Why aren’t we more excited about Formula 1 in 2014?

jonathan-lee-column

There has been a lot of conjecture on social media about the 2014 Formula 1 cars after the first race of the season in Melbourne last weekend. People have been lamenting the loss of the 2.4 V8s that ran for the past eight years, saying that the new “power units” sound terrible and that the racing is weird and it doesn’t feel like Formula 1 anymore.

Earlier this week, the organisers for the Australian Grand Prix claimed that they planning to sue the Formula 1 management, claiming that the quieter engines reduced the spectacle of the sport, breaching their contract. Even Bernie Ecclestone himself has been, ahem, vocal about the engines’ lack of volume.

What utter cobblers.

Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix

The whole point of Formula 1 is that it’s supposed to be the pinnacle of technology. For years, it’s been behind the curve, banning electronic this and variable valve that. But now the innovating spirit of the sport is back, and people are complaining that the sound of the engines are not the same as it used to be?

If everyone back in the day was so worried about engine sounds, we would’ve gone backwards. We would’ve never gone from 2.5-litre engines to 1.5 back in the 1960s and pushed engine technology further to try and claw some of the power back. We would’ve never gone through the first turbo era in the ’80s. All that incredible racing that spawned from those periods, gone. So it would be a shame that all this promising new technology gets nipped in the bud because people think screaming gas-guzzling engines are the way forward instead.

And what excellent pieces of technology these new power units are. At the heart of each unit sits a 1.6 turbo V6 producing around 600 hp – that’s pushing 400 hp per litre from the engine alone. Yes, it’s turbocharged, but bear in mind that it’s the first year these guys are using this radically different technology, and the power levels are only set to rise. This engine makes Audi’s record-breaking 420 hp 2.0 turbo four in that TT Quattro Sport concept looks like child’s play.

Mercedes_F1_Turbo_V6_01

Added to that, there are two electric motor units. One of them (Motor Generator Unit – Kinetic, MGU-K) works just like the KERS in previous seasons, capturing kinetic energy normally lost through braking and storing it in the battery to be used later. As before, this energy can be used to boost the car’s performance, but instead of the piffling 80 hp KERS produced over a span of about six seconds, MGU-K delivers double that power over five times the duration.

The second, more intriguing motor is the MGU-H, which is connected to the turbocharger and derives its energy from the heat (that’s the H there) of the exhaust gasses passing through. The electricity gained can either be also stored in the battery, used to slow the turbos off throttle (negating the need for a wastegate) or – this is the bit that really does my head in – spool the turbos up when there’s not enough exhaust gas to power it, practically eliminating turbo lag.

Did you get that, guys? These…wizards have found a way to build a crazily-boosted 1.6-litre engine that has literally zero turbo lag. None, zip, nada. Now that’s progress.

And who said Formula 1 was out of touch with the production car industry? True, last year’s 2.4 V8 had as much to do with your mother’s Camry as wheels did to snowboards. But now that the engines have been downsized and turbocharged and make almost as much power while using 30% less fuel, the sport is starting look a lot more relevant to the common man.

Besides, if you guys really were concerned with engine sounds you really should go back to 2005 to hear the last of the truly great sounding F1 engines – the 3.0 litre V10. Those things, with that tuneful yowl as they screamed past 19,000 rpm, that was a proper symphony.

The high-pitch wail of the flat-plane V8 sounds flat in comparison, like a superbike that’s had its rev limiter removed. At least the V6s, while nowhere near as high-pitched, has a much more interesting gravelly tone, with a great yelp on the overrun. They sounded like that in the ’80s, and nobody gave two hoots back then…

As for the people who complained about how the cars weren’t as loud as they used to be, I’m sorry, but have you ever been at a race with ear plugs? They were horrible – it meant you couldn’t hear the engine properly anyway, they clogged up your ears and made you feel miserable, they made you look like an idiot when your companion yelled at you and you just sat there as if nothing happened and at the end of the day you had to fish them out with a chopstick and one of them would usually end up stuck halfway up your ear canal anyway.

I look at those people on the stands at Melbourne and think of how nice it must be to get an unadulterated earful of engine noise while still being able to talk to other people normally, to be able to hear other things like wheelspin and lockups, to no longer have the feeling of your brain being sucked out by two little pieces of foam in your ears.

F1_2014_Australian_GP_11

As for the racing, was I watching the same race some of you guys were? Three relatively young racers stood on the podium, all of them getting an upper hand over their more esteemed teammates simply because they managed the new technology better. There were crashes, there were some brilliant battles and there were real surprises.

And there was real racing. There’s actual skill involved in deciding when to save fuel and when to put the hammer down, making races properly riveting. Not the fake unpredictability of the orchestrated catastrophic loss of grip on the old Pirellis where drivers had no choice but to accept their fate as their cars became more and more undrivable.

Yes, there were big gaps in performance between the teams – as with any other sport with such drastic change in regulations, some people cope with it better than others. But as more is learned about the new cars and the new technology, the racing will definitely get closer.

And of course, who doesn’t like to see a winner of a Grand Prix in recent years that wasn’t Sebastian Vettel?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• fadhli on Mar 21, 2014 at 4:48 pm

thanks for the explanation man..appreciate it alot. u made me wanna watch this season again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
    • Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Great write up! Looking forward to see more of these piece other than just spyshots, facelifts, new cars and prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • yihang on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:14 pm

because most of people just dont understand car…and act like a automotive professor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 22, 2014 at 2:50 pm

F1 sound that bad…when I see F1 race I want to crash, overtaking, pit havoc, rivalries between driver, pit mistake, unpredictable weather/car n my team winning…

• kzm (Member) on Mar 22, 2014 at 2:53 pm

I miss “is not” in my sentence. “F1 sound is not that bad’

• Storm on Mar 23, 2014 at 11:02 pm

You mean people like you? F1 is the pinnacle of motor racing and the sound of the car is utmost important. Yes technologies involved here but do you want to actually see a F1 race with electric powered car in the future? No matter how they maneuver jostling for positions but without the exciting screaming sounds coming it will only look like a bumper car in a fun fair. It’s like Tiger Wood super powerful swing but without the incredible swoosh sound from his club.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • yihang on Mar 24, 2014 at 2:23 pm

oh,dare u say that,i maybe not very pro in car,but formula 1 have the world most expert engineer,many many of them..they spend so many time to deal with physic and science to create this product,how much R&D had done?how much complicated calibration job had done?most of the people have no idea about it,and just complain the sound..u have no idea about formula-E right?eventually it have to happen..electric drive F1,today,we have to deal with emission,high fuel price and the decreasing in fuel supply,compromise have to be made..

• wanfumi on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:16 pm

yeah beside all gizmos explained
    the engine sound is still not there for people that view the race at home and majority who watch the race are at home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • Enthu on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Nicely put.

I am one of those who think Formula 1 is actually “interesting” again this year.

Let’s not dwell on the old past and savor the race that is more interesting, unpredictable, technological and fun to watch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Joker on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:27 pm

I truely agree with u bro..
    the turbo sound is so clear u can literally hear it and tat’s good news…
    sooner or later with more development i believe these 1.6 turbo v6 hybrid will bcom faster than 2.4 v8…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • idesofmarch on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Totally agree. Watched the Australian Grand Prix last week and I felt that F1 has improved for the better and has lost none of its charm. Yes, the engine volume leaves alot to be desired for, but the tone of the engine is good nonetheless, especially the Merc power units. Plus, you get to hear other parts of the car now, like the mechanical sounds of the brake-by-wire powering up the MGU-K and the squealing tyres when they lock up going into a corner. Previously all other sounds (spectators included) are just drowned out by the screaming V8s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Even better if it came with loud sound from blow off valve. Chiu Chiu Chiu~~!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • John Chong on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Great article, Jonathan!
    And Happy Birthday, Ayrton Senna!

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:42 pm

What will make it really interesting is to remove the drivers com link…. and remove the fuel gauge…and a smaller tank.

That would make things really interesting.

Without the mass of information, pit strategists these guys depend on, let racing be racing between the drivers.

Removing technologies don’t make F1 more interesting. Putting the drivers in the forefront will.

There are things F1 could learn from NASCAR.

• Sound too soft like a pondan. Even rempit EX5 make louder noise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • torque on Mar 22, 2014 at 10:13 am

Yeah…u r rite, I have seen n heard a car plus a bike that sound like a “ribut” but move like a “siput”. Please learn more about advancement in technology before u put this sort of comment. Comparing F1 engineer versus some “Siu Keong” pasang exhaust bawah pokok…sigh!

• Ok so what you know about siu keung? Wanna talk like a pro but know nothing.

• siu keung on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:02 pm

yeah U r right bro..siu keung ejoz sounds a lot more sweeter and can tuned to be heard from miles away..F1 V10 is the best

• JviperS2 on Mar 21, 2014 at 6:10 pm

We as in Malaysians aren’t more excited about Formula 1 in 2014 is probably due to the fact that it is now monopolized by a satellite tv company where people need to pay to watch.

Due to that, a majority of malaysians are not watching (even those who subscribed to the satellite tv as sports package means more money), thus there’s no longer any excitement which can be clearly seen and felt for the past 3 to 4 years.

Bring it back on free tv (even if it’s a few races, especially when they’re in Sepang) and for sure the craze will be back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Moores on Mar 21, 2014 at 6:10 pm

I for one really turned off with the new engine. Fall asleep half way because it sounds like music in the spa. Let’s not all get carried away from technologies and therefore took away the excitement of F1. Racing, more so F1 are never economical. Hundreds of millions are spend by one team and more on every race. Yes, F1 should sounds like F1 because after watching last week race it looked more like a F3 or F2000 now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • AVH (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 6:13 pm

After some insistence, I went to watch the dissapointment 2009 season with my dad. Arriving late to the party which is furthered hampered by the grueling downpour that made that yr so famous, I left there……..extremely delighted, the screme of the V8 was one thing but for a bonus, those AMG Safety car made a pass that made a strong impression for me.

Personally, we have to look at this in one perspective. Formula 1 to many is not the pinnacle of technology but rather as a form of entertainment. I once saw a Nissan Skyline GTR and Evo IV race pass while my mom was driving, like the immature kid I was(and still am) I gaewed at that majestic sight while my mom question the relevance of that car. Low, impractical and noisy was what she said before I proceed to tell her the magnificent history, technological wonders they were to which to her is as relevant as understanding Einstein’s theory of relativity for cooking. This let to a thought, does only car guys appreciate technological marvel cars have become?

The formula 1 experience of 09′ also left my dad questioning its relevance, no matter how much I geek at him about rev and power to displacement ratio. he see no desire to want to know. Because all this is actually happening behind the scene and away from view. What he saw was entertainment, the loud rev and the way a Jensen Button is able to take a corner at speed was the few things that are relevant to him, none of the geek stuff.

That is why many people are disappointed at the new formula 1 engine, I’ve actually skip last two years season to watch this year event(yes I’am buying the tickets later) because I know how this new engine and genitalia cars are different to the previous seasons. Put it in a way, today we see a more advance and safer rally events and Le Mans racer, the cars are now faster and safer than before, but for a spectacle, personally it pales in comparison of the Group B era or the 70s Le Mans. when there were no chicanes in the mulsanne straight, and 240mph were frequent ; When Walter Rohl struggle with an 800hp fire breathing Audi urQuattro and narrowly avoinding a crowds of thousands, when rollovers were common and racing was actually a life threatening occupation. People risk the life to do battle with monsters and that I believe is what makes racing appeal to everybody. Today , true they are magnificent machines, but they are more robotic than ever and sometimes boring.

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely adore how technology has become and changing how we live. But technology sometime removes the human involvement and therefore I believe, entertainment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • torque on Mar 22, 2014 at 10:20 am

Well said from ur point of view bro…well said!

• Jaybond on Mar 24, 2014 at 9:29 am

You are correct bro, the 1980s & early 1990s are actually the golden age of auto racing.From F1 to Group C/IMSA GTP Racing to Group B/A Rally, all were spectacular showcase.

• Toyota fan on Mar 21, 2014 at 6:22 pm

This downsizing of engines to 1600cc (with turbo) pushing out >600hp is not new. It has been used by other types of races too, notably Volvo s40s.

To get this power from a small turbo charged engines, 2 things are different from the race engine of yester years i.e.

1) lower compression ratios (6.0 and below) for these turbo engines; and
    2) very high octane fuel (RON150 and above)

The question, going forward, are turbo engines of the future going to run on very high octane and very low compression ratios?

• The sound is just a minor inconvenience. I think F1 is moving to the right direction.
    Next year we have Honda joining in, and I predict more manufacturer would be interested in joining F1 in the coming years. Love to see VW, Toyota, PSA Peugeot Citroen or Ford join the fun.

• The lack of noise just takes the excitement out. It’s like watching any epic movies using a netbook

• axel_stig (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Stig approved! Good write up

• Baja Lapis Seng on Mar 21, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Innovative? Yes. Exciting? No….

• Denaihati on Mar 21, 2014 at 10:22 pm

Big challenge for F1 manufacturer but technology will never end until end of the world… for us it is so interesting to see this changes.
    engine noise heard on TV is very different from the real situation which would continuous listen before sleeping …. heee.

• It’s a good concept actually… Well, all this complaining & shits will go away in the passage of time… But I can’t deny that im gonna really miss those Naturally Aspirated engines..!!

• heybadigol on Mar 21, 2014 at 10:51 pm

F1 has to move with the times. Does’nt have to mean its dumbed down. Just that it has to be current. Petrol prices are sky high and with the world more interested in green causes, it would be vulgar to continue having screaming V12s or V8s that guzzle fuel like there’s no tomorrow racing around the tracks. By being current, F1 can attract more sponsors and engine/power unit builders (say hello to Honda who will return to F1 in 2015) to join F1.

The fact that the engines don’t sound good is not the fault of the regulations, its because the engine builders have failed to come up with an engine that sounds good (honestly, I like the turbo woosh, but the exhaust note is a bit like a lawnmower). The only fault of the new regs is the limit in engine revs, which explains the quieter cars this year. But seriously, even the previous V8s were so loud, you needed to wear earplugs if the cars were going full blast, else you’d go deaf quickly. So the sound you hear is still limited anyway. Just that you can FEEL the engine vibration through your body. Now you dont need earplugs anymore, which I presume will result in same noise levels as the old V8s but listened through an earplug. Admittedly, the vibration is much less felt. As for the weak engine note/sound, i’m sure the engine (I mean power unit) makers can come up with better sounds soon. Its only been 1 race. Give them a break. I remember Senna’s turbo Honda from 1988, which was a V6 with an even lower displacement (1.5 litres), and it sounded throaty & marvelouss!! If it can sound this good in 1988, surely it can sound good now or even better. Refer here for the actual sound of that 1988 engine: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IcmKJ5MhDh8

• formerfan on Mar 22, 2014 at 9:23 am

1. MGU-H does not completely eliminates turbo lag.
      2. The engine is not crazily boosted either due to fuel flow limit thus limiting the peak power to around 600hp.
      3. The fuel flow limit also prevents the team from running their engine to the max rev allowed 15k (They actually pointlessly increase the limit from the initial 12k). Makes the car sound very flat.
      3. Progress by the rule is not really progress. Road car development still ahead of F1. Le Mans is much better. Porsche chose Le Mans instead of F1
      -Direct injection – DONE
      -Brake-by-Wire – DONE
      -MGU-K – DONE
      -MGU-H – Electric turbo compounding not exactly new idea. Probably not as useful.
      5. There will be an engine development freeze anyway.
      6. Coasting and short shifting is not exactly entertaining. Once this engine matures, we’ll most likely will get back to the usual procession. In fact, Melbourne was boring and underwhelming, in my view.
      7. The sound is very bad. Monotonous and quiet. Even the safety car sounds much better. Toto Wolff thinks something has to be done with it. Probably something will be done. Thank goodness

P/S – Why exactly F1 car needs to have similarity with yo mama’s Camry? F1 car is a thoroughbred race car designed specifically to race, two different car with different purpose. I want F1 car to be exotic not just some glorified Prius.

• average joe on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:15 pm

there is no replacement for displacement.full stop.

• holofanboi on Mar 22, 2014 at 12:11 am

Well put. I do agree that TECHNOLOGY wise F1 is finally moving in the right direction!

Small gripe though – Im not in the slightest bit jnterested in the drivers. All these talk about ‘skill, unpredictability and excitement’.l is pointless to me. F1, at its core is the perusal of technology to obtain NUMBER ONE no matter what!

True, we have a human inside and thanks to that alone advancements and understanding of chassis design for safety have improved by leaps and bounds since 1984.

All this butthurt talk from ‘fans’ of F1 and the incessant complains about Vettel dominating (I could care less abt him) are the same people immortalizing Ayrton Senna and so-called skill. Skill is bound to become irrelevant from car to car the more advancements are made.

Thanks to silly rregulations to curb spending and even more wastage of time spent on marketing and ‘driver interviews’ advancements in F1 is held back in one aspect or another.

F1 should be all about the tech going into the car. The driver getting podium is simply a secondary bonus.

• BLT Club (Member) on Mar 22, 2014 at 1:18 pm

By your logic, F1 should be run like a sim, say iracing? What is the point of having drivers if their skill is irrelevant? You missed the point man, F1 is about the drivers as much as the tech. Remember the battles Senna-Prost, Schumacher-Hakkinen-Hill-and any driver that got in Schumi’s way. The rivalry makes F1 special, the struggle between man and machine, the ability of a driver to handle an monster esp in the days of 1,200hp engines in the wet. The drivers make F1 special. If you don’t understand that, you don’t understand F1 at all.

• AVH (Member) on Mar 22, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Than I think you might as well watch DARPA Grand/Urban Chellenge. All of the tech, none of the driver. Sure it is much slower than F1 or a senior citizen on the NKVE, but there’s all the tech advancement you could possibility dream for autonemous driving that the ‘driver’ is just irrelevent.

• Nabill on Mar 22, 2014 at 1:40 am

i think once all da cars are reliable and be able to finish races , and the top guys start to get near the podium ,only then it wil get the fans back,u wil always watch f1 no mater what cars thy use,but for excitement when need the big teams win,lets face it,its them that make f1 exciting…

• norman on Mar 22, 2014 at 11:11 am

For a 1.6 V6 turbo producing 600hp its already fast than one can imagine..nevermind the sound..still can get 335kmh witout fuss

• kami (Member) on Mar 22, 2014 at 1:44 pm

haha so many so-called f1 fans talking bS abt noise,v8,v6,turbo.
    fact: f1 is boring since many years ago. last real rivalry..schumi vs hakkinen.

• racefan on Mar 22, 2014 at 2:25 pm

F1 will continue to lose it’s attractiveness to spectators. It is struggling to remain relevant to joe public. Part of the problem is the old folks that still run the show. Times are changing fast. I for one stopped following F1 dilligently for many years now. Boring.

On the rise however is Le Mans 24 and the World Endurance Championship that includes LM24. The manufacturers see more relevance there and its getting stronger. We now have Audi, Toyota, Porsche and more from next year. Even Ferrari is working on an LMP1 car.

This gripping documentary on Audi’s 2011 Le Mans 24 season says it all. The technology is high.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=27F26UA1i6M

In that 2011 race, after 24 hours of all out sprint, the no 1 car (Audi) and no 2 car(Peugeot) were separated by only 13 seconds at the finish line. If that is not close racing, I don’t know what is. We sometimes don’t even see that sort of margin in a 1.5 hr F1 race.

• bluebird on Mar 22, 2014 at 3:03 pm

I went to watch F1 live race in Sepang once before. I fell asleep mid way through the race. It was that boring.
    People will stand up when cars race past you, then sit back down to stand up again when the same cars race past you again. Rinse and repeat.

• davidletterboyz on Mar 22, 2014 at 6:16 pm

“They sounded like that in the ’80s, and nobody gave two hoots back then…”
    I disagree. You should go and replay some F1 videos from the 80s. The current F1 cars sound nowhere close to them!

• Ganni on Mar 22, 2014 at 10:36 pm

I miss the 2004 era where imho it is the fastest f1 car ever..agreed that f1 still moving forward in term of the technology..
    but in term ofspeed..oh good..it is getting slower..compared with 2004 spec..2014 spec getting slower by almost 10 sec (referring to melb track record)..im getting frustrated ever since..
    In term of the sound..this yr is really worst of all time..f1 lost its trademark..nuff said..
    F1 is moving fwd in term of technology but slowly lost its excitement..

thanks to poohead max mosley..

• Hi, thank you for explain it from pit-lane…

But, we are on grand-stand. We need noise, we need drama…we are the one who pays…

• i agreed with the explaination regarding moving fowards towards better tech but don’t u think most of the fans from all over the globe that come to see F1 race live at track and those who watch through tv bcos of the excitement of F1 cars by their roar engine sound that give us chill?? This is racing show not a geneva motor show

• Interesting article but I have to questions some of the facts.

Firstly, NO. the MGU-H does not negate the need for a wastegate. The MGU-H cannot totally replace the function of the wastegate.

Secondly, instead of using MGU-H to spool up the turbo and eliminate lag, wouldn’t it be simpler to just use MGU-K(KERS) to propel the car and cancel turbo lag??

• Fuel Cell Phone on Mar 24, 2014 at 1:27 am

hmm… ferrari with 1.6 turbo engine…

• Jaybond on Mar 24, 2014 at 9:17 am

Have to agree on that, the sounds of the current turbocharged F1 cars are more muted compared to the 1980s turbocharged F1 monsters.And also lacks any anti-lag/bang-bang system sounds a la Rally cars. While F1 is a racing technological showcase, the soul is also just as important which of course relates to the car’s sound. Unless FIA plans to do something to improve this, F1 racing is getting more boring these days..

• Kralkhan on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:33 am

After reading the many posts on the new sound of F1 in this blog and other auto related blogs, I think some actually like the new sound. I am not disputing that. But if you were to watch F1 mostly on your comfortable couch, then the sound might not make much difference. You will still enjoy the ‘race’ with all the straight line speeding and overtaking. But if you were to watch it on the race track you will surely notice the big difference between the sound that the new technologically advanced engines make and that of those V8s of previous years. Does it matter? In my opinion a resounding YES. Why, ask yourself, if all those F1 cars were to be all electric and assuming that they are the most technologically advanced engines available, would you still be likely to enjoy the race without hearing anything that the engine make? Unlikely. Moving with the times is good, the prospects of F1 technology that can be made available to road cars are great, going green is the future, taking away the wow factor is surely not the way forward.

• I’m sorry writer, Jonathan Lee, but you simply can’t compare a road car engine with an F1 engine because road engine has to comply with many contraints such as fuel efficiency, emissions, and durability.

Second, 2014’s F1 turbo engine isn’t that powerful at all. Go back to the 80s and you’ll have 900HP on a 1.5L Turbo.

I think having young drivers on podium has nothing to do with the new regulations. It has to do with teams bringing talent into the sport. So thank teams like RedBull, Toro Rosso, and Mclaren for taking a risk. Rather than have paid drivers filling the grid and behaving like idiots on track.

I do enjoy the new engine focused formula but the lack of noise is simply unacceptable. Let me explain, If you goto a concert, do want it to be quiet like a library? Or do you want the volume to be full blast so that everyone in a 5KM radius knows there is a concert in session? There is no sense of occasion when the noise of the cars are absent. why bother attending the race live anyway? So consequently, F1 will be at a lost there.

I’m surprised that you have neglected other bad things about this year’s F1.
    1. They are slower than last year’s F1. In fact, they are so slow, GP2 is nearly as fast as today’s F1.
    2. The ugly nose. The idea of the nose is to make the cars safer in an event of a crash. However, the rule makers failed again. If you see the crash between Kobayashi and Massa. You’ll find that Kobayashi’s car submarined into (dived under) Massa’s car. this shows that the cars are not safe because Kob could still be killed or seriously injured from Massa’s car.
    3. What about is silly double points system. Oh that is just heresy!

Reality is that Jean Todt is also concern about all these criticism from fans. I think they will fix it next year, I mean they MUST!!

• zigen on Mar 31, 2014 at 12:14 pm

hmm…i doubt most of the spectators watching the F1 are experts as you guys, including me, i don’t care how FIA change the regulations but for so many year and the high pitch sound creating from the engine has become a trademark for the F1 sports, i really can’t imagine F1 car cruising at 300km/h but the sound created was only the sound from the tyre contact with the track…