SPIED: 2015 Audi R8 lapping the ‘Ring for the first time

2015_Audi_R8_03

While it stays fresh in our minds, the original Audi R8, having been unveiled in 2006, is now an eight-year-old design. You’d think that it’s about time for a new one to appear. And you’re not wrong, as these are the first pictures of the next-generation R8 pounding the Nurburgring, apparently getting ready for its debut next year.

The entire car is covered for now, but the R8’s signature profile isn’t to be missed. Also clear to see are the new, sharper lighting elements that have been previewed by the high-riding Audi Nanuk quattro concept from last year’s Frankfurt Motor Show. You can expect the new TT’s evolutionary looks to influence this one too.

2015_Audi_R8_11

Like its forebear, the 2015 Audi R8 will utilise a Lamborghini platform, this time one based on that of the fresh Gallardo-replacing Huracan LP 610-4. With a dollop of carbon-fibre and aluminium in the new state-of-the-art construction, the next-gen Audi supercar should to go through a considerable weight loss.

As for power, the current V8 and V10 options are expected to continue. Internet ‘experts’ are juggling between the existing 4.2 litre V8 or the twin-turbo 4.0 litre V8 in the RS 6 and RS 7, while the Lambo-derived 5.2 litre V10 will get a power boost (but still South of the Huracan’s 610 hp-output). More details as they come.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• BMW Fanboi (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Four rings lapping the ring

• Codename on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:47 pm

The rear lamp is kind of rectangle-ish

• That’s just the mule unit. Do u really think that the automaker gonna reveal their actual production version during testing?

• bmbubbleyou on Mar 19, 2014 at 6:10 pm

I bet it’s going to be the same case with the new audi TT. Almost the same design as the original with sharper modern lines.

• Lane tamer on Mar 19, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Same like the new Audi TT, more like a facelift to me…

• oh really on Mar 19, 2014 at 10:19 pm

This one is based on the new Huracan platform. So, not really a facelift.

• If you look closely, the rear tyre arch no longer “Bulat” but more flat similar to audi Nanook rear end.

• BLT Club (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:03 pm

The sad thing is it shares a platform with the Huracan. Sad, sad, sad. Lambo used to be a mad beast, the epitome of flamboyance, excesss, extravangence. Now? The Raging Bull has been neutered by faceless German efficiency. Thumb me down for this, but really Lambo under Audi has really lost it soul…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Doesn’t apply to the Aventador, which does not share its underpinnings with any Audi product. So no. Lambo hasn’t lost it soul.

• At this moment Lambo only lost his “Mad Beast Handling”, others still remain as it with more soul…

• Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Mar 20, 2014 at 2:26 pm

erm what will happen to current r8? will it become obsolete ? i am planning to buy audi r8 next year , i want to become like tony stark drive r8

• You don’t need an R8 to be like Tony Stark. Just cut a hole in your chest and stick a round neon light