Toyota Camry 2.0 G X – open for booking, RM160k

camry-x_banner

Toyota Malaysia has very sneakily published first details of a new Camry variant, the Toyota Camry 2.0 G X, on its website. The new trim level is an attempt to add more value to the 2.0 G variant.

Not many details are known at the moment – we only have this interior picture to go on so far – but the main differences on the exterior are 17-inch dark silver alloy wheels (shod with 215/55 tyres, just like the 2.5 variant) as well as dark bezel HID projector headlights and LED tail lights for the “smoked” look.

Inside though is where most of the changes lie. The upholstery is now dark brown leather and there is what looks like a unique wood trim design. Also new is a 2-DIN head unit with a seven-inch touchscreen, DVD player, Bluetooth, Smartphone Link, navigation and a reverse camera with guide lines. In addition, the 2.0 G X variant gets the powered rear blind and manual rear side window blinds from the 2.5.

toyota-camry-2-0-g-x-2014-price-list

Click to enlarge spec sheet
Mechanically, the 2.0 G X shares the same 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine and four-speed automatic gearbox as the 2.0 G. Also similar to the 2.0 G is the safety equipment – so still just two airbags, as well as VSC and TRC.

The price of the 2.0 G X as stated on the price list is RM159,900, on the road with insurance. That is just shy of a RM1,000 premium over the 2.0 G, but much cheaper than the 2.5 V.

Read our review of the Toyota Camry 2.5 V here, and check out Episode 5 of our Driven Web Series, where we pit the Camry against the Honda Accord and Mazda 6 in our company car shootout.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 17, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 250
    • Ugly interior colour, much much much lousy than cheapest Sonata and K5.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 205 Thumb down 33
      • Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 17, 2014 at 9:05 pm

Better alternatives:
        Mazda 6 2.0 RM155k
        Honda Accord 2.4 VTi-L RM168k
        Nissan Teana 2.5 RM168k
        Hyundai Sonata YF 2.4 RM161k
        Kia Optima 2.0 RM150k
        Peugeot 508 1.6 RM155k
        Chevrolet Malibu 2.4 RM163k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 2
        • Obama on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:34 am

Time for UMW to wake up, almost 90% of respondents dislike Toyota. You earned it with these lousy and overpriced car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • Mike Mechanics on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Never buy a brand new Camry. Always buy 2nd hand. A good one year old Camry can lose so much of RV. You can easily save RM$40k on the 2.0G

• Wisdom on Mar 18, 2014 at 2:18 pm

The latest camry looks, designed for tasteless person.
            The modern moving washing machine concept. Why it must be that boxy and edgy?

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 18, 2014 at 6:18 pm

90% of the respodent here cannot afford a Toyota, in fact many can’t even afford a car, so their response r irrelavant, how i know ? year after year Toyota still Malaysia best selling non national car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
        • mizuru on Mar 18, 2014 at 1:51 am

best alternative.
          -a new government that dont suck the living blood out of you.car prices are affordable almost everywhere but only in malaysia do the citizen pay more for a steel case.car payment is not supposed to be lifelong commitment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • Wisdom on Mar 18, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Here we only interested in cars. Not politics. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • Maserati on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:10 am

Shame, UMW run out of ideas. They are now clearing 2.4 liter stock by using its spec but replace with 2.0 engine. In short, the car is still ugly and not sellable.

• You son of a Korean bitch.
        Stop saying Korean car is good.

Lousy Malaysian with cheap eyesight.

• Toyota - Stinking RV on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:28 pm

This guy is a frustrated man. He probably does not even own a car and envious of his friends owning a Hyundai. Oh btw, how did Hyundai become the 4th largest car seller in the world?

Of about hundred brands, Hyundai is No 4 in global sales. About 8 million cars sold just last year. Are 8 million people wrong or is one idiot calling himself De La Junk thinks he is right?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 10
      • And your much hated toyota is world no.1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 25
        • Wisdom on Mar 18, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Elsewhere, yes, Toyota might still relevant with their best specced cars and com-petitive pricing.
          Here in boleh land, worst specced car with con-petitive pricing, yet malaysian still buy? Whoa.
          Look at Vios. People buy that historical 4 speeder empty can like there’s no other option. At premium price. Huh..

• carazy on Mar 18, 2014 at 10:27 am

Persona SV also have 2 airbags, same as Camry. Car with this price range, we aspect more safety features and better value for money, not this crappy & lousy car. Its time to die T

• BMW Fanboi (Member) on Mar 17, 2014 at 3:39 pm

How’s the RV for this one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 46
    • Toyota - Stinking RV on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Brother just bought a 2013 Toyota Camry 2.5 for RM130k. Brand new price, about RM180k.

The car, about 10 months old. Not even 1 full year yet, can drop RM50k.

So, who said Toyota got good RV? Banyak salesman here like to bluff to people about good RV. Toyota RV is worse than even kimchi. 10 months can lose RM50k

To all the pondan Toyota salesman who is going to say this is bluff, post a challenege to me. Pay me RM1000 each of you if I can prove to each of you with receipts what my brother paid for his Camry.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 12
      • RedCRZ on Mar 17, 2014 at 7:51 pm

greater depreciation due to lousy spec compare to its competitors…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • I spoke to Toyota mechanic just last week & asked him opinion on toyota. He said to me that toyota nowadays just left a name, durability is no more. Toyota cars are not like before anymore.

• Toyota and UMW - slow death! on Mar 18, 2014 at 10:51 am

Just bought Camry 2.0G 2013 for RM$110,000.

It is a myth that Toyota has good RV. Btw, my car is not accident car. Confirmed by UMW.

Now Toyota losing sales. Vios has COMPLETELY lost out to the new City. People think Vios is a toilet car. This is UMW bread and butter. So, a big blow to them.

Then Altis is overpriced. No VSC and only 2 airbags. The one with VSC is about RM140k. People rather buy Elantra. At RM90k, it is a good RM50k cheaper with so many safety features. So, Altis also very bad sales.

Camry sales also drop like mad because of the no VSC thing. Now with VSC, people still remember how UMW tried to con them. They remember that UMW took out VSC just to reap more profit at the expense of their lives. So many Toyota die hard fans just moved to Accord. All fed up with a company who don’t car at all for their lives. So, even now with VSC in the Camry, people will NEVEr forget. Then there is really bad RV with the Camry. Camry price drop a lot. Go to Mudah and Carlies and see for yourselves.

This year will be a very bad year for Toyota. that is why, even Sam Loo has disappeared. In truth, Sam Loo has joined Sime Darby Hyundai. Clever dude, he knows, where the money is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • I have never been a Toyota’s fan. I own a Conti D-segment car.
          However, your statement is seemed a bit fishy to me. I do agree Camry is not justified for its’ pricing. But, you were saying Vios & Altis losing their sales which I truly doubt..
          And the way you put it seems to me that you are preferbly not choosing Camry as your own ride…however, you still bought it which was absolutely contradicting to your own thought.
          Sorry to say that, I believe you do not own the Camry but just merely a brasher..
          I think no one would enjoy paying RM110k for a car that he/she does not like..Got it??!!
          I hope I was wrong..
          Yes, I do not like Camry but I won’t make any false story to mislead people..

• Wisdom on Mar 18, 2014 at 3:52 pm

This is the situation. Before we bought the Toyota, we heard people say good thing about it. Reliable etc.

Then we bought one.

After few weeks, we start to compare, with the price we paid, we get the same engine roar penetrating to the cabin, taking corners with nervous feeling, extensive body roll that even a Proton felt more composed. Disk brake start warping and vibrates, rubber and seal hardened and aged.

• Preve Lover on Mar 18, 2014 at 5:20 pm

except that Proton will always be bashed n trashed no matter how good they improved (if there is any)… and as For Toyota,Honda n other brands, it’s forgiveable even if there’s a recall involving safety related issue…

• Megane on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:26 pm

This one would appreciate over time bro . Manyak untung .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • engdau on Mar 17, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Boring stuff!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
  • axel_stig (Member) on Mar 17, 2014 at 3:46 pm

hmmmmmmm….

• seancorr on Mar 18, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Wanna know why they suddenly release this spec and priced it so close to the G spec? By the way I look at it, the Camry is losing ground when its rivals are better featured. So to counter this they made this model and priced it so close to the G spec that its pointless to buy a G spec now. I wouldn’t be surprised if they removed the 2.0G spec later as moving now would cause civil unrest with the current owners haha!

Now if only they added 6 airbags and put in a few more gears into their autobox with that price then there wouldn’t be so much criticism.

• Joker on Mar 17, 2014 at 3:47 pm

A 2.0 car with a 4 speeder.. good luck…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 4
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:32 pm

That means what…? 110kph is still at a stressful 2.8k rpm…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Those of you who thinks rm160k for this 2.0 with 4AT car is poor value obviously haven’t meet the Previa 2.4 4AT yet. Yours for only rm270k. Pridefully brought to you by UMW Toyota too.

• Is like putting make-up on it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • this is a joke..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • They need to try harder. I now see more the latest Honda Accord on the road than this junk.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 2
    • Local Toyota market share from 16% drop to 13% already.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
      • Toyota’s market share, please continue to dive. You deserve it!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 1
  • Oh … purlease

• BOMOH on Mar 17, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Nothing can beat campro cfe. Campro is the best engine in world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 42
    • Yeah.. with added 2 biji coconuts instead turbo

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
    • Toyota King of RV on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Preve is a rubbish car and not to say its totally junk unreliable engine.Get a new Altis,dual vvti engine,can tahan lama and most important its design now can match Kimchi car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 66
      • BOMOH on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:39 pm

I can sense this is Sam Loo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
        • Preve Lover on Mar 17, 2014 at 6:24 pm

yup…this is Sam “COW” Loo… u better sell Tikar Terbang with coconuts instead of this pile of crappy Camry…

• Maserati on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:12 am

HE is Sam Kelapa Loo who is now busy doing his kamlan show at airport

• Preve Lover on Mar 17, 2014 at 6:21 pm

hahaha…Preve Cfe can easily reach a top speed of 230 km/h from a 1.6 L engine…140 Km/h in 7th gear @ 3000 rpm…so, what r.p.m that this piece of junk a.k.a Camry at in 140 km/h ? not to mention 180 km/h which Preve achieved at 3850 rpm…

Preve at least got VSC right from the beginning of its production…Camry 2.0 ? UMW only add it up after recent owners make noise…stupid manslaughter a.k.a UMW Toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
        • 4G63T DSM on Mar 17, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Maybe you are the lucky one with a Preve CFE that can hit 230km/h.

Most run out of puff past 190. I paced a Preve CFE to 200 (my speedo is optimistic) and then it ran out of juice as I sailed past.

• Preve Lover on Mar 18, 2014 at 9:08 am

mine able to reach 220 km/h max…but the 230 km/h, my friend did it wih his Preve Cfe …dunno what he put inside the engine that gives him the extra 10 km/h…i’ve watched the video he recorded when he achieved 230 km/h, but couldn’t find it in the club forum…too many post after that maybe…

• IdealTech on Mar 17, 2014 at 7:24 pm

Wow u r so much in love for ur preve! N yeah u stated “7th gear” in a preve n that is hilariously ignorant :-) Its a good car by the price range but not segment.. CFE (new engine) is still being compared to this old engine(trusted n proven)? Got the point? such a world of different in technology n reliability that toyota has diferentiated itself from the others.

• RedCRZ on Mar 17, 2014 at 7:54 pm

not a fan of Preve I agree that the jokes are on Camry

• BOMOH on Mar 18, 2014 at 8:25 am

When you driving fast, at the same time death angel is noting your date. So appreciate and don’t be too proud with what you have.

• Obama on Mar 17, 2014 at 4:06 pm

I still can get those spec with Accord 2.0 Vti-L with $10k cheaper. Camry is struggling to compete with this gen of Accord, saw them did a promotion of $8k discount on all types of Camry last week. They are desperate to push the sales now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 0
    • They never learn from market intelligent price compete with nissan.. goodbye T you’ll be leave behind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • Accord ! on Mar 17, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Camry is not even close to Accord, even the old Accord looks nicer than this, not to talk about the new one. Accord rocks !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 1
    • Toyota King of RV on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:27 pm

If u want a D-seg car,Camry or Accord will be the best choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
  • yamani on Mar 17, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Tak cukup duit dah….

• Denaihati on Mar 17, 2014 at 4:23 pm

additional RM1000 mainly for 215/55R17, Alloy and 2-DIN Head Unit DVD Player with 7-Inch Touch Screen. i think it is much better with 4 (Front & Front Side) same as 2.5V, with additional few thousand RM…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • ah chai on Mar 17, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Please bring the price down.
    Please give us 6 airbags
    Please give us latest engine with 6-speed gearbox
    Please sell it @RM 130-135k
    Please la Toyota and UMW.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
  • noname on Mar 17, 2014 at 4:39 pm

RM160k for 2.0? Seriously UMW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • totti on Mar 17, 2014 at 4:39 pm

New Teana is coming and Camry will provide more discount to maintain the top position.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Toyota King of RV on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:29 pm

UMW know that the Teana is a failure and will not bother about this Nisan shit.Accord is the car they need to struggle with because its coming very strong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 36
  • Totally crap!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • wajarays on Mar 17, 2014 at 4:50 pm

SAMPAH ape nie ??? tukar kaler leather, letak kayu2 kat dashboard , then dah jadik all new spec, 2.0 G X …. kemonlah , ini bukan lagi zaman 2 airbag dan 4 speed gearbox untuk kete D segment …. DAMN MALU la TOYOTA …

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Pretty pointless model imo.

While brown leather is nice (especially if it is in the Saddle Brown shade, which BMW has), the lack of safety and engine improvements is just so glaring.

Not like Toyota seems to be bothered either. Sales looks pretty hopeless, compared to the Accord, Mazda6 and even the Korean and German alternatives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Hikaru on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:09 pm

I can’t see how this is news to begin with.

Unfortunately this variant of the Camry is the worst of the lot in its history. The only thing that makes up for it is the reliability and RV but the competitors are gaining if not close to mastering these core value of Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Faizul on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:11 pm

it seems that umw wanna market this camry for the price of mazda 6 2.0… but honestly do they think that their camry was as beautiful as a mazda 6 that can sell based on look alone…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • shawal on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Whhat have we learn here…
    Don’t buy toyotas EVER until they eventually come to their senses….

1000 premium and u do get alot of stuff…
    Its good value…but

I just went to honda showroom today and the 2.0 vti-L interior is a special place to be in….car looks osom too…

Dis camry gx interior color oso looks nice…its down to your.preferences really…

Just remember its a long term commitment, do ur research n dunt feel shortchanged and regret later…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Mar 17, 2014 at 9:30 pm

again, allow me to remind that UMW majority shares are held by PNB, which is the investment arm of our government.

indirectly – toyota malaysia is distributed by the G. they dont bother at all.

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Almera body kit do more than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • mmaker on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:33 pm

If this camry has paddle shift and moon roof just like US version, this X version can boost sales

• Vision on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:55 pm

I better get Chevy Impala at this price

• lotustuned on Mar 17, 2014 at 5:59 pm

altis 2.0g X & vios 1.5g X follow…

• Aero (Member) on Mar 17, 2014 at 6:15 pm

I can hardly find any new Camrys on the road. Not surprising, it’s overpriced and incompetent. The Accord, Mazda6, Optima, Sonata and Teana are all better cars. The Camry is the worst D-segment car in Malaysia right now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • fast5 on Mar 17, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Agreed & UMW are so weak in current marketing. Juat change or fire the current marketing team.

• Orang gila only will pay 160k for a 2.0 four speed auto!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • nabill on Mar 17, 2014 at 7:27 pm

No interior makeup will mask dat adam and eve age 4speed transmission

• Camry not selling well thats why gotta create new variants, adding more value in it to clear off the stock

• survey on Mar 17, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Hi all, off topic abit. Recently im looking for used car. And looking at mudah web notice that 2400cc car like accord or camry price drop alot compare to previous. Eg. Now i see 2010 accord 2.4 is only ard 100k…. 4yr drop 70k+? Previously 4yr accord 2.4 is i think not so less rite? Should b around 120k rite? Is that gov will got any plan soon eg 2000cc above car cant have petrol subsidy? Or bcos of new model is out?

• kelvin on Mar 17, 2014 at 9:06 pm

I rather buy the new accord for less than 140k than this cheapo looking vanilla

• Tiger on Mar 17, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Pls let the abang2 at Potong ( they vely free, sel dropped badly) rebadge tis car to become Potong Perly(Perdana + Camry) SV

• G version got 8k discount to make it at 150k only..

But still accord is better choice

• Camli on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:17 am

Camry is a good car well manifactured and engineered by TOYOTA. It used older but reliable technology. It has conservative but evergreen design. It is equipped with basic yet adequate features. It carries brand value. And yes, despites your negative comments and condeming posts, it will still be there. It is still selling well, my dear….For if you do not buy Toyota’s idea, does not mean that others think similarly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Sahipul on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:58 am

still a 4-speed auto? oh my!! truly an old man’s car!

• If you are a Camry lover and thinking about the resale value just buy the 2.0 liter basic model. When you sell this car 5 years down the road all the car evaluator will ask is “tahun apa, 2.O atau 2.5?”. Than he will suggest a price. He doesn’t care if it’s a spec a,b,c,d,e,etc.

Save some money over there and to my personal taste this is the lousiest Camry ever made by TOTOTA!

• totti on Mar 18, 2014 at 9:22 am

UMW know that the Teana is a failure and will not bother about this Nisan shit.Accord is the car they need to struggle with because its coming very strong.

—————
    This guy still sleeping.

Do you know the nissan Almera has double their sale figure and in position no :2 which beat the City?

The new Sylphy and teana will will be a big threat to T & H.

Why you want to buy Honda if Proton going for a rebadge and price it below RM 100K?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Edmont on Mar 18, 2014 at 10:42 am

another crappy move by UMW.. when you show us the 2.5 with six speed auto, then you have some hope..

forever cheating the hard earn cash of our rakyats.. really disgusted with the blood sucking UMW.. treat us like fools in the end..

• roti canai (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:31 am

I hope it gets the same X face as the Aygo

• Subra on Apr 19, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Pls guys stick to honest personal opinions and not heresay. I am an owner of 2008 CBU Camry and I have had nothing but driving pleasure over last 6 years. Can someone tell me how are locally assembled Camrys performing. Seriously considering the new X version. Car buffs who have wide experience driving different makes of the same class are the best to give non biased opinions.

• Subra on Apr 19, 2014 at 2:26 pm

I still see more Camrys than Mazdas or Teanas on the road

• Better go for accord 2.0 VTi-L. LED as well for accord. Also, 5 yrs warranty as well. If not wrong, camry only given 3 yrs warranty. The price for new accord cheaper than camry.

• camry 2.0G is a good car, old 4-speed engine – still good and realiable.
      if you dont mind uncle look and over price camry. nothing wrong to buy. ( just like you buy a 486 computer but you pay i7 price )

• camry 2.0G is a good car, old 4-speed engine – still good and realiable.
    if you dont mind uncle look and over price camry. nothing wrong to buy. ( just like you buy a 486 computer but you pay i7 price )