Volkswagen Group Malaysia announces plans to improve after-sales and customer satisfaction levels

Volkswagen_Jetta_1.4_TSI_ 006

Volkswagen Group Malaysia held a press briefing earlier today to announce plans to improve after-sales and customer satisfaction levels in the country, in collaboration with its entire authorised dealer network. The briefing did not include the motoring press, but an official statement was issued with regards to the matter.

One of the first steps in this improvement plan is to extend operating hours for service centres – VGM says that beginning from March 16, 2014, a total of 20 authorised Volkswagen service centres in Peninsular Malaysia will now be open on Sundays from 9 am to 5 pm to accommodate maintenance servicing.

service centres

The move is in response to customers’ complaints of needing a lengthy wait in making appointments to service their cars. Now, the company says that owners only need to make an appointment a “few working days” before their desired service on Sundays in order to secure an appointment with their preferred service centre.

“Customer satisfaction is an integral component of Volkswagen Group Malaysia, as it contributes directly to the growth and development of our brand locally. Based on the feedback we have garnered from our customers, we are taking steps to increase the levels of service quality and customer satisfaction in order to meet the needs and expectations of discerning Malaysian drivers,” said VGM MD Christoph Aringer in the statement.

vw-georgetown

The company also announced that it is in the midst of intensifying the professional training programmes for sales as well as after-sales staff throughout its entire dealers and service centre network.

“Whether it’s ensuring that our sales consultants have access to the latest product knowledge and after-sales support in order to engage and address our customers’ needs at the level expected of a leading global brand or equipping our after-sales teams with the skills in order to consistently and accurately diagnose and address technical issues, we at Volkswagen Group Malaysia are committed to continually raising our standards to set the industry benchmark right here in Malaysia for Malaysians,” Aringer added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AVH (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:01 pm

‘the company says that owners only need to make an appointment a few working days before their desired service on Sundays in order to secure an appointment with their preferred service centre.’

Is it normal to make an appointment a few working days before a regular service? I only have experience from Perodua’s, Toyota’s and Honda’s services and all three of them I can just drive into the centres for a service thou no appointment usually means several hours of wait (in my case 5 hours during Saturday, and I arrived at Honda only an hour after they open).

However as always, a clap of hands is done when results are shown, I don’t know anyone directly that has a Volkswagen but I’m sure the forums will attest VGMs claims.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 14
    • BLT Club on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Depends on your car’s make I guess. Makes with a smaller number of service centre (contis for example) would naturally need to serve more cars per service centre, hence the need to book the appointment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • BMW Fanboi (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 1:59 am

Hello bodoh, you can increase your opening hours to 18 hours a day and it will still be the same. What do you want to service centre people to say? “Your DSG is now fixed, you will no longer have issues with it”? Your product is fundamentally flawed. Fix your Drivetrain Selalu Gagal first please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 51
        • BMW Fanboi Bodoh on Mar 13, 2014 at 10:09 am

so you’re so clever la??they are tackling the issue of customers have to wait too long to get an appointment. for sure it will not solve the dsg issue because it’s not the issue here (particularly).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
          • BMW Fanboi (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Please provide your handphone number so that anyone here that wants to book a VW may contact and buy directly through you. Thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
          • German Quality Down the Drain on Mar 13, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Now VW owners don’t know where to hide their face. Last year and earlier, they like to show off. At traffic lights they rev the car looking at you and wanting to race. When light turns green, the VW guy tekan minyak just to show off and overtake you.

Now, tables have turned. Owning a VW is like a joke. Infact, people laugh at the VW owner. Pay RM200,000 for something that breaksdown every other day. Pay BMW or Mercedes prices to wait for the tow truck to come.

Most VW owners now don’t know where to hide their face. From action to showing off, now, if they can wear plastic bag over their head, they will do so.

It is amazing how everyone now knows about the DSG problems and laugh at people spending so much of money to face DSG problems,

The poor Proton owner, however much you kutuk him, at least his car does not breakdown, judder, power loss or get stuck in Karak highway at 2am in the morning.

I used to work in Germany before. Trust me, not all German products are good quality. We Malaysians think everything that comes out of Germany is of high quality. Not true. Germany also makes products that are so low in quality, that our Malaysian products shine in quality. Go and stay in Germany and see for yourself.

There is a supermarket in Germany called Lidl. They have lots of German made products. I got a shock, the quality of products that are so called Made in Germany are so low grade and you want to puke if you eat it.

So, moral of the story is, don’t think everything from Germany is fantastic in quality. Some can even be so bad, even our Proton will beat it flat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 22
      • Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 9:27 am

this is nonsense , the town where i am currently residing there is only 1 authorized service centre for mercedes yet i have no problem sending my car for services without appointment in the morning and able to pick my car up on the evening

• The Truth About DSG on Mar 13, 2014 at 9:59 am

Actually, last year was a very bad year for VW Malaysia. Malaysians all are now Internet savvy and can read comments from previous rumours.

Actual fact, VW cannot sell at all because of the DSG problems and bad service centre. The only sales they make are in malls.

You see, VW is the only car company very aggressive in malls. They know, car enthusiast who are internet savvy will never touch their car. So, they target mall goers, who are mainly non car enthusiast and catch them in the malls.

Then they goreng about the German quality and the prestige of owning a VW. Then the mall goer just falls for it and signs up!

Most car enthusiast on the other hand know about VW Malaysia stinking service, their DSG scandals and also that their cars have zero prestige element. We know, VW is nothing but a common car globally and only in Malaysia that VW tries to put their cars sama taraf as BMW and Mercedes but all over the world, the VW is known as a common people’s car. The VW in Europe has the same prestige and status as Proton in Malaysia.

Most car enthusiast also know that VW only gives 2 years warranty and not 5 years really. The remaining 3 years is Insurance warranty, which 9 out of 10 times, the adjustor will say, “it is not covered sir!”

Only in Malaysia VW is priced in the same league as BMW and Audi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 11
          • VERY WELL SAID on Mar 13, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Very Well Said Bro!!

TO come to think about it, its true passat is compared to accord and camry as they are in the same standard (status ) overseas. !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • Aokok on Mar 13, 2014 at 7:58 pm

So u’re saying internet users are non mall goers? are u retarded?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
          • Chong on Mar 14, 2014 at 11:19 pm

If you think that it is so easy to sell a car at the Mall, try it yourself. Don’t just talk big. People has been standing there for hours and still could not make a sale can be so frustrating and tiring. There are just there to create awareness and not all cars are problematic. Only a minority of it are unhappy with the car albeit service. Tq

• The Truth About DSG on Mar 13, 2014 at 9:56 am

This is nothing but a desperate move by VGM. They know their sales are now so bad because everybody is aware of their DSG scandal. If they are genuine, they will do like what China has done. Give all existing customers 10 years extended warranty by Volkswagen (not insurance.

Actually the DSG rumours are true. This so called service statement is just damage control because sales this year is so so bad. People have already realized that in 2014, the rumours about DSG problems are not just rumours but truth!

Any car, even with 2014 DSG box can only be sold in cold countries. If it is used in hot countries like Malaysia, it will be prone to continuous breakdowns.

This was admitted in May 2013 in black and white by VW AG Germany in a press statement to the world.

There will be fanboys and owners of VW that will come here and say people are only spreading rumours. Well, they did this long ago when people were complaining about DSG issues in 2011. The fanboys came here and said, all those spreading rumours were jealous and got no money, that is why they are jealous.

Then when VW AG came out with the press release in black and white in May 2013, all the VW fanboys shut their mouths. All keep quiet and silent in forums.

Now, the VW fanboys and salesman are back again saying that the DSG issues has been cured and they were 2011 cars and older. But in actual fact, even VW Germany admitted, there is no cure for the faulty DSG. People in hot countries like Malaysia with lots of traffic jam will just have to suffer continuous breakdowns.

China got fed up with VW, they even told VW to give all their existing buyers 10 years warranty. When in Malaysia going to do the same?

Prospective buyers better read facebook comments in VW Malaysia page. Of course again, fanboys have come in and said those are fake facebook accounts. But strangely each of those negative comments come from facebook accounts that have been opened for years with at least 200 friends each. So, how can they be fake?

There is a reason why each service centre takes about 1 month just to make a regular service appointment if you want to service your VW. This is because they are overworked with hundreds of backlog DSG rosak cars. That alone they cannot handle. Everyday more than 100 cars come with DSG problems and all the workshops in Klang Valley cannot handle the complaints. You see Toyota, Honda and Nissan, call today, tomorrow can already service your car.

So to all VW fanboys and owners as well as salesman, instead of coming online and saying people are spreading rumuors, do something for your customers, go ask your HQ to give your customers at least 10 years warranty. Its not all about your sales. Do something for your customers. Because there are tons of customers having non stop DSG breakdowns and sometimes, even lives are lost because when overtaking happens, the DSG suddenly loses power.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
        • Only Use Night car on Mar 13, 2014 at 6:03 pm

All VW cars with DSG cannot be sold in Malaysia totally. Every single car sold is illegal as the DSG box is confirmed by Volkswagen Germany as being unable to handle
          1) hot weather
          2) Asian Traffic jams.

Volkswagen Germany confirmed that the DSG will breakdown non stop in hot countries.

So, how is VW Malaysia selling the DSG here? Why sell us lemons? Just because we got weak consumer laws, are you taking advantage of the people in Malaysia?

Your parent company already confirmed in writing that DSG cannot be driven in hot weather and Asian traffic jams. Does VGM expect us to drive our DSG cars just in the night only?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • caraumun on Jul 04, 2014 at 4:25 am

It really depends over the crowd over the centre.. sometimes.. when there is too much crowd… SC unable to deliver the promise accoridng ly…

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on Mar 12, 2014 at 10:16 pm

My Hyundai service centre no need appointment except during close to festive periods. Just drop in for service anytime and decide to wait or take one of their cars to do your errands like banking, buy 4d etc. Making few days advance reservation is just ridiculous and shows bad or limited service centers. Sincerely, Good luck to VW owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
      • Bro, for vw its not few days in advance…its months in advance!..at least 1 month in advance just to be sure u get a slot!

Nuts…i previously own nissan/honda/hyundai…its soo easy to get a servicing slot…

• leconcierge on Mar 13, 2014 at 12:13 am

I think the whole point of making an appointment is to avoid waiting 5 hours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • the issue, after you have made appointment 5 hour before, you still have to wait for 5 hours. Total 10 hours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Chong Yew on Mar 13, 2014 at 1:21 am

I had to make an appointment nearly a month before to send my car in for a routine service!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • BMW Fanboi (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 2:11 am

Where are all the VW fanboi/salesman that always claim no problem with their product? Always argue that if you have something to say about their faulty DSG, you are either smallboy/ competitor car salesman/ cannot afford to buy the car?

Maybe they are not here because now have to work longer hours.

Go lah. Go and service and replace the same thing over and over again. Rubbish in, rubbish out.

Drivetrain Selalu Gagal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
      • Motorhead (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 10:30 am

Tahniah. Next time do some homework before buy a car. Hopefully you’ll be happy with your new routine… months ahead reservation. Haha..

• Achtung on Mar 13, 2014 at 8:15 am

Volkswagen should compensate the day’s off by owners for lengthy repair or servicing time.

If the VW owner potong gaji per day by employer RM100 per day, then VW pay back the same amount too.

Same thing should apply to other car makers especially Proton that is famous for dragging its buyers’ time and money for endless repairs.

Hopefully Kementerian Pengguna and MITI will impose this rule:
      – For every salary cuts suffered by car owners for repairs, servicing purpose the car firm must repay compensate the equal amount.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 10:35 am

nothing to comment just to say hi! n gud luck with SC.

• Sure boh? improve after sales service. Peugeot says that few years back but still the same. Hope VW keep their words

• Datuk on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Customer satisfaction is no more gearbox problem. Open on sunday but gearbox and other thing also kaput still no use.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 12
    • droll on Mar 13, 2014 at 9:08 am

yup. 5 year warranty also no use when gearbox kong. imagine gearbox kong with wife + in law + baby in car in the middle of north south highway dark stretch at 2am. how???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Annihilated on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:08 pm

It’s about time. It’s good that they acknowledged the issue.
    Last time I decided other brand over VW due to this issue. I believe there are other people who probably think alike.
    Let’s see if they really improve. Hope it’s win-win for VW and the customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Yours Faithfully (YF) on Mar 12, 2014 at 10:20 pm

I decided not to get the CC because of the common comments from the readers here about the DSG gearbox and service center problems. Again, sincerely, good luck to VW Owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • Be Truthful on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:21 pm

Was that a childish statement or you just cant spill enough moolah to own a CC or similar car in the segment?
        Good luck to your future of false claims…man, be truthful instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 57
      • tokUban on Mar 13, 2014 at 9:25 am

Me too… Test driven the CC and fell in love: decided NOT to go for CC after opening VW facebook and noticed lengthy complaints on the very first page.

• Honestly, enough with the DSG. Got a few friends of mine with the Golf MK7 TSI and even a GTi in my company but none has experienced it. Maybe for the MK6 there were problems but don’t think so with the MK7. I could be wrong but to each their own i guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 49
    • Believe me, your friends have sleepless nights. Keep to themselves.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 15
      • BMW Fanboi (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 2:03 am

@awe, his friends don’t sleep at night because that is the only time they can drive around using a VW DSG without it failing. No sun so can become Knight Rider.

All new VW Golf KITT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • Bob_B78 on Mar 13, 2014 at 2:42 am

Dear Awe, I believe ST’ friends really did not encounter any DSG problem. If they do, they will curse VW for several generations and let all the whole world know.
        If my Jetta had DSG problem, i would not hesitate to share my bad experience with frens so that they can avoid problems with VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • carnut on Mar 13, 2014 at 8:59 am

My MK5 gti is coming to 7 years now. Only parts that failed me was the ignition coil pack and a few other wear and tear parts. Nothing major that couldn’t be resolved quickly but the issue was VGM didn’t store enough parts at the time especially the earlier generation ignition coil packs which seemed to failed across both VW and Audi. No problem with my 6 speed DSG and the car is still wonderful to drive. In comparison my friend spent more money fixing his E90 and avoids driving the car outstation in case it breaks down in the middle of no where.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • togey on Jul 12, 2014 at 7:06 pm

yes,dsg has no problem.its 2 type dsg..6 speed and 7 speed..six speed ok but seven speed has problem in mechatronic after replacement it ok..

• Polo owner on Mar 13, 2014 at 8:48 am

Dear ST,
      A survey can be done on the driving style of the drivers of VWs. I’m just curious about what a VW salesman told me. He said the DSG failed because the drivers did not put it into N during stops, but just left it in D. So the gearbox got too hot.
      How true is that?

Personally, I always put my Polo DSG into N whenever I stop, and sometimes even before I stop and let it just roll to a stop to save fuel.

• Agreed. DSG failed will cause by driving style. Not all DSG will fail. Also, for those who know a little bit about DSG failure please do more online research about the failure before giving comment. There are 2 types of DGS which is dry and wet clutch. The failure will happen on the dry clutch but the wet clutch will work without problem. New Golf MK 7 is using the wet type clutch hence problem will be lesser. Those who so bias with DSG make me feel that you are salesman of other brand vehicle and try to push your sales.

In fact, all T brand, H brand, CVT or traditional automatic gearbox will have problem also after 1 year of driving. They will still feel jerk or clog while driving especially CVT. But why no one comment on those gearbox but only keep on mentioning DSG? Seems weird to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
        • PetCar on Mar 13, 2014 at 11:05 am

I agree with your comment about wet and dry clutch. Most problem occurs only at dry clutch but sadly, a lot of keyboard warrior are bashing DSG without even thinking or doing any research. Go to Golf GTi’s article and you can see basher just bash DSG blindly.

• MK7 TSI its still using dry clutch laa… only MK7 GTI is wet clutch.

• Hahahah on Mar 13, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Farny la…. ask ppl do research, youself never do research…. MK7 TSI wet clutch? Thats that every Golf owner is asking for.. but in reality all TSI is 7 Speed Dry Clutch DSG. Hence FAIL!

• Ramjet on Mar 16, 2014 at 8:42 pm

DSG has been failing on the TSI MK 6. Not the GTI so far as I know. I have had all the mk s from 1 to 5. So far all manual only. No issues. Only issue VGM don’t want to bring it in as they say no one wants. But the Renault Megane sells well………sad. I want my mk 7 manual. GTI

• wetdream on Mar 17, 2014 at 7:37 am

wet clutch in your dream laa! Ini salesman ni., coming here to put nice dream to prospective buyer..

H, T brand got issue with gearbox? let me tell you this – total bull! i drive 8th Gen Civic for 7years before changing to new Accord.. never had any jerking issue. after 280,000km.. i trade in my civic.. gearbox still smooth as butter.

there’s a reason why best 2nd hand value car on market today is H brand .. model is civic. no i’m not H fanboi.. , i test drive all VW models.. Golf, Jetta, Passat, CC.. and almost plunge into buying one..! but put off by all those comment here in Paultan , VW fb and other motoring forum..

• Innovator on Apr 15, 2014 at 2:30 am

Wet Dream
            Not only u r immature for shooting off your mouth without checking, you are also wet behind your ears. DSG 6 gears is a wet clutch type you moron. And FYI most continental cars have their own problems, and don’t compare Japanese cars with continental cars, the experience is totally different.

• Windstruck86 on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:06 pm

I have been told the same…so, it is my practice to change to N whenever I stop (where i foresee the stop will be more than 5 secs).

But seriously I always worry when I stuck in bad traffic…I never had this feeling when driving my Toyota or my wife’s Honda.

I even now take taxi + train to go to office…VW just for the weekend.

• Polo owner on Mar 20, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Dear Windstruck86,
          Don’t worry, be happy… literally.
          When we worry, we radiate negative energy. This affects everything around us, including the DSG gearbox. I’ve tried it, and it’s working so far. No problems.

That salesman also told me that the DSG is NOT an auto gearbox, but something similar to a manual gearbox, where you have to put it into neutral or press on the clutch during a stop. I’ve read some articles on Wikipedia, and they say that the DSG is a semi-automatic gearbox. So I guess our best bet is to just push it into N during a stop — it’s actually quite a simple solution, don’t you agree? For me it’s kinda cool to do that also, as I feel more connected to the driving process.

• Michael on Jul 08, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Dear Polo Owner
        I was a Beetle Owner, and I like reading. I have been reading all pages of user manual of the car, NONE of any sentences said must shift gearbox to N like you said. Even my Beetle has problem with gearbox, I just cannot agree what VW dirty tactic shifted the fault to owner. Where is the black and while and other proof that is driver problems?

• yellowschoolbus on Mar 13, 2014 at 12:17 pm

I’ve bought my mk7 golf on oct last year…its been almost 6 months now…just went to the service centre last weekend due to recall by VGM to change the DSG oil to mineral oil and some software updates. Had no problem at all before…and I thought the gear change was smooth, but after the software update and the oil change, I noticed its even better…still waiting for the infamous dsg breakdown…so far Alhamdulillah nothing and hopefully it stays that way…and yes I did know about all the problems prior to my purchase…but the experience of driving the car made me had sleepless night…I just had to buy that damn car…lol…I love my vw…hahah getting overboard here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • GTR36 on Mar 13, 2014 at 1:48 pm

GTI is using wet clutch so will not have problems. If your VW is not used for stop-go traffic in the hot weather everyday and is parked under a roofed parking then the DSG box will last longer.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Goodness me, about time?

I tell you, VW, just fix your sales tea’s attitude, and the same for the service. I walked in to your dealership, the Federal Auto one, and it was horrid.

1st visit: Went to see the Touareg. Sales assistants, yes ASSISTANTS, watch us coming in, but all still so busy playing games on their iPhones. I had to walk up and tell them, hey, we are looking at this car, can I have a brochure? Not interested to explain about the car, so I walked away and went to another European brand, and got miles better service. And mind you, that other brand is not the same class as VW, more of the Audi/BMW/Merc class.

2. Went to see the Mk7 Golf at the same dealer. Better service, but I felt like the lady was not so proficient in the product, I guess cause it was a new car, but she was good in all the other models like the old Golf and Jetta. (I thought they improved)

3rd visit: Polo CKD, same dealer. Same story as my first visit.

Thing which I find amusing is, the Volvo network, which is owned by the same dealer, and sells cars that are way more expensive, gave me amazing service. So impressed that I got a friend to pick up his V40 from them. Same with BMW MY. Quill Automobiles is perfect. Spot on. Even Naza Peugeot/Citroen is pretty good. And these guys are just not arrogant. So VW, teach your staff not to be arrogant. At least then even when a DSG fails, we know we don’t need to put up with the “perangai” from the staff too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 2
    • BMW Fanboi (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 2:07 am

But VW fanbois and salespeople will be like, ‘Do you own a VW? Or too poor to buy conti car like BMW and Merc? If not shut up!’

They were most probably posting that statement on PaulTan when you walked in to the showroom and saw them on your iPhones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • paucharsiew on Mar 13, 2014 at 2:28 am

basically, sell too well…uninterested sales guys….

• Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 9:37 am

have u ever considered that perhaps u look like a hobo? if u want others to treat u seriously u first must urself seriously

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • kelso on Mar 13, 2014 at 10:21 am

Mate, I had the same experience. Waited for 25 minutes before anyone said anything..

• Chong on Mar 14, 2014 at 11:43 pm

Mr. Sudonano, bring out the name of that dealer. Let them perk up. This is not the way to service a customer. Whoever walkin , whether he/she is wearing slippers or shorts, he is a customer. Tq.

• Lambat-dah! on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:27 pm

How timely….. a day before the actual protest.

May not be much but first step forward la. Lets have more interaction with them to improve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Motorhead (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:30 pm

One big proof that all critics were true. . We ve to thank all the VW owners that ve been suffering & post their comments here. Thanks ya. But no thanks. . I won’t buy VW anyway.. I learn from your mistakes. Hehe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • vwgti on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:38 pm

No mention of the extended FACTORY WARRANTY for the 7speed DSG gearbox from the MD which is the main issue the VW owners are complaining as this was done in USA and China. VGM must treat all their customers fairly worldwide if they are serious about improving their after sales service let hear from you VGM see you tomorrow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Steve Reynold on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Gearbox reliability is an issue in hot climate even thought the car is climatized to suit our country. I have ask the sales personnel multiple times if VW Malaysia equip their cars with additional gearbox oil intercoller. I believe it is still not sufficient. 3 strikes and sold the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • ah chai on Mar 12, 2014 at 7:47 pm

Please take the DSG Gear Box issue seriously. it’s going to be a “make or break” issue for VW Malaysia as most of the cars has hit the 30k km mark when the gear box problems surface. Now Malaysians learn that VW might not be the brand that’s as reliable as the German and Japanese or even Korean brands.

IF u fool them like Proton had done to most of the motorist in the 1990’s, it would be very hard to gain back their trust.

i for once wanted to get a Passat but experience from three of my colleagues with VW told me NOT to go for VW! i hope VW can do something and correct the mistakes.

All the best VW Malaysia.

Price it right
    Serve ur clients well

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 4
  • Hey guys. I know the dsg is horrid but does it effect the new mk7golf GTI? Looked online. Not much info on the current model. Maybe still too new.

• ah chai on Mar 12, 2014 at 9:47 pm

Db10,
      depends on who u ask.
      u ask sales persons, the answer is new golf no problem plus they give u warranty.
      u ask existing VW owners who had suffered post 30k km DSG problems they would tell u, they love the DSG before it was finally broken at 30-40k km.
      so the choice is urs, plesae let us know after u have clocked 40k km and do you face any issue with the gear box and after sales service.
      all the best to u!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Hey thanks for answering, I am finally entitled to a company car and the budget they’ve given me just fits the GTI nicely. I thought I get myself one before i am too old to be driving a hot-hatch around lol plus my office is literally across their sg besi service center.

Guys with RM230K what else do you suggest i look at? (preferable no manual only suggestions lol)

• Mercedes on Mar 13, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Get the w204 c200 now got discount at 230k. Proven model, big discount, 4 year unlimited mileage warranty

• khairi on Mar 13, 2014 at 1:44 pm

MYR230k budget you better grab a BMW 316i or 320i. 316i for me is powerful enough after test drove it.
          Of course it can’t be as powerful as the GTI.
          If I am in your place, no doubt I will go for the BMW 3 Series F30.

• Let me see, with about RM230K my choice other than GTI but new car are :

The usual
          – Mercedes C200
          – Mercedes A250 (if space is not an issue)
          – BMW320i
          – Land Rover Freelander 2
          – Passat CC (if still selling)

Not so common :
          – Volvo S60
          – Audi A4

Uncommon
          – Subaru Legacy
          – Lexus ES250 (slight more than Rm230K)
          – Infiniti (?)

If owned by company, I would pick Subaru Legacy….. with 265bhp and 0-100kmh in under 6 seconds. THis uncle car can smoke many boy boy racer out there.

If the car is co-owned by me then i will pick Lexus ES250.

• Hey thanks. Quite alot of good choices. I thought about the BMWs, i read that the 316i doesnt get all the gadgets so it turned me off abit. Like no full idrive etc.

Didnt think about the lexus and freelander. Ruled out the A4 because my boss drives it so i don’t want to ‘compete with him lol’

Right now im looking at the BMW320i/X1 sdrive, volvo v40 cross country, the a250(might not be able to get this as it’s slightly over budget)and still the GTI. If VW didnt have dodgy DSG issues, it be a simple decision.

• Chong on Mar 14, 2014 at 11:46 pm

Ah Chai, are you the owner of any VW cars?

• Same-O on Mar 12, 2014 at 10:09 pm

MK7 Golf TSI same gearbox as MK6.

• Same-O on Mar 12, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Less buyers buy MK7 in Malaysia, thts why you dont hear much about it. No many on the road as MK6.

• PetCar on Mar 13, 2014 at 11:11 am

He’s referring to Golf GTI not TSI.

• golfkaki on Mar 12, 2014 at 9:16 pm

Once bitten twice shy. Ingat mau beli GTI MK 7 no confident aldy. Anyway first step in the right direction but take long time to regain trust.

• tehsarbat on Mar 12, 2014 at 9:19 pm

baru tersedar dari lamunan.

• Guan Yin Ma (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 9:38 pm

This is not the best plan to improve customer service. You need to make your customer feel happy until they spread their happiness about your perfect service , all over the social media, then you success.

• matdan on Mar 12, 2014 at 9:46 pm

Was offered attractive discount on passat, asked the sales man about the GB problem…could not give a firm answer..the only thing he can give was this car passat can easily ‘cucuk’ all those japanese 2.0 liter above cars….finally I got a new Accord 2.4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Motorhead (Member) on Mar 12, 2014 at 9:59 pm

Don’t worry.. it’s parts won’t cost you a limb. Kedai potong spare parts at Batu Caves byk. Good choice. You can sleep well. Conti ego maniacs won’t. They say japs milo tin… it’s like all from Europe are perfect. Craps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • GTR36 on Mar 13, 2014 at 1:53 pm

The sales guy at Sg Besi told me 2013 Passats do not have gbox problem. I lol’ed so hard, he stopped serving me after the test drive.

BTW Passats all use 7-speed DSG with dry clucth whether 2013 or 2011.

• Johnmuar on Mar 12, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Not sure how this will help my issues of multiple defects(not just gear box) after years of complaint and workshop visits. Am almost throwing in the towel but since Vw ag bothers to pick up my compliant, let’s see how this ends and I will keep all posted

• Thili on Mar 12, 2014 at 10:25 pm

I had no major problems with my MK5 GTI but then again i was in my own after the 2 year warranty. It was a different story with my wife’s 2012 Polo GTi – airconditioning deteriorated within a year and after numerous trips to the dealer and several emails to VGM, they changed the compressor. They did not change the warped/distorted (6 months old only) front wheel discs despite several trips and measurements were taken. For both warranty issues, the staff and managers often passed the buck and sometimes disappeared. Then there is a problem of actually getting through to the service centre to make an appointment over the phone – no one picked up after trying and trying! I had to drive over and make multiple appointments as i had anticipated the usual run around! We sold both VW cars and swore never ever to buy a VW, even though the Mk5 gave me so much pleasure!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
    • this one is genuine end user talk,appreciated.

• khairi on Mar 13, 2014 at 1:52 pm

I had such experience to for my very 1st service. It was so hard to have a service appointment, need to wait for a week.
      I ended up servicing my car at 16200km and now am sweating if some shit happen and they say the warranty is void, am gonna be dead.
      That happened back in 2012 where they easily said to me that if we service our VW no later than 1500km after the interval (before 16500km) warranty will still valid.

Last week I went for my 45000km service, they say now we must not exceed 500km. Bullshit.

For now my DSG is not showing any problem after 2 years and 46000km. But I can’t sleep well thinking of the possibility that my warranty might be void and DSG failure not covered… Die man!!

Easiest to service at Wearnes Sg Besi, after 2 days can have it.

Jalan Genting Klang branch was quite new at that time, I wasn’t confident enough to send my Golf TSI there for service even they said walk-in was possible.

• yoolang on Mar 12, 2014 at 10:28 pm

this very good. wish ford can make same like this

• This is not enough. This is just remedying what VW service should have been doing in the first place. We want our 10 years warranty due to your faulty lemon cars, we are putting our lives on the line while driving VW cars, VW definitely is not doing enough.

• Car is stranded at the workshop, do I care about your service centre opening on Sunday? Pls work on getting my car out of the workshop first.

Secondly, talk about warranty extension for the same period when car is out of commission. How about that?

Thirdly, no one will pick up the phone at the service centre. Not the first three rings for sure, probably not the first attempt on calling anyway!
    BTW, don’t bother to wait if they said will return your call. It is mere lip service!

Just sharing my experience here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • VW Owner on Mar 13, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Agree 100%. I have to say that I have the same experience. VW needs to buckle up. My car is currently at 65k km and already there are severe symptoms that i need to change the clutch AGAIN. Yes, again. First clutch pack replaced at 30k km. It is not the warranty, it is the trouble and hassle to take leave, send your car to the SC, wait for hours if not days for the car to complete. This is definitely my last VW.

• Chong on Mar 14, 2014 at 11:55 pm

You should share your experience with all users. mention the name of that service center so that they can buck up. If the service advisers are rude, pu their name on also. Then, the center can buck up using well-mannered staffs.

• Maserati on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:07 pm

I had an experience where I complained about my VW DSG gearbox problem to this Service advisor in one of the VW SC.

His reply was ” Eh, why don’t you sell the car? Problem solved”

I was like , oh don’t worry, this will be my first and last VW !

Useless idiots!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • nama busuk on Mar 12, 2014 at 11:32 pm

your nama sudah jadi busuk, basi… only u can con those ppl who knows nothing about cars.

brand comparison:
    vw(germany) = proton(local)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • hoooooo on Mar 13, 2014 at 1:19 am

the worst showroom i encounter is toyota go in and look for vios but those salesman dont border you seem like we transparent than one salesman come dont bother to explain , ask for test drive no test drive wtf man like we no money to buy

go another showroom same thing happen … soo foget abt the vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
    • mmaker on Mar 13, 2014 at 5:04 am

bro u should go to sleep lah. We talking about VW here not toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • ruffstuff on Mar 13, 2014 at 7:19 am

Better CVT bising eong eong eong.. than DSG kaput.

• Chong KL on Mar 13, 2014 at 7:56 am

At least VW is care about their customers. I am driving Peugeot. I wish I could punch them, both the service centers and customer careline.

• Innovator on Apr 15, 2014 at 2:43 am

Chong,
      I used to drive 407. Was very happy until I made a mistake of sending my car to unauthorised SC bcoz if long waiting period in authorised SC (1 month booking)
      The ass completely messed up my electronics until the car can’t be started and will died off intermittently. Finally sold it and change to sharan. So far so good 1 yr (DSG 6 gear, wet clutch). Guys, if buy continental cars sure got issues, if u want safe go for Asian cars. Period

• Steve Jobs on Mar 13, 2014 at 8:20 am

i just love my VW and Proton more ^_^

• Flying Kite on Mar 13, 2014 at 9:12 am

I decided to go for A250 instead of MK7 GTI despite after reading Driver Magazine saying “The King is Back” due to all these problems my friends have and what I read online.

Sorry to VV that they have just lost a customer due to their mechanical and service failure. Maybe not just one…

• Thilakan on Mar 13, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Flying Kite – Any feedback on the A250 please? Now that i’ve forsworn from ever buying VW, i booked the Cla200 for my wife but if the price exceeds RM230k, i am seriously looking at the A250! Paultan’s review opined that the ride is too harsh but i did not find it so. Sorry for posting this query here but there is hardly any feedback from actual A250 owners so far. Thanks

• Flying Kite on Mar 14, 2014 at 8:29 am

Thilakan – Sorry to tell that I am only getting my car later this month. So I do not have actual feedback yet. The harsh ride review was my biggest concern as this would be my daily ride. But after testing the car for a quite long period, I found that I can actually live with it hence I went for it. You can check this facebook page called – A Club Malaysia. You should be able to get some feedback there.

• “VGM says that beginning from March 16, 2014, a total of 20 authorised Volkswagen service centres in Peninsular Malaysia will now be open on Sundays from 9 am to 5 pm to accommodate maintenance servicing.” I just called VW Jln Ipoh to make an appointment.. but they said they have not received any memo on this, asked me to call back tomorrow.. WTF!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • alldisc on Mar 13, 2014 at 9:54 am

do any of us here realise how VGM is suffering and struggling to move its cars? to the extend of offering free petrol up until 5 years!! (only for CBU models and a maximum of 20,000km annual mileage).

extending operating hours can be one good thing. but that will teach consumers to demand on things ridiculously. you open for 7 days a week, and then later not open? your own customers will screw you like hell VGM.

should you maintain 7 days a week, then not many ppl will be attracted to work with VW svc centres – what is left then are ppl who have less passion on working resulting low customer satisfaction (CS).

there are many ways of increasing CS index as follows:-

1. increase reliability – giving a conventional Auto gearbox to polo 1.6 instead of DSG like golf TSI/GTI is one good example.
    2. parts availability – seriuosly guys? pls hv your own warehouse in malaysia instead of sourcing from germany thru singapore. this is so that parts are available almost instantly rather than waiting for 1 week.
    pls study japanes kanban and JIT concept like practised by toyota so you dont keep unnecessary stock like what happened to NazaKia some time ago.
    3. increase more service centre. look at Tan Chong. many mini service centres almost everywhere even in small towns.

• gti967 on Mar 13, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Well, the new vw malaysia chief claims he’s going to sell err…i forgot the forecast figures…was it 15k units or 20k units for 2014 ? As compared to poor 7k figures for 2013.

By throwing free petrol and better after sales, it is one of the many way trying to entice people to sign the dotted line. Then again, with traffic crawl everywhere nowadays, there are better choice out there. A class or B class or even 1/3 series are better choice than the problematic dsg. Oh not forgetting the volvo v40 too. Value for money.

• Hugo Andore on Mar 14, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Free petrol up to 5 years?

• old dog on Mar 13, 2014 at 10:33 am

you expect this cronies company will have better services? think again la..

• KangKungMan on Mar 13, 2014 at 11:02 am

So many “nice” comments in here but just one question – Will Volkswagen Group Malaysia read it ? Mr. Paul might need to send above “message” to VGM.

• Joker on Mar 13, 2014 at 11:09 am

The 1 solution is to change all 7 speed dry clutch DSG to 6 speed wet clutch DSG.. Problem solved..

• Experience from Lexus: When your mileage is due for service, SA will call you to ask when do you want to come service. They will make all appropriate appointments for you. Or, you can make service appointment thru their website my.lexus.com.my. Great service I would say.

• VW VICTIM on Mar 13, 2014 at 12:02 pm

operation hour increase, but service center SA and technician skill level, attitude no improvement.
    Open like 7-11 24 hours also no meaning.

Kindly improve all your service center standard
    instead of wasting customer time for 4-5 trips to settle problems/defects.

I m VW owner, many defect found on day 1,still not fixed since Jan 2014! NO reply from service center at all for part replacement.

• BBgun on Mar 13, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Well is about time and im happy VW willing to accept complains and rectifying it.

• i got a 2011 golf, and i haven’t had any problems. Except the ecu sometimes tell me that my tire is punctured and sometimes must re flash the ecu, gearbox kaput, aircon pump kaput, engine got some weird sounds, kena tipu by salesmen on warranty, overcharged by service centre, etcetc

So its not a bad car, only abit problem sometimes

• The problem is not lowsy after sales service. It is because VW makes cars that always breakdown. You can increase the dealer network by a factor of 10. No lengthy waits but still always breakdown. What for? VW makes cars that are not properly tested. That is the main problem.

• Hello VW, if you claim your cars cannot work in hot tropical climatr, please packup all your products and bungkus your company and go back to germany. Stop cheating malaysians with your useless junk products. Stop psychoing malaysians into thinking your lowsy stuck up german products are so superior. Plee take your attitude back to germany.

• my golf mk6 recently replaced its clutch pack & mechatronic at abt 60,000km/2 years…yeap a hassle of without one car for abt 3-4 days. My 30,000km/ 1.5 years old Touran is still ok, but can detect a bit juddering shifting from D2-D3 (prev golf D1-D2 and got it replaced). Yeap, need to book month in advance for servicing.

As an owner, my experience soo far is that both my VW is a joy to drive. Love how its handle and diesel like torque of the small 1.4tsi. If they extend the dsg warranty to 10 yrs like China will be just great! I do hope they will improve further in the future coz both cars are just great to drive. Not a premium german brand but drove like a premium german brand, good for those who want to keep a low profile.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Diablo on Mar 13, 2014 at 4:34 pm

The standard of their technicians and mechanics is worse than third party serviceman.

Complaints (thru email) to VGM are like stones thrown into sea…
    you get to see nicely composed email replied but not solid solution….until one day somebody decided to lodge a police report….

Long way to go, VGM.

• so easy, just don’t buy VW. full stop.

• AlbertOng on Mar 13, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Machatronics = Megaheadche and Service Centre, our Second Home!

• https://www.facebook.com/pages/Vw-Dsg-7-Defects-Community/306447496142735

Just sharing good luck to VW owner

• Samad Jain on Mar 13, 2014 at 7:52 pm

Since VW owners are rich bunch of ppl (other than showing off), they should be able to afford another car when their VW car (frequently)breakdown.

I pity them for their shitty choice owning a VW.
    I don’t pity them because they think they so great simply because they were driving a VW

Nevermind la….when their german car fail, just drive a backup japanese car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • VWSombongDriver on Mar 14, 2014 at 4:53 pm

I dont think VW driver are rich but only pretend to be rich since they are driving a ” German” car. This Proton German car is for those who like to show off

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • kelvin on Mar 13, 2014 at 8:15 pm

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=530900320364117&set=pb.306447496142735.-2207520000.1394712818.&type=3&theater

share info

• Ching on Mar 13, 2014 at 10:55 pm

MD of VW Malaysia says consumers can buy their cars with confidence. Who would you trust? The man who is trying to sell you his car or the suffering of countless current owners of VW vehicles?

• Bring in 6speed manual please

• what happend on Mar 14, 2014 at 1:34 pm

among other cars, i love to watch vw reviews. everyone says how wonderful the DSG is. but here, sad to say a myvi is more tahan lasak then a vw. thats the only reason im trading up to a H instead of a VW. coz a normal guy like me have to think about value for money.

• wah this is worst than proton…all complaints oni..now I know how bad is VW..looks like amoi,after awhile when u know her character,oso get scared.

• Chong on Mar 15, 2014 at 12:12 am

Pros & Cons in every brand of vehicle. VGM should really look into the aspects of parts availability and also the attitude of SA’s towards customer.

• Arayan on Mar 15, 2014 at 7:31 am

Saya dah malas dengan Vw ni. CD changer rosak tak boleh repair or ganti. Saya nak bayar ni, lain la klu waranti. Padahal mase beli bende dah ade dan adalah satu daripada seling point mereka. Suruh repair kat luar. Lainlah saya pasang sendiri. So 2 tahun dah, hidup tanpa CD. Faham tak, korang jual bende yang tak boleh ganti atau repair. Sedih sedih. Myvi ok. CD problem, memang dia tak boleh buat, tapi dia bukak dan hantar ke kilang. Seminggu dua dapat balik. Good job p2.

• Arayan on Mar 15, 2014 at 7:43 am

Itu baru satu isu. Masalah appointment saya boleh terima. Saya anggap itu perkara biase, walaupun kadang kadang rasa macam wah susahnya. 2 bulan lepas lampu belakang rosak, ok tukar satu set rm300+ . Itu pun lepas tunggu sebulan, barang sampai, salah side pulak. Tunggu lagi. Balik balik, cis signal belakang out pulak. Nak buat appointment balik, x dapat. So 2 bulan la signal belakang x de. Masalahnya saya tak nak tukar kat luar.

• VW Fanboi on Mar 15, 2014 at 10:18 am

I like their finishing and design, I was lucky not to buy one because my friend stopped me. Test drove few models and absolutely loved the acceleration! But if it gives so much trouble for a casual driver, this is not worth it at all. After reading all these comments on the internet, it really scares me. This article makes me wonder, VW owners voiced their griefs (I’m sure the DSG problem was raised too) and all VW does is open their SCs 7 days a week. How come they didn’t address their DSG issue at hand as well ? Could someone answer this ?

• Polo owner on Mar 16, 2014 at 9:01 am

Dear VW Fanboi,
      I believe they are addressing the situation, but not necessarily in the ways that you expect. I believe they are under contractual obligations or some other reasons that cannot be revealed to the general public. My point is, as a global company aspiring to be number one in terms of sales, would they not do anything?

Personally, I have not experienced any problems with my DSG 7-speed yet. Last year, they recalled my Polo TSI and replaced the gearbox mechatronics and upgraded the control software, and gave me RM200 worth of petrol vouchers for the inconvenience. My experience at the service centre in Georgetown is not bad, and I think they know what they are doing. But I did see a bit of frustration on their faces, and I feel that is because the situation is not their fault, but they have to take the customers’ complaints and anger everyday. So I try to put myself in their shoes and be patient also. I think if they had the magical power to make all these problems go away with a wave of a wand, they would have happily done so long ago. And how would we know who we are if we are never tested by problems and frustrations?

• FrankMartin on Mar 18, 2014 at 5:38 pm

I have a S300L and if you hear of the parts that broke down just after my 3 years warranty, you don’t know whether to cry or curse non stop. ECU, Airmatic( left and right) , oxygen sensors, the list goes on.

• My Golf TSI broke down on the road on the 2nd year of driving the car, D2 gear problem. Finally mechatronic was replaced in May 2013 & clutch plate in Oct 2013, so far no problem – maybe changed my driving style to put the gear to ‘N’ whenever I stop the car at traffic light/traffic jam. However, the problem now is the small / big fan always faulty, it sounds like aeroplane taking off/landing. Very loud sound can be heard when the car is moving, stopping at traffic light & even after the engine was switched off. Actually, the small fan was just replaced on July 3013 & the big fan on Feb 2014.. Water Pump was also faulty & replaced on Oct 2013. Very inconvenient to spend time at the service center & it is costly to rent a car when I need to leave my car in the service center. It’s fun to drive the car but will not buy if I have done my research before buying the car. Have driven Kancil, Toyota, Honda, Mercedes & BMW, VW is the worst – so many problem ….,, wonder when can be fully resolved.

• Vi Wa GG on Jun 28, 2014 at 9:42 am

Any VW owner here with DSG gearbox running up to 100,000KM without failing?

• caraumun on Jul 03, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Hi there, just for your info. My 1 year old golf tai have been so far trouble free, mileage is abt 29K and will be going for its 2nd service soon (servicing as per manual every 15k).So far i have no issue wt the DSG box, only that just its not very smooth during traffic jam/stop start traffic….my guess due to it not actually being an auto but actual a manual wt the computer controlling its clutches, no soo smooth…more like a not smooth driver operating a manual car after an hour stuck in the jam ….other than that its been great, love the car

• Michael on Jul 08, 2014 at 12:50 pm

My beetle run for 135,000 KM without gearbox but I guess that’s DSG6. However, it has hell other problems from 1st month, aircond, bearing, wiper motor, radiator fans, compressor, author lock module, you name it. Worst, many of them REPEATED again after few months.

Trust me, EWP is a scam, and the attitude of SC is like we customer HUTANG them 10millions.

Finally, decided and managed to sell it after 5 years period last month.

Don’t buy VW if you want to have a normal happy life.

• Amirhamzahjoned Amiro on Oct 22, 2014 at 1:55 am

I drive volkwagen MK1 LS1.6 (1978),still strong
    Repair bawah pokok only.better use France brandhach@hothach like tiara AX.save money so much

• Zukhri on Dec 01, 2018 at 12:21 am

Are they use JIT system in malaysia?