Toyota Yaris launched in Indonesia – 1.5L from RM63k

yaris-main

PT Toyota Astra Motor officially launched the new Toyota Yaris in Indonesia yesterday. The Yaris is essentially a hatchback version of the new Vios, and is a different car from the Yaris supermini sold in Europe. We first saw this Yaris at Auto Shanghai 2013, before it was launched in Thailand last October.

Unlike in Thailand, where the Yaris is sold as a 1.2L CVT eco car, the Indonesian-spec Yaris is powered by the familiar 1NZ-FE 1.5 litre engine we know from the Vios. The VVT-i four-pot makes 109 PS and 141 Nm of torque, and is mated to five-speed manual and a conventional four-speed automatic. The five-door hatch’s wheelbase, at 2,550 mm, is identical to the Vios’.

Three trim levels are available in Indonesia – E, G and TRD Sportivo, all with a choice of manual or auto. Dual airbags, ABS, EBD and Brake Assist are standard across the board, while the range-topping Yaris gets things like auto air-con, keyless entry with push start and projector headlamps.

yaris big 02

The standard head unit is a touch-screen unit with DVD/MP3/WMA, AUX-in, USB and Bluetooth capabilities; additional functions on higher spec cars include navigation, “air gesture” swiping, a pre-loaded Toyota Move app and WiFi.

The Yaris starts from Rp. 219 juta (RM63,438) for the manual E, topping out at Rp. 256 juta (RM74,128) for the automatic TRD Sportivo, which gets plenty of aesthetic add-ons for a sportier look.

Should UMW Toyota Motor elect to introduce the Yaris in Malaysia, this Indonesian-spec car, with its Vios drivetrain, should be ideal. With Honda Malaysia already planning for the new Jazz, we say why not? What do you think of this B-segment hatch?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BLT Club (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:14 am

Oh Proton, where art thou GSC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • Jaguh Kangkung on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:48 am

Yaris > Suprima. Enuf said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 46
      • AutoFrenz on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Thats why both r beautiful…nice ass…anwar mesti suka..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 82
        • Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Indonesia gets the Vios TRD Sportivo of the price of our Vios J. Thanks UMW Toyota Malaysia!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 4
          • Mafia on Mar 18, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Mainly thanks to MAlaysia HIGH Taxation.

If not we can get Honda Accord RM90k.

Even Proton Accordana also need RM115k.

Malaysia Tax so expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 14
      • Yaris on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Can you show us in what ways technically yaris > suprima?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • V40>Focus>Jazz>Suprima>308>Smartfor2>Tata>QQ>Yaris>Lori Hantu, enuf said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • as usual, toyota is always moving backward in their designs. the good looking previous yaris is now replaced with this fugly looking thing just to follow with the fugly design language of the bigger altis, camry and shit. utter bollocks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • abuya123 on Mar 18, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Paling murah pun dah 63k.

If proton never exist in Malaysia pun, rega akan lebih kurang sama. I dont want to argue with keyboard worrior and Toyota fan. For me, this is clearly MAHAL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
      • kzm (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 2:59 pm

In USA u can buy Toyota Camry 2.0 CBU full spec for only around ~RM60k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
        • kusochon on Mar 18, 2014 at 6:48 pm

in USA one month car sales already one million.. in malaysia one year also not even a million..

• ProCons on Mar 18, 2014 at 7:44 pm

yeah3,…
          because USA making money from war n bloodshed
          controversial nation.
          -have u heard the US goverment funded by the slipping cocaine into the country?

we Malaysia making money from ourself. all the way better from all those dirty bloody money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • calcutta on Mar 19, 2014 at 2:07 am

u mean which malaysian? our fat malaysian woman doesn’t need to earn her own money also can afford big diamond rings

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 19, 2014 at 10:05 am

What you mean certain individuals that lives off the fat of Petronas money?

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 2:21 pm

The GSC will be a much more modern and safer car than this recycled 9 year old car that they have given some makeup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • beiber on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:08 am

Shut up kid. You are naive.

• Amei (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:49 am

Said the guy with the username ‘beiber’. I quite agree with kadajawi. The GSC is far more better but since the mentalities here are Toyota > Proton. Even if the Proton is well equipped, people still think that it is junk.

• Shut up infant. You are uncultured.

• Nothing can be ugly than Innova, Almera, Suprima and this Yaris!

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:17 am

So the real new Yaris launched several years ago is too good for Malaysians, eh? Too expensive to produce. Thank you, Toyota!

The Japanese/European Yaris is in the 3rd generation now, the new Vios is afaik, like the old one, based on the 2nd generation Yaris launched many years ago. So this is a facelift of the old car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • farghmee on Mar 18, 2014 at 1:57 pm

the overall outlook of this yaris looks more or less like vios 2014.

• alldisc on Mar 18, 2014 at 6:38 pm

yaris = echo = vitz. all of them came from the same small family car which include Soluna and Tercel in the 1980s.

the previous generation Vios/Belta was actually in the 9th generation (reincarnation?)

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:18 pm

The previous two Vios generations were based on the then current Yaris/Vitz hatchback that was sold in Europe and Japan. The new Vios though is still based on the older Yaris/Vitz, with some reworking and updating here and there. Why don’t they give the new, 3rd gen Yaris a boot and call it a day? Is it too expensive to produce/too good for ASEANs? And then they take that based-on-an-old-car Vios, remove the boot again and call it Yaris for ASEANs. Why not just produce the new Yaris?

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:26 pm

u know I know la, still have to ask meh?

If next gen Vios increase to RM100k for J spec, same engine, gearbox, no VSC also will still be best seller. There is no need for logic.

• no BN on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:21 am

Lucky..if entered msia, it becomes rm80k+ because of the hefty tax.. Thanks to be end

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • AutoFrenz on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Better BN than pakatoons…all behaving like cartoons only…even simple thing like building a dam orso hv to take looooooooooooooong time…now who have to suffer…idiot pakatoons…otak letak kat lutut…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 74
      • Beaver Brooke on Aug 25, 2018 at 6:14 pm

Clearly, you’re running your mouth with emotions. And your nickname is highliy misleading too; you’re not as “Autofrenz” as you actually are.
        I sigh when you’re making fun at PH as they had to clean Be End’s 60 year old diapers and you expect them to excel within few months. You’re too otak programmed mahcai or walauntas.

• theanswer on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:24 am

when reach here definitely 90-100k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Toyota and UMW - slow death! on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:26 am

UMW can launch any car they want, it does not matter. Because UMW will take out all the safety features like airbags and VSC.

They have been doing this for a long time now. Take out safety features to reap more profit at the expense, injury and death of the Toyota buyer. In their mind, “Who cares? So long as we untung”

That is the Toyota modus operandi in Malaysia. All over the world, Altis has VSC and many more airbags. Only in Malaysia, Altis has no VSC. Only the top RM140k model has VSC.

If Koreans can give us the Elantra, about RM50k less than the Altis and yet it has VSC, Keyless Entry etc etc, why can’t Toyota also do the same?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • Mafia on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:15 pm

I cannot Deny Elantra is dirt Cheap.

What u pay is what u get.
      Elantra is Inokom CKD in Malaysia.
      The Car is not comfortable having Extreme low Car Roof, I am only 171cm I can feel the Roof being a driver.

1.6 is underpowered too.
      I would choose New Gen Honda City or wait for Honda Vezel, not Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
      • Josh Ling on Mar 18, 2014 at 1:37 pm

yup. the look is super dope, but once you open the door, any kind of beautiful imagination and feeling that you have by looking at the exterior design will be gone. and once you touch the material inside, it’s time to say bye bye. and the fact that Hyundai is expanding ever so quickly these days, just make something like Elantra really hard to accept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • absolutely agree. elantra only has external beauty. once u open the door, u get a can of worms.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Some Chinese private taxi driver in Shanghai cheated us… we were 5, with lots of luggage, and he said his MPV can fit us all. His MPV was an Elantra. Surprisingly the 5 adults (two of them a bit fat and around 1.80) fit into the car. Plus driver. And a lot of luggage. The ride was still acceptable despite the load. So no space? Yeah right…

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Not sure if this “Yaris” was designed with those safety features in mind in the first place. The car (2nd gen Yaris) from many years ago had them, but they did some changes to it, and the car is ASEAN exclusive. Safety didn’t play any role in the development then.

• ProCons on Mar 18, 2014 at 7:39 pm

yeah3… bla3…
      Korean worth buying but not worth selling after,
      If there someone to ‘pakai sampai rabak’
      it only takes few years for all those equipment to break.

long term – japs car .
      They did their RnD n test , more manhours than the korean did.
      Kia K5 got problem with its keyless,steering,radio,rattling sound , and it gets quiet thirsty for fuel over time .. :)
      what i hate most, lame drivetrain ..
      Japs 4speed/5speed autobox way better

• Das Auto on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:13 am

Don’t worry, once all the fools die due to poor safety spec, UMW sales will drop as those fools will become extinct.

If elantra is a can of worms then altis is a rusted can of maggots.

• infinity on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:27 am

Looks good..good competitor to Honda Jazz..
    Somehow, the front looks like Mistu Lancer

• ben yap on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:27 am

price also cheaper than malaysia. UMW sucks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Toroto on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:34 am

Car prices in Indonesia still cheaper than Malaysia :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • AutoFrenz on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Thats a good reason for u to move and live in Indonesia…enak2 saja di sana ya pak..jgn kembali ke sini ya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 29
      • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Salaries in Indonesia are also very good, right? Not to mention government supported gangsters extorting business owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Vader on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:33 am

who are you to ask ppl move to other country?
        Prrifff.. otak cacat kah?
        We love our country that is why we comment!

• roti canai (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:36 am

damn thats cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • ThePowerOfDream on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:41 am

Bolehland should be around 80k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • UMW - UMno Warrior on Mar 18, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Haha no it won’t, UMW sell last generation Yaris for RM100k.

• mmaker on Mar 18, 2014 at 11:58 am

I like Yaris and almost buy it back in 2006. Looks like this new model is toyota wish cut into half, nice and easy to park

• Mafia on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Toyota Yaris 1.2L eco car has hit Thailand Market Fully.

allowing Toyota back on track with Triple sales compared to Honda.

This is a Best Value Car in Thailand now.

• Denaihati on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Looks beautiful than existing yaris, nice front bumper and rear as well. Might compete closely to Jazz…

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 2:01 pm

I think this one looks a bit cheap compared to the real Yaris. This is just a facelifted Yaris II from 2005, and not the new Yaris III from 2010. That one has 9 airbags, a new engine, CVT gearbox, …

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 2:03 pm

Btw., the Singaporeans get the new 3rd gen Yaris from Europe.

• ah chai on Mar 18, 2014 at 1:01 pm

come on UMW, give us good safety and a reasonable price!
    ideal price for segment B hatch is RM 55k-65k.
    MITI, where’s the promise of 25% car price reduction?

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 2:33 pm

The price reduction is up to the car makers. The government won’t make it cheaper. If you sell kopi, I can announce you will sell your kopi for 25% less. It’s up to you to do it. Maybe you will, but with 25% less kopi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • budlee on Mar 18, 2014 at 1:36 pm

i want this……….

• Andi Wu on Mar 18, 2014 at 2:02 pm

256 Juta, seems goodly equipped yah. Looking for alternatives to replace my 2006 Innova. Since it drinks petrol like water.

• matlucu on Mar 18, 2014 at 3:03 pm

in boleh land all the kronies mau wang thats why harga kangkung dan ayam 1 rm

• ss427 on Mar 18, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Guys that’s NOT A REAL YARIS!

That’s a low cost Vios hatch designed for 3rd world countries where their customers are willing to pay top $$ for low, backward tech and design

The REAL Yaris looks like this and its on sale in SG for quite some time…

http://www.toyotasingapore.com.sg/cars/new_cars/yaris_v/index.aspx?WT.nav=ModelNav
    1.33L dual VVTi, 7 airbags, VSC, dual zone climate control, auto start/stop system etc are all standard

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/review.php?AID=649

• bongok on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:21 am

When a Honda die hard fan supporter gave comment…lol.

Comparing old outdated engine with those modern turbo engine is something very stupid.

• Das Auto on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:50 am

toyolta easily fool gullible malaysians with retarded 3rd world products.

• Norman on Mar 18, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Indonesia is Toyota Asean stronghold aka as their home brand and what so suprised of the 64K basic model 1.5 car?Add up ins etc all 68k and its basic.

• susukotak on Mar 18, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Pls bring in corolla hatchback. Price it at 90k. Levin if possible.

• ss427 on Mar 19, 2014 at 8:33 am

You mean the UK built Auris? :) 1.6L Valvematic engine, 7 airbags, VSC/Traction control, auto everything, heated front seats, AUTO PARK assist (same as Kia Sorento), paddle shifters, dual zone climate control (Altis single zone only) hill ascent AND decent control… all standard

http://toyotasingapore.com.sg/cars/new_cars/auris/index.aspx?WT.nav=ModelNav

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/review.php?AID=605

• fortezen on Mar 18, 2014 at 9:30 pm

the speedometer is so identical to that of Myvi SE1.5 though

• roxas on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:24 am

my 1st impression.. OMG why so cheap !!! i know i know.. malaysia stupid taxation..we buy here with big whole in pocket and G earning our money happily..

• start-a-fight on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:26 am

i like to be car manufacturer in malaysia. if price increase i just can blame the government. yey!

• BOMOH on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:34 am

trueno 86 is the best in the world!!!! The car smoke gtr, gti, FD and many more.

• hooooooo on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:11 pm

WTF more than 100k … expensive
    But dont worry alot of malaysian will buy
    Expensive toyota