2014 Great Wall Haval M4 appears on oto.my – RM50k

great wall oto 1

An ad for the 2014 Great Wall Haval M4 has appeared on oto.my – the post lists a pricing of RM50k for the manual 1.5 litre version. No mention on availability, but we do know that the planned market debut for the SUV will happen sometime in May.

In January, local distributor Green Oranges had a left-hand drive example of the M4 on display in its Glenmarie showroom – the right-hand drive form is set to be locally assembled at the GWM plant in Gurun, Kedah, with an anticipated pricing of under RM50k being suggested.

That pricing should be for the five-speed manual version, which will have two-wheel drive. A higher-spec variant is reportedly on the cards as well, and this will be a four-wheel drive unit with an automatic transmission.

Both M4 models will be powered by a normally-aspirated 1.5 litre VVT four-cylinder engine – the ad revises the earlier 105 hp power output down to 103 hp, but no changes to the 138 Nm torque figure. Kit listed includes a four-speaker CD-based audio system, AUX/USB input, Bluetooth connectivity, ABS and EBD as well as dual-airbags.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Nice price tag compare to some national cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 17, 2014 at 8:43 pm

not oni national car but other oem who assemble car here

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
      • Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 17, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Best value foreign car brand SUV ever! The price tag is putting price of national car brands to shame

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 8
      • Don't trust China Products on Mar 18, 2014 at 10:25 am

Nobody will buy this car in Malaysia. Even the Chinese in Malaysia don’t trust products from China. China lie and cheat. They compromise on quality. See, even Aston Martin also lost face and had to do recall because accelerator pedal can putus into two.

Never ever trust China products. There will be clowns in Malaysia who support China and all that, but ask them to buy a Cherry car or a Huawei or ZTE handphone, they so scared.

See, they buy either Japanese or German or Malaysian car or use Samsung phone.

People will argue that even BMW got parts from China. But at least, the burden is on BMW to ensure the QC is met. If you buy from Great Wall or Cherry or Geely, the burden is on you. If they cheat you, too bad. You got no avenue to complain. China don’t care about complaints. They tell you go to hell.

Even workers who die in factories also, the lawyyers for the deceased family also cannot even enter the factory to serve notice of legal proceedings. They just tell you, go to hell!

So, go ahead and buy China car. When it explodes and you are fried like Kentucky Fried Chicken, your estate will have no claim on the company.

Ever wondered why there are so few Cherry cars on the road?

Ever wondered why you still buy that Samsung phone year after year? From Galaxy S2 to S3 to S4 and now, still want S5? Why don’t want to buy Oppo China made phone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 74
        • Malaysian on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:30 am

You are still living in the dark ages. I think you do not use a mobile phone. The world largest mobile phone system manufacturer are Hwa Wei and ZTE. Even all the system provider in Malaysia uses only these two brands. Qoros 3 is the world safest car 2013 and it is China made. What else you have to say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 14
          • Edward on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:51 am

Well he’s not exactly wrong either… The Qoros 3 is just one car from China that scored a 5-star rating in Euro NCAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Mike Mechanics on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:57 am

Its Hua Wei not Hwa Wei. Dont know how to spell also, want to buat bising.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
          • yes, agree. you pay peanuts you get monkeys. cheapskates buy lower grade products. they do produce AAA grade products!

• GTR36 on Mar 18, 2014 at 1:52 pm

HuaWei undercuts competitors everywhere and gives big bribes and women to govt officials and Telekom. Everyone in the Telco biz knows this here. Their products do not last and needs to be replaced every year hence more sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
        • Amei (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:53 am

FFS. Even Proton is selling in China. With this price tag. Even I’m tempted to buy this mini suv

• norick on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:19 am

hey, calm down a bit..

From now on, try to 100% avoid any thing from China. Never use, eat any product from China. Try to up side down ur house & find anything that appears the letter of “Made in China” & burn it…

Remember the past old time when we are child, when we saw the badminton racquet stated “Made in Taiwan”? what we say? cheh… Taiwan made.. low grade.. now ? MIT !! Quality parts !!

Globe is turning, every one is growing ..

• engdau on Mar 18, 2014 at 8:37 am

Handsome and great looking!

• well, it sure looks like a great wall to me.

• ThePolygon on Mar 18, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Somehow this car looks rather nice in terms of design. Have to really take a look see and feel of the product before doing much judgement. Lets just wait and see.

Good first impression!

• typical chinese, grammar, it should be “compared” not compare

• Proton will find a way to ban this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 21
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 17, 2014 at 8:39 pm

why la u think -vely…u suppose support that pricing..u dont want cheap price car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
      • Anti Macai on Mar 18, 2014 at 9:36 am

Looks better than Proton lah!

The Langkawi price must be RM20K only! Ha Ha Ha!

Shame on you Proton! Bravo Great Wall, bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Albert Lee on Mar 17, 2014 at 10:07 pm

Protong’s sales will be affected,especially those in the 48-65K range.
      If this vehicle can achieve so called “moderate to good performance in terms of fuel efficiency and quality”,protong be facing another challenging competitor.
      However,it is too early to write off Protong as they revamp Protong after the departure of the founder and his henchman.
      We give Proton some benefit of a doubt but not too long,cos the BLEEDING needs to stop,failing which hundreds of our bumi friends will be on redundancy radar of the Arab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
  • ong chin aun on Mar 17, 2014 at 7:16 pm

best come to ,M’sia soon . and the price as stated ,then it should be sell like hot cake. bravo!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • nabill on Mar 17, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Makes me think…cant p1 do a jacked up suv based on da saga flx…sting simple 2 wheel drive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Lane Tamer on Mar 17, 2014 at 7:37 pm

RM50k? Seriously dude? Must be made from recycled aluminium cans and plastic bags…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 99
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 17, 2014 at 8:41 pm

price high u complaint…price cheap u ridicule? hell

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 4
    • guan eng jr. on Mar 17, 2014 at 8:43 pm

their labour only cost 80 cent per day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
    • thebugbud on Mar 17, 2014 at 9:37 pm

I don’t mind to have car body made from recycle aluminium can and interior frim recycle plastic bag. If it’s 5 stars ncap, it will be a good environmental friendly made car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
      • Mr. G on Mar 17, 2014 at 9:52 pm

So what it is made of recycle stuff. As long QC/QA awesome, then “ho seh” (chun)liao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:30 am

I doubt it will be anywhere near 5 stars. If it has more than 3 I’d be surprised. And if it is Euro NCAP or ANCAP you are talking about, there is no way this can get even close to 5 stars. It needs to have more airbags, otherwise it will utterly fail at side impacts. No ESP means it is also impossible to reach 5 stars, even if it were otherwise very safe. Which it won’t be.

• theanswer on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:30 am

read the review la bro..this small suv got positive review.

• betterthanproton on Mar 17, 2014 at 7:45 pm

macam simply design yet still better looking than proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
    • JustWannaSay on Mar 18, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Lol..why compare Proton?? Proton dun even have this type of segment yet..why not compare wit the Perodua Nautica a.k.a Kembara?? Even do price range not the same..Right? Just wondering. . .

• Malaysian on Mar 17, 2014 at 7:46 pm

Interesting and for his price range, I think quite many of us might consider giving this a try.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • wow affordable!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • without looking at header i though it is new proton…:p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • design is nice. price is also ok. well done!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • china made ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • kslee on Mar 17, 2014 at 8:51 pm

look more solid than any perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • kelvin on Mar 17, 2014 at 8:56 pm

Wow good looking yet so affordable!

• Chyan on Mar 17, 2014 at 9:19 pm

A bit worrying if there’s no crash ratings though.

• I think Haval’s brand image suffered a huge blow after the infamous ‘going turtle while ferrying a VIP’ incident last year. But this is an altogether different model. That price is certainly attractive. Hope that the quality is not sacrificed too much to achieve that price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Hmmm the steering wheel looked like the one from dugong vios.

• kami (Member) on Mar 17, 2014 at 9:36 pm

headlamp design looks like saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Audiowner on Mar 17, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Better than getting a ALZA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • not badge i like on Mar 17, 2014 at 10:59 pm

For those who think this is a bad car i can says you are too dumb for 2014.But i must point out a few thing,this car start rolling is a bit undeepower,but once you up to speed is fine,remember it’s a budget suv.And for fc it’s can be 6-9l /100km,average.Of course it has a few problems, but i can tell you is minor. A car with 50k price got abs ebd,and it’s a suv.P1 and P2 shud be shame of themselves, it considered a safe car in china.You think persona good?People who bought it in china can tell you it’s a car full of shit.Not insult or what, just telling.
    Peace!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 14
    • iskhalifah on Mar 18, 2014 at 9:08 am

It’s a B-segment hatch turned into SUV like the Suzuki SX4. Its not even an SUV since its two wheel drive prevents it from being enjoyed off-roads.

“People who bought it in china can tell you it’s a car full of shit.Not insult or what, just telling.”
      Since when u can trust anonymous people who posts BS comments online? The C-segment persona is indeed a better daily drive, and most importantly reliable than this Chinese make. Most malaysians have driven it for years with no major issues, including me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • okay genius salesman…
      Its under powered as you said and 6-9L/100km is average?
      to us dumb people, that is bad… car is cheap, but to keep it running is not…

a car equipped with ABS and EBD is considered a safe car? any documents to support ur claims that this car is safe? crash test results?

• ThePolygon on Mar 18, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Near Kembara price last time. My kembara was kosong.. no airbag… no ESP.. less hp and less torque but it was very very reliable. Lasted 10 years ++ before I sold it off. For this M4 price I think it’s reasonable to check it out and decide for yourself. If it fits the bill and purpose… why not.

• tikus on Mar 17, 2014 at 11:00 pm

How is the service center…1 n only at Glenmarie??
    Spare part?? What engine they use??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • fast5 on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:17 am

No offence…. Can’t u read b4 comment 1.5 litre VVT engine with ABS & EDB & airbag…
      Anyway If protong lunch this starting price be 69k (if sold each19k will b in d Dr.M personal bank account) protong lost money again and continue ask G loan 3b++

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • tikus on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:08 am

I know is 1.5vvt…. My question is, using suzuki engine or self clone suzuki engine?

• u need to re-read the question again and again before u hit the reply button..
        and finally, any source for ur claims? 19k for Tun’s personal bank account?

• If you’re looking for trouble, buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Waa.. if this car does not include import tax~~ RM20k maybe ? proton really earn alot

• mamat on Mar 18, 2014 at 8:17 am

sx4?

• chery QRS on Mar 18, 2014 at 8:51 am

Haval M4 loking good….and price looking GREAT!!

• I owned a Chinese-made car once, the Hafei Lobo, which was sold as the Naza Sutera/Forza in Malaysia.

What surprised me was the build quality. It wasn’t bad as some would expect. Comparable to Perodua’s in my view. Also, NAZA was very accommodative in servicing. Chinese-made parts were changed once local vendors were able to make them here; no less than 5 parts were changed during various scheduled maintenance.

Economy for the puny engine was acceptable if you did not push the car past 90km/h. Since it was my town car, I got great efficiency.

OK so the crash rating was like zero says my motoring journalist friend, but I never felt unsafe. I sold the car to a friend on a sambung bayar plan, and she still owns it today. Must be close to 8 or 9 years old.

• annoy_namous on Mar 18, 2014 at 9:17 am

Design wise like previous Suzuki SX4.

• possible i will buy iy if they give me 5 years warranty for it for rm50k

• Joker on Mar 18, 2014 at 9:45 am

50k is very tempting indeed… The look is certainly not bad and the interior is acceptable as well..
    I like the M4 badge (like the M4 Coupe)it looks so cool..
    Need to test the car out for drivability, braking, traction etc..
    Alza, Exora, Avanza is gonna suffer…

• tikus on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:12 am

Myvi also Kena kau kau..

• friend: what car do u drive?
      you: an M4….
      friend: (amazed) wow.. ur rich to own a beemer
      you: (lel) yeah.. its cheap and i can afford it…

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 18, 2014 at 10:02 am

targeted under 50k?
    That’s a fairly interesting price. Just slightly more than a Persona.

I’m sure there will be buyers, given even the old Cherry cars somehow managed to find buyers at higher list prices.

• BOYRACER on Mar 18, 2014 at 10:25 am

Looks good.Price is good but most importantly how is the quality?Especially interior wise.Hope is not as bad as the Naza Sutera.If better can be considered.

• Denaihati on Mar 18, 2014 at 10:29 am

Very nice priced SUV in our country. Good choice to consider.

• MegArt on Mar 18, 2014 at 10:33 am

Toyota Rush cloned/rebadged?

• KangKungMan on Mar 18, 2014 at 10:53 am

Chery Tiggo got fuel tank problem … Easter got interior noise … not sure this new Hav … improve version ?!?

• Black Dog on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:38 pm

VW got DSG problem. Avanza got suspension problem. Preve got noisy transmission problem. Korean cars got ride problem. Perdana got gearbox problem. BMW got RV problem. Many many more problems.

• Toxic Cars on Mar 23, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Open up your mind.
      Chery and GWM are different companies just like Volks is not Bmw. If the Gwm brand is good enough for Aussies, why not Malaysians?

• most of the comments written in this blog are by the people have never in experience of driving a China made vehicle. why don’t you guys have a test drive before making any good or bad comments? Buying a car is not like buying 4D. You don’t need to wild guess. You can touch, test and even crash it to know the facts.

• yes, correct. just like Haval H5.

it crashed and it doesnt look good at all.. just 180′ turn gone bad… not a high speed collision..

Sesi uji pandu bertukar cemas
    “Sesi pandu uji Great Wall Motor (GWM) bertukar cemas apabila kereta yang turut dinaiki oleh Menteri Muda Perumahan Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah terbalik dalam satu kemalangan, semalam”

http://www.theborneopost.com/2013/07/14/sesi-uji-pandu-bertukar-cemas/

• kusochan on Mar 18, 2014 at 2:48 pm

nice.. front looks like saga.. the rest of the body looks like suzuki sx4.. china quality there..

• Aero (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Ok lah, it’s cheap and very tempting on paper. I’ll give it that.

But being good on paper isn’t everything. If not, the Suprima would outsell the Vios 3 to 1 today. But in reality, the opposite is the case.

There is a lot more to a car which you will never see on paper. I’m talking about reliability, fit and finish, after sales, handling, NVH, brand image etc.

If this car really does come with a RM50k price tag, I will go to a Great Wall showroom and check it out for myself.

• Painter on Mar 18, 2014 at 8:07 pm

I knew there’s something wrong with the established brands in Malaysia. This China made car can be sold at 50k while comparable models are selling at 3 times the price.

How can there be so much different? World’s commodity and metal price are about the same, Japs and Koreans produce in mass-scale, and more importantly they are all subjected to similar tax bracket like the China brand.

I know the mainstream opinion is to blame the authority, but it is worth pondering too that the Non-China import makes are up to something. They are not telling us the whole story.

Even the tax free hybrids are not that cheap.

• guan eng jr. on Mar 18, 2014 at 8:21 pm

The labours are underpaid, very low until have too feed their only one children with artificial milk.

• Just dont drive too fast around the corners. One of the show cars overturned in kuching during a demonstration. ;)

• super on Mar 20, 2014 at 11:03 pm

Is still expensive. If can get an auto version at RM50K. Sure he will be the market leader….

• RM 50 K. Bull S….

• same kot on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:39 am

haha what a chin peng’s car..