2014 Honda City – Malaysian spec sheet leaked online

2014-honda-city-thai-top3q-rear3q

While we wait for the market launch of the 2014 Honda City, what appears to be the full spec sheet of our Malaysian models have appeared on a local web forum. This provides us with an early look at how the different variants will shape up. So let’s take closer look, shall we?

As confirmed earlier, there will four grades on offer – S, S+, E and V (one up from the outgoing model’s S, E and E+ variants). There’s a much wider spread in the equipment list than before, which, according to Honda Malaysia, will be reflected accordingly by the new prices.

The range-topping City Grade V looks very impressive indeed, equipped with an upsized 16-inch wheels, Smart Entry keyless system, touch-screen automatic air-con, rear vents, leather-covered steering wheel and gearknob, cruise control, seven-inch touch-sensitive head-unit and an eight-speaker audio system.

Click to enlarge.

The list goes on, to include the blue illuminated instrument cluster and HDMI input (for HondaLink), with six airbags and Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA) rounding up the safety front. How this variant will be priced remains to be seen, but it will certainly be the best-equipped Japanese B-segment sedan when it goes on sale.

Move a step down and you’ll have the Grade E, which used to be the City’s flagship model here. Compared to the new range-topper, this one trades in the V’s platinum-effect grille for a chrome-finished unit. Other visual giveaways are the deleted foglights and a smaller set of 15-inch wheels.

Fortunately, it keeps the V’s wing mirrow-mounted turning indicators, chrome door handles, and Smart Entry system. Inside, the touch-sensitive display and climate control are replaced by an Audio CD player and manual air-con, but Bluetooth connectivity and dedicated rear air-con vents remain.

Airbag count for the Grade E and below is set at two, and unlike in Thailand where it is standard across the range, VSA is limited to the E and V variants only. Still, the spec sheet claims a full five star ASEAN NCAP safety rating for all 2014 Honda City models.

2014_Honda_City_Malaysia_ 032

The base S and S+ variants look to be bare basic models to fight the bottom range of the Toyota Vios and Nissan Almera. The Grade S, especially, will look rather different than the rest with its silver grille, pole-type antenna (the others get a BMW-like fin) and, get this, steel wheels with covers.

Inside, the S and S+ will be identical to each other, with urethane steering wheel (with no audio controls) and a simpler amber meter cluster. Also removed are the Bluetooth link, armrests (both front and back), rear air-con vents and split-folding rear seats. Rather basic, then, but hopefully they will be cheap.

Study the table close enough, and you’ll notice that there are a few missing links. The seat upholstery is fabric, even on the top-spec Grade V, steering-mounted paddle shifters – which are present on the Thai cars we reviewed last week – have been omitted altogether (apparently current City owners hardly ever use them) and yes, the City now uses rear drum brakes.

Click on the spec sheet image above to study the model differences in more detail. As it didn’t come from an official source, though, there may be discrepancies to the final products, which will be revealed soon. An ad on our sister car classifieds site oto.my claims a price range of between RM74k to RM89k. Stay tuned for more details.

2014 Honda City Grade E

2014 Honda City Grade S+
Thai-spec 2014 Honda City

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Tumbi on Mar 12, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Going to sell my polo sedan and get this new city

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 12
    • Pinky on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Those rims are so pretty that it looks like the all new toyota vios!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 44
      • Obama on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:14 pm

if top range spec for $89k? really attractive price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
      • Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:29 pm

City S targetting potential buyers of Almera/Vios J/ Attrage//Rio/Mazda 2/Peugeot 207/Swift/Sonic/Preve
        City V targetting potential buyers of Vios G/Polos/Elantra/Cerato/Peugeot 208/Suprima S/Inspira

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
        • Malaysians Cheated Again and Again on Mar 13, 2014 at 5:58 pm

This car is so much cheaper in Thailand and yet it comes with VSC and 6 airbags as standard.

Why is nobody asking when will Malaysia truly ratify and honour the AFTA agreement? For years, we keep running away from it. AFTA says that all ASEAN countries must have tax free. By right, this car should be sold at RM60,000 for the high spec. But here, it jumps to RM90,000.

Malaysians must stop buying Honda in protest. Make a stand. Show them how disgusting it is that we Malaysians have been cheated the past 30 years with high car prices!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
      • driver on Mar 12, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Inferior specs compared with Thai’s. why? because Thais are smarter to demand a better equipped cars. And yes, their policies do play a big role as well.

Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • vincent on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:03 pm

going to cancel my preve booking and get this new City.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 11
      • Albert Lee on Mar 12, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Whoever has booked Preve or Suprima,better get back your refunds and channel them to book City or Vios.
        Not only you get better resale values,the Japanese cars will save you time and give you driving comfort and less headache.
        My taxi friend just drove his newly bought Persona and has to send it back to the big Proton workshop at Menjalara due to a sensor malfunction which cannot be fixed by the smaller Proton workshops.He said some of those destined for taxis are from a big shipment rejected by Indonesia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 12
        • magpie on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:25 pm

Yup, I get yur point. Honda city are more suited for taxi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 22
        • city the new trend setter on Mar 13, 2014 at 2:23 am

dielah vios. this city have killed third world vios flat out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 12, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Selling Polo Sedan to get City…? Butt itchy of the latter, or headache from the former…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • Keris Jawa on Mar 12, 2014 at 8:58 pm

From bad to worse ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • Tumbuh Anu on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:07 pm

Bullshit, coming from a name like “Tumbi”. What a load of crap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • The price would be expensive then vios i guess? but nevermind its a Honda people will said right? zzzz
    the price might be below baseline Cerato

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
  • Looks like Proton Preve but selling for extra RM20,000 more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 98
    • asrul on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:00 pm

where got same? Preve got lots of extra features which City dont have:

1) W2V (Weekly Workshop Visit)
      2) BFS (Breakdown Faster than Superman)
      3) P2W (Problematic Power Window)
      4) BRV (Bizarre Resale Value)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 172 Thumb down 26
      • Albert Lee on Mar 12, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Your Excellency En.Asrul,you forgot The FIFTH FEATURE, that is……
        5)DFLM (Drink Fuel Like Mad).
        Protong,nobody wants you to fail but you chose to GO DOWN THE ROAD of oblivion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
    • Looks like Proton? can you see the big high end H logo?

• Windows Rosak on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:57 pm

Saya hairan, how do u differentiate between a monkey and giraffe? Preve and City are NOT the same. Not in same class either.

• yup! From side, look like preve.

• Same Lor on Mar 12, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Keep it up! The city is hot. With good RV also.

With this car, the car make you hot, with the J class Proton, you only hot sendiri in the car (syok sendiri).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • ruffstuff on Mar 12, 2014 at 3:43 pm

ASEAN Ncap 5 star. 2-4-6 airbags doesnt matter. All 5 star Asean NCAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • kyrill on Mar 12, 2014 at 5:22 pm

I may be wrong but can one get 5 stars with 2 airbags?

• 2 airbags and a 5 star rating? Shows what a JOKE the ASEAN ncap is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • John Loh on Mar 12, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Numbers of airbags doesn’t matter. All come down with the attitude of the driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • farghmee on Mar 12, 2014 at 3:44 pm

VSA bagi all range lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Not easy..rumors flying Honda delay the launching tomorrow due to some pressure from some Gov body.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Will the manual transmission variant be coming?

• AVH (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 3:52 pm

when the third gen City was launched it was also the best speced B-segment car, and it remained competitive until the last two years where the emergence of Kia’s Rio and Peugeout 208 put alot of heat at Honda. Now Honda is back and personally the latest iteration of the top spec City shows that Honda is very serious at regaining its crown.

The Top spec V is able to out-spec and out-size the Koreans and Euro counterparts and for a Japanese car this is a truly something. What was once the base S-spec(now E) is no slouch either, coming in VSA[suprisingly, only half of the B-segment on sale have VSA/ESC] and two aiirbags while having niceties like rear seat vents. But now it has 2 new base S/S+ spec, both going below RM80k and head on against the Almera and Vios J. Spec wise, theres nothing to shout abot, if not for the space, theres always the Fiesta and Rio which is still the undisputed spec conquerors at this price range.

Overall. If viewed as a whole, the City spec isn’t much to shout out given u still can’t VSA for the base spec. But when viewed from the previoys generation standpoint as the City has always been a RM80k+ car and now it has two shitty brothers to take care, than yes, this City is definitely a worthy succesor.

(very Personal opinion) Dat CVT thou and rear drums

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • Jayden Koo on Mar 13, 2014 at 11:37 am

The best spec B segment was Fiesta, just before the arrival of Kia Rio and Peugeot 208.

• chee siang on Mar 12, 2014 at 3:57 pm

just wanna to find out does E come with the paddle shift?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:00 pm

None of the variants will get paddle shifts here, unfortunately.

• arzlie amir on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Will g to Thailand to install Paddle Shift Steering

• Toyota Fan on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:49 pm

This would give Toyota some B-Segment competition. Btw, UMW will be launching Camry-S (Smoked). Price up RM1k from V spec.

Choc. coloured seats, dark dash and smoked lamps.

Target market, the younger generation.

• Minah on Mar 12, 2014 at 5:22 pm

young gen drive civic, cerato, focus, fiesta, rio, elantra, inspira, mazda 3, mazda 6 etc etc etc…

which young gen buy a Camry?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
        • UMW up to their usual tricks agmain. Simply change the colours and charging extras for it. Funnily, there will still be people buying it thinking it as a more premium variant of the Camry (S>V).
          Anyway, hopefully the City can provide more choices in the B-segment. The Vios looked good at first but now it just looks, uh, ungainly.

• + LED Head Lamps, Tail lights, Side Mirror/Directional lights
    + Leather Seats (8 way power for driver and passenger with memory function), leather trims on door and arm rest
    + Reverse Camera

= RM99k Perfect Car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
  • Guan Yin Ma (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Coool. CITI on the way ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

• RIP vios and polo sedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • mazda on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:09 pm

walau with auto cruise I loving it!

• No leather seat even in V spec ?

• hareen on Mar 12, 2014 at 8:35 pm

nice to have leather seats, but after i myaelf being the owner of 2 cars with leather seats, i wish my next car is not having leather seats, considering our Malaysian weather.

go into car during lunch hour, “bottom eggs” are cooked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • razakoss on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:13 pm

no paddle shift.. no rear disc brake, only highest variant gets 6 air bags and fog light..

sigh.. boooo honda booooooo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
  • tis new 1,sure better sales volume than the current 1.honda city good resale value.5years old city,still can sell rm63000k.
    90k-63k=27k
    just losing average rm5400 per year
    rm14.80 per day.come on guys,tats just 1 starbuck coffee per day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • They have down grade break system. Only front would had break caliper. Rear without. Shit breaking system by honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • The rock on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:26 pm

No regret for buying Kia Cerato 1.6 after seeing this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 11
    • Bryan Lee on Mar 28, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Different segment la bro! Cerato is in segment C while City is in segment B

• SpongeWai on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:27 pm

why dun have fog lamp on Grade E??!

• Pls price nicely ya honda…else u will lose sale again to the vios.

• LOL people, are you sure this junk from honda better than Vios? i dont think so~~!My new vios is better, more luxury interior, with stitching on my dashboard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 64
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Well if you want to play that card, the Thai-spec City has fake stitching on its dashboard too, on the padded soft-touch panel above the glovebox. Here you go:
      http://paultan.org/2014/03/05/driven-2014-honda-city-vtec-previewed-phuket/2014_honda_city_preview_thailand_-087/

Cheers :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • BOYRACER on Mar 12, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Stitching on the dashboard?Are you sure?It is real stitching or look like stitching?

• Toyota Fan on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:50 pm

This would give Toyota some B-Segment competition. Btw, UMW will be launching Camry-S (Smoked). Price up RM1k from V spec.

Choc. coloured seats, dark dash and smoked lamps.

Target market, the younger generation.

Launch date : 18th March 2014

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Wilson on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:57 pm

will this car gets paddles shifters? not mentioned anywhere in the article or other articles. Spec wise this car is quite good btw(as in V spec)cant wait for the launch. :)

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Nope, no paddle shifters.

I’ve added a new paragraph (second from last) to point this out, plus a few other omissions.

• JeremyNg on Mar 12, 2014 at 4:59 pm

My fren told me that this sunday they will launch this car ! she work as hire purchase sales executive so i think the info will be quite reliable

• Aceonz on Mar 12, 2014 at 5:03 pm

NO paddle shifts ?! bye bye honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Did paddle shift comes more important than VSC and 6 airbags?? But still u cant find none of them in Vios, so byebye Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • No no..its welcome preve… paddle shift + turbo + leather seats+ rear disc brakes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
        • Windows Rosak on Mar 13, 2014 at 12:08 am

No wonder I see a lot of preve masuk worksyop. The drivers are trying so hard pretending their preve is among the best car in the world. Sorry mate, better luck next time.

• Denaihati on Mar 12, 2014 at 5:52 pm

might be launching date is very close now. with six airbags and other good features, it seems worth it for V grade.

• Aston on Mar 12, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Does not comes with GPS and reverse camera?

• Alanevox on Mar 12, 2014 at 6:39 pm

The V spec will come with reverse camera??

• NISSpengAN on Mar 12, 2014 at 6:46 pm

No regret to have my mighty Nissan Almera after seeing the latest siti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
  • still looks like previous model,not much changes to shout about.Hope the ride and handling got improvement,cuz the old one had a punchy engine but could not tackle corners

Nowadays its all about what technological mumbo jumbo a car has rather than the way it drives.

Funny thing is even with all the added safety features ,accidents and death tolls are increasing

• razakoss on Mar 12, 2014 at 9:42 pm

cant tackle corner? or u noob is ir? please dont comment if you dont.know how to drive.

• Why u butt hurt with my comment is it?maybe ur driving a city,dats why u have taken offence.

Very simple,u can drive a Jazz and City which are using the same platform.The Jazz handles far better.A sharp turn at high speed in a Honda city can easily throw u off course

And this is a public space,I am entitled to state my opinion.U dun like it then u dun have to read it

• As review of paultan, this car is not design to tacle corner, but spacious and little bit better handling than vios.

Wan good handling car? Get the fiesta or swift sporn

• Hondafan on Mar 12, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Anyone know top spec got auto cruise or not?

• Got auto cruise..shud be bcoz the teaser spec did show autocruise icon..

• Hondafan on Mar 13, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Oic. Rasa rugi lak bli accord. Coz main point got auto cruise and rear vent aircond. Auto cruise really help

• personally i dun really mind RV so i think cerato 1.6 will be a better choice :D

• bluebird on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:02 pm

I have a 2009 Honda City, if I sell now , I get maybe RM45000-50000, I still owe bank RM28800 (RM1200x12x2)
    I get back 45000-28800 = 16200
    If I get new Honda City say RM88000, say I pay RM16200 as downpayment,
    I still need to borrow RM71800 from bank.
    I will be slave to bank for another 7-9 years.
    Is it standard practice for Malaysians?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Some people say 2009 city 2nd value drop d bcoz honda gave a lot of discount for past few months..like 7k..making the 2nd hand car market value to drop…but mayb after new honda city launched it will be up again…not sure..anyways..the old one got paddle shifters n rear disk brakes with nice sport rims..not forgetting my fav color..electric blue..huhu

• kambinganas on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:31 pm

If you ambik loan that long, then why bother changing your car before selesai your loan? Tentulah rugi macam tu!

• shawal on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:26 pm

V spec…, year end mebe got v+

Price is key….

• battu on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:32 pm

Wow the s spec is damn cheap. Rear air cond vent also not standard? Even fog lamp only reserve to highest spec? What a joke

• Steel wheel surprise on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:53 pm

74k for steel wheel, omg… Even vios J also not doing that already…

• overrated on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:53 pm

woah looking kool, but wait, is still using torsion beam and no full disc brake ? the spec is on-par with my 3 years old 2.0 forte, especially have extra like rear air-cond n econ mode as well! however, why la Honda omits the paddle shifters? if V spec above 95k then no talk dy la…NO auto-wiper& auto levelling headlamp ,hill-start assist,leather seat..

• tats why lor if RV doesnt mean much to u then go for cerato 1.6 lor.. jux a little bit more exp but it is a segment higher and more features ==

• Meltsh on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:05 pm

The new accord has all that…go buy accord. Pay peanuts u get monkeys…if a city has all that and selling at 90k then the accord can keep in Honda museum already lo…

• btw there’s no leather seat zzz.. nid to install it via car accessories shop hahaha.. btw, if it has leather seat and its price is similar to vios G then yeahh sayonara vios.. konichiwa city =3=

• People on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:09 pm

Better persona sv with front & rear disk brake + ABS + 2 SRS air bag +multilink suspension with stabilizer bar at RM45k price tag. Value for money n low monthly installment. The balance rm44k can refuel the persona sv up to 5 years. If talk about breakdown,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • People on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:13 pm

With RM89k, better persona sv with front & rear disk brake + ABS + 2 SRS air bag +multilink suspension with stabilizer bar at RM45k price tag. Value for money n low monthly installment. The balance rm44k can refuel the persona sv up to 5 years or make an investment in ASB or Bursa Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • Terence on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:20 pm

current City owners hardly ever use them ( rear brake ) are you sure? lousy brake system by honda malaysia

• johny on Mar 13, 2014 at 12:18 am

Do you think the CVT will brake down again? prefer the previous one non cvt.

• Desmond Tan on Mar 13, 2014 at 12:20 am

I will buy it and join Teamcity for sure!!!

• johnlhw on Mar 13, 2014 at 12:53 am

what is “audio system : single din” means?
    S+ photo doesn’t looks like single din, or it is S only?

• Honda is always a pleasure to drive. You won’t regret it!

• Toyota fan on Mar 13, 2014 at 9:30 am

UMW is definately feeling the heat. The market isn’t what is used to be, it is getting harder to make good monies.

I mean, the new camry (aka alternative lexus design) is going through very poor sales. They had to beef up the Vios to ensure that it can be acceptable here. Did you know that the Vios spec. that UMW got from Thailand for R&D last year was worst than a Myvi? Goodness gracious!

Lexus IS250 is a nightmare with so many issues. Lexus is not selling more than a handful by month.

Those add-ons by UMW aka bumbers, exhausts, and what not are “chap ayam” not TRD? UWM is licensed to use TRD name only. But this goes the same for others like Mugen, etc. And hey, it is not wind tunnel tested ya….

Btw again, facelift for Innova coming soon. Good job by Indonesia Toyota. The front grill is even bigger, with chrome that can match the Hyundai Starex. What are they thinking?

• Pricelist pls, thinking of changing my wife 13Yrs nissan sentra to this city. But the other day saw the mazda3 on the road by someone who tested the car looks great.

• budlee on Mar 13, 2014 at 10:11 am

according to the aseancap website, a requisite requirement to get a 5 star rating is ESP.

So only the V spec City would get a 5 star rating

• Rouge on Mar 13, 2014 at 10:12 am

Thailand same version got 6 air bags…In boleh land, 2 air bags? % NCAP rating? Bullshit

• Sii Pai Gong on Mar 13, 2014 at 10:22 am

Satria Neo -still the Best !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Question gor Mr.Hafriz
    Does the new city get a rear brake?

Get confused with what u mentioned
    ” steering-mounted paddle shifters – which are present on the Thai cars we reviewed last week – have been omitted altogether (apparently current City owners hardly ever use them) and yes, the City now uses rear drum brakes”

• HAAAA on Mar 13, 2014 at 11:38 am

Question for Mr. Hafriz
    Does the new city have a rear brake?
    I get confused about what u mentioned
    “steering-mounted paddle shifters – which are present on the Thai cars we reviewed last week – have been omitted altogether (apparently current City owners hardly ever use them) and yes, the City now uses rear drum brakes”

• iqbal87 (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 1:15 pm

no, this new city has no rear brake. in fact u need to stop the car using your leg like in the flinstone movie.

• Justthetruth on Mar 13, 2014 at 11:52 am

I bought the new Vios recently without testing (my mistake) and it has problems that are shocking. Lower quality than the previous models, funny sounds on uneven roads, and is a tin can at best. Toyota is cutting cost and is interested in profits. Regret my impatience and not waiting for the City. Thinking seriously of trading in. My trust in Toyota is ZERO!

• Hmm.. we are bounded by our past mistakes.

Your life is all about making decisions and living with it..

• kumar on Mar 13, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Hafriz, is honda service interval still every 5k?. this is gonna be very time consuming and tiring. all the others are at 10k or more.

• As far as i know, the new City will have 10k service intervals based on its latest advertisements and brochure from sales agents.

• rossi on Mar 13, 2014 at 12:20 pm

I am a current 2008 Vios owner, and I am quite keen on this City. I understand alot of people are so sceptical on this CVT, complaining of rubber band feel, souless, engine drone.
    But personally (without testing it yet), I thought it might be a better idea compared to previous 5 speed City. This new CVT has 7 virtual ratios, the official time of 10.2 seconds from 0-100km/h, thats an 0.6 seconds improvement from previous City right?

And 0-100km/h is only part of the story, let me tell you one thing alot of people do not think of or realize in current City 5 speed gear ratio spread, the gear ratios are too widely spread, 2nd gear up to about 105 or 110km/h, 3rd gear up to 160km/h,…the acceleration above 100km/h is very weak in the previous City.

My current Vios (a manual), matches previous City neck and neck up to 100km/h, once above 100km/h, my Vios pulled away quite easily, despite having less horsepower, mainly due to City’s widely spread gear ratios.

So, I believe CVT of 7 virtual ratios is gonna make a huge difference to this City’s acceleration at speed above 100km/h.

• kumar on Mar 13, 2014 at 12:24 pm

justthetruth,

the polo sedan is the same. funny sounds on uneven roads man. and i was thinking of getting the vios. hahaha. my friend’s city makes the sounds as well. are these manufacturer cutting cost like crazy these days. and dont they test the cars on bad roads 1st? not sure what to do now.

• Green on Mar 13, 2014 at 1:31 pm

RM75k for that spec.

I think Toyota Vios J is a better choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • ADRIAN SANI on Mar 13, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Does Malaysian V variant have paddle shift mounted on the steering wheel…I hope it have one…My interest in Honda City are the paddle shift system which assist a lot during down hill where I can drop the gear manually with out applying foot pressure on the gas paddle which can cause more fuel consum…

• Sorry bro malaysian spec doesnt have paddle shift for all variants and no rear disk breaks too… break harder when you go down hill yaa..

• Asrar on Mar 14, 2014 at 10:04 am

Question is, when are they going to put up the actual specs on their website, its irritating to see the same coming soon page

• It’s not online leak I think, because I already got the spec sheet from Honda booth last month. The spec is nice for its level compare to the other car.But i’m waiting to see in showroom and on the road review to know the performance.

• omg… why Honda is not provide projector headlight for this City……….even local car (myvi) is given ……

• when is the official launching of city ???? 15 march ady…. ><"

• ADRIAN SANI on Mar 16, 2014 at 7:10 pm

I went to Queensbay mall Penang last Monday(10 March) as Honda Stated in their webpage.. SADLY there’s preview at stated location.. How can this happened? I was so excited to see my future car… But come home with full disappointment…

• IpohMali on Mar 17, 2014 at 8:20 pm

i’ve been informed my 1 of the manager the delayed was cause by the Custom Department. they rejected Honda application because Honda declared this model using 1496cc engine but the real cc was 1502. huge different with the custom tax. estimated launching by end of this month & 1st batch delivery to buyers by mid April.

• iqbal87 (Member) on Mar 20, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Any info when will be the actual launching date? some SA mention it will be launched tomorrow(21 march 2014). anyone can confirm?

• Hey iqbal, they r launching this weeked.but tomoro im not sure..the price list n specs are out.. ive posted in honda malaysia..check out there…highest spec is rm90800..good deal man..

• Norin on May 06, 2014 at 3:00 pm

I thought of buying a new car. either honda city or polo sedan. can you suggest me which one is better.