Mazda 3 CKD to arrive in Q3 2014, Mazda 6 Q1 2015?

mazda3-glenmarie-39

While a recent RHB research report revealed that the next-generation Mazda 2 will arrive in Malaysia by the end of this year, a similar analysis by Maybank (below) is even more telling. The latter states that local CKD operations for the Mazda 3 and Mazda 6 models will commence in the coming year.

The expected timelines are as such: the third quarter of 2014 for the C-segment Mazda 3, and the first quarter of 2015 for the D-segment Mazda 6. Both locally-assembled models will come out of the company’s new plant in Kulim, Kedah, which is set to be fully commissioned next month.

2013-Top-5-Mazda6-01

Just today, Mazda began production of the third-generation Mazda 3 in Thailand. While we wait for our own Mazda 3 CKD, Mazda Malaysia will sell built-in-Japan CBU models of the C-segmenter, with the official local launch set to happen next week. The hatchback version may be introduced too.

We’ve covered the latest Mazda 3 quite extensively since its global debut last year. If you haven’t already, you can read our Australian drive report of the 2.0 and 2.5 litre variants, or watch our own walk-around video of the Malaysian-spec Mazda 3 2.0 Sedan that’s already on sale.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Mazda Malaysia damn lousy especially kuching, waiting list 4-6 month, even demo car also don’t have! 3s centre? NO! WTH, seems like they dont want to sell their car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Lendl on Mar 14, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Mazda3 price probably twice more expensive than Preve.

Yes it means twice better quality than Preve too. Now flame me down Macai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
    • Lpost on Mar 14, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Actually it is not mazda malaysia fault but bermaz(berjaya) and gov fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • kzm (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Not provide demo car oso gov fault?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
        • Lpost on Mar 15, 2014 at 9:22 am

AP quota and production permit.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 16, 2014 at 1:13 pm

AP quota? U mean Open AP? Thats for gray import n recond. CKD need AP? AP in any industry is for imported stuff. Mazda oledi has production permit that y they have plant here.

• pontiac on Mar 17, 2014 at 8:23 am

now everyday gov fault ma. stupid people commenting also gov fault.. LOL

• I guess we condemned Proton so much cause we care about it, we want to see it improves. Come to think of it Proton is as equally bad as Peugeot, Fiat and Alfa. They all break down a lot but we don’t talk about them much as they are foreigns.

• Danial Md on Mar 15, 2014 at 11:28 am

Budak bodo. Still writing nonsense. If you don’t know how to read in context, go back to school.

• dragon on Mar 14, 2014 at 5:46 pm

agree….
      at my hometown there also no 3s service centre.even the engine oil also use the shell helix!!!dint have the tyre alignment and balancing service provide.
      (note:service centre at juru autocity.)

• kzm (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 9:54 pm

I don’t know y mazda can find boleh when thai is available..

• ToBohLanSamLoo on Mar 14, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Better than Toyota where cars are all over at showroom and parking areas because cant sell the car with Sam Loo kind of junior uncle sales man there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • samoron on Mar 15, 2014 at 4:47 pm

You mean Sam Loo is a Toyota salesman? Isn’t he is a second hand car dealer who specialises in taking Hyundai cars at cheap price? I was thinking of getting used Hyundai cars at low price from him bcs I have many waiting buyers are willing to pay high price for these value-for-money cars. Shit….now my dreams of making quick bucks are dashed.

• Sam Loo on Mar 16, 2014 at 12:20 am

I only trade used Hyundai.

RV of Toyota and Honda is too high, ppl find it hard to get financing.

Used Hyundai gets traded in low and sold for a high margin

• Sam Loo on Mar 16, 2014 at 12:20 am

I only trade used Hyundai.

RV of Toyota and Honda is too high, ppl find it hard to get financing.

Used Hyundai gets traded in low and sold for a high margin

• kl fella on Mar 17, 2014 at 10:58 am

“Used Hyundai gets traded in low and sold for a high margin” are you saying that used hyundai have high RV?

• Just my opinion as a CKD CX-5 owner to future Mazda buyers, do not buy the malaysian CKD units. Get the CBU units if possible. The deteriorated quality and reduced spec is not worth it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • paucharsiew on Mar 14, 2014 at 6:00 pm

while i do not find the ckd mazda’s to be bad…the CBU’s are noticeably superior in quality

• kzm (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 9:31 pm

look n read comment above…boleh people don like built in boleh car..fact!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • I am one of proud Mazda3 CBU owner.. 4 years without problem.. some people may say I’m lucky.. but I think that shows the different of QC between Japan and Msia factory..

• Bawakereta on Mar 16, 2014 at 2:36 pm

I second that. Just bought the mazda cx5 ckd 2.0 high spec 2wd. The quality is rubbish. I can see gap line at the dashboard. Under the steering there is soft plastic if you careless you might broke it. To add some more, the plastic thing outside the door also showing gap line. Poor QC. The engine and handling is ok. This is honest opinion.

• Bawakereta on Mar 16, 2014 at 2:38 pm

*you might brake it. Hahaha. English tak power. Sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
        • When did he said “brake it”??? Your mata ada power-lah…Go QC your eye.

• grandma nazi on Mar 17, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Break. at least make sure you are damn correct before correcting others.

• Whatever on Mar 14, 2014 at 5:18 pm

The price deduction should be substanstial due to :
    – MAZDA3 has been prequalified as EEV.
    – CKD

Or else, people will question the transparency of the NAP2014 (again).

• Apasaja on Mar 15, 2014 at 8:34 am

Whatever price reduction, MITI never allow Mazda3 same or cheaper price than Preve.

• I sincerely apologise if this post is not quite relevent here but I personally feel I have a moral obligation to highlight this to the public.

Frankly, those supporting opposition aka Pakatan Rakyat should refrain him or herself from buying Berjaya Bhd (owned by Vincent Tan, whois a strong BN lobbyist) cars i.e. Mazda.

Many of us here has been very critical of the Government on various issues such as car prices, excise duty, AP-kings, petrol prices, import duty, GST, etc. and yet we support Berjaya Auto via Mazda.

Of course, no harm discussing on Mazda but try not to fund them.

Happy Flyday peeps!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 12
    • Albert Lee on Mar 14, 2014 at 6:28 pm

I throw you a question.If Pakatan is in power today,would you buy a Toyota ,which is owned by PNB’s UMW.Many of Pakatan’s supporters are driving Vios and Camrys.
      Politics aside,cars are like DRUGS.You get hooked on them cos of many appealing factors.
      What about the popular Myvis and Vivas.Which company ultimately owns Perodua?Yet supporters from both sides of the political divide buy their cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Vincent on Mar 15, 2014 at 9:13 am

Hi JK…avoid buying Mazda cause Vincent Tan? Do u know that 90% of thw car.brand in Malaysia is BN , political link? That would also mean that u got almost no choice! Name me a good brand that not belong to their gang.

• Albert Lee on Mar 14, 2014 at 6:10 pm

This Berjaya owned company,I had something to say.During the past economic recessions,the present Cardiff boss did not retrench his workers.He helped put food on the table for many of his employees.
    I may not like his” cronylised” association with the mamak,but he does have certain good points.
    The long waiting period for cars is actually a good problem.The problem lies with the Japanese not being able to supply on time to match demand.
    If Protong’s customers have to wait 6 months ,then we are beginning to see the revival of Protong.Now Protong’s stocks are piling up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Hi Albert Lee,

Whether Pakatan or Barisan is in power I will still buy Toyota and Perodua cars because the majority shareholders for the respective companies are UMW Holdings Bhd, EPF and PNB.

Toyota dealer is UMW Holdings Bhd
    UMW Holdings Bhd majority shareholders are:
    48% Perbadanan Nasional Bhd
    16.8% EPF

Perodua dealer/manufacturer is Perodua Bhd
    Perodua Bhd majority shareholders are:
    38% UMW Corporation Sdn Bhd 38% stake
    20% Daihatsu Motor Co. Ltd. (20%)

PNB is the biggest fund mgmt company in Malaysia which they get their funds from Malaysian by means of issuing Amanah Saham Nasional, ASW 2020, etc. In directly it means, its the Rakyat’s money.

Some goes with EPF, its our money EPF is using to hold on to UMW.

Berjaya Auto majority shareholder is Berjaya Group i.e. Vincent Tan.

So, I would gladly support Toyota and Perodua.

Having said the above, I mean if you can buy other cars such as Honda, Toyota, etc. why not? I still go to 7-Eleven to buy things when I’m super desperate. I still drink Starbucks like once in every 6-mths.

What I am trying to say is that, we should try our very best to give the least support to these cronies which is supporting our present Government.

Let’s hope for a better Malaysia :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • Albert Lee on Mar 14, 2014 at 9:11 pm

If you have been following my comments,my point is…Buy the dream car of your choice according to your financial ability.Even Honda is part owned by DRB.You can’t escape the politics of our day.
      If you want to minimise support to the cronies,fine.But most struggling Malaysians buy Protons not cos they like the mamak but due to financial constraints and strict Bank lending guidelines.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 9:40 pm

I don like when people start to include politic in car website regardless PR or BN..don be zombies!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • dugong on Mar 16, 2014 at 12:38 am

toyota and perodua are the two most overpriced and underspec cars in the market. I would rather avoid these scammers and spend my hard earned cash for a car that is worth every dollar.

• “coming year” means “following year”, and does not include events happening “this year”

• judgedredd on Mar 14, 2014 at 8:25 pm

OK, finally it prove why cbu m3 is so over price.. So, u got an overprice CKD as well

• Naturalbornliar on Mar 16, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Seems a proton is worth every penny unless u move out to your dream country.