2014 Chevrolet Malibu appears on oto.my – RM163,000

Chevrolet_Malibu_Malaysia_01

We’ve known that the 2014 Chevrolet Malibu is coming to Malaysia for quite a while, and now an ad posted on our sister classifieds site oto.my gives us crucial new details. It looks like the American D-segment sedan will be fielded here in 2.4 Ecotec form, with an indicative price of RM163,000.

If accurate, that would make it the most affordable 2.4/2.5 litre large sedan in Malaysia (not counting the sub-D-segment Suzuki Kizashi), undercutting the big-engined Honda Accord and Hyundai Sonata by around RM10,000, and the Toyota Camry 2.5V by RM17,000. That’s a lot, even at this level.

Look beyond the blurry pictures and the Malibu appears rather handsome too (though it’s not the latest facelifed version), while its Camaro-inspired rear end is sure to draw attention. Its 2.4 litre Ecotec engine makes 165 hp and 225 Nm of torque, sent to the front wheels through a six-speed auto’box. Silly manual override switch on the gearknob, though.

The oto.my ad lists leather seats, sunroof, keyless entry, Bluetooth connectivity, cruise control, GPS navigation and ESP. Oh, and “best handling in class” too, apparently. Err, yeah, sure it does :).

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• The photo used for this post! It really reminds me of Inspira!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
    • ........ on Mar 14, 2014 at 10:39 pm

i’ve heard this theory that plenty of malays wouldnt buy a chevy because of its badge (it resembles a cross). I REALLY HOPE THIS IS NOT TRUE!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 38
      • kangkong on Mar 15, 2014 at 1:20 am

Then for those who think that better not to use any road which has cross junction. Don’t write “t” as well as all these have a “cross” too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
      • nabill on Mar 16, 2014 at 12:06 am

this car will not sell no matter what badge u put…
        seen this car in dubai n it has a very plasticky interior…but this brand is too lame to be anythng in msia…blame it on distributor or whatnot , it jus doesnt stand a chance…if u discount the colorado , i jus dont know how it can sustain its operations in msia….

• AutoFrenz on Mar 16, 2014 at 10:09 am

Some people just like to make fun of everything…religion, race, the govt, the country that they live in…even those passengers of mh370…they r not sensitive at all…they just dont care as long they can say something that insults other peopke…the sad part is they are happy.doing it…shame shame shame these people…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Farmer on Mar 16, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Its a ‘bow tie’.

• Hukaka on Mar 14, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Car nice but after sales services are almost par with VW.
    Parts need to wait and wait unitil no end.there it’s a unit cruze cause the car wash company washing the engine compartment cause faulty and need to wait more then few month to order.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Albert Lee on Mar 16, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Your Excellency Hukaka,you are 200% correct.
      I had an encounter with their big brother NAZA when I sent my Citra for an aircon component for replacement.Those guys at the setapak service centre said I have to wait 1 month(n drive without the aircon,imagine).Suddenly,one troubleshooter from NAZA HQ appeared and kindly offered to help me.He said he could deliver the part in 48 hours!!
      You see,either those Setapak guys are stealing spare parts n claim no stocks or their HQ are keeping all the spare parts somewhere cos they want to minimise theft in their service centres.
      It is disgusting for this AP Giant to be given KIA and other wellknown brands to market.

• AVH (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 7:36 pm

It sure does looks handsome even in pictures, still have no idea why the Americans hate the styling so much so that it brought a USDM FB-Civic like immediate emergency refresh. Can’t say the same with the interior thou, looks messy.

Not sure of its success here, The Cruze and Sonic aren’t doing very well even for its size and spec it still undercuts its rival in price. I havn’t seen a Chevy Sonic in months

• Aero (Member) on Mar 15, 2014 at 12:20 pm

True that. Chevy sales in Malaysia are very, very low. Their market share is 0.3% only.

Sos; http://bestsellingcarsblog.com/2014/03/11/malaysia-january-2014-market-down-9/

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 17, 2014 at 1:31 pm

I don’t think it is very attractive. The nose is quite bullish, the rear too, but everything else isn’t. It doesn’t match. The facelift is better IIRC. The Malibu’s brother, the Opel Insignia is a much more attractive car. Elegant. Sleek.

• Maserati on Mar 14, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Yucks! Who in the world would buy this over the awesome accord?

Looks terrible and doubt there will be any sort of power from that crap engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
    • sick&tired on Mar 14, 2014 at 9:27 pm

I would. And how would you know the engine is crap? You are just hating for the sake of hating. I am glad to see Naza bringing in another D-segment car to compete with the likes of Accord & Camry. More the merrier!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Not my cup of tea but i wont bash because its a import car so its a good car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • Aero (Member) on Mar 15, 2014 at 12:24 pm

So, import car means very good lah ?

Sure or not Chery is good ? What about Tata ? Or even Lada ?

• kzm (Member) on Mar 15, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Funny comment…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • rchoo on Mar 15, 2014 at 1:18 am

So, u think Accord has power? 2.0 or 2.4 version?

All Accord has no powerlah. Even 2.4 version has no low rev torque, which is very important for day to day use, horse power only top up at 4600RPM, what is the use? fuel consumption also higher than common European Turbo cars nowadays, throw your conservative thinking out of the window lah.

Frankly speaking, my 508 can beat your Accord 2.4 in low and mid speed, top speed also won’t lose to you much (which you hardly reached).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
    • rchoo on Mar 15, 2014 at 10:47 pm

In fact, Honda 2.4 torque only peaks at above 4200 RPM, the curve/gradient to their peak torque is very gentle, which will reflect on its responsiveness in acceleration or a lack of it. That’s why its acceleration in low to mid speed is not impressive at all in comparison to most European Turbo powered car.

• Vision on Mar 14, 2014 at 7:50 pm

I better get this than Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Sorry, but the thing with GM cars is the quality. After sitting in the Cruze and the Sonic, I am not surprised why people bought the Fiesta/208 and Focus/308/Cerato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • malidana please proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • judgedredd on Mar 14, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Suicide price tag, the car rated below 508 in China but price higher here? Why? New model?

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 11:09 pm

I like your username.

• rchoo on Mar 15, 2014 at 1:05 am

Price higher than 508? Which model of 508 you referred to? 508 Turbo S or 508 Premium? 508 Premium retails at RM 169,888 over here and I am driving one and enjoying every moment of it.

The fact that 508 is cheaper in China than UK, Aust and Malaysia is because 508 in China uses a lot of China parts and that’s why they r significantly cheaper. But the UK and Australia 508 r much more expensive because they are manufactured in Europe (The Malaysia’s 508 r imported from Europe also and is similarly price as UK and Aust).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Datuk on Mar 14, 2014 at 8:35 pm

from the picture, the taillight look like Camaro a bit

• Contender on Mar 14, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Nice looking car but pricing at oto.com RM163,000 is on the high side …. plus after sales service is a terrible, gonna be a low volume, take a look at Chevy Orlando pricing is ok but hardly seen on the road

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 9:05 pm

At least much cheaper than mini..but.. not my pick.. Americans known for fuel guzzler.. but at least they can stand extreme heat. In Saudi Arabia American cars are famous. I didn’t see any VW there.. Camry alot too.

• drrif on Mar 14, 2014 at 10:40 pm

Will be worth less than yesterday’s Nasi Lemak in 5 years. Chevy Malibu is cheap shit car in US. People would laugh that people in Malaysia pay 50,000 USD for a Chevy Malibu – what a joke. American cars handle like oil tankers, and have ZERO brand image.

Only an idiot would buy this in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • lemer on Mar 17, 2014 at 2:13 pm

You are misinformed.
      Malibu is not cheap car,like most american cars, Ford as well, they have great handling, one of the best in it segment. Chevy is very popular brand in Northern America (USA, Canada), and Midlle eastern countries.

• Many muslim in malaysia still refrains frm buying a chevy due to its cross-like emblem; which even at one point chevy malaysia had 2 make adverts running for a couple of months in major newspapers telling ppl its actually a bowtie.
    As a muslim myself, there r many versions (different scholar different verdict) of whether its permitted 4 muslim 2 drive a vehicle with cross @ cross-like emblem or not.
    But, what most muslim agree is that even if there’s a slight doubt of whether we can use chevy cars or not, we would NOT buy it even though d doubt is only 0.05%.
    So, chevy malaysia; i hope u r reading this – if u change using Holden logo or whatnot; based on my unofficial survey, your sales would surely increase – i myself would have got myself d new 500NM colorado if not for d “reservation” i have. And my neighbor really liked d orlando but again, d emblem dilemma.

P.s. dont get racist or whatnot; these statement is purely intended for d business-decision. Peace!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 56
    • 1malaysia on Mar 15, 2014 at 12:38 am

Bro, I dont understand why being so concern about whether the logo having resemblance of a cross or what not?! not being racist here but instead should we more open up?? look at most of the middle east countries, Chevy has a major car market share esp on the SUV’s.So should Chevy be banned there too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
      • It’s forbidden 4 muslims 2 display any insignia/sign of other religion. And chevy had 2 make an announcement that it is in fact a bowtie. But d reservation is still there because it is almost cross-like. So again i’m stressing; d marketing managers @ chevy malaysia should have done a proper market survey – look at it fron business point of view. No need 2 look @ mid east as we r talking about d 15 million muslim in Malaysia, not saudi nor qatar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 16
        • UKatak on Mar 16, 2014 at 10:20 pm

Bro … you are like “katak bawah tempurung”. Are we practising different version of Islam here in Malaysia? Have you been to any countries outside of Malaysia? Have you been to Saudi? What cars are popular in Saudi? Are you telling me the muslims in Malaysia are more Islamic than the Saudis?
          Otak ada .. pakai la sikit!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Aero (Member) on Mar 15, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Is it ? I never knew that.

If you don’t mind, can you please explain why Chevrolet sales in Saudi, UAE, Qatar and Kuwait is so syiok ? The Arabs all drive massive sedans and SUVs, a lot which are Chevys.

So if the people at Makkah can buy Chevrolet cars, why not us too ?

• IdealTech on Mar 16, 2014 at 9:17 pm

There they sold the vehicles under GM name and emblem. In fact they dont even give a damn look for chevys line ups.

• Jade eye on Mar 16, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Why not us? because malaysian muslims are conventional minded. Thats all.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 15, 2014 at 12:47 pm

I don see anything wrong even Saudi Chevrolet use the same logo

• As a Muslim I don’t get what the heck is the problem driving a car with a ‘cross'(actually a bow tie) logo! If you don’t have faith in your own faith then that’s your problem! This whole religious paranoia thing among some of the Malay Muslims is getting out of hand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • DrCooper on Mar 16, 2014 at 6:50 pm

it not a cross..it’s a ‘bow tie’…the alfa romeo has cross (and yes it really mean a cross) on it but still got plenty of muslim maleis bought it..

• pls be open minded la bro..! next time u should not everything related to +, + on mathematics, + on your keyboard and bla bla bla..honestly, i think chevy fail because lack of advertisement

• Ray Rosli on Aug 30, 2014 at 12:34 pm

No lar bro. The PAS deputy president, Datuk Nik Mohd Amar is using Chevrolet Optra. What is this all about cross and 0.05% doubt bla bla bla. Ask the deputy PAS, I am definitely sure he knows his Islamic stuff better than most of us here.

It is a bowtie, if it is a cross, what that this letter “t” tells you? is it a cross or letter “tee”??? Another example 1+1=2. The sign “+” also means cross???

Tepuk dada tanya iman bro!!

• overrated on Mar 14, 2014 at 10:56 pm

gosh, the car interior is so ‘chevy’..the aircond vents remind me of the sonata in the 2002-2005, it wont age well I think, at least for the interior.

• kslee on Mar 15, 2014 at 2:27 am

bet it doesnt have RV,

same like throwing money into sea

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • I dont think twice, Jap is preferable & sensible for reliability. Too expensive for the brand. Worst most…. no RV. This car & its Korean equivalent shd be priced < 120K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • muixxium on Mar 15, 2014 at 8:49 am

Those who concern too much on RV should buy a second hand car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Mar 15, 2014 at 9:35 am

They sure this car legally to sell in bolehland? The name is not halal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • IdealTech on Mar 15, 2014 at 2:03 pm

r there many chevys on the road? Its a nay for answer right? with low rv n unknown reliability..it should me HARAM for me most of the ppl out there :-)

• Danny Lim on Mar 15, 2014 at 9:50 am

Resale Value = I want to buy it so badly and I want to sell it so madly too. love both!! LOL… rite guys?

• Aero (Member) on Mar 15, 2014 at 12:14 pm

‘Murica.

• iskhalifah on Mar 15, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Agreed with majority of the comments. Although its cheaper than Accord/Camry, its way too expensive considering the brand & reputation value. But kudos for bringing it here; perhaps it may heat up the competition (if the car is received favorable reviews from local journalists).

The Chevy Cruze was a total letdown. So much hype during its global launch yet it doesn’t sell well here.

• MarlboroSoftpack on Mar 15, 2014 at 12:51 pm

I dont understand why people worry so much about RV. All cars tend to face price depreciation from time to time. If you so worried about it, don’t buy a car. Just go get yourself a nice bicycle and buy a house.
    About the emblem, I don’t give a shit at all. It doesn’t resembles a cross or crucifix. And again if you worry about it, just got get yourself 666 plate no to neutralize your car.

• rocky balboa on Mar 15, 2014 at 7:48 pm

driven this company car when I was posted to Shanghai as an Expat.

The ride is so so and the consumption is terrible. It did like 7-8km/l on average.

One advice from me – stay away from this car unless you wanna fatten oil company pocket.

• Troll You All on Mar 15, 2014 at 11:12 pm

Everyone has the right to choose their own cars, don’t bash just because you have a European car. I owned both European and Japanese cars both bring different joys. European may be high on tech but it will break down much sooner than the japs, dont try to bullshit me with your comments, owned a peugeot suddently stopped on a highway near sg.Besi!!! owned a Volkswagen battery is 1K and DSG problems. Japs are reliable but driving dynamics of coarse is no comparison to the Europeans , but still not bad. Everycar has its ups and downs, thats why there are so many manufactures out there, they compete to give the best to their customers, Its your choice to choose your car, everybody is different, if everyone is the same just make one car it will suit all. If you dont like a certain car doesnt mean other people dont, buy the car you like, leave the rest to choose themselves…Nobody is wrong in the automotive world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • paucharsiew on Mar 16, 2014 at 7:37 am

why buy this over mazda 6?

• ahmadfaris93 on Mar 16, 2014 at 11:57 am

The main reason people would not buy this car is resale/after sales service. Chevy Malaysia need to improve more on that department. Plus, they rely too much on Thailand specced cars that came in here, which are quite badly equipped/specced.
    I wish they would do better.

• Malibu on Mar 16, 2014 at 2:10 pm

I will buy this car. My money my decision.

• Samad Jain on Mar 16, 2014 at 6:37 pm

just wanna say that……there are better and cheaper cars out there than this chevy.

• ss427 on Mar 17, 2014 at 9:00 am

Guys, the Malibu is on sale in SG for quite awhile already. Unfortunately it found very little buyers.. I’ve test drove the car before, but SG Chevy dealer is just about as bad as Bolehland one I guess. Very poor and expensive aftersales service. And of cos brand image too.

Its bad enough that Chevy range is extremely limited in this part of the world, and they’re all either rebadged GM Daewoo, or real Chevy models but built by Daewoo.

And Daewoo is nowhere near Hyundai/Kia in terms of car building know how and design.

The Malibu is actually a car to drive, and its a REAL Chevy, not a rebadged Daewoo. Unfortunately the engine used in SE Asia is hardly earth shaking. US market Malibu can be equipped with a 2L Ecotec Turbo Direct Injection that makes a heady 260hp…. :) Or u can opt for the 3.6L V6 DI that makes 300hp.

Compared with what u can buy in the USA, our local spec Malibu specs is also lower despite we paying almost 6-7x more for the car…

I don’t know what u guys will be getting in the end but compared to the Malibu LTZ model, SG market LTZ model DOESN’T have window curtain airbags! Just side airbags only. HID headlamps are not steerable. SatNav are local fitted modules that was crudely incorp into the factory LCD screen. The display and interface looks completely different when u enter SatNav mode. Very slow interface too.

Aircon are single zone auto climate control. US Malibu can be had with dual zone.

Also, the conversion to RHD wasn’t done too properly. The pedals are all skewed to the left (its ok for LHD) and it leaves little feet room for bigger shoes. The dead pedal position is a joke. Can’t use at all. LOL.

Also, there’s no rear aircon vents. Its not available in US Malibu too. GM is unwise not to include that.

http://chevrolet.com.sg/cars/malibu-2-4-ltz/
    http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/review.php?AID=646