Abarth 695 biposto – hardcore Fiat 500 road racer

211/ , EUROPA; SCHWEIZ, GENF, Datum: 04.03.2014 12:00:00: 84 INTERNATIONALER AUTO SALON in Genf 2014 84e Salon International de l'Auto et accessoires, PALEXPO - Stefan Baldauf / SB-Medien

Present at the Abarth stand at the Geneva Motor Show was the Abarth 695 biposto, the product of the Fiat tuner taking the already potent Abarth 500 up several notches on the Scoville scale.

Not that you would sense much is different from the outside. Sure, it looks significantly more aggressive than the Abarth 500 – you get new bumpers with carbon fibre inserts, a new aluminium bonnet, wider wheel arches and side skirts and a larger rear spoiler. But there have been much wilder efforts by other tuners – only the fixed side windows with polycarbonate sliding panels give some indication of this car’s purpose.

211/ , EUROPA; SCHWEIZ, GENF, Datum: 04.03.2014 12:00:00: 84 INTERNATIONALER AUTO SALON in Genf 2014 84e Salon International de l'Auto et accessoires, PALEXPO - Stefan Baldauf / SB-Medien

You see, the biposto is the most hardcore road car Abarth has ever made by a long shot. Its 1.4 litre T-Jet turbocharged four now kicks out 190 hp – 30 hp more than the Abarth 595 – and is mated to a race-style Bacci Romano dog engagement five-speed manual, allowing clutchless upshifts. The 0-100 km/h sprint is now done in 5.9 seconds and it now reaches a top speed of 230 km/h.

To save weight, the rear seats have been ditched, replaced by a titanium rear roll bar onto which the four-point harnesses on the carbon fibre Sabelt seats are tethered to. Titanium is also used for the hub caps, wheel bolts, water, oil and fuel caps as well as the Akrapovic dual-stage exhaust system.

Meanwhile the door cards are now made from carbon fibre and the central tunnel has been removed, exposing the gear linkages. Weight is down to 997 kg.

The chassis has also been upgraded – there’s now a mechanical locking differential, new Extreme Shox dampers and drilled Brembo disc brakes behind 18-inch OZ Ultraleggera wheels. There’s even an MXL digital data logger on the centre console if you really want to live your racing driver fantasies to the limit.

Live pix by Stefan Baldauf / Robert Kah

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• lololol on Mar 17, 2014 at 3:13 pm

The Italian version of Kancil turbo!

• dat stick shift is badass

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 17, 2014 at 3:26 pm

You just have to give it to the italians to use just a simple name yet somehow sound so exotic.

Biposto simply means 2 seater… :p

Maserati’s Quattroporte…is the other one, which simply means “4 doors”.

Somehow or rather, this art seems to have been lost with the folks at Ferrari.

• works on Mar 17, 2014 at 3:30 pm

dog engagement five-speed manual, allowing clutchless upshifts – sounds yummy to me.

• It so cool, it’s so bloody cool that it make me wants one.
    But I do love the sentiquential gear shifter knob be more detailed and yet, rear seats in case I need to pick up some hot ladies??? Haha~!!

• Ibrahim on Mar 17, 2014 at 6:24 pm

It’s for multiple cars owners and not for someone like you who only own only ONE car.

• Baja Lapis Seng on Mar 17, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Damnnnnn. The little puppy will bark really loud and easily bite any big dog in the ass.

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Fast and furious? Italian race car you bet

• sktan on Mar 17, 2014 at 6:04 pm

didnt surprise half million recond in malaysia

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 17, 2014 at 10:37 pm

I like this.. brute. Minimalist.

• paucharsiew on Mar 18, 2014 at 7:06 am

lovely beast

• ABX Xpress on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:51 am

Looks like mini..

• Kosumaledoko on Mar 18, 2014 at 7:29 pm

Small car with big power, just wondering why Perodua never have such offering… I think there are market here for small, fun & fast, but inexpensive car.

A 150HP Myvi offer at RM80k would be reasonable right?? Or is it just a silly dream? hehe…