Peugeot 308 output to increase due to high demand

Peugeot-308-Gallery-01

Production of the second-gen Peugeot 308 is set to be increased, with 60,000 orders already recorded since the car’s October launch.

PSA Peugeot Citroen has announced that the Sochaux, France plant will begin a night shift in June to satisfy the demand, as well as support the introduction of the 308 SW.

Scheduled to operate for at least six months (depending on demand, maybe longer), the night shift is expected to produce 26 vehicles per hour, lifting Peugeot 308 output by 180 units a day to a total of 1,563 units a day.

600 jobs will be created, 450 of them on un-temporary contracts, with the remainder to be filled through internal mobility.

The new Peugeot 308 was crowned 2014 European Car of the Year at the recently-concluded Geneva show, beating the BMW i3, Tesla Model S, Citroen C4 Picasso, Mazda 3, Skoda Octavia and Mercedes S-Class.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Aceonz on Mar 17, 2014 at 11:13 am

when it arrives here?

• AutoFrenz on Mar 17, 2014 at 11:50 am

I nearly jumped…60,000 orders in Malaysia…wow suddenly peugeot is so popular in this country…but then i read again…haiyaaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • Pujot on Mar 17, 2014 at 1:59 pm

That’s why Proton should cancel their plan to sell Suprima in Europe…waste of time only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Any Peugeot owners here care to comment on the fuel efficency, RV and reliabilty of their Peugeots?

Pls enclosed year make and model, that would be awesome! cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • slk3879 on Mar 17, 2014 at 1:09 pm

2011 Pug 3008.

Fuel Efficiency: Good, 10km/l in town at average speed of 25km/hr, bad traffic.

Reliability: So far so good, apart from minor issues

Handling: very good

RV: I leave it to Sam Loo to comment

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
    • Jason Lim on Mar 17, 2014 at 2:58 pm

P308T 2011.no major issue so far.still enjoying the ride

• theanswer on Mar 17, 2014 at 3:36 pm

technically not mine..use by family members. fc is not that bad, town driving 10-11km/l. hway around 12-13+km/L. (prince on 508 a bit better..same power but different tuning).
      reliability: almost 40k km no problem. but questionable interior material quality for 508.
      handling: good but a bit firm (not the best in the class).
      *push aside RV*

• 308t facelift
      31000km so far so good.
      town 10km/l, highway 16.4km/l
      pick up win all those NA engine include 2.4.
      when you buy peugeot, RV never is the consideration.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • pug_user on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:21 am

2011 308 Vti
      Fuel Efficiency: Good, 10km/l in town, 14km/l highway
      Reliability: So far so good, service is good.
      Handling: very good.
      RV: I don’t care. I would drive until its last breath.

• Joker on Mar 17, 2014 at 11:42 am

I’m really interested to drive this Pug 308 to see how did it beat the Tesla Model S to win the European Car of the Year 2014.. My bet is on the newly developed turbo diesel engine…

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 17, 2014 at 1:24 pm

I think they take value for money in consideration, otherwise it couldn’t have won.

• Passerby on Mar 17, 2014 at 12:39 pm

don’t compromise on the quality just for the sake of quantity like what are toyota doing currently… quality is dropping due to lean concept which take short cut trying to make more money and sacrifice safety

• The 208 much nicer in terms of design

• Joker on Mar 17, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Somehow somewhat i agree with u..
      If only the GTi is cheaper….

• taiko on Mar 17, 2014 at 1:21 pm

but not in the boleh land.CHEERS

• if suprima is on par with this, only then it can be sold to such volume.
    only dream?!

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:49 pm

By the time it comes here , it will probably be fitted with Peugeot own engine

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 17, 2014 at 6:05 pm

I am referring to this

http://paultan.org/2013/10/31/puretech-turbo/

• kania on Mar 17, 2014 at 10:13 pm

same shit like vw. gearbox kaput.in.3.years time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • guest on Mar 18, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Awww really? The 6 speeder auto is sourced from aisin of toyota. Toyota stuff so fragile now?

• allan wong on Mar 18, 2014 at 9:26 am

Vw habis lor…

• allan wong on Mar 18, 2014 at 10:41 am

Vw gearbox kaput in 3month…

• SKYjack on Nov 11, 2014 at 8:59 pm

This Pug will come with Prince EP6CDTM. I’ve had this engine for 3years. No problems, very reliable.

As more people realize, new pugs are reliable, RV will improve.