Ferrari Land Spain – next Prancing Horse theme park

Accelerator_A4

Not content with building one of the Middle East’s largest tourist attractions, Ferrari has now set its sights on Fernando Alonso’s back yard for its latest theme park venture. That’s right – the Italian supercar maker has signed a licensing deal with Investindustrial-owned PortAventura Entertainment to build Ferrari Land inside the PortAventura resort and theme park south of Barcelona, Spain.

Following the mould set by Ferrari World – which features, among other things, the world’s fastest roller coaster – the 75,000 square metre theme park will feature a host of attractions designed for fans of the Prancing Horse, including Europe’s highest and fastest vertical accelerator. Also planned is the first Ferrari-themed hotel, a five-star establishment featuring 250 rooms, restaurants and a driving simulator.

Hotel_A4

“After the success of Ferrari World in Abu Dhabi, we received many, many requests to develop new amusement parks,” said Andrea Perrone, head of Ferrari brand management. “Spain is a nation where we have many supporters and enthusiasts, and to which large numbers of tourists flock each year.” PortAventura already draws four million visitors a year, 50% of which were from outside Spain.

Ferrari Land is projected to cost €100 million to build and will open its doors in 2016. It continues Ferrari’s meteoric rise as the world’s most powerful brand, after setting record profits last year despite selling fewer cars than 2012.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• BMW Fanboi (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 9:45 am

I’m still waiting for Proton R3 land, Puchong

• interesting. they don’t even look at italy to have such an amusement park. why no fans in your home country?

• More hospitals and Schools? on Mar 18, 2014 at 10:41 am

This is a waste of money. Including the theme parks in Dubai or Abu Dhabi.

Ferrari should instead help the poor by building more hospitals and schools, giving free education and healthcare.

There are enough theme parks in the world. Do your part Ferrari, build a few hospitals. It will go a long way for your branding. People will respect your CSR more.

Tell your Arab buddies also to learn to give more. They like to build the biggest and longest things int he world, but when donations are concerned, they are so lokek. Any world calamities, the Arabs NEVER give anything. Its always the Japanese giving help. The Arabs must learn to start giving, instead of concentrating on Entertainment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • ChinaTatak MauTulun on Mar 18, 2014 at 2:17 pm

The chinese orso must help…dont just complaint complaint complaint…others no good this no good that no good only they are good…haiyaaaa…dont blame others…u got no one to blame but yourself…haiyaa…kena sama muka gua…haiyaaa…haiyaaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • sutrak on Mar 18, 2014 at 1:43 pm

i would love to bring lisa surihani to that peak. give her an orgasmic ride of her life on the way down.