Toyota Camry 2.0G X – images of new variant released

Toyota Camry 2.0 G X_01

UMW Toyota has released more images of the new Toyota Camry 2.0G X variant, which was revealed on its website earlier this week. The Camry 2.0G X, or the Camry X in short, is a new, more upmarket variant of Toyota’s 2.0 litre D-segment sedan, priced at RM159,900 (about RM1,000 more than the standard Camry 2.0G).

These new pictures show the model-specific dark bezel (i.e., smoked) front and tail lamps, dark silver 17-inch wheels (same design as the Camry 2.5V’s), dark brown leather upholstery and interior wood trim. Standard HID (xenon) headlights, plus powered rear blind and manual rear side window shades bring it closer to the range-topping 2.5V.

The Aerokit pictured here remains a RM2,700 option, along with Toyota Premium Security and Solar Film, which adds on another RM1,900. What is included in the package, however, is UMW’s DVD-AVN touchscreen system (with GPS, Bluetooth and reverse camera functions) that is a RM2,990 upgrade on other 2.0 litre models (RM1,800 on the 2.5V).

Mechanically, the Camry X shares the same 148 PS/190 Nm 2.0 litre engine and four-speed automatic gearbox as the 2.0G and 2.0E. Also similar to the mid-spec 2.0G is the safety equipment – so still just two airbags, as well as VSC and TRC (base 2.0E loses out on the last two safety features).

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• dino years on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:48 pm

that butt…just, oh dear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Najib, where is the 30% reduction Promise? on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices.

Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 9 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is CKD or CBU or whether it is EV or EEV. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise??

A Toyota Camry in the US, has about 8 airbags, VSC, EBD, Tire Pressure Monitor etc etc, very high spec and yet it cost US$22,000. It is CBU Japan made and every single part in Japan made ie very high quality. So, US$22,000 – this works out to RM60,000.

UMW will get this car far cheaper from their principial in Japan. If US Toyota can sell this car for USD$22,000 and yet make a margin and profit, then, it is pretty clear, UMW Malaysia might be getting this car less than USD$22,000. Maybe about USD$15,000 direct from their principal. Adding to it, it is CKD, most of its parts Made In Malaysia. So, the cost will be much lesser than even US$15,000.

So, how is the car sold here at RM160,000?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 41
      • shame_Loo on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Why the Camry is getting more Ah Beng? Look cheap and ugly. If UMW wants to boast the sales, cut the price by another 10~15K, that will surely helps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
        • Hyundai De Laq Junk on Mar 20, 2014 at 8:57 am

Problem is up coming Sonata is copying it..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
        • Cannot cut another 10-15k, those money is SA bonus. UMW profit margin set around 50k for each car. Suppose that car price is 167k, only 7k reduce

• whatelsearetheretosay on Mar 22, 2014 at 1:51 am

No longer designed by Australians…

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 116
        • Don’t be such ignorant, FSL. Not everyone is kaya like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 13
          • ToBohLanSamLoo on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:59 pm

With this ugly car, the junior uncle sales man going to have more problem to sell it. Sam Loo is now a clerk at Kia showroom. Shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
        • Most people here can afford the price, it just doesn’t feel right to pay two to three times more than the actual car price in the name of tax and you don’t get to see the benefits from the tax money you’ve paid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
        • shame_loo on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:05 pm

FSL, what’s your problem? You Toyota salesman kah? or Sam Loo’s macai?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
          • Pakvader on Mar 20, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Macai to junior sales man = very junior junior sales man

• Just sayin bcoz people kept on complaining about the car prices…PS I will definately not going to buy any overprice & underspec toyota product & btw sam loo is the biggest liar around

• FSL, please don’t talk big here. A lots of people can afford to buy big car but can’t afford to buy house. So please do not show off!We are just unsatisfied with the car price in Malaysia only.

• Benz Stop complaining about car prices!!! that was my point bcoz nobody will listen to you anyway especially the gov…it was your mistake frm the first place when you voted for BN….if you are so clever how the gov suppose to sustain the economy by lowering car tax and keep on subsidizing petrol

• shame_Loo on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:44 pm

FSL, what was wrong in the 1st place isn’t voting for any political party. The biggest error was you and all of us born in the wrong place at the wrong time.

• BOMOH on Mar 20, 2014 at 11:42 am

Kau nak penampar buaya ke? aku sekali tampar, semua kekayaan kau lari.

• Albert Lee on Mar 19, 2014 at 8:27 pm

High car taxes are here to stay,cos the Rm8 Billion is too big a TEMPTATION to refuse.
        Even if there is REGIME CHANGE in next GE ,the ONLY CASH COW is Petronas which can replace the 8Billion in taxes imposed on the poor rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • tiadaid (Member) on Mar 20, 2014 at 9:01 am

Better car tax instead of raiding the Petronas coffers. Want cheaper cars, reduce fuel subsidies (which we no longer deserve, seeing as how our export surplus is now slowly but eroding to the point of becoming negative)

Petronas should be managed as a company rather than a bank for the government!

• salambangi on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:03 pm

I’m in my 5 series and I have to say that the offer is pathetic and sheer arrogance on the part of UMW. A 4 speeder at RM 160,000 is a rip-off and day light robbery. I’m inviting all soon to retire people and 5 series uncles to join my newly formed group called “U Mau Wanita group” or UMWg to protest against this madness by UMW.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on Mar 19, 2014 at 10:50 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
    • The Accord definitely beats Camry in many aspects, hence the need to “facelift” and throw in more goodies.

I’m a big fan of Toyota but I haf to say this time the Accord is miles ahead.

Let’s hope next generation Camry will be much better :)

• We want J Lo’s butt not this!

• Ali Karim on Dec 27, 2014 at 12:26 am

I feel sorry for Toyota loyal customers, especially loyal Uncles. This is the most ugliest Camry ever manufactured. The only way to safe face now is scrapt any facelift and bring in the US version, and quickly.

• Bujang Terlajak on Jan 13, 2015 at 12:13 pm

Owhh…surely ugly…hideous car…horrible poor design..i dont comprehend those people who like this car..totally out! the opposite of style meet substance!To carmakers out there..listen to me..Follow these rules..No.1-Design, no.2-Performance..no.3-Reliability…Design Sells

• vee-oh on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:48 pm

but..but..it’s still 4 speed AT..OMG

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
  • asrul on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:50 pm

another day, another rip off by UMW

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 0
  • Camry X ? is a X for me..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 3
  • brucewayne on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:59 pm

SSDD – same sh*t different days

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • squall_shinoda on Mar 19, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Still uses the ancient single VVT-i 2.0L engine with dinosaur-age 4-speed auto? Got only 2 airbags…? Then better take a Honda Accord – even Hyundai Sonata is a lot better. Even the new Toyota Corolla 2.0 is a lot better than this piece of junk.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 1
    • theanswer on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:48 pm

+1
      high spec lower model always better than entry lvl spec. mazda 6 still a better buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Meltsh on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:16 pm

New corolla is another piece of junk…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • jap junk on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Honda accord is junk as well. Mazda 6 kills all to win the best car for this segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
      • Toyota King of RV on Mar 19, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Mazda 6??That is a piece of Junk for me that i dont even bother about it.The best car for me is Honda Accord,just get it yesterday,2.0 VTi-L version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
  • brucewayne on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:10 pm

SSDD – same stuff different day

• Accord fanboy on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:10 pm

honda accord vti-l spec still is the better option over this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Toyota King of RV on Mar 19, 2014 at 8:14 pm

True,new Accord begin to grow rapidly these months.Mazda 6,K5 and Sonata can bungkus already.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:11 pm

2 airbags? Pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • AVH (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:34 pm

All D-segment bar the Korean optima K5 and peugeout 508 comes with 2 airbags in this price range(RM140k-RM160k)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
      • RedCRZ on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:21 pm

we deserve more than 2 in D segments. So… pathethic still. all of em

• AVH (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 6:36 pm

We certainly do, its weird that C and B segment cars in the same line up are getting more airbags than their bigger stable mate. In this case, Honda’s latest city and Toyota’s latest Corolla Altis. We certainly need to buff the Airbag count to a standard of 6 across the D-segment.

Hmmm, at the time of writing, getting alot of downvotes, perhapse other D-segment buyers realize the mistake they’ve made?

• Sakura on Mar 19, 2014 at 7:11 pm

That’s because They feel sad They Thought only Toyota is OverPriced.

Korean and Continental Cars also overpriced.

All are BullShit Price Thanks TO Barisan Nasional has not taken steps on 30% price reduction.

with 30% price reduction.
            D-segment: RM150k – 30% = RM112k.
            C-segmnent: RM120k – 30% = 84k.
            B-segment: RM80k – 30% = RM56k.

All these price range, still above PRoton Price. Segment to Segment Comparison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • tiadaid (Member) on Mar 20, 2014 at 9:03 am

Because B & C segment is a competitive market, whereas in the D segment, T & H still rules the roost (all the uncles yet to change their minds)

• holofanboi on Apr 10, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Actually AVH,

I think it’s because you phrased your sentence in a confusing manner. Infact at FIRST glance when I read your sentence, I mistook it as ALL the other cars had 6 airbags and K5 and 508 only have two.

I know that’s definitely not what you meant, but for some reason your sentence seem to give such a first impression, weird eh?

• rchoo on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:29 pm

508 comes with 2 air bags, if you do have the facts don’t comment lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
        • rchoo on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:32 pm

U mean 508 comes with 2 air bags? How come mine has more than 2, special treatment from peugeot to me is it? either u are lying or i am wrong? ha ha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • AVH (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 6:33 pm

http://www.peugeot.com.my/showroom/508/berline/#!explore/key-features/safety-1/air-bags

• rchoo on Mar 19, 2014 at 6:25 pm

Sorry friend, miss your word bar. Apologize to u.

• Cheung on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:23 pm

I am going to get one of these Sam Loo’s selection
    Probably in 2015

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Samad Jain on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Camry car is definitely a good buy….for Unker and Aunties drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • sonyman on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:25 pm

fu yooo, the best camry in the world man, dont play play oh..

I Come eat you oh honda accord. Hahaha.

what a douche Camry. Stupid variant to con uncles and aunties.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Obama on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:28 pm

They know Accord just killed their sales, so they add some specs just to bring it closer to Accord and named it Camry X. There is no such thing as “X” in all the previous gen of Camry. Anyway, hopefully Accord will counter it with Accord Z and 6 airbags!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Don’t worry. Proton will come and badge Accord to Accordana X.

puih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • Toyota King of RV on Mar 19, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Potong already not dare to kacau Honda as the Proton people worried that they will be killed anytime by the Japanese.

• Samad Jain on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Proton wont kacau honda or toyota becoz Proton itself under life support…ehehehehe

• AVH (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Wait RM1k over the standard 2.0l G? With all those fancy extra including that nav unit? What is there to justify the existence of a 2.0l G than with this X model being so much better.

It is still hediously overprice for its paper spec, safety remains on par with the likes of the Accord and Sonata 2.0l, but those are a full RM10 k cheaper(or a ice European trip for two) but those car gets niceties like dual screen and sunroof respectively. The other cars are also equipped with 5-6 gears. So is it worth it? If you are sure that RM10k extra will get you that nice Toyota reliability and dependability, sure why not, I know people who put reliability above all else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Das Auto on Mar 20, 2014 at 1:02 am

They talk only la about reliablity. Fact is accord and sonata is every bit as reliable if not more than camry. In fact never seen one break down before while many camrys kwai tai or skidded and crash due to no VSC.

What these fools want secretly is the RV and nothing else. But they will be shocked when used car dealers tell them how little their junk is worth after 2 yrs. No one wants those rotten garbage without VSC. That is why camry RV is so bad now. 1 yr old 2.5 model drop more than 50k.

Of course these clowns will come here and spread false rumours hoping for a scape goat to buy their old junk at sky high premium prices.

• AVH (Member) on Mar 20, 2014 at 10:08 am

The last Accord did has some reliability problems, so bad that one guy actually parked his car outside his SA with words discribeing the faults concerning his breaks. That scare the bejeezus out of the reliability fanatics. I as a Honda regular do admit some little faults usually to do electronics, but I ignore those faults for its benefits.

I won’t comment on Hyundai, only have experience with one and that did not end well, but it’s a 10 old car. Toyota, so far as with the dozens of Toyota owner, I’ve yet to see major faults, worse to happen is a punctured tired. It does convince me of Toyotas reliabilty and depandebility, but besides its hybrids, 86 and the highest spec Corolla, I won’t recommend any of them.

• hardcore on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Suiiiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • james on Mar 19, 2014 at 4:58 pm

if i’m boss, i will fire all the damn poor marketing staff…they seem not getting rakyat voice!!! it will become like finland smartphone faith in next decade in Malaysia!!!!

• helpless and hopeless on Mar 20, 2014 at 10:56 am

Dear Mr James, it is not the marketing staff who fix the asking price. It is the damn greedy UMW Board of Directors (rotten cronies) who decide the Toyota Car Price and spec in Malaysia. The market staff are just to follow the price the big big boss already set. Poor thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • hehehe…..160k for a moving box…..erm…..

• Tamauser on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:10 pm

My dad owns a Toyota Camry 2.5V and we are, until today still very pleased and proud to received the 150th Camry produced in Malaysia! Everything is superb in this Camry. My dad fixed a 19″ vossen rims, black tint, WALD bodykits and subwoofers. Its definitely a head-turner, even u dress like a farmer driving a car! My dad is planning getting another another Camry for his company use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 57
    • bluebird on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:56 pm

you are just being sarcastic and joking right?

• Wow, Ah Beng is driving ah Beng car…truly in match…
      19″ vossen, black tint, body kit,subwoofer.
      Luckily I am not Camry owner. By the way, I am driving Conti car and we Conti car owners usually do not need to do such bcos the Conti car are simply beautiful enough for all those 19″ vossen, blah blah blah….
      Any Peugeot, Ford, Citroen, Volvo or VW will make your father’s boxy Camry feel ashame in any trunk road not to mention north south highway…

• vwisDuck on Mar 20, 2014 at 1:56 pm

Your VW is german proton and u call it continental car and feel proud? Shame.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Your dad your dad. How bout you?

Your dad is uncle we know.

• sick&tired on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:11 pm

whoaaaaa! the dlr so high class! doesn’t look like it was installed at brothers! even better than audi drl! toyota pls share your secret with the rest of the world! wood interior also vely nice oooo! better than bentley! this car is an appreciating classic! better buy this than property!

• tamauser (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:22 pm

My mom owns a Camry 2.5V. Its superb. My dad fixed a 19″ vossen rim, black tint and WALD bodykits to it, and its definitely a head-turner once driving to the road. We are planning to get another one for our company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 32
    • berombon on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:56 pm

what is this la?? Kejap your dad owns a 2.5 Camry, now your mom pulak owns a 2.5 Camry, soon going to buy another Camry pulak lagi..

Kelentong arr you??

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Ya. Your dad bought for your mom and he beh tahan the uncle look. So he pimp the ride.

He plan to buy for his company too as he want everyone to be uncle and he still look young.

• Aero (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:33 pm

UMW Toyota panicking already… emergency launch of a new Camry variant due to failing sales. This is the second time, the previous re-launch was due to the Stability Control issue.

Malaysians should buy less Toyotas, only then will UMW Toyota give us more standard equipment in their cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Toyota King of RV on Mar 19, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Now people go for Honda,especially Accord.New City launching tomorrow,according to my Honda Sa.Then new City,Vios and Almera will dominate the sales in Malaysia.

• My mistress owns a Toyota Camry 2.5V. Its amazing. My mistress fixed a 20″ vossen rim, black tint and WALD bodykits to it, and its definitely a head-turner once driving to the road. We are planning to get another one for our company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • If you still owned this BOX, No matter how fancy u make over, still Super Dooper UGLY.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Hahaha… joke of the day. If you’re so please with the car why you pimp it? 20″ inch rim is a punk ride which is totally suits you and your mistress

• vee-oh on Mar 20, 2014 at 11:07 am

My mistress also owns a 2.5V Camry. I gave money to her and she has fitted a 22″ Vossen rim, really black tint and WALD bodykits. It is a gangster car and scare the shit out of people on the road. We are planning to get 3 more for our company

• uncle’s money is so easy to earn……

• Agree! Uncle always said Toyota engine very lasting one! Why ah? can somebody reply this question please>…!!!

• nuetral on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Simply lame and boring. But hey dont you forget, this is Malaysia, where many typical Malaysians survive and blundered by Japanese. Here, everything is about brand. Dont worry Toyota, even u give these people 30-year old technology u are always be proud by these typical Malaysians who give u a lot of profit. Juz moving forward.

• izzul on Mar 19, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Useless and stupid car.

• i just notice the rim is similar to previous vios E spec?

• howpf on Mar 19, 2014 at 6:11 pm

i read all the comments above all are criticize the toyota camry but how come i still can see so many camry on the road?!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • dugong on Mar 20, 2014 at 1:12 am

How come still got so many people become victim of nigerian scam, scratch n win scam, phishing scam, ponzi scam, mlm scam, bomoh scam, get rich quick scam?????

You can answer me then I will tell you why got so many camrys on the road!

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Uncles can buy.. not for me.

• Megane on Mar 19, 2014 at 6:45 pm

My heart stopped , my eyes became teary seeing this masterpiece travelling on the road ….much more beautiful than Pagani Huayra . Ahh i need to jerk off to a Camry XXX poster on the wall

• samoron on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:24 pm

I’d love to do dat too but simply can’t get turned on with such look.

• vee-oh on Mar 20, 2014 at 11:09 am

I know right…this Camry X is simply a fap fap materials

• hua..uncle car this time got bodykit somemore..lul

• camry on Mar 19, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Why bother ? Toyota’s target market is uncle and aunty, NOT YOU. Don’t need to shoot here and therelah… For uncle and aunty, who may include YOUR uncle or aunty, this is their desirable car.

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:38 pm

I agree with you.

• dugong on Mar 20, 2014 at 1:15 am

not good to keep quiet and let your uncle get cheated paying premium for old junk isn’t it?

• Das Auto on Mar 20, 2014 at 1:30 am

Your uncle doesn’t know that the whole world is laughing at him thinking what a stupid idiot sohai paid premium for a piece of junk and can lansi somemore…syok sendiri only.

• Buyer on Mar 19, 2014 at 8:33 pm

Camry 2.0GX vs Honda 2.0 VTL vs Mazda 2.0
    What is your choice?

• Buyer on Mar 19, 2014 at 8:40 pm

Camry 2.0GX RM160k
    Honda 2.0 VTi-L RM150k
    Mazda 6 2.0 RM160k
    What is your choice?

• fast5 on Mar 19, 2014 at 10:08 pm

Simple answer with that kind of price M-cbu triumph T n H ckd anytime…
      Back to topic, UMW is serious crazy launching this kind of rubbish….. act of stupidity UMW.

• mybluegetz on Mar 19, 2014 at 8:51 pm

Billion of dollars company and yet their final product is quite ugly and lack of safety features for D segment nowadays.

• carscene (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Oh come on UMW. Camry is supposed to be creme de la creme of the Toyota range. Surely you can do better than 2 airbags and 4 speed.

• albag on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:32 pm

that “X” really costs a bomb…

• Nabill on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:33 pm

that has to be the most hideous bodykit on a production car….

• BLT Club (Member) on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:34 pm

UMW continues to leverage on the Toyota brand. Without being sensitive to customer’s needs their sales would be affected. Two airbags in this day and age is just insulting to customers. And VSC should be standard across the range. Come UMW, you can do so much better than this!

• Walk the talk pls on Mar 19, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Don’t just keyboard warrior complain here. Do the action pls. Start educating ur colleagues,friends,family members especially the older generation!!!
    Once the buying stops, the cheating will too.
    We are almost there, don’t give up.
    Once city is out, vios tapao kao kao.
    Accord tapao Camry
    Only left witting for new civic to dominate the whole sedan line together with Mazda.
    Rip umw sedans.

• Camry on Mar 20, 2014 at 9:47 am

Very difficult o to “educate” aunty and uncle. Just put yourself in their shoe. After 20 years later, you become aunty or uncle. One day someone in 20s come and mention : don’t buy Honda lah, it is no good and blah blah blah. And your response : GO MAMPUS!

• good hard door..better good all peugeot 508 premium, cheap price

• The rear! Oh my… Ugly dugly stupid designer.

• umakemepuke on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:06 pm

I’d rather kill myself than to be seen driving this junk.

• kelvin on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:37 pm

Damn ugly bodykit yucks. The led light looks so aftermarket like tasteless ah beng style. This horrible Camry leaves a lot to be desired.

• Dominic on Mar 19, 2014 at 11:49 pm

4 speed auto?!! HAHAA…… same as my Toyota Unser 1.8 Auto. still so famous!!! i’m so proud of my car!

• Go any review. ….camry always come at bottom 3. Passat, accord and m6 always at top rank. Open your eye please.

• This is the car that failed the “small offset” crash test. Check out the videos on you tube. Accord did very well on that new test being conducted by NHTSA in the US. Good job on the body rigidity Honda!

• babygrand on Mar 20, 2014 at 3:01 am

OMG why still got people buy camry???? i heard the 10K discount still on

• Steve Kok on Mar 20, 2014 at 9:38 am

Must buy Toyota and Honda!! High resale value!!!!!

• rossi on Mar 20, 2014 at 10:16 am

I fully agree that Toyota is ripping all of us with basic specs and outdated technology, and not so convincing design.
    But my mind is always open, there are some true valid reasons people go for Toyota, not just because they are uncles and aunties –

1. Reliability – is it a fact or myth? for you to decide, there are some people who are always on the move in their work and mileage of at least 50,000km to 70,000km per year. These are the type who choose Toyota, had heard stories of Toyotas with 500,000km or more without any major breakdown, it is believed Honda engines don’t last so well (mostly coming from mechanics).

Is this myth or truth? I don;t know.

2. Ride comfort, among the common cars here, Toyota usually has the most supple ride comfort (though some prefer firmer absorber).
    Some people truly enjoy a typical Toyota ride quality in Vios, Altis and Camry.

Though, good ride comfort is offset by outdated 4 speed gearbox totally unsuitable for highway cruising.
    City (current model) has got terrible ride quality for rear passengers.

So I mean, other than thinking Toyota buyers as stupid or dinosaurs who never change, there are real valid and logical reasons people choose Toyota.

P/S – I am not Toyota fan, I just choose what suits me at the time I want to buy a car.

• dugong on Mar 21, 2014 at 1:10 am

You know why mechanics here say that. Its bcos most of them are lazy fellers not willing to learn and upgrade themselves. Prefering to repair dinosour 3 speed or 4 speed gearbox till they retire. Easy con job.

They will be glad to repair you iswara or wira or vios. Bring something with 6 speed or 7 speed and they will start shaking. They will still claim confidently to be able to fix your car but in the end will screw it up. Hence they will say its not their fault but your engine and gearbox is not reliable and lousy bla bla…dinosour vvti is very good.

I never trust mechanics esp in bolehland!!

• AntiSocial on Mar 20, 2014 at 11:51 am

Uncle trying to be sporty

• shawal on Mar 20, 2014 at 11:54 am

Driven shud include kia optima facelift n nissan teana in d next shootout..

Accord 2.0 vti-l is 10k cheaper than dis toyota…
    Nicer interior too

• kia sales man on Mar 20, 2014 at 12:46 pm

No fight to K5, it show how inferior is UMW doing to fool Malaysian, good that this crap can’t sell, consumer should be more smart in making their choice. I pity those who still buy this crap!

• breeze on Mar 20, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Camry, logically comfort riding but bad handling.

• Eddie on Mar 21, 2014 at 10:59 am

2.0 = Underpowered

• The best Camry ever was the 1999/2000 2.2 GX.

This car looks extremely ugly.Were the designers sleeping on the job?

• Sundar G. on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:29 pm

To comment about the car, Camry 2.0GX is better featured than Camry 2.0G.
    What dissapoints me is most is that I just got a Camry 2.0G, which’s priced, just RM1K lesser.
    I just hope that Toyota Malaysia compensates by providing free accessories to the earlier purchasers.
    And comparing the Camry with other Car Makes/Models such as the Accord, Teana, Mazda 6, Passat, I find that on Camry is the best choice. I you don’t agree with me, u may email me later, as I gtg now. I can sure convince you to start admiring the Camry. Bye

• tebabow! on Mar 22, 2014 at 11:59 am

umw try hard to make camry looks as sporty as the K5.

• Johnson on Mar 24, 2014 at 9:55 pm

Beng of the Beng!

• justin fong on Oct 16, 2014 at 5:27 am

My neighbour n myself owned 2.4 Toyota Camry n really disgusting that after 5 yrs the dashboard starts to crack. Really Inferior quality. My wife’s Proton Wira of more than 10 years do not face this problem at all. Going to change my car next year but will never buy another Toyota again.