Proton hybrid car production starts end-2014 – MITI

saga-ev

Proton will produce a hybrid model by the end of this year, said Deputy International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Hamim Samuri. He revealed that to Dewan Rakyat yesterday, in reply to a supplementary question by Gombak MP Azmin Ali.

“The marketing status (price) and quantum of units have not been made known to us, but Proton has assured us that the car would be produced by year-end,” he said, adding that Proton has already developed the car’s prototype.

“The success is in line with the government’s aim to make the country a production and marketing hub with a target to produce some six million hybrid and electric cars,” he added further.

saga-ev-04

End-2014 for the first hybrid Proton is in line with earlier reports, with an EV to follow by end-2015. However, in January, Proton executive chairman Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil mentioned a target of end-2015. He said that the automaker was “on track and hopefully by the end of 2015 we will see some results for Proton.”

It could be that the DRB-Hicom and Proton boss heard “EV” instead of “EEV” or the reporters got mixed up. In any case, it looks like the original timeline is back in place and we will see the first Proton hybrid car by the end of this year.

On electric-powered cars, Hamim said planning is still under way and the first EV is slated to be produced by the end of next year. Read our exclusive test drive reports of the Exora REEV (Range Extender Electric Vehicle) and Saga EV for more insight.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Quoting the Exora REEV test report here:

“If all things go as planned, Proton will be the first in Malaysia to sell an electric vehicle by 2012, and the targeted price of below RM100K will mean that it’s not something that’s way out of reach. Here’s something to look forward to.”

That’s what they said in 2010. It’s now 2014. Keep your word Proton. What happened to the EMAS thing? it was a good concept really, but still MIA.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 7
    • Pengguna Bijak on Mar 14, 2014 at 12:37 pm

I will buy Proton hybrid car if give minimum 50-years warranty & free service maintenance (unlimited mileage) with 24hrs stand by towing too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 37
      • Vader on Mar 14, 2014 at 2:11 pm

If launch the hybrid car, please do improve the dashboard design, the previous “prototype” dashboard design is totally outdated!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
        • Hybrid - Magic carpet on Mar 14, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Bunch of fools. Can’t even find a missing plane and that also, using bomoh to find the plane, they want to build hybrid kah? Basic also don’t know, want to build high tech?

I shivver to know what will happne when we do build the proposed nuclear plant. To find missing plane also, so much of contradictions, no proper procedures, etc etc, how to build hybrid?

We spend billions of submarine also, they say cannot search underwater.

So how with the hybrid? The bomoh going to give the hybrid cells power? Then the hybrid cells can fly the car like magic flying carpet!

Remember, hybrid is not like faulty power windows, small mistake, the cells will explode like a bomb. I think Malaysia better stick to what they are good at, pokok getah and kelapa sawit. Leave the tech to the Japs and Koreans.

Even our local made handphone and tvs also big flop, I don’t know why we want to be so tech in hybrid cars.

Technically, Proton also is a flop company if not for Malaysians being “forced” to buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 105
          • Hello? Stick to the topic please.. The remarks you made are totally unrelated okay??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
          • PH Lee on Mar 14, 2014 at 10:01 pm

Alo! no need to include the missing plane. hw RUDE of u. more than 5 countries r helping to find the plane! what r u mf doing? complaining 247!

on proton.. hmmm.. hopeless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
          • west end boys on Mar 15, 2014 at 1:46 am

go make yourself lah ,gi buat sampan sendiri cari mh370 ,at least the bomoh tried unlike you and me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
          • Danial Md on Mar 15, 2014 at 11:34 am

This supposed to be private company now. Why government still announcing for Proton? Or is it sandiwara for the public to see that government and Proton are now two sperate entitites?

The 3 billion will eventually quietly go to them. The keyword here is quietly. Just like how MAS gets about 2 billion anuually, Proton also will get the 3 billion. All our tax payers money.

Our beloved Government, cannot give us water and cannot control open burning and give us clean air
            now want to venture pulak into hybrid technology.

Woi UMNO, kasi rakyat water and clean air first lah. Why give 3 billion to Proton and cronies? Use the 3 billion to build more dams. Get more enforcement officers to curb open burning.

We love to blame the Indons but all the haze actually comes from our own backyard.

Give your rakyat the basic necessities first, which is clean air and contstant water, then talk about hybrid later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
          • Obviously (Member) on Mar 15, 2014 at 11:51 pm

And it’s a mentality like that which holds back progress. Btw, the search for the plane is not solely on Malaysia’s shoulders now. There are a multitude of countries, all searching for the same thing to no avail and if you think it’s that easy to find, why don’t you go and try it? Sure, it’s a big plane but the era of instant messaging and flight has made this world appear smaller than it actually is. It is still a rather big planet. For the sake of respect, please stop bringing up the topic in your negative comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Potholes ada mau Hybrid? on Mar 17, 2014 at 9:06 am

Proton is Gomen. Gomen is Proton. Gomen ought to give us roads without POTHOLES first before doing big things first. So typical, foundation so bad but want to action and keep up with others to show off by doing hybrid.

Malaysians spend so much in a year to replace ripped tayar. In one year, my tayar gets ripped at least twice because of potholes (cannot be seen when it rains)

Tada jalan betul pun mau bikin hybrid!

• Before that, make sure you have 3 months annual leave to spend in service centre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
        • Aniq Affandi (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:58 am

If that is the amount of faith you have, i believe that you no longer need to purchase Proton with that level of suspicion. But still, I believe 100k is a little too pricy, don’t you think?

• N.Fazura (Member) on Apr 07, 2014 at 3:16 pm

If that’s the case, you might not need to buy a car in the 1st place. Where got car with those kind of services? -.-

• AFAIK, EMAS design was bought by VW through VW’s acquisition of Italdesign Guigiaro (the design consultant company that co-designs EMAS) and all of it’s design rights.

Proton was too late and couldn’t buy the design (except Preve)… then it became VW Up!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • sudonano (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 1:57 pm

not too sure if the acquisition of Italdesign also lead to VAG getting the EMAS, but then again, Proton would have bought the license for it, right? I mean, considering the Preve was coined by Italdesign much later, after the concept EMAS was out.

We are not talking about power-window reliability here. There are other things that matter now, which Proton needs to fix.

1. Safety: Test your cars with EURO NCAP. Nothing beats the seal of approval from them. And also, make sure the cars sold in export markets are the same as the local ones, i.e. same strength of side impact bars and all.
        2. Build quality. The Suprima S, one of the most expensive Protons out there has some build issues. Loose panels, poorly thought out layout (remember the boot opener), speedometer which can be barely read, all these things, they play a role in the showroom experience. And that experience is what will decide if you will buy the car or not. Why is it that Kia can sell so many cars now, compared to last time? Its cause they bucked up on build quality.
        3. Try to make them look a bit exciting. Again, I bring in Kia, Hyundai and Peugeot, still considered underdogs in our Toyota dominated market, but just look at their rising sales, all thanks to exciting looking cars. People are gonna keep their cars for at least 5 years on average. At least make it nice for them, so that they’d buy another from you.
        4. No more “tidak apa” and “Proton, biasa la ada problem” attitude by service centres. Just shows the dealers are so incompetent. That’s one thing, UMW does well.

If they can’t master these, I’d be worried, its like trying to run before you can even walk properly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
        • Nope, Preve was designed much earlier than EMAS, and Proton bought it right away. That’s why Proton|Studio can alter it to become Tuah/Espire concept (Preve was still under secrecy at that time, so, many ppl think Preve came after Tuah)

EMAS project is actually started by Italdesign Guigiaro, not Proton. IG wanted to make (or experiment?) a space-saving citycar design concept with an existingly available brand, but no carmaker wanted to give help, until Proton/Lotus came and agreed to use their brand and powertrain. The design right is still under IG at that time. VW sees it, and unexpectedly “stole” the design by buying IG two months later.

Abt those other things.. I think Proton have the capability to master all that, it’s just those accountant-head DRB management are just too scared to invest money and take the risks. Many engineers had to leave and go to JLR, Qoros, Caterham, blablabla because many of their ideas were axed. There’s always intervention from management level and politicians, so these engineers couldn’t do anything. R&D became slow and costly.

I wish DSZ came back. I bet he can do a LOT of improvements with DRB money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
      • EMAS was (is?) designed as a hybrid:
        http://paultan.org/2010/03/03/how-does-the-proton-emas-hybrid-system-work/

The up! is not available as a hybrid?

• any news for hybrid Mercedes Benz or Bimmer?

• Same Lor on Mar 16, 2014 at 1:55 am

Wualao, congrats! It is again another awesome 4S movent (Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok, Sentiasa Rosak, Sales Carnival) from the J class Proton.

I solute those who dare to buy the hybrid. For the ordinary J class like Persona, Preve etc, if the car break down, you just spend time at roadside and garage. For the breakdown in hybrid, you might caught yourself in fire.

Are you a hardcore J class supporter?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Wilson on Mar 14, 2014 at 12:22 pm

erm..how about NO?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
    • Winston on Mar 14, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Why should MITI announced Proton product plans on behalf?

Nak kasi Proton duit free RM3 billion cakap saja lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
  • Lalengko on Mar 14, 2014 at 12:35 pm

The hybrid car dash from every other manufacturers are a lot more interesting than ones currently shown here.

hopefully we’ll see improved interface in their final product

• Imagine a Neo R3 Hybrid!!! A Honda CR-Z competitor!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
  • Pengguna Bijak on Mar 14, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Now I know why MITI removed zero-duty policy to CBU hybrid cars (but except local CKD units)…it’s all wanna protect Proton hybrid car first while other companies caught off guard still not set-up their own local hybrid CKD factory….

Bravo Proton, Bravo MITI, Bravo DRB, Bravo NAP!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
  • rifle on Mar 14, 2014 at 12:46 pm

its about time..the delayed model should be mass produced now..

• tombak on Mar 14, 2014 at 3:17 pm

When CBU hybrids no longer get duty free price, suddenly Proton hybrids looks cheaper price…

Prius RM170K….Proton hybrid RM90K?….”wow, murahnya Proton hibrid…berbaloi lah”…orang kampung kena tipu lagi

Nampak tak permainan MITI tu….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
  • BLUR SOTONG on Mar 14, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Deemed as a Failed and unsuccessful EV !!!
    Those instrument cluster look like it’s design by a novice or children =(
    Proton please wake up your Great Idea !!!!!
    If you have nothing great to show, please keep it to yourself and don’t disgrace

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • It’s only an internal prototype la idiot.. What matters most is all mechanicals and systems is working..

• zeek (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Hmm they’re launching a hybrid and there’s no more tax exemption for imported hybrids. Coincidence? I don’t think so.

• neutronium on Mar 14, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Proton would need to show they’re working hard in order to justify the RM3 billion incentives requested. If they pull through with the hybrid vehicles, everyone will stand to gain (assuming the prices remain competitive)

• swee swee on Mar 14, 2014 at 1:18 pm

waiting for the first complaint of Proton EV – Engine caught on fire !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Government have to banned any sell of EV in Malaysia even golf cart and force they replace with our Proton EV.

• Carlover on Mar 14, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Proton… facing problem to create a better engine and now said want to build hybrid car. haha.. Proton hybrid just like add on type (NGV) or really new EV engine.. Come on la, please improve for those area that already super weak such as design of car, engine, reliable parts, fuel efficient… then only go to other area.. now Proton facing so much problem such as losing market sales, low sales for new model, fuel consumption high engine, lousy design, bad management, low productivity… really hope Proton can success but dont know when will happen…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Albert Lee on Mar 14, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Your Excellency Mr.Carlover,the FOUNDER AND ADVISOR “cabuted”,what’s left at this miserable car maker is “CONTINUED LOSSES and IMMINENT CLOSURE”.
      Ching Ming is around the corner.Have you allocated a new tombstone and plot of burial ground for this pathetic company?

• i will respect to those who dare to buy the first batch of proton hybrid car…

• ruffstuff on Mar 14, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Should gave respect to those buy VW. Which already years on the road but still giving more problem than Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
      • Same Lor on Mar 16, 2014 at 2:05 am

For the VW, only the DSG got problem.

For the J class Proton, every model every parts got problem. Check out the troubleshoot of common defect of Preve: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2978872 . The J class has its problem on the first day!

My wira’s engine no problem so far, because it is from Mitsubishi!

*J = Junk

• kassim selamat on Mar 14, 2014 at 2:09 pm

luv u proton. right here i waiting

• oops, the meters like toy lah… donno how long battery can last :)

• ruffstuff on Mar 14, 2014 at 6:48 pm

http://paultan.org/2010/11/25/driven-protons-range-extender-electric-exora-prototype/

• ruffstuff on Mar 14, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Preve hybrid is currently under testing. At the end of 2014 probably a product preview. I don’t think mass produce yet.

• Painter on Mar 14, 2014 at 3:15 pm

The company is already in the hands of private owner. Why is the government still answering questions on their behalf, especially in parliament?

Mind-boggling.

• Low Budget on Mar 15, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Yeah, smells fishy.

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 15, 2014 at 11:55 pm

A company birthed by the government should find it impossible to cut governmental ties in such a short time. And I’m pretty sure the government would still try to look out for the local automotive company. =/

• oh god pls no

• Albert Lee on Mar 14, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Again,we see Proton buying time by announcing hybrids and EVs .
    Just getting irritating to see Protong going into another round of sales gimmicks.It wont work and will backfire cos their technologies are still in infancy stage.
    Protong should by right be announcing launching of NEW FUEL EFFICIENT ENGINES .
    Anyway,it is too late.They do not have any new engine other than the noisy and fuel guzzling Campro engines.
    What a PATHETIC SIGHT,even the founder and advisor has given up hope.

• Danny Lim on Mar 14, 2014 at 5:57 pm

The worst Hybird car in this world…whahahaha

• AVH (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 6:26 pm

I think the thing that worries me about Proton is that the fact that they are not remotely transparent about the project. There has been no test mules, product demonstrator or anything that gives the public some awareness in how their system will work. Will it be a parallel or series hybrid? What kind if battery will it have? And what motor and transmission will it have? Nothing! And to hide all this and announcing that mass production will begin by year end is not only a huge risk knowing proton’s R&D, but is a ticking time bomb alltigether as proton has no experience in the past in making hybrid cars.

However I do have a theory, maybe proton is actually just going to just dumb Honda’s IMA system into a Preve or Exora. This possibility is back by the fact that Honda and proton are in a technical cooperation and DRB Hicom which technically owns proton also owns Honda Malaysia which are building IMA equipped Honda Jazz. It also explains protons confidence of mass producing it so quickly and given that Honda is now moving towards their new EarthDream advance hybrid, Honda can just license this old tech and continue up make profit instead if abandoning it all together. Of course I do expect a move as big as this such as sharing their technological expertise to be announce by Honda Japan.

Kinda like the idea of a Honda engine Preve.

• ruffstuff on Mar 14, 2014 at 6:51 pm

The battery and motor not from Honda for sure.

Is it a normal practice for automakers to announce to public their RnD and reveal their product to the competitor before launching? Did you see any automakers do that?

• AVH (Member) on Mar 14, 2014 at 7:28 pm

announce to public their RnD and reveal their product to the competitor before launching? YES, before mass production of said technology or at the very least preview it. Honda launched its newest Sports Hybrid I-DCD and Turbo engine before it sees the showroom. The engine were place in prototype mule of outgoing model for media review too.

http://paultan.org/2012/11/14/honda-unveils-new-sport-hybrid-intelligent-dual-clutch-drive-system-with-seven-speed-dct/

Most manufecturer at least preview their upcoming powerplant before mass production. Porsche and BMW announce their advance hybrid system in their 918 concept and Visison EffecientcyDynamics concept before those cars sees production, highlighting their advance powertrain which thou not in its final form, at least give an idea of what its going to be like.

Product demonstrator and concept are very important in giving the public a general perception of what the end-product is going to be like and also confidence that it will work. Proton did showcase their CFE engine in KLIMS 10′ several months before it first see service in the Exora. Hybrid powerplant are very complex and sometimes advance technology, and to just launch it along with the product on showroom floor before any hints or preview of the system is very risky unless it is an existing tried and tested system.

Which leads me to conclude Proton using IMA powerplant, I do not believe Proton’s partnership is just limited to a Accord knock-off and new Perdana. IMA is tried and tested and also is assembled in Malaysia. Not sure on Battery but if Proton’s hybrid were to use IMA, I’ll bet it will have Honda sourced E-motor and transmission, Proton may pair its own CPS 1.6 and also will definitely source battery from its EV programme, battery are usually tailored design to the car.

• ruffstuff on Mar 15, 2014 at 7:54 am

As far as i know, Proton did not announce any hybrid car in the pipeline. I heard rumors about Preve Hybrid several months ago and they going to showcase to the public at the end of this year. Not releasing it. I believe during that point we know much information about the powertrain, motor, battery etc.

I don’t think IMA is being given or even considered to be given to Proton. The work between Honda and Proton is for PRM project until final phase 2016. There are rumors about Proton going to assemble Brio sedan and some even said Proton going to rebadge Brio sedan. But that is all rumors i think. I hope it’s not true about the rebadge.

• AVH (Member) on Mar 15, 2014 at 10:54 am

[Under the agreement, Proton and Honda will explore collaboration opportunities in the areas of technology enhancement, new product line up, platform and facilities’ sharing, the statement said.]

That was the official statement during the announcement of the Honda-Proton collaboration, the thing that caught me is the technology enhancement and new product line up.

The problem now is that Proton siad it will start ‘producing’ cars by end-2014 without giving the pree details of the powerplant , I do hope they at least reveal what said powerplnat will that be. Put it this way, if tomorrow theres a new Hovercar on sale from a company you know nothing of that has never released nothing in the past….would you buy it? new technology, chalky history, not much information and reliability test? There will be someone mad enough to purchase it, but I am not risking my money on something that is not known.

• Enthu on Mar 17, 2014 at 10:17 am

Simple. Because they didn’t R&D it. It’s mostly “joint-venture”, and you, me, and everybody else damn well know who is actually doing all the job.

• ionlaw on Mar 14, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Don’t try to fly while still can’t walk properly…

• what the fish! proton will forever b slow like snail if G keep on manipulating the industry to protect proton. n how stupid is the menteri to speak on behalf of proton!!!

• I wonder is it they borrow the IMA from Honda? That will be not a too steep step in tech…

• kslee on Mar 15, 2014 at 3:14 am

any one got ball to buy this ?

lololololol

• KangKungMan on Mar 15, 2014 at 10:24 am

Proton got chance to grab Old Honda Hybrid old tech liao since Honda already came out new Hybrid tech … Jst like old Accord … Boleh ! Boleh ! Boleh ! Proton own “R&D” Hybrid lor !

• Peaceaim on Mar 15, 2014 at 11:12 am

Thanks to Azmin, without his question sure it will swept under carpet by DRB. This hybrid thing has been hidden for 5 years now under this new management.

• bakery scale also better than his meter gauge

• BOMOH on Mar 16, 2014 at 6:06 am

Pada pendapat saya, kita patut gunakan enjin campro untuk semua jenis kereta sebab enjin campro enjin yang power

• To DRB:

Where is the good looking Proton EMAS?

• EMAS design was bought (or stolen) by VW Group through the acquisition of IG. Then it became VW Up!. Pls read the early comment posts for clarification.

• taiko on Mar 16, 2014 at 11:10 am

ok.it’s much better than the flying carpet.CHEERS

• damn,Proton, can u change the design of grill, headlamp…no no no, change the whole car design

• shiftSpank on Mar 17, 2014 at 8:44 am

They need to do something about the reflective plastic visor for the tach and speedometer.