Peugeot 308 gets 1.2 litre e-THP 130 engine – 21.5 km/l

Peugeot_308_PureTech_e-THP_130

The Peugeot 308, recently crowned the 2014 European Car of the Year, has gained a new eco-friendly petrol engine option. Part of PSA’s new PureTech engine family, the turbocharged three-cylinder 1.2 litre e-THP 130 (for 130 hp, 230 Nm) unit promises to return 21.5 km per litre in Peugeot’s latest C-segment hatchback.

Peugeot claims that the new motor, combined with the 308 – the lightest car in its class – is now “the benchmark for its sector for the most economical vehicle with a petrol engine.”

In fact, the 308 e-THP 130 has been tested to achieve new records for fuel economy: managing 35.2 km/l and 1810 km on its 51.4-litre fuel tank at the Almeria circuit in Spain. Done over 32 hours, the test was officially witnessed by UTAC (Union Technique de l’Automobile, Motocycle et Cycle).

That was achieved in a controlled environment, of course. Out in the real world, and with a six-speed automatic instead of a manual gearbox in tow, expect numbers closer (or less, even) than the claimed combined figure. It’s still an impressive feat, though, and the new variant should contribute further towards the 308’s already-accelerated production output.

Next in line to receive the 1.2 litre PureTech engine, albeit in downtuned e-THP 110 form, are the Peugeot 208 hatchback and 2008 crossover.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Kat malaysia kita masih dapat 308 lama………

• mmaker on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:28 am

Naza is expected to sell this new car at RM120k. But after reading that this 308 has impressive FC maybe they will increase the price slightly to 124k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • rockybalboa on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:46 am

Very impressive fuel economy indeed from the even more impressive power figure of a 1.2 liter 3 cyl turbo-charged engine! Its consumption is almost as good as the 1.6 e-hdi turbo diesel engine!

• Lemer on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:50 am

Amazing, i hope they bring it here with the same price with current 308 1.6 N/A engine that selling here.

• Denaihati on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:51 am

very impressive FC with 35.2 km/l and 1810 km on its 51.4-litre fuel tank. Bukit Kayu Hitam–>Johor Bahru–>Bukit Kayu Hitam less than one full tank of petrol.

• Souprima on Mar 19, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Who cares fuel efficiency here. Still the same excise duty car sales tax 85% whether the car 10KM/Liter (like Proton) or 30KM/Liter (like Mirage).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • marcus leng on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:20 pm

If the price tag cross 120K, the sales will hit badly. Best price 105K-115K.

• thefact on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:53 pm

this car is a direct competitor to the VW Golf. that car goes for RM150k?? altis 137k?, civic 135k? n u expect this to be 105 to 105k? what u talking man?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • Very true. Naza/Nasim chaps have indicated a tentative price of RM140-150k for the variant they plan to bring in next year. It’s probably a high spec version though, most likely with the 1.6l turbo. The 1.6l THP version is sold for about £21k in UK. A price of RM150k here would make that model relatively cheap, as my observations have shown that most cars sold here are approximately 10x their price in pounds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • azlan on Mar 19, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Lower specs of the car since the LED DRL is on the bumper instead of inside the headlights

• Joker on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:55 pm

now we know why it wins the European 2014 Car of the year… it’s fuel efficiency + power.. a lethal combination.. it’s fuel consumption matches or even beat the Prius too…
    Nice…

• NIEKO on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Ooooh now that’s amazing ,So that’s why
    This is European Car of The Year..hu hu

• rchoo on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Very very impressive low fuel consumption, too bad already got 508, next time lah. I think I will wait for the 6008 anyicipated to launch in China.

• sepul on Mar 19, 2014 at 6:16 pm

This engine in the 208 and it will eat Fiesta sales. And smoke them too.

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 19, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Having their own engine puretech could means gaining new buyer who are sceptical about the BMW jointly developed prince engine. It could also mean Lower cost of production that will reflect in lower car selling price

Bit puretech can be met with reservation as anything new are usually perceived to come with risk

• slk3879 on Mar 20, 2014 at 7:45 am

buyers who are sceptical about the PRINCE ENGINE? Really? Are you serious? Are there a lot of these buyers? Do you mind to enlighten who these people are?

Thank you in advance for your reply.

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 20, 2014 at 11:28 am

Relax man, I am driving a Peugeot everyday. Chill n peace!

• rchoo on Mar 20, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Driving a 508 Premium, Bro. in law also drives 508, successfully convince a friend to buy 508 Premium (total 3).

This car is very nice to drive in comparison to jap cars of D segment. Interior design – aesthetic, material, quality and workmanship are comparable to Benz E series (costing 350K and above)and Lexus ES250 (costing 250K and above). It has enough power on the highway, better the Lexus 250 in performance but lost to E series a bit.

To me is worth every penny.

You may check out Aust and UK site and will discover the price is similar to malaysia price (you will not feel victimized by Malaysia NAP). Seriously, go check it out.

Conclusion – value for money.

• rchoo on Mar 20, 2014 at 1:06 pm

I mean performance lost to Benz Entry Level E series a bit.

• salesman on Mar 20, 2014 at 2:10 pm

What compare cars at different class? Must be a sales man

• rchoo on Mar 20, 2014 at 5:24 pm

To salesman,

I am not a salesman but a Professional Civil Engineer.

Probably I am just well read and done some research on cars because I want my every penny spent on car well worth. After all, in Malaysia spending on a new car is a major financial decision, don’t you think so.

• x-city on Mar 20, 2014 at 10:18 pm

i aslo own a 508P, still happy with my car till now

cheer bro :)

• rchoo on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Come to think of it I might change my mind.

If the price is right, I will buy another Peugeot, this time the new 1.2 308 e-THP which has incredible low fuel consumption.

• katob on Jul 01, 2014 at 4:42 pm

when will this 308 model market in malaysia..kindly interested with this model..heee