2014 Mazda 3 2.0 Sedan launched – CBU, RM139k

mazda 3

After months of ads, spyshots, an international press drive, a public preview, plus estimated pricing and spec reveals (as well as our walk-around video and showroom gallery), you’d think that was it, right?

Well, not quite yet, for this morning’s launch at 1 Utama makes it official at long last. The third-gen Mazda 3 enters the Malaysian scene, initially in fully-imported (CBU Japan) 2.0 Sedan form.

Its 2.0 SkyActiv-G four-cylinder produces 162 hp at 6,000 rpm and 210 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm – it’s the ‘high-tune’ 2.0 litre offered in Japan and Europe. The motor features a 14:1 compression ratio, dual variable valves and direct injection, and is connected to a six-speed auto.

Our car comes in Mid Spec trim. The striking exterior features self-levelling bi-xenon headlamps with LED DRLs and adaptive front lighting, front fog lamps and 18-inch ten-spoke alloys wrapped in 215/45 Dunlop SP Sport Maxx tyres.

mazda 3

Round the back, you won’t see a boot spoiler, nor will you see its twin tailpipes, which are hidden behind the bumper and its four-cell reverse sensors. You will, however, see LED tail lamps with cool wing-shaped signatures that matches those of the LED headlamps.

Inside, you’ll find piano black trim, single-zone auto air-con, fabric seats, keyless entry and start, a sunroof and a leather-wrapped steering wheel with buttons and shift paddles. Electric power steering, by the way.

In the instrument panel, the speedometer sits in the middle, flanked by a digital bar-type rev counter on the left and a multi-info display on the right (see an alternative layout here). No head-up display, cruise control or auto lamps, though.

There are also six speakers and MZD Connect – this new infotainment system can be navigated via the seven-inch touch-screen or the commander control knob on the centre console. CD, Bluetooth, AUX, USB, SD and navigation are offered.

Click to enlarge spec sheet
The boot holds 408 litres of luggage; you can fold the 60:40-split back seats for more. There’s the i-Stop start-stop system and i-Eloop regenerative braking. Safety is taken care of by six airbags, ABS, EBD, BA, DSC, TCS and Isofix – no lane departure, blind spot nor city brake systems.

RM138,935 is asked for the initial CBU batch, OTR with insurance. This includes a three-year/100,000 km warranty and three years/60,000 km of free service. Soul Red Metallic, Snowflake White Pearl Mica, Titanium Flash Mica and Meteor Grey Mica body colours are available.

A recent research report indicated that the locally-assembled (CKD) Mazda 3 would surface in the third quarter of 2014 – that would obviously be cheaper, but by how much is anyone’s guess at present.

The model to be CKD’d would be the 2.0 Sedan, once CX-5 output at the new assembly line is stable. The 2.5 is being considered for CKD; the probability of the 1.5 and Hybrid arriving here is low at the moment.

See the Malaysian-spec car inside and out in our showroom gallery, or learn more about the third-gen Mazda 3 in our Australian drive report.

Mazda 3 showroom pictures

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:34 am

Where are the photos of the models? They are look so fine like the ones from KLIMS13

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Below RM150k
      Non-national C segment cars- Best value: Kia Cerato. Best drivability: Ford Focus. Best design: Mazda 3. Best ripped off: Toyota Altis

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 275 Thumb down 13
      • Gentleman on Mar 19, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 236
        • Hohoho on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:24 pm

OK. only if you dont mind safety features like VSC & TRC, Torsion bar suspension and no GPS. Comfy car… less sporting attributes. Different target market lo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
        • Vader on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:01 pm

That your choice, but i believe majority of the ppl who have RM150k will direct go for D-segment cars which is better than this over price altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
          • Green on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Who Still Drive a 2000cc D-segment?

Poor Man d-segment?

get a 2.5 brother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 46
          • Same Lor on Mar 20, 2014 at 1:20 am

Who still drive a 2500cc D segment?

Uncle D segment?

Get a 3.5 E Segment brother!

It only tell us “The sky has no limit!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
        • Najib, where is the 30% Reduction Promised? on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices.

Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 9 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is CKD or CBU or whether it is EV or EEV. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise??

A Mazda 3 CBU with higher spec in the US, has about 8 airbags, VSC, EBD, Tire Pressure Monitor etc etc, very high spec and yet it cost US$16,945 in the USA

It is CBU Japan made and every single part in Japan made ie very high quality. So, US$16,945 – this works out to RM60,000.

Bermaz will get this car far cheaper from their principial in Japan. If US Mazda can sell this car for USD$16,945 and yet make a margin and profit, then, it is pretty clear, Bermaz Malaysia might be getting this car less than USD$16,945. Maybe about USD$12,000 direct from their principal.

Don’t forget Mazda USA also pay excise duties and taxes to the government,

So, how is the car sold here at RM139,000?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 17
      • asrul on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:15 pm

best for visiting service centre: Preve/Suprima S

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 42
      • mazdha lhyana manjorang on Apr 26, 2015 at 1:21 pm

i like it

• Kia cerato still value for money

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 19
    • Same Lor on Mar 20, 2014 at 1:30 am

Value for the money for the first 2 months you bought it? or value for the money for the whole ownership?

How much you need to repair a Cerato after 5 years? How much you can sell with this kimchi?

Pls… There is no way you can compare a Kia with a company who produce awesome cars like RX8.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 23
    • butthurt on Mar 20, 2014 at 10:25 am

agree but i hate the RV later on

• rockybalboa on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:42 am

Very steep asking price, top up another 15k i can get a VW golf which packs even more technology and it’s an European drive!

Mazda malaysia has become more and more greedy and arrogant……

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 44
    • frenzyaustin on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:01 pm

So you mean add another 15K you will get a European car that isn’t worth 15K upgrade because you can tell people you drive German? Badge snobbery?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 29
    • Go ahead. Good luck with the DSG.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 17
    • Hohoho on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:29 pm

15K additional for faulty DSG and poor service quality. Small price to pay for “European” quadidi la…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 11
      • Maybe VW is bad but i don’t think Mazda is better than VW! Parts need to wait few more months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
        • Hohoho on Mar 20, 2014 at 10:59 am

Least the gearbox doesnt break down during jams, and the Service Center wont simply void warranties and also give false warranties.

The protest by VW owners shows that. Havent seen that for Mazda and also most japanese brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • Lee D on Mar 30, 2014 at 8:55 am

You people here all seem so bitter about everything. You are bitter about VW’s success, bitter about Mazda’s performance, bitter about Toyota’s conservatism, bitter about Proton’s price … What’s wrong with you people? Not breast fed when you were toddlers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • RavenAii on Mar 20, 2014 at 1:09 am

It’s just like a Chery’s quality with Toyota’s price tag. Not saying that it is not good but you get quite an expensive car with faulty gearbox and really high maintenance cost?

• Same Lor on Mar 20, 2014 at 1:24 am

Do you know what is VW in Germany? It is their Proton! And you need to pay RM155 for a German Proton?

If today Proton rebadge Golf and sell it at RM77.5k (half price), you will puii also.

You obviously didn’t sit in a golf or VW before. How naive!

• Mazda and Toyota in Japan is Proton and Perodua too…

• Hohoho on Mar 20, 2014 at 11:02 am

Thats why the japanese car owners didnt say that their cars are like Audis, BMWs and Mercs…

Only the VW salesman says that….

• Same Lor on Mar 20, 2014 at 2:36 pm

You pay USD5k extra for a German Proton B segment hatchback comparing to Japan Proton C segment sedan. Where is the rational?

People Proton = people’s general car and reliable.
          Malaysia Proton = Awesome J class.

* J = junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
          • Merc is Germany taxi…..so what is your point?

• skabt on Apr 19, 2014 at 5:49 am

hahhahaha …
      yes 15k come with free protest too :)

• kamsan80 on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:43 am

Bro,
    in anycase,(if possible), there is a newlaunch@facelift@cosmetic change for any model, highly appreciated if you could put few pictures comparison of previous and new.
    At least can get quick snapshot of what the improvement or changes that being made. Sometimes your readers (especially first time visitor to your page) not aware of the evolution of those models.
    Win-win, we give you pagestraffic, you give us quick info.
    Thanks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Wilson on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:45 am

while reading the international reviews on Mazda 3, i feel kind of sad…they can option a 6 speed manual two litre engine while choosing a sedan or hatchback body. i know it is related to pricing strategies…blah blah blah. but i really do hope there will be a high spec manual sedan variant. hopefully they will take note of this while CKD-ed it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Stop dreaming bro! Majority of drivers here (not all but most) forgot how to do heel-and-toe the moment they bought themselves their new automatic car!

• Watafaq on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:46 am

140K and not even leather seats?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 1
  • Aceonz on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:48 am

overpriced , same c segment i prefer civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 57
    • Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Are you crazy?! The Civic now looks boring and empty compared to Cerato, Altis and this. Also to the upcoming Sylphy later in the year

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 14
      • Civic empty than Altis? U sure??
        By the way I have seen more civic on the road rather than Cerato and latest Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 47
        • Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Looks empty compared to Cerato and boring compared to Altis. The Civic launched in July 2012 while the Cerato launched in July 2013 and the more recent Altis this January. Do seeing more mean better to you? If it does, does it mean Proton is better than Honda?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
      • Naice on Mar 19, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Civic better then Cerato, but not as good as Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 54
        • Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:19 pm

But according to Driven episode #4 the Civic came in last while the Cerato takes the crown

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
          • jolly_idiot (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:49 pm

That is driven. You wouldn’t know if they’re paid for something? (Which I believe they’re not)

But anyway, buy according to what you want but not what other ppl say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
          • Moores on Mar 20, 2014 at 10:19 am

You can’t just based on one review and conclude. If you really look at reviews around the world, Mazda 3 always came up top and Cerato was no where to be seen. Having said that, Mazda 3 is now fighting for World Car of the year in top 3 now. What’s more interesting is Mazda is the only Japanese car fighting up there with the Europeans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
          • Hohoho on Mar 20, 2014 at 11:03 am

jolly-idiot… based on your argument, then none of the reviews can be trusted…. heck.. that makes me think if you are being paid to say things like this???? Lol

• Toyota King of RV on Mar 19, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Petrolhead is the one who are crazy.Why buy the stupid Focus or Cerato where u can get the Civic and Altis which are reliable to drive.
        Plus,I want to vomit when i look at the Cerato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 72
        • Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:59 pm

I didn’t mention about the Focus in the comparison and I don’t see how is it “stupid” as it is one of the best handling cars out there and it looks good too. Don’t you think that the Civic now lacks behind to its uprising competitors (Cerato, Altis, Mazda 3..?) Also reliability matters mainly depends on the driver behind the wheel. Civic and Altis may not necessarily are reliable when last month Honda recalls their cars due to dual clutch transmission issues and last year Toyota recalls their Camry and Altis due to airbags issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
        • Aceonz on Mar 19, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Cerato definitely ugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
    • Hohoho on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Yeahman…. RM2000 cheaper for the Navi is not overpriced… Lol. Funny mentality. And dont say the 1.8 cos not the same catergory and the 2.0S spec is so much lower.

• Toyota King of RV on Mar 19, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Yes I get the Civic 2.0 Navi for RM 137k and happy to drive until now,almost 6 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
        • Hohoho on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:27 pm

137K not overpriced for a CKD car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
        • Hmm, your name implies that you worship Toyota’s RV yet you are driving a Honda. So, the Civic’s RV better than the Altis is it?

• in terms of direct injection, does it mean its turbo charged?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
    • it means lame max torque at higher rpm.
      while turbo got it early and flat across the range.
      some stupid guy here compared Euro5 standard turbo engine output with old outdated euro2 / 3 standard n/a engine

so stupid

• Tracks on Mar 20, 2014 at 8:12 am

Direct Injection refers to the fuel delivery method which started with caburetor, fuel injection, MPI (Multi Point Fuel Injection) and now direct fuel injection. Mitsubishi called it GDI (Gasoline Direct Injection).

Turbo is a method of force induction of the air into the cylinder chamber which typically uses the exhaust gases to drive a turbine (turbo charger) in order to compress more air.

• ezane on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:56 am

i think price is higher rathan than size of body.this car equally be with city,vios. why the price is quit beyond than boths?just add up 1k then u get honda accord or other d class segment cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
    • Maserati(Original) on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Mazda’s contender for City, Vios is Mazda 2. This is a direct competitor to those Altis, Civic, Cerato. Mazda 3 is a C class segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Hohoho on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:42 pm

The Rm139K Accord is so bare, u just get glamour only. No LED headlamps, Fabric interior, no push start, no paddle shift, no multi function steering, no auto dim rear view mirror, no lumbar support for seats, no GPS, no bluetooth connectivity with stereo… almost like Altis… lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • Toyota King of RV on Mar 19, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Base line Accord of course is bare.The 2.0 VTi-L version just nice at RM 150k.

• Hohoho on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Yeah.. 11K more and CKD. I suppose that when the CKD version of the Mazda 3 comes out, then we will see the difference in price and specs.

• kunarra on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:58 am

Nice.. I like it..

• Ali Katak on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:58 am

Better wait for local CKD units…sure RM10K price cheaper

But yeah still twice expensive than Suprima. MITI happy. Proton Happy. Kroni happy. Rakyat suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 14
  • Jinggo on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:00 pm

apahal jual mahal? syok sendiri ke?

• gdntsk (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:00 pm

I sense that sales of the Corolla Altis will be strangled by the Mazda3.
    However, I feel that the Mazda3 might have to catch up with the cheaper and (IMHO) equally good Cerato 2.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • CIVICLOL on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:01 pm

the best in its class. well done MAZDA.

i go trade my civic 2.0 right away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 39
  • BLT Club (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Seems reasonable for RM140k, but the cruise control ommission is rather cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • after looking at Altis 2.0V, this mazda 3 2.0 pricing does sound attractive after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • daniel on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:05 pm

My money goes to k3 2.0 or ford focus..
    In b4 no money buy japanese

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Where’s iActiveSense? And light/rain sensors also missing?

At that price, considering that the Mazda6 is just a little bit more money, it’s not really that good value.

Looks good though…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • way overpriced..

car prices should be going down but instead, it is going higher and higher. unbelievable.

doesnt come with leather seats, no electric seats and windows are not tinted (by manufacturer).

quite disappointing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Hohoho on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Lol, car prices should be going down like your salary? Your home value? Your daily expenses? Petrol Prices? Please face the reality, prices will continue to escalate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • skabt on Apr 19, 2014 at 5:52 am

go study world car prices, don’t always hide in malaysia special treatment market

• spongewai on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:18 pm

before lauching, i already saw one unit at Damai Perdana, Cheras

and the color is Meteor Grey Mica

• kzm (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:21 pm

If the price of CBU RM139k that mean CKD can be price less than RM120k maybe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • tawil on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:22 pm

this engine does not suffer with our EURO2M fuel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Top of the range model Mazda 3 2014 price about rm70k in US, here almost double the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Been waiting for this for a while but now disappointed. The car is about 15k overpriced especially with the specs it comes with. In that price range, leather seats, cruise control, at least driver auto seat should be standard.

Where’s the hatch?

• Nice car but disappointed with the spec too.
      Not really value for money.

Go for Cerato.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Naice on Mar 19, 2014 at 2:41 pm

IF u come in a Japanese Car Title blog, and talk about Korean car, I think you are a looser.

We support quality cars, dont really want a Korean Car. Unless it’s same price as Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
        • idesofmarch on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Talk about a loser, “looser”. Please bring your thoughts about korean cars from the 1990s back to where it belongs. Just because you probably drive a Japanese car (you better be, otherwise you’re the biggest hypocrite here), it doesn’t make it wrong for someone who vouched for the value in Kia Cerato. Even the Driven review recommended the Cerato for its cost-to-spec value. Go back to 1990s with that thought of yours. Use a Japanese time machine. Pretty sure it has good RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • Hohoho on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:54 pm

What if he drive Merc or BMW?

• Does this mean if you dont own and drive a KIA Cerato, you are a the same loser and hypocrite?

• medic on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:42 pm

High compression engine,have to pump only Ron 97(Costly), no leather seats with poor after sales service…still wanna buy this expensive sedan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • nicecar on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Altis will face a lot of pressure after CKD roll out.

• Denaihati on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:14 pm

for CKD about 6 month from now, could be less price, hope not less feature, such as less airbag….with 18-inch wheel looks great.

• marcus leng on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:16 pm

For 139K, the sales will never come.Better wait for CKD units & it must not cross 116K in my view otherwise it will never get the sales volume.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Hohoho on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Current class of cars in the 116K is 1800 cc cars. Probably wont happen unless they bring in the 1.5 version.

• tawil on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Cerato 2.0 priced at 118k.. japanese cars always want to makan higher profit margin..

• Hohoho on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:04 pm

True. Even then the population here already saying 118K for a Forte replacement way overpriced already.. so depends how you look at it.

• mmaker on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:48 pm

This is the best time Bermaz can sell m3 before jetta ckd,peugeot 308 & hyundai i30 arrives

• AVH (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Wait, Now is the launched? So what with all the Mazda I see running around Teknologi Park.

Looking at the price, in contrary to many, I think this is rather pricey. Sure its better than the dissapointment that is the Civic, but in light of the Cerato and even the new Corolla, Its not to say its completely outstanding in spec and size (found it abot cramp), but it appeals in its zoom-zoom driving dynamics and borderlining if not, exact European quality in its interior finishing. In short, if you’re looking at a C-segment sedan in this price range, if you’re sporty and probably still a Bachelor, the Mazda 3 is your take. But If you have a family to carry around, theres the Corolla, for its price, its bigger and still have the same amount of safety. Damn I’am praising a Toyota, I expect shower of downvotes later.

Now Honda, with the City launching tomorrow, every car in your line-up is competitive except the Civic, which is now kicked to the corner of the C-segment room.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • Yea dude,im also seeing Mazda3s’ runnin’ around as well,close by the area you mentioned,Sri Petaling. Anyone else spotted it elsewhere too,no? ._.

• najib on Mar 19, 2014 at 2:34 pm

everything is premium in Malaysia.

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 2:37 pm

139K?.. no thx.. good luck sales.. price from Mars..

• vee-oh on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Any C-segmenters shouldn’t be more than 130K…139K is very close to D segment already..Even Cerato with very good specs also not more than 130K..maybe the Bermaz marketing team just join from UMW Toyota so they know how to jack up price with funny specs

• hahaha on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:48 pm

waa.. the compression ratio 14:1 so high.. lolzzz

• i believe the sunroof will be missing when CKD launch, & maybe few other spec

• Faizul on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:12 pm

hmm.. sounds like umw pricing strategy.. expensive but lacking in specs..fortunately the car is beautiful.

• Peugeot 408 2.0NA on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Alternatively, Pug 408 NA could be a better choice!!
    Great handling, conti & sub rm100k for 145hp & 200nm! Or better still 408Turbo for 165hp & 240nm at sub rm120k!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Is peugeot running promotions? List price for 408 NA is RM110K and the Turbo is RM129K.

Also, CKD with less specs la…..

• rchoo on Mar 20, 2014 at 1:22 pm

408 2.0 Normally Aspirated only RM 95K after promo without insurance but 4 speed though. Still it is value for money in comparison to other Jap C segment. Better still get the Turbo, you will feel the Torque at low RPM (acceleration).

• Bro, 408 2.0 N/A 95K? Which dealer? Kasi intro? I called the one in PJ LDP, best price only 105K.

• rchoo on Mar 21, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Dec 2013 and Jan 2014 and Feb 2014 all offered 408 2.0 (Non Turbo) at 95K w/o insurance, it was even printed in big print in Star Paper and also on this Blog. Now is March I am not quite sure, I bought mine 508 premium from Ipoh, you may try the Old Klang Road NASIM.

• rchoo on Mar 21, 2014 at 1:29 pm

This 408 2.0 is value for money, the 2nd row leg room is wide and comfy, good for family, I almost bought it but eventually decided on 508 Premium (Luxurious / features). Why don’t u wait for the coming 308 (European Car of the year 2014, if u can), really saves fuel (incredible figure), better than hybrid, you also don’t have to worry about the battery replacement which will cost u an arm and a leg.

Hope I can help u.

• rchoo on Mar 21, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Yes Wow,

Confirm the offer still on.

you can call:

0165537267 – Ask for Gary (Ipoh).
            0136397263 – Ask for Fakhir (Old Klang Rd).

• CBU buyers gonna get screwed again like the mx5?

• Why are they giving wheel sizes of 18″ as standard now? Those tyre cost a lot to replace. 17″ wheel would have done just good and giving us a 2k discount. 18s makes the car sluggish and trashes the ride.

• Aero (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Naise, naise. Worth buying for the looks alone, especially the interior. A giant leap over the previous Mazda3.

• this sampah car selling in non reasonable price. the design seems like copy some other rubbish brand.
    Toyota always the best choice. don’t waste your $$$ in this rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
    • Depending on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:06 pm

How does a full spec Toyota Altis at 139K be better than this? Please explain…..

Whatever u say about Mazda3, same can be said about the altis…. old recycled design and technology.. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Fly kite la Mazda. Even the speedometer want to change from the digital one? Fabric seats? 139k? Seriously go fly kite.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • NISSpengAN on Mar 19, 2014 at 7:45 pm

Upcoming Nissan sylphy will beat all C segment car, ie:Civic, Altis , Mazda3 , Cerato , Elantra .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Tracks on Mar 20, 2014 at 8:19 am

Just to add on your statement. The upcoming Nissan Slyphy will be very competitive in terms of pricing and its specification for the C-Segment category. Let’s wait and see.

• Price in Thailand : Mazda3 2.0 starting from about 84,900 RM
    Sedan (4 doors) Baht
    (E)833,000 (C)914,000 (S) 974,000
    Hatchback (Sport 5 doors) Baht
    (E)833,000 (C) 914,000 (S)974,000 (SP) 1,094,000

• no name on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Vios still the best n fav car in malaysia… Can smoke this mazda 3, cerato n civic anytime… Who need vsc, esc n safety features like cerato….its all about the driver capability to control the car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
    • LOLOLOL on Mar 19, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Lol. Obviously u have no idea what VSC and all the safety features can do…

Drive carefully and safely, dont hug a tree or go swimming in the monsoon drain.

• anonymous on Mar 20, 2014 at 8:46 am

sarcasm… go wiki bout it…

never go full retard

• DumbTee on Mar 21, 2014 at 8:52 am

Yea… no point going full retard…. cos anonymous is occupying the king spot there already…. lol

• I think the same unit was also on display about 2 weeks ago @ Tropicana City Mall.

If you got the brochure from Mazda, they are not going to CKD the 2.0. Instead, they are putting in the ol’ 1.6 non-SkyActive mill, for both Sedan and Hatchback. Priced around RM 108k.

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Mar 20, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Different unit. The tropicana mall Roadshow was in Titanium Flash Mica and it’s by a Dealer (NOT BERMAZ), It’s Unofficial Roadshow!

• Tiger on Mar 19, 2014 at 10:25 pm

Mazda Malaysia pls go fly kite, and all the Mazda selmen better give resign letter tomolo and join Toyota, wtf, Malaysians continued to be ripped off, the Mazda 6 supposed to be in this price segment but now The distributor infected with Potong virus they syok sindili tink they r Malaysian Bmw

• entaoba on Mar 20, 2014 at 12:56 am

ford focus is still better la…

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Mar 20, 2014 at 6:02 pm

CURRENT PROMO: Free Quality leather seats upgrade. Black with Red stitchings and SKYACTIV Logo!

• _xXx_ on Mar 20, 2014 at 6:34 pm

…jepun mari ke local?

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Locally fitted. 2 source: From HQ themselves (GS Auto) or From our Source. Confirm better quality Genuine Leather – Black with red stitching and SKYACTIV Logo.

• Current new mazda 3 user on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:50 am

Disappointed! . first, the car, 2nd, the service centre ( writing this @ the service centre). No doubt, the outlook/ design of car is nice, but good to see, not so good when u drive. I purchased it b4 the official launch (“test drive” was not availability then ) and now I’m completely regret of buying it. 2 mains issues I detected & which is why im here at the service centre.
    1. The noise. Driving experience is bad. First, U can hear very loud noises when u are driving. According to the centre, is due to the tyre (imported from japan) that is thick, may not fit msia road. I request to change it and guess what, answer given was ” it comes w the package, we can’t do anything about it”. What nonsense! Next, u can hear very loud wind sound when u r driving, at the highway especially. And explaination by mazda was, it was due to the design of car, turbulence, again they can’t do anything about it. Gosh, for the money rm 138k paid, which in my opinion is at the high side for c segment car, that’s the answer given! What a shit!
    2. The absorber. For less than 1,000 Km, I’m already having the absorber sound. The solution given to me now is , they will apply grease. FYI, I’m not the only client having this problem, and they hv earlier raised to their Hq in japan, and according to them, mazda may change the material for their next batch, again thing has yet to finalize. So I asked, can change mine? Answer given was, if they are a lot of ppl complaining the same issue, and if indeed japan is going to change the material, they will claw back all car to change. So, what does it mean?!!
    So friend, if u are considering buying new mazda 3, think twice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Fact Of Life on Mar 23, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Nice to see, not nice to touch… haha…

Nowadays, business only think about making profit. Real bad…

• Useless Mazda 3 on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Looks like we r having the same fate, really regret buying this piece of shit….

• Current new mazda 3 user on Mar 21, 2014 at 12:02 pm

And ya, forgot to mention, about the rm 2k rebate or leather seat offer. Crap! I go for leather. I collected my car since mid February, and till now, they hv yet to contact me for an appointment for my Leather seat. When I called to follow up, the dealer claimed that they can’t do anything, the panel workshop will call us to fit appointment.

• yus181083 on Mar 28, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Ive received my m3 with full leather seat from day 1 of ownership..lucky me dealt with mazda sri bangi..according to the dealer they have to do fiting before customer collect d car

• Fact Of Life on Mar 23, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Fact:

1. Nice to see, but not nice to touch.
    2. Business nowadays only care sales… as long as they makes u interested to choose their product, later on service sure sux… no matter what…we live in a place that doesnt really have consumer rights…

• is the hatchback coming to Malaysia ?

• Ugly interior, the previous looks better

• JustViewMazda3Today on Mar 29, 2014 at 10:21 pm

where is the BOSE sound system? no cruise control? no head-up display? the dashboard RPM become meter? why the launching of Mazda 3 specs now are different with the preview of Mazda 3 in Malaysia before? speechless

• OMG you serious? I didn’t pay attention to those detail. No BOSE sound system?? No HUD??

• isteve on Apr 02, 2014 at 3:20 pm

If you have the money, go and get the car that you like. no need to comment and argue so much here. even the ugliest car in the world also ppl will buy.

• Ah, I kinda envy you guys for getting the 2.0 version, Brunei will be getting ONLY the 1.5 ver and the interior … -> https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/t1.0-9/10013744_10152853640001996_3295631405026048678_n.jpg

• Rokko on Apr 25, 2015 at 7:43 pm

YOLO