VIDEO: A walk-around tour of the Perodua Alza facelift

In our latest walk-around video, we take an in-depth look at the newest iteration of Malaysia’s most affordable MPV. Although the mechanicals have remained the same since the original‘s introduction in 2009, the Perodua Alza facelift offers both refreshed and new equipment, for less money than before.

With five variants residing in the RM52k to 64k neighbourhood, the Alza buyer is hardly devoid of choice. The higher-spec variants are more in demand though, and so it pleased us to find the range-topping Advanced Version in the showroom that morning, available for us to dissect in greater detail.

Sure, you’re already well acquainted with the Alza facelift from our launch report in January, but words and static pictures can only say so much. Making his video debut with paultan.org is our new man Jonathan Lee – join him as he points out what’s changed and examines what the fully-loaded, bells-and-whistles Alza facelift looks as well as feels like.

While you’re at it, don’t forget to check out and subscribe to our Youtube channel, and of course, do chip in below with your comments!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 7:11 pm

So, the new Jonathan bullies the other Jonathan. Haha.

Still a disappointing facelift. No ESC at all, come on Perodua, what’s stopping you from having it on your family orientated model?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • Pinky on Mar 13, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Because in Malaysia, our lives worth nothing at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • tiadaid on Mar 13, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Reduced profit margin is what’s stopping them from equipping it on their shitboxes, though god knows the flimsy driving dynamics at speed meant that they sorely need ESC to ensure stability.

• Chris on Mar 14, 2014 at 9:38 am

Since I know nothing, so according to Wikipedia, ESC cost another USD111(RM360?) on top of the ABS system back in 2005, and it’s almost been 10 years since then.

One would think it’s not much money, but I bet those fat cat on top would think “40,000x esc = RM14 million!!”

But seriously I wouldn’t mind paying extra 400 or so for ESC in my car, so they can keep their money.

• Adui hopeless lah P1 and P2 both are cheap brands!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • human on Mar 13, 2014 at 7:14 pm

cut ur hair

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Samad Jain on Mar 13, 2014 at 7:39 pm

…i thought the person was an auntie, with manly face….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • AVH (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Back when I still see spec list to judge a car, the Alza seems almost like a dream car for the price. Of course when it come to getting it that dream burned off faster than the Hindenburg. Wont go throu it .

Moving on, from the outlook, it seems like Perodua improved it one way or another, the spec has been bumped with a price dropping a full RM5k, in fact the top spec now sits where the previous mid spec was. Amongst all the feature, the split rear seat is greatly welcome. For low income large family it is certainly great news, but for someone who has develope Peroduaophobia like me, I certainly hope I will not see another P badge on the driveway ever again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 14, 2014 at 2:37 am

Coincidentally, I’ve just coined another term for those who have sold off this car and left him/herself a long-lasting damaging ownership experience – Alzophobia…

• nabill on Mar 13, 2014 at 7:43 pm

U jus couldnt find someone whos more presentable???? Nothing against the guy bt if he want to keep dat look thn should get another job….sory to say it kinda downgrade da whole video…no one is gonna eat a terribly presented food on plate even if it tastes nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • human2 on Mar 13, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Open your mouth when talking!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • kzm (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 8:15 pm

The price look good but need to beef-up the safety aspect…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 13, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Kereta Mudah Terbakar…!!! To anyone who buys this – Welcome To Your Worst Nightmare…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
  • Nice video. Can you do a walk around video of the Neo R3?

• change the way you talk, cant even hear clearly.

• holofanboi on Mar 13, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Wow, the new Alza really, really look much better than the old one interior wise @_@; I know its still a base vehicle, but it’s certainly well kitted out for the lower – entry middle income ones. Functional too considering its size!

Forget ESC etc…your not meant to drive this vehicle over 90kmh anyway. It’s not built to be stable at such speeds to begin with. (OMG I sound like a Perodua salesman LOL)

Btw I’m most absolutely positive that you guys did not realize that there was another person in the 3rd row seat. It is with utmost confidence that your video review disturbed him from enjoying the pleasant cabin of the car. Please refrain from such public disruption again, thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Dude, ESC is important in rain-heavy countries like Malaysia. I’ve seen a Civic spun at 40km/h in a highway exit curve during heavy downpour. My Hilux also sometimes go oversteer during such condition.

Prevention is better than cure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Obviously (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 7:10 am

The Civic spinning out of control is likely a tire problem…

But you’re right. You’d never know when you’d need ESC until you need ESC to save your butt.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 14, 2014 at 11:07 am

That is why it’s fortunate the Alza stock rims are on the right size for Michelin PS3 tyres… Damn grippy even on wet conditions…

But then again it also depends on whether the soon-to-be Alzophobic owners can afford these kinda tyres – they ain’t cheap…

• Jebonr on Mar 14, 2014 at 10:37 am

You sound better than those P2 Salesmen. Even much better then the P1 Salesmen. I’ve been to almost all the P1 and P2 showrooms here where I stay. Talk to almost all of them. 90% don’t even know their product technical specification and capabilities except for what is/was written on the catalogue. Suprisingly, this also happened at Toyota and Mitsubishi Showroom here. How to sell lor …

• Denaihati on Mar 13, 2014 at 9:48 pm

very nice review and video. much better looks, chrome front grill, new bumper and body kit, interesting entertainment system, sliding 2nd row seat give more space.

• Wks79 on Mar 13, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Not a bad video … But music is bit too loud.. Can’t hear the voice over well. :(

• Maserati on Mar 13, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Jeez, this video around looks like it was copied bulat bulat from Mat Watson of Carbuyer fame.

The style and the presentation is so damn similar. But of course, Jonathan has a long way to go to get to Mat’s calibre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 11:13 pm

So? Is that bad?

That’s what people wanna know what; whether it has good head/shoulder/leg space, boot space, can/cannot fold flat, enough storage space, etc.

• RedCRZ on Mar 14, 2014 at 2:13 am

aww come on. seriously bulat2 dude? Ive seen EVERY carbuyers utube vids. theyre different!. location setting, montages, driving demo, camera angle are different lah… style & presentation similar? u must be blind.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Alza is more a wagon + 2 booster seats.

That said, I don’t understand why Perodua wanna make a sedan. Remove 3rd row seats, voila, Alza is a Myvi wagon. More spacious than sedan, cost 0 development cost. Looks better too.

Everytime mention wagon, people think drive keter mayat. Tak abis-abis kebodohan ni.

I see Alphard, Estima, vans used as keter mayat, takde org fobia pun bawa keter ni. In fact, some even seen as luxury car.

Anyway, hearse are not even same as wagon one can buy at showroom and use daily. Hearse are usually special made longer & taller to accommodate coffin. Go watch movie/tv, you’ll never see normal wagon exactly same as hearse.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 14, 2014 at 11:27 am

Have you ever driven an Alza before…? I bet you not…

Go drive one and wreck it – bang here, terbakar; bang there terbakar…! That already qualified to be kereta mayat… It’s called auto-cremation – automatic cremation or automotive cremation, I let you decide on that… No need to save up for a coffin…

As for Alphard, Estima and the likes, at least they kick the bucket in style…

• Aero (Member) on Mar 13, 2014 at 11:48 pm

Great video tour ! Paultan.org should definitely make more of these ! If a picture speaks a thousand words, a video should speak millions.

Really, I am quite impressed with the new Alza facelift, and in all honesty, the interior looks much, much more modern and stylish than the old-school Exora Bold. Still, I believe the Exora is all-round better than the Alza, and it’s so much safer too. Safety is paramount in MPVs because most will be used to transport our kids, our future generation. Perodua should do more for safety in their cars, they can start by standardising the ABS and EBD across all Alza variants.

Also, for those of you who cakap busuk about Jonathan Lee, please put yourself in his shoes for a moment. It is not easy to do a video tour/ review, writing an article online is a 100 times more simple and straight forward. I have tried similar stuff in the past, I ended up taking so long to finish them because of repeated takes and whatnot. Composure is very important, you must keep ‘the flow’ going, hard to put in words but it’s something all actors, TV presenters, journalists etc. must grasp, and usually it can only be sharpened through fist-hand experience.

Plus, Jonathan Lee is new to the paultan.org crew, I’m sure he will become a Boss in due time ! haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Obviously (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 7:17 am

I second the motion of more video tours! I’d also like to see videos of driving impressions. They’re always exciting to watch. When will the Driven web-series recommence, guys?

• Norman on Mar 14, 2014 at 2:25 am

It is fortunate that Perodua is under UMW Toyota and its mostly a copy of either Toyota or Daihatsu models…if Perodua using their own chassis and engines im sure sales will be as slow as Proton too

• CAMPRO on Mar 14, 2014 at 4:40 am

Better buy preve because it has campro cfe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • farghmee on Mar 14, 2014 at 8:31 am

aiyo…lain segment la dey.

• 60' Hemi Barracuda on Mar 14, 2014 at 8:37 am

And then?

• kzm (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 11:09 am

Preve where got 3rd row? in the boot space? exora i can agree but preve?

• tmleong on Jan 11, 2015 at 9:34 am

Preve’s value will depreciate very fast just like all P1 cars (except Inspira though). Just very lousy trade-in value or resale value and comes with reliability and abundance quality problems.

• The interior very ugly

• lotustuned on Mar 14, 2014 at 10:01 am

Head nice but still don like the butt.

• Jebonr on Mar 14, 2014 at 10:39 am

Like that small roof screen. That’s all. :-)

• totti on Mar 14, 2014 at 11:33 am

Improvement noted but 1 important feature has been neglected is the rear air con blower.

MPV without a rear air-con blower?

• Perodua=Building Crap, People Last!.Not worth spending RM52k to 64k for a shitty peroduaaa junk! I sold both my myvis for a crappy amount.In just 3 years it has dropped rm 30k! Seriously malaysians,Stop buying this p2 brand.Not worth it plus safety wise it is Shit!Extreme and Advanced version both damn ugly models with or without bodykit.Stock Ford Fiesta and Jazz and even the damn freed also looks lightyears better than the myvi and crappy junk alza.Even Hyundai Matrix also looks and drives better than myvi and alza! Hopeless daihatsu junk cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • I think you’ve miss out on one of the most key advantage of the new Alza which is the Secutiry Tint Film. I think this is standard on the Advance Version if i’m not mistaken. This is a very good product that Perodua have started introducing as the crime rate is increasing.