F56 MINI Cooper, Cooper S launched – RM179k-249k

F56_MINI_Cooper_S_Malaysia_007

Not more than four months after the third-generation MINI hatchback (of the BMW kind, that is) was unveiled globally, the cheeky looking F56 has arrived in Malaysia in Cooper and Cooper S forms. Now that was fast. MINI fast.

You can read our comprehensive report of the international debut, plus a live gallery from the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show for a general view of what’s new and what’s not in the new MINI. Here in Malaysia, we get four variants – the Cooper, Cooper S, plus their respective upgrade packs called Chilli and Wired.

Prices start from RM178,888 for the Cooper, going up to RM248,888 for the range-topping Cooper S Wired. Not exactly small change, then, but that’s a fair bit less than the models they replace, which were priced at RM195,888 and RM254,879 (R56 Cooper S with MINI Connected option) respectively.

F56_MINI_Cooper_Malaysia_003

The Cooper variants feature the 1.5 litre three-cylinder MINI TwinPower Turbo engine with 136 hp and 220 Nm of torque. The 0-100 km/h dash is completed in 7.8 seconds, up from the old 120 hp/160 Nm naturally-aspirated 1.6 litre-powered old Cooper’s portly 10.4 seconds. Top speed is up too, from 197 km/h to 210 km/h.

Moving up to the Cooper S nets you a more powerful four-cylinder 2.0 litre turbocharged mill (part for BMW’s new B48 range). This one has 192 hp and 280 Nm, a 0-100 km/h time of 6.7 seconds and a 233 km/h top speed, compared to the outgoing model’s 184 hp, 240 Nm, 7.2 seconds and 223 km/h.

All models are paired to the same Aisin six-speed automatic transmission (no manual, as to be expected), with the Cooper S getting the upgraded Sports Auto version with a Launch Control function. Great fuel economy is standard across the range, with claimed figures of 4.7 (Cooper) and 5.4 litres (Cooper S) per 100 km.

F56_MINI_Cooper_S_Malaysia_032

Marking out the base Cooper variant are its halogen reflector-type headlamps, which come without the distinctive LED daytime-running lights on the other models. Full LED headlamps and foglights are included in the Cooper’s RM20,000 Chilli package, and standard on both Cooper S variants.

Only two wheel designs are available, with the Cooper getting the 16-inch Loop Spoke Silver design, while the Cooper S runs on 17-inch Tentacle Spoke Silver items. Spotting the two variants is made easier with the Cooper– and Cooper S-specific front grilles and exhaust ports.

Inside, the Cooper gets fabric upholstery, Chrome Line trim, manual air-con, MINI Radio Basis with Bluetooth interface, Sports leather steering wheel and auto lights and wipers. The RM198,888 Cooper Chilli (the blue car pictured here) adds on leather sports seats, dual-zone climate control and MINI Radio Visual Boost (with a 6.5-inch screen and an iDrive-style six-button controller).

The RM228,888 MINI Cooper S gets much of the same (with the Cooper Chilli), with the addition of Black Checkered interior surfacing, Anthracite headlining and a John Cooper Works (JCW) steering wheel. You can shell also out another RM20,000 for the Cooper S Wired to have a centre armrest and a 12-speaker Harman Kardon HiFi sound system.

Exclusive to the range-topping model (Volcanic Orange car pictured) is a larger 8.8-inch screen equipped with the Professional navigation system. The package also includes a full touch-sensitive controller (much like the ones on new BMWs).

Standard across the range is the MINI Excitement package, which packs in an interior lighting setup. On the safety front, all models get four airbags (front and curtain) as standard, along with an active pop-up bonnet (for additional deformation space in case of a collision with a pedestrian).

Lastly, the MINI Cooper Chilli and Cooper S Wired come with a three-year MINI Service Inclusive programme, which is a RM5,900-option on the standard Cooper and Cooper S variants. The F56 quartet will be available at all eight MINI dealerships in Malaysia starting from the MINI Weekend on April 12 and 13.

F56 MINI Cooper S Wired

F56 MINI Cooper Chilli
Mini Austin Cooper S

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Still look exactly like previous model, better spend your money on all new Proton GSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 117
    • Why MITI Why on Mar 13, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Wow a starting price of RM179K that truly amazing!

Can someone please explain to me how a cheap car in the UK becomes a luxury expensive car in Bolehland?

Cost of a Mini Cooper S in the UK:
      2014 Mini Cooper S 18,650 Pounds (vs. RM178,888 here)
      2014 Mini Cooper 15,300 Pounds (vs. RM248,888 here)

Why MITI, Why???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 19
      • Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 4:34 pm

At 180K I’d rather buy a Audi A1/ Volvo V40/ Lexus CT200h/ VW Beetle/ Alfa Romeo Giulietta/ Citroen DS5

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 8
        • zeek (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 5:26 pm

I agree. Personally I’d get the DS5 but a Golf would be a far more sensible choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
        • I love it classic and elegance! price is acceptable except cooper S front bumper is fugly and overpriced!

• cooper s is supposed to be more expensive than normal cooper. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • German Quality Down the Drain on Mar 13, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Don’t even bother buying a Mini. It is a toy car all over the world. Only in Malaysia we associate it with prestige. Better take your money and buy a 1 year old BMW or Mercedes. It will be cheaper than this toilet of a car.

The people who buy Mini in Malaysia are usually wives of highly corrupted people who have no value for money. Since they don’t work for their money, and get it free under the table, paying RM200,000 is small peanuts for them.

Very few Mini owners in Malaysia buy a Mini with their hard earned money. Trust me, if you work hard and sweat every drop to earn every single cent of money you earn, you will never spend RM200,000 on a toy car. All the faggots owning a Mini will tell you it is really a BMW. Let me tell you, BMW just put one crappy engine into you Mini, and you fell for the trap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 75
        • I sense jealousy coupled with low self esteem by stereotypying others.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 10
        • You are full of s*&t on Feb 03, 2016 at 2:37 pm

I can’t believe people will do this generalization. Apparently I am one of those people that use my hard earned money on a piece of crappy automobile.

Did you even try to test drive the car to conclude the engine is crap? The 1.5T 3 cyc happens to be a nice engine. It is not very powerful but it is fun to drive. You can question the value to you but you can’t speak for all and generalize that all are idiots who have no concept of value of money

• Awwww poor ppl on Apr 03, 2017 at 4:04 pm

Awww too poor to own one?so bash others?tats juz sad…i feel bad for ur life man…dun worry…the drain is beside there…u can juz stay thr n sulk…dun be sad dun be sad…

• kzm (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 8:49 pm

Not just bolehland but all asean nation…eg thai MINI Cooper will cost u ~RM221k..even Brunei MINI Cooper cost u ~RM154k…I just compare with our neighbor…does it price comparable to the one u show?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
        • ABTguy on Mar 14, 2014 at 10:47 am

Better not to take the first batch, especially this one comes with the new 1.5cc three cylinder engine.

It’s so new that no one know what bugs BMW not yet encountered or solved. Better wait for a year or two before any interested guy to rush in.

• paparazi on Mar 14, 2014 at 8:57 pm

You’re right!
        Affordable for the rich.

• Rainman on Apr 07, 2014 at 12:11 pm

If the government don’t tax heavily on foreign cars, PROTON will DIE! And when PROTON dies, a lot more government cronies will die because their “tongkat” has been taken from them.

• What is Proton GSC?

• Maserati on Mar 13, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Boring! Plus its still overpriced for a hopelessly unreliable car.

Now with the Merc A250 , who the hell is gng to buy this stupid tiny car ?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 14
  • Sam Boo on Mar 13, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Entry level almost priced 180K, I rather go for S40 – Volvo for Life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • Vision on Mar 13, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Entry level 180K, i’d rather go for Volvo V40

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • minifan on Mar 13, 2014 at 3:35 pm

pricing is still wrong. sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Boring….zzzz
    Next..!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • Halim on Mar 13, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Hello when u guys start comparing durian, longan, lychee, mango, banana u r at the wrong supermarket.
    MINI have its own eccentric followers. If u r considering as your main & only car means u cant afford these minis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • theanswer on Mar 13, 2014 at 5:35 pm

true..but considering it used to be the cheapest car in britain..i still consider it’s overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Hi Mr. Answer,
        I think u re confused between the original British mini and this BMW made MINI.

• BLT Club on Mar 13, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Bro Halim, I respecfully disagree. If you’re single, can afford the cost and don’t need practicality, I think the Mini is a good choice as a main and only car. It’s distinctive and in my opinion would still turn heads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Fredo on May 12, 2014 at 4:30 pm

haahhaha… i agree with you…I for one would’ve bought if it came 1 year earlier

• nabill on Mar 13, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Curious since that 2 litre turbo is found everywer in da bmw rangs and is paired with da 8speed auto…why is da 6speed aisin box in dis application??
    Dat 3 cylinder looks interesting power wise…!

• Mini dropped the price because they know that the competition is alot tougher now. Only Mini diehard fans will buy at that price.

below 200k theres A200, Volvo V40, BMW 120i, 208 gti
    above 230k theres A250, BMW320i

Renault launched thier DS3 at 115k…technically its a direct competitor to the mini base model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • OMG! The mini looks like a yellow fish on Mar 13, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Its Citroen DS3, Renault does not have a DS line of cars neither do they name their cars after numbers…

• W204 C63 on Mar 13, 2014 at 5:39 pm

It doesn’t play in the same segment as those cars, it plays in the same as the VW Beetle. The prices of both are comparable.

• BLT Club on Mar 13, 2014 at 5:53 pm

understand where you’re coming from, but you’re I think the mini standsout. There’s something about a squat looking hatch that’s distinctive. Especially with contrasting body colour/stripe. Though I must say, the A-class looks good too!

• D.I.Y on Mar 13, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Not bad, both also pair with new bmw engine, B48 2.0 bmw latest long stroke engine and 1.5 three cylinder turbo, 1st in the market. Reduced weight reinforced rigid chassic with go-kart handling, going be a fun car..

• Guan Yin Ma (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 4:59 pm

3 cylinder twin turbo + normal 6 speed auto = Best go kart experience. 170k not bad. At least 30k drop from previous price which used a stupid NA engine. Non of the competitior at this price range can offer such go kart experience

• JeremyNg on Mar 13, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Still prefer Alfa MiTo which is design to compete with MINI ! cheaper , look much better , and proper 6 speed manual =)

• drchan on Mar 13, 2014 at 6:11 pm

good fun car, sickening price

• Samad Jain on Mar 13, 2014 at 7:40 pm

overhyped, overrated, and overpriced….

Sorry, Mini.

• bringbackmanual on Mar 13, 2014 at 7:57 pm

why no manual? puiii

• lonelyobserve on Mar 13, 2014 at 11:49 pm

I agree with you.

However, some sales people if being pressured for this question, they will go for something extreme as an answer such as almost no demand, buyers are filthy rich ones and the worst case scenario, manual transmission is on the way to be extincted, which is really fxxcked up me.

• KingOfVoodoo on Mar 13, 2014 at 8:39 pm

I have enough money to buy 3 of this for my apprentice.The fruit holder,The bamboo basket holder and The walking stick wielder.

• mmaker on Mar 13, 2014 at 11:42 pm

i like mini and this new mini cooper will be in my target list

• Overpriced small car but for the rich womens as i see mostly they drive it.

• minijai on Mar 14, 2014 at 9:39 am

I cannot afford new MINI, will be a slave to bank if I’ve bought one.

overall, I still prefer the shape of classic mini. Will definitely buy if the reproduce it.. hehe

• Jebonr on Mar 14, 2014 at 9:55 am

Look can be deceiving. But the interior really is something. Especially that “Start” button. I like that.

• paparazi on Mar 14, 2014 at 9:01 pm

At this price i rather get volvo V40!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Andrie on Mar 14, 2014 at 11:42 pm

Any front parking sensor or reverse camera?

• Jay Rarw on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:22 am

adaptive dampers pun tadak

• I own a Mini R53, cost me a fortune (rm168k) 8 years ago and it was a recondition car. Still paying the installment. I love the car and I don’t mind working hard for it.I compensate the car price compared to the U.K by eating Big plate of chicken rice that only cost me Rm6 and staying in a big house that cost me a fraction compare to the houses in U.K(guess how much it cost in the u.k..lol)
    The car is truly amazing and brings me joy till today.
    My advice to those who like to drive one, work hard and you wont feel the pain buying one, to those who wait the sky to drop you a Mini that cost you similar to those in U.K, keep looking to the sky and pray. Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Hi… do any of the version comes with the HUD??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • wayne siong on Jan 03, 2015 at 7:57 pm

hei everyone…

MINI Cooper S 5 door are now available for test drive in Auto Bavaria KL showroom. feel free to contact us and arrange for a test drive~~~

here is my contact:
    i m MINI Cooper sales advisor from Auto Bavaria KL