abandoned infant thrown into the garbage bin by an irresponsible parent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 40
  • axel_stig (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 9:04 am

until some 1 other than R3 win this series, your argument is invalid.

• AnonHead on Mar 12, 2014 at 10:28 am

whose argument invalid? Jonathan Lee’s???

• Same Lor on Mar 12, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Some 1 doesn’t even bother to join the R3. Dare the Proton to join international races.

Typical Proton 4S (Sendiri cakap, Sendiri syok, Sentiasa rosak, Sales carnival).

• axel_stig (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Hmmm, perhaps much reading n google needed by u to support your assumption

• theanswer on Mar 12, 2014 at 9:06 am

any numbers on 0-100 time and top speed? tq. 224nm is quite high for 1.6 na. imagine if they can sell this type of engine..definitely a true R3 (like typre r)..not just cosmetics.

• I dont think its possible for a 1.6 n/a to put our 224nm at such low rpm. It maybe that the torque figure quoted 165 originally was to be in NM rather then lb/ft. If its 165Nm, its more likely then 165lb/ft which equates to 224Nm.

Not because its a proton meaning I dont believe it, but to date, I have not seen a N/A car that can put out 140Nm per liter and especially at that given rpm.

• I would also like to add that the picture of the engine clearly shows its a single throttle body. It shows that this engine is not even extremely modified.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 12, 2014 at 10:08 am

Good write up Jon.

So, when are you going to loose your Sepang cherry. Being driven around is one thing, driving one yourself (even your own car) is another experience worth exploring.

I used to frequent Sepang when they were still affordable. But Sepang itself tends to favour cars with a lot more power and quicker, so normal cars tend to feel a little boring. But that said, nothing is more exhilarating than balancing a car at the edge of its limits, and you can do it in relative safety at a track like Sepang.

Nothing improves the brand more than the arena of racing. The question is, will proton learn from its R3 divisions’ motorsports experience in designing better cars.

While these racing cars are heavily modified versions of the originals, much can be learnt from racing, especially powerplant longevity and suspension geometry.

• sgdude (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 10:51 am

Nice ride, the price anyone?

• izack04 on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:02 am

Interesting write up…. well, i do jelous on your opportunity to get on board with a car that modded to the such extent of high standard motorsport. I do myself encounter many laps in sepang and through my experience HP will not come as first priority. The main subject will go for handling in corners, late braking, race line, entry and exit of corner, engine setup, what ratio to use, body strengthing, weight distribution, tyre compound and many more from list of upgrades. Some cars may have lower HP but perform better on corner. This is not a drag race. Track racing are combination of many aspect of tech and information. HP will help you in straight line but brake and chasis will be the core in corners. Having both are the best in tracks.

• james on Mar 12, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Wow good comment too, but I am not a proton fans ever since my first Wira with absorber problem brought to their service center the SA claimed is normal where the oil is leaking I given up hope with this brand. They could be better if are leaded by pro and not what they are now or before, is not making us proud because a lot of protection are put in and after so long still not performing and keep asking for funding which eventually selling the car that are more expensive than competitors. Vios / City without tax is 20k cheaper if it wasn’t becoz of proton we could have gotten more affordable cars. One phrase from an article “fortune only favor those brave and prepared minds” clearly proton don’t fit in. They should revamp the organization and make an immediate improvement result to show the public without the help or protection of the government if they dare but I bet they have no balls. I MEAN REAL REPORT and please don’t come up with massage reports to pull things thru and later become like MAS – losing billions even with good sales of cars. Reduce entertainment, golf,streamline the R & D make models that can compete globally and not just small part of the world. Don’t think small, think BIG but watch your budget too. Don’t over spend and later ask for tax payer money to pay your debts and sell expensive car to your tax payers!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • What is your point despite blaming here and there?

MH370 – suddenly everybody becomes expert.

• Denaihati on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:54 am

All the best Proton R3 Suprima S for Malaysian Super Series 2014.

• BLT Club on Mar 12, 2014 at 1:09 pm

From experience, I concur with Johnathan’s observation on the width of Sepang. It is surprising!

• Bomoh VIP on Mar 12, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Kalau berani Proton hantar lah sebijik kat Australian V8 Supercar Challenge.

Eh sorry, enjin Petronas pun masih dalam bilik stor. Aduiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
    • what’s your point actually?

• radicalll on Mar 12, 2014 at 10:22 pm

eh wait, V8 challenge? kalau ada engine V8 boleh la masuk challenge tu. ini kan nk compare 4cyl against 8cyl ? how can la brader.

engine petronas duduk dalam bilik R&D bro. kalau nk ckp stor tu R&D lah kan.

but yeah i dont get your point.

• teamsleepnine on Mar 12, 2014 at 10:57 pm

i understand that you trying to dare proton buy dropping “overseas” racing series(aussie v8 is domestic not international series”)
      well…proton don’t have v8 engine to begin with.

and maybe if you dare proton to compete in wtcc or btcc or wrc…you sound like a knowledgeable basher.

• pirlo on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:22 pm

i doubt he knows the meaning of V8 term. no need to explain further about wtcc, btcc or wrc.

• xflow on Mar 12, 2014 at 2:27 pm

called yourself a motor journalist but you don’t even know about our own MSS…what a shame

• fasszz on Mar 12, 2014 at 3:37 pm

to all proton bashers..you are just stupid…

proton is now improving a lot….

handling wise…it is better than toyota…you are all have been brainwashed by toyota/honda…

in fact…proton now offers better safety features…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
    • Motorhead (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 11:09 am

You must dreaming in wonderland.. just met some proton guy.. your own ppl.. Unfortunately. . Even from his mouth I didn’t hear anything good to share here.. you would say I blindly bash? Who’s stupid? You?

• benchot on Mar 12, 2014 at 3:37 pm

gov tolong pun talak boleh jual…boleh land..kalau ini semua keleta nasional tala, kita olang boleh beli itu vios mulah wor…ada lagi duit mau makan nasi lemak ayam..siklang beli ini sampah pun takda duit mau minum teh ais..lagi keleta rosak saja..boleh land majnu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • the engine in pic looks more like CPS..
    sure its IAFM not CPS?

see the rocker cover and plug coil cable.

• protonkoman on Mar 12, 2014 at 6:07 pm

No money go buy proton.. Give FREE also i dont want.. Shame to drive plotong.. AGAIN, NO MONEY GO BUY PLOTONG LORRR… No talk talk :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
  • protonkoman on Mar 12, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Orang tak ada duit saja beli plotong… Syok sendiri..plotong fans,pegi main jauh jauh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • I appreciate proton progress with their latest new model like Suprima and Preve, most important Proton appreciate Malaysian live with full safety package unlike Japanese cars that come with downsized specs and just equipped with 2 airbags for Malaysians.

• Lemer on Mar 14, 2014 at 2:35 am

The last few years, Proton made cars better than Japanese made cars.

• semadinadai on Mar 26, 2014 at 6:41 pm

go build ur own car lah…talk2 rubbish never end…keyboard warrior lebih2…tuuiii

• Keong on Jun 18, 2014 at 11:40 am

So many proton hardcore fans here….
    If…proton is that good…!
    Why need mahathir???

Proton car….Double signal rosak on side road possibility is higher than Perodua and Toyota…!