Perodua commits RM6 million to fund UK distributor

Myvi UK

Perodua has committed operational funds worth £1.2 million (RM6 million) to support its UK distributor, Perodua UK Limited (PDUK). The agreement is meant to bolster the brand’s after sales services in the country, including ensuring the availability of spare parts, warranty as well as normal maintenance services.

“We wish to assure our customers in the UK that we remain committed in supporting them and our business partner (PDUK) despite no longer supplying our vehicles here,” said Perodua president and CEO, Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh. The sum will be distributed in instalments to PDUK every quarter until the end of 2020.

As of last year, Perodua was still selling the first-generation Myvi in the UK. The local carmaker has sold nearly 13,000 units of the Nippa (the Kancil to you and I), Kelisa, Kenari and Myvi since it started its operation in the UK in 1998, supported by 55 service dealers in England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and the Channel Islands.

Now that supply to the UK is no more, Perodua currently exports to seven countries, including Indonesia (as the Daihatsu Sirion), Singapore, Brunei, Fiji, Mauritius, Nepal and Sri Lanka.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• techsmart on Mar 14, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Good…at least not 3 billion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • get smart on Mar 14, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Give RM6 Billion is okay also…as long as Perodua give fuel efficient cars to car buyers

But if give RM3 Billion but still produce shitty car fuel guzzling engines, now thats pure idiotic wastage!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
      • peyno on Mar 20, 2014 at 6:56 am

see…. proton hater= perodua owner n salesman but pretending as conti , real jsps car owner

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 2:28 pm

There goes our money again. Y don’t they scrap perodua there since the car is so identical to daihatsu. The funny thing is we have to pay 1.2 mil pound to promote a brand which don’t even belong to us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • smart_not_idiot on Mar 14, 2014 at 2:30 pm

memang scrap already la, read the story properly la you jolly_idiot

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Give them some credit. This is actually a very corporately responsible move. If they abandoned their existing users like that, what do you think would happen to their corporate image that bears Malaysia’s name?

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Mar 15, 2014 at 9:29 am

Malaysia don’t need the name. Whole world is laughing at us on mh370 incident.

Unstoppable hilarious is our infamous bomoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 10:08 pm

that’s great what they do for after sales nothing wrong….how do u feel if VW don want to add more fund for after sales n parts in bolehland? U become angry bird rite

• abuya123 on Mar 14, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Not good. What earth are you thinking? Subsidi minyak kena tarik 5 sen pun dah menjerit2 suruh tukar kerajaan nikan plak 6mil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • mmaker on Mar 14, 2014 at 2:39 pm

rich nation dont want perodua anymore. Now they have sales target to 3rd world countries

• ahahahaha Malaysia best selling car pull out from UK, so Proton is the winner now.

• GTR36 on Mar 14, 2014 at 2:54 pm

wonder how much really is used for the expansion and balance to cronies. Out of 1.2 pounds, 200k maybe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Go SPRM la

• Danial Md on Mar 15, 2014 at 11:38 am

Budak bodo, what does SPRM have to do with this?

• kzm (Member) on Mar 16, 2014 at 1:28 pm

It mean misuse of fund la bro..that one of SPRM job..to charge or arrest people who misuse money than it intended use..understand

• not trying to be unpatriotic but Perodua is better off spending the 6 million on improving the quality and specs in their cars locally rather than doing this. Let Daihatsu do their own job in their own market.

• lol sold 13,000 cars since 1998 so pro

• Danny Lim on Mar 14, 2014 at 5:51 pm

This is a great car! I usually take my 2 Golden Retrivers to longkai….~~! :D Say no to Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • Motorhead (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Wah smart axxhole..it says there Perodua fund.. it’s own money lah.. not gov money or your father money. . Yes I ve 2 myvi s.. but pls la baca betul 2.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 10:01 pm

Kinda weird if p1 said from bank many not believe n said gov money…but when p2 said their fund u guy believe from the deep of ur heart..too weird for me

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 15, 2014 at 12:33 am

Kinda weird you are so bodo.. google PERODUA.. look at the shareholders… search for it’s anual reports..it’s a profit make company unlike P1.. moron.. 6 mill ka 10 mill ka.. not from your father money.. kinda weird if some still don’t know Toyota & Daihatsu ve shares in P2.. in another word.. their strategic partners. . & Globally. . They are profit making company… you sekolah samp mana kzm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • ruffstuff on Mar 15, 2014 at 7:46 am

Perodua do receive RnD grant. Sekolah sampai darjah berapa?

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 15, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Don’t just talk kork.. with due respect. . Pls share here any news asking money for R&D.. even so.. it making profit.. giving out back all revenue to it shareholders & 25% tax to IRB, back to gov fund in profit tax.. I think kids also know P2 doing rebadge.. even if some don’t like rebadge but hell I don’t care.. I just want to drive something that works. . Why a rebadge company need sp much money to develop own cars? Any retarded person can anwer that. Some face lifts yes may be.. but engines, gears etc are Daihatsu’s. Made in or by Japan.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 16, 2014 at 1:40 pm

How do you know they don take research grant? U know wat is R&D is for rite? N u oso already answer urself y rebadge company need to spent money to do R&D–not to spent money too much rite..rather than use own money to do R&D for plastic part..y not use gov R&D grant that has been setup for that purpose?

• kzm (Member) on Mar 16, 2014 at 1:47 pm

I studi until degree..

• peyno on Mar 20, 2014 at 7:03 am

perodua profit??? no official announcement??? hv to google??
          thereis no company in the world doing rebadge n claim as national car…

• Danial Md on Mar 15, 2014 at 11:43 am

I really wonder what education you have got. Get ahead in life with no merit and living off others.

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 6:49 pm

At least didn’t ask 3 billion for R&D. It’s own money anyway. Wire putus kah?

• peyno on Mar 20, 2014 at 7:05 am

they ask for incentive to gomen… 2 billions… to ensure japanese dont mive their compact car operation to indonesia….

prfffhhh

• boring. i dislike myvi n also lim guan eng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Aero (Member) on Mar 15, 2014 at 3:18 am

So… let’s see. Proton gonna launch the Prevé, Suprima, Exora and GSC in the UK this year. Meanwhile, Perodua is still selling the outdated original Myvi (NOT EVEN the facelift version !) in the UK.

Proton has sold more than 151,000 cars in the UK so far. Perodua only managed 13,000.

Please Perodua, do more for your export division. Nobody will complain if you can sell your Myvi in great numbers in poor and middle-class countries across Asia, The Middle East, South America and Africa. Instead, you’re wasting too much money and resources on the U.K., which is a limited saturated market.

Don’t be a jaguh kampung please. Learn from Proton and make your own platform and engine, stop paying royalties to Toyota.

• Accordana on Mar 15, 2014 at 8:36 am

Yes, Proton should stop paying royalties to Honda and Mitsubishi too.

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 15, 2014 at 11:38 pm

You must ve lost your mind, putus your otak wire & ve forgotten P1 golden days was rebadge Mitsu models.. Wira was Lancer platform. . & Neo (Mira) still selling & survive today.. & recently ask 3 billions to develop new model.. even Petronas not interested. . Whereas P2 keep on copy & paste.. what the heck.. they ve the rights to do it.. & I don’t care as long as some piece of Japan products exist in its model & I buy it at National car price.. don’t forget.. Inspira is still selling.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 16, 2014 at 1:55 pm

I don know y u so melenting when others not agree with u…i think u the type who don like other give opinion different fr u opinion

• peyno on Mar 20, 2014 at 7:09 am

proton use to be rebadger… now no more

perodua dulu kini selamanya rebadger

• walaweh on Mar 16, 2014 at 3:58 pm

erm,since when satria neo a mira rebadge???

then u call other people bodoh. irony.

• peyno on Mar 20, 2014 at 6:58 am

proven
    peyodua jaguh kampung
    dgn mslaysian bolehland boleh la kencing

kat UK tsk laku

• Bryan Cole on Jul 31, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Perodua in the UK have an ageing but loyal following, the main drawback to further increase sales in the UK/Ireland is that the current Myvi 1.3 Engine does not meet Euro 5 emission standards it also doesn’t help that the ‘latest’ models are not exported to the UK. If these hurdles could be overcome the vehicles as ‘value’ propositions would have broader appeal for a much younger demographic – the UK is the only market in Europe where car sales are continuing to grow (rather than flatlining as in Germany/France)but to beat off fierce competition from rivals Perodua need to expand the model range and only bring to the UK those cars that offer the ‘best bang for the buck’.