GALLERY: 2014 Honda City spec-by-spec comparison

If you think we’ve covered all possible angles of the 2014 Honda City by now, well, you thought wrong, as here comes our spec-by-spec comparison of the four available grades in Malaysia. The new City’s prices vary from RM75,800 for the base S to the range-topping V’s RM90,800, and the like-for-like pictures below show you all their differences.

Obviously, all the fancy features (platinum grille, 16-inch wheels, touch-sensitive multimedia head unit and automatic air-con controls, six airbags) are exclusive to the most expensive Grade V, while the entry-level variant appears rather basic in comparison (silver-painted grille, 15-inch steel wheels with covers, single-DIN head unit, manual air-con, dual airbags).

Meanwhile, the S and S+ models are also marked out by their conventional front fender indicators and body-coloured door handles, next to the E and V’s wing mirror-mounted LED repeaters and chrome grips. Beyond the obvious are smaller spec changes too, such as the traditional antenna on the S, as opposed to the stylish shark fin-like item on the others.

A Grade V example fitted with the optional Modulo and Premium packages are pictured below too. You can refer to the official spec sheet for a more detailed list of the equipment spread. With such big differences in prices though, it’s fair to say that you get what you pay for with Honda’s new Toyota Vios rival. Or should we say Vios-beater? Find out in our initial drive report of the new City.

2014 Honda City Grade V with Modulo and Premium packages

2014 Honda City Grade V 2014 Honda City Grade E 2014 Honda City Grade S+ 2014 Honda City Grade S

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Aceonz on Mar 21, 2014 at 10:19 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 230
    • Honda Queen of Thrash on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:22 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 244 Thumb down 411
      • AVH (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 12:12 pm

The hate in this guy is very strong.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 251 Thumb down 34
        • calcutta on Mar 21, 2014 at 3:50 pm

i’m curious to see what kind of car he is driving (i bet its bus or lorry)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 17
      • Almera on Mar 21, 2014 at 12:13 pm

If thats the case then all CKD and local made cars also the same ady. That goes to all CKD BMW, Merc, Toyota, Nissan, Mitsubushi, VW, etc. All also MADE IN MALAYSIA what whether is DRB, ETC, Naza or UMW.
        In that case don’t buy car lo, jalan kaki cukup for you.
        Just wondering if you one day have the money to get a good decent car, will you buy a Saga SV like what you claim or buy other brands of car??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 8
      • magpie on Mar 21, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Toyola salesman enters panic mode..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 197 Thumb down 13
      • its other ppls money.. let them decide to buy or to throw their money..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 2
      • Vader on Mar 21, 2014 at 1:06 pm

Since Benz unter DRB too, so the benz is no different compare to Saga. =)
        If you statement make you happy when drive saga but feel happy as drive benz, why not?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 4
      • hondiehardfan on Mar 21, 2014 at 1:12 pm

work harder, earn more than u can buy honda. If u cant buy, dont stop people from buying it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 4
        • Toyota King of RV on Mar 21, 2014 at 2:24 pm

That queen trash must be must be very jealous that Honda and Toyota miles better than junkproton.Accept the facts,Potong will bungkus very very soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 39
      • hippi on Mar 21, 2014 at 2:44 pm

pity u..peanut brain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Same Lor on Mar 21, 2014 at 2:53 pm

This is a typical guessing for those who can only spend time in the J class Proton.

Don’t simply talk and get a test drive bro!

If you can’t afford, it is ok deceiving yourself that your saga sv is the best, but no need to show the world of your stupidity.

“Milo tin, outdated and useless gear box, engine no power + fuel sucker, and no RV..” they are perfectly match with your J class Saga.

*J = junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 27
      • Potong is for people who cant afford the import cars and Honda is for people who can afford the cheap but good quality import car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
      • Car Fanatic on Mar 23, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Numnuts…. do you know fiat ownes ferrari…. does this mean people whi r paying for ferrari actually getting fiat….

• magpie on Mar 24, 2014 at 9:41 am

hyundai salesman enters panic mode

• Honda Queen of Thrash, in your opinion, what car can meet your expectation with price less than RM90k? Or you are currently making a car with all the spec that you are demanding with price less than RM90k?

• engine no power ??
        u wan so much power to bang wall ??
        ridiculous~~

• never mind, people are still happy to pay so much money for a Honda than a Proton, even u say it is a milo tin or over price…people jus like the H compare to the P ^^ simple as this~

• Milo tin ? i suppose u are poor enough to buy a honda , continue with ur proton and sees how ur resale values and problems coming faggot

• Why is the Blue colour V grade City shown here comes with silver painted grill and not platinum grille as stated?

• True.. just came back from having a look at the car in the flesh and it is not platinum grille. But I found out that we can upgrade to leather seats with a RM2,800 extra. Apart from that, I feel that the car’s metal feel a little ‘thin’, like some kinda milo tin. Maybe it’s just high tensile steel and it makes the car lighter?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • What (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 10:27 am

Confirm vios and Sam Loo bungkus..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 6
    • Whut (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 1:08 pm

City S grade > Preve R3. Enuf said lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 34
      • why always Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • Same Lor on Mar 24, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Coz the Proton fanboys keep on thinking their cars are more worthy and good build quality.

We are just keep on repeating the fact (Proton is a J class).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • Hasrol on Mar 22, 2014 at 6:13 am

Toyota camry> Proton Tiara R3.enuf said.

• Cheung TH on Mar 21, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Vios sales will not lose to this new city in Malaysia Boleh land.
      trust me. I know.

Even thought Vios Technlogy is older than City, at least is already proven to be more durable.

Also if still do not believe, u may go ask around second hand car dealers and also old mechanics . they will give you the real answer provided you very close with them la.
      suddenly go ask sure they will not tell the truth la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 36
    • samoron on Mar 21, 2014 at 2:14 pm

He won’t bungkus lah…he will be busy taking in vios at super low price.

• Vader on Mar 21, 2014 at 10:39 am

S+ and E spec look good, i think majority will go for these 2 model.
    S spec is a bit low spec and v spec is a bit high price.
    However, as long as you like it and afford it, then go for it since there is no answer which is the best choice!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
  • Faisal on Mar 21, 2014 at 10:47 am

rear drum brakes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 24
  • Frankly, everything ok for S except the audio compartment. It is damn ugly and damn empty without the LCD!!! i would spend more for V

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Hazel on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:01 pm

More interesting that the S spec audio system came from alpine. Not bad.

• I like this model very much. However, I’ll wait for City Hybrid for greener environment & greater fuel efficiency :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • hippi on Mar 21, 2014 at 2:45 pm

greater fuel efficiency yes but greener environment…??

• Greener environment as the electric is used during the idling time instead of using petrol that emit non-environmental friendly gas, IMHO.

• azhar on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:02 am

the original design is sporty enough..that Modulo bodykit is a bit of an overkill

• amran haslun on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:07 am

no reverse camera, fabric seats n no leather seats
    luckily i bought the previous E+

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
    • Sayla Jealous & butthurt :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • hondiehardfan on Mar 21, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Aiyo bad for u, few months later this come out

• No paddle shifter, i can accept. But No reverse camera even for the highest spec….something wrong with the honda planning department!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Actually just think about it and compare the previous E+ price with new V spec.
        Old E+ = RM 93700
        New V = RM 90800
        The difference in 3k meant losing the leather seats, paddle shift and rear disc break but at the same time a lot more added features into the car. So overall i think we consumers gained instead of lose. With that 3k you can go change to leather seats.

• Yes you are lucky if with the RM5k discount. Otherwise new city will be the better choice.

• Acrix on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:08 am

Is it a Vios beater? Lets make a comparison with what City has to offer vs the Vios.

City: Larger interior, 50mm wider wheelbase, VSA, 6 airbags, hill start assist, emergency stop signal, 7″ infotainment, auto climate control, rear aircond vents, cruise control, 8 speakers, hands free telephone, voice recognition control, probably better fuel efficiency, price V (RM90800)

Vios: Leather seats, rear disc break, price G(RM88513.50), TRD(RM93213.50)

Anything i missed?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 4
  • carscene (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:09 am

Looks nice but the touch screen in the V model appears a bit out of place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • johnjjj on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:10 am

now… lower down jazz price please..

• For my opinion, the V spec with cruise control, VSA,& nice meter is even better than Toyota Altis 1.8 (without cruise control & VSA, ugly meter compare to 2.0)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • and 0-100km is faster than Altis 1.8 :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • FD, I’m comparing on spec with reasonable price. Yes, Altis 1.8 is faster, but how much you gonna to pay more?

• kunarra on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:11 am

Hafriz, can you share the picture of the back seat folded to larger compartment. Does all the models available for this mode? Thanks.

• Nothing really ground breaking but this is what we expect from buying a car in the first place esp the V grade. Hope Honda does raise then benchmark for all Sushis to follow.
    Kill the arrogant UMW pls…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • bdkbasket on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:16 am

Not sure if new city or old vios quality…the interior is so dull compared to the previous one…pay 90k still got rear drum brakes…
    btw, they dont even care bout your comment section thoughts though…

excuse my grammar, i’m stupid…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
    • parkjw on Mar 21, 2014 at 12:06 pm

yes indeed you are. because you overlooked VSA and 6 airbags and rather get a rear disc but without VSA you will still end up in the drain. why you need disc brakes at the rear? you race with 1.5 NA? drum can perform as good as discs given the weight ratio and the weak engine. why add more weight using disc if drums can do the same job?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
  • It is funny that the marketforce in Malaysia are keeping this low end product with such a high price in the business. Since when Toyota and Honda are bring in new things in their car? However, their product is still selling so well with exceptionally poor price to quality ratio. Look at what car like Cerato bring on the table, even their Japanese counterpart like Mazda is improving. Honda and Toyota just doesn’t give a **** at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • Toyota King of RV on Mar 21, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Cerato syok sendiri only.Cerato have so many advanced items because Kia people knows it cannot sell.At the end still hard to sell.New Sylphy is coming and will bury Cerato kow kow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
      • yeah.. and kia is not that cheap nowadayas.
        zaman forte ok lah

• bius dogong on Mar 21, 2014 at 10:03 pm

That is what happened in our country Only..

• trinity on Mar 22, 2014 at 12:04 am

if we can have more why we shud settle for less … Cerato is way better because its in different class of car

• Yes Mazda has improved but not in Malaysia.

See example of recent launch Mazda 3.

• hondiehardfan on Mar 22, 2014 at 12:10 pm

I noticed cerato on klang everyday, but its the sam car!and only 3 of them! Pity cerato owner, conned by kia throwing eveything in the car after 6 months launch, yet the sale is very2 low..pity the 1st batch less accesories and warranty period even their car skd (not cbu, same par with ckd)…thats why cerato owner very butthurt nowi

• Allen Teo on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:22 am

Fabric seat?!!?!! spend so much yet still get Fabric for V spec? honda is trying to give less n ask for higher price…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
    • AVH (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 12:31 pm

And when the Leather seat comes, we will demand for projector lamps or LED rear lights or rear seat entertainment or massage seats. Honestly there wll be no end to satisfy our greed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
      • Nicholas on Mar 21, 2014 at 1:06 pm

This is not even an unreasonable demand because their rival are giving us leather seats… Your butt will be on the seat every time you drive don’t you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
        • AVH (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 1:56 pm

Its fair to say that only 2 out of the 7 cars in the B-segment is equipped with Leather seats which are the rather excellent Mirage and the Vios TRD Sportivo. Okay in terms of price range, there’s also the Preve LE. But you should also be reasonable to compare what this has and those dosen’t? The other B-segment dosen’t get nearly the safety spec as this car gets nor the power and the price.

Perhapse it is my displesure with Leather seats that got in my way. I am more concearn on the drivability and safety of the car than most features. But maybe its the way Allen say it that makes me feel like people will always find fault of the cars no matter how good.

Until the day we can get W222 S-class spec car for the price of a Preve, this debate will rage on, and even perhapse than, people will still keep finding faults.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • Allen Teo on Mar 21, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Well… at least some leather seats make us more comfortable while driving don’t u agree? Fabric can be as comfortable as leather or mayb more comforatble but if other manufacturer can throw in leather seat y not honda? jst compare the seats not the other accessories.

• Like AVH said, there is no perfect car for everyone. It is always a compromise between price, specs and branding. Buy the car that most fit your needs.
          Since you are commenting about other rivals (which probably imply Vios) give leather seats lets compare the difference between these cars shall we. I shall quote from the earlier comment by Acrix here.

City: Larger interior, 50mm wider wheelbase, VSA, 6 airbags, hill start assist, emergency stop signal, 7″ infotainment, auto climate control, rear aircond vents, cruise control, 8 speakers, hands free telephone, voice recognition control, probably better fuel efficiency, 536 liter boot, price V (RM90800). If add Modulo package (RM3200) Total RM 94000.

Vios: Leather seats, rear disc break, price G(RM88513.50), TRD(RM93213.50)

Honestly once put it this way, Vios will lose out in terms of value when the add on entertainment system on the Vios will be an additional RM2-3k when its already given in the City V.
          Another point to add which i am sure most people will overlook is the pricing of the previous City E+ and the new City V. The E+ was selling at RM93700 while this new V is selling at RM90800 which was a 3k decrease in price compared to Vios where UMW actually increased the price for the new model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
          • Vios like proton currently reduces RM2500 in most vios variant. Promotion and marketing…customers win

• Go wrap la. Few k Nappa leather also better than the so-called “combination” leather la.

• lemonguy on Mar 23, 2014 at 8:07 am

Leather seat at this weather sometimes can be very torturing especially when you’re doing sales. Hot!

• i prefer fabric seat, leather seat is make my ass getting hot only, lolll
      am i correct ??

• Steel rims…???? Seriously..???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Mrkonarleper on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:27 am

honda still the best then vios..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • But non of them have lifetime power window warranty, turbo and Lotus handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • You practically need not to have any warranty for Honda engines..and it has i-VTEC and Honda handling.

• for those with budget less than 80K, will still go for Vios or Almera as the interior of City S and S+ are too ugly. For budget more that 80K definately will go for City E or V as more safety feature, tech inside

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • vee-oh on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:32 am

i am pretty sure Toyota salesman will say “V spec also no rear disc brake.better buy Vios TRD”..but that’s it.What Vios TRD lose out are VSA, 6 airbags, hill start assist, emergency stop signal, 7″ infotainment, auto climate control, rear aircond vents, cruise control, 8 speakers, hands free telephone, voice recognition control…wow!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
  • japan = sushi
    korea = kimchi
    UK = Fish & Chip?
    America = burger?
    Germany = sausage?
    India = prata / canai?
    Malaysia = tin milo?
    China = ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
  • izack04 on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:42 am

Sori to say… but my eyes look that the new city more towards proton preve…. the back and front have the same characteristic, accept for the nose grill. Maybe that only my sore eyes….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • nobody cares about ur eyes..
      u like preve just buy preve.. u like city just buy city.. simple as that..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
      • he already said maybe his sore eye..no need to be sarcastic..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • izack04 on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:10 am

I do love the last gen city and i do like preve. Both of them are good cars. But the new city design have some similarity such as perdana previous model with alfa romeo. I dont have enough money to buy either of this car… but i am a honda owner. So don’t be angry with my comment. I’m just saying out of my personal opinion.

• eVaz88 on Mar 21, 2014 at 12:16 pm

u mean “except”? Still, 76k without sport rims.. how to accept it

• Toyota King of RV on Mar 21, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Only Sohai like you will buy a dead brand’s car.Never mind your Preve will be the last Preve sold in Malaysia.After that Preve bungkus already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
    • autodriver (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 8:31 pm

If you wear glasses then time to change. If you didn’t wear glasses, please go check up and start wearing. I seen the real car at showroom but I couldn’t link it up with any Preve shadown at all. Doesn’t make sense if Japanese need to imitate Msia car.

• the car looks nice, but i wonder how the radio works as there is no 1,2,3,4,5,6 options for the normal multimedia head unit…

• the interior is to dull same like vios.. compare to Suprima. I have to say, interior wise, i would prefer Suprima. I know many of you guys would agree on this but due to your ego, you wont accept the fact.. In-terms of exterior and interior design, Honda and Toyota are losing it rapidly while the Korean’s car is coming up and the only Japanese car that wiling to use “Form Follows Function” is the Mazda. Keep it up Mazda, you never fail to amaze us with unique design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
    • anyone making comparison against proton memang tak reti tgk kereta..because of f**kin proton we pay expensive cars for other model..kalau kualiti bagus takpe but like s**t and yet the we as the consumer has to be patient…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 32
      • Everybody have their own point of view and taste about cars. There is no such thing as perfect car. I thnk you sir, need to wash your mouth with Cili Api, gooshh is so dirty. In this website, we are allowed to express our thoughts about that particular car. unlike you sir, sure you can design a better car. There is nothing wrong of comparing it. As a designer, we critic on other peoples work and provide better solution not by bashing around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • heybadigol on Mar 21, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Its interesting that the cheapest model has a double DIN slot for headunit. Just perfect for those who find the standard headunits underwhelming in sound quality (which is usually the case anyway, unless the “standard” soundsystem has Mark Levinson written on it). Can just get a new better quality headunit with touchsreen, navi, etc that will fit in nicely to the slot. Only thing is, the airbag count is only 2 in the el cheapo model. Unlike headunit, you can’t retrofit airbags. So one has to do proper cost vs benefit analysis carefully before chosing. Would have been better if customers can customize what goes into the car (buy basic, then add options) like how car dealers sell in the US (except for Honda US dealers). But that would make the cars more expensive here, as there isnt enough economies of scale at the production side.

• Denaihati on Mar 21, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Everything looks good, now just waiting for paultan test drive review.

• Hang on,is this what you’re looking for? ._. :
      http://paultan.org/2014/03/05/driven-2014-honda-city-vtec-previewed-phuket/

• AVH (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 12:28 pm

I believe Honda is basing the Honda City S towards the Japanese style of base spec cars. In Japan, base spec cars often comes with steel rims and no In car entertainment at all. Audio/Nav 8 speaker head unit in the base Toyota Noah is a 360k yen(Thats RM12k!)option. But base spec cars usually have VSC standard along with 3 airbags(option for 4 more is a 46k yen(RM1.3k)option). This is because Japanese people have a habit of outfiting(modifying) their cars to various degree, the rims and audio unit will change towards what the buyers think will suit their identity.

I have no idea why Honda thought is a good idea to have this option in Malaysia, but perhapse they are so determine to kill the Vios J they had to bring it. Honestly, unless you are buying for a company car, there is absolutely no reason for topping up RM3k for the improvement in the S+, whose spec is more comparable to the outgoing Grade S(RM83k).So the Honda City gets a plathora of improvement in specs with similar pricing but still can never change some of the sheer Japanese hate in the comments.

• sharuz on Mar 21, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Buy preve laa..way value for money..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 37
    • Windows Rosak Oh Nooo on Mar 21, 2014 at 7:45 pm

Yaa value for money. Nanti tak sampai setahun dah mula buat “perangai”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • semua kereta ada perangi…
        value for money.
        car, drive you from point A to point B.

• roxas on Mar 21, 2014 at 1:54 pm

erm, the S have smoked headlights

• Enough of this Siti! More news for Proton please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • the big boss in proton pun resign sbb tak tahu apa nak buat dgn proton..and u want more news…??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • roxas on Mar 21, 2014 at 2:13 pm

even the cheaper’s one looks more premium than the vios j

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Pororo on Mar 21, 2014 at 2:45 pm

I want to ask opinion… currently, my fav B- Segment are Kia Rio and this new Honda City.. Which one is better, more reliable, good FC, or i can say, Puas hati gila2 lah kalau angkat and use it for a long period… and please, dont mention here about RV, i dont care at all about RV..

• Josh Ling on Mar 21, 2014 at 4:25 pm

depends on your need actually, and mind you, one is hatchback and another one is sedan. if more reliable and better FC, of course City will be the choice, since it’s proven.

But like I always say to my friends who want to buy new cars, go try out first before you decide. test drive them both to see which one suits you better, and compare them spec to spec and think about what is your priority. that should make your decision making easier.

• I was actually considering those two cars eventho I know its like comparing an orange with an apple.
      However, after I test drove both cars, I found that the City have a waaaaaaaay better driving feel than the Rio which I think because of the CVT engine.
      After a few long weeks of thinking, I chose to get a Honda City E over Kia Rio SX due to these reasons:
      1. better fuel efficiency
      2. more power on the engine (unfair comparison since city is 1.5, rio is 1.4 but meh its not that much different)
      3. bigger (a lot) interior space
      4. less maintainence needed (the SA said its every 6 months or 10K km which ever comes first)
      5. The salesman from Honda was so much better in selling his product than Kia’s. The guy I met from Kia was not serious at all, and he was trying to get me to buy from his “friend’s” dealer shop instead of Kia Showroom..sounds a lil bit fishy.
      7. I was thinking to use this car for a long period, and I think soon when I have kids i dont have to worry about getting a bigger car. :)

Hope this helps in your decision making. I still feel the urge to get the Rio since it looks sporty and more trendy but hey, looks will fade by time..so better make the best use of your money.

• phoqlae on Mar 21, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Why in range-topping V spec also don’t have reverse camera? RM7k different from E spec, the reverse camera still not available. Come on Honda. The reverse camera is also one the features people nowadays looking for!

• Josh Ling on Mar 21, 2014 at 4:31 pm

saw the real car this morning. pleasantly surprised and rather disappointed at the same time. the rear legroom, for instance, is not as spacious as some of the writers here said, even though it has the same wheelbase length as Almera. Almera still beats City when it comes to rear legroom.

The rest of the car is very bare and basic (i only got the chance to look at an S+ model), i know it suppose to be like the base model, but can Honda at least make the cabin looks less bare and basic?

It’s a gorgeous car I must say, and no doubt it’s gonna do well, but I think only the flagship model (V) can make a very strong case for City. Others less so, especially the S and S+ models.

• Almari? Not wide enough to sit 3 comfortably even. When you talk about basic-looking interior, have a look at Almera E. That is basic.

• axel_stig (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 4:43 pm

so many expert here.. hmmmm..

• people on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Look like persona sv is much better than this overpriced car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
  • autodriver (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 6:39 pm

No doubt the V and E spec are more pleasant. However the instrument panel of S and S+ was so ugly and especially the audio of S spec, speechless.

• have a look of the car this morning. The legroom is ok but sitting three at the back is a squeeze, in particular those sitting in the middle. The car feel ‘thin’, to save on weight thou maintain its rigidity. Otherwise, the exterior and interior is pleasing to the eye. Haven’t has the chance to test drive before confirming on the car of my choice. Personally, after test driving suprima feels good about the car. Except for the FC and probably RV, its good. Just has to test drive the City before deciding, although on paper and the spec given its already a good buy.

• Better you choose a car that compactible to your self.. dont asking bad to others car lorr… each people have a reason why they choose their car.. just look to your self n money first..hehe

• protonkupower on Mar 21, 2014 at 7:41 pm

Wow serious looks like Preve…Honda oh Honda..why are u suka copy cat huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Albert Lee on Mar 21, 2014 at 8:49 pm

The Basic City,you would notice a very plain looking speedometer while the Vios J specs is more pleasant and stylish.
    Anyway,there will always be diehard buyers of Vios and City.We respect their buying decisions.
    However,coming back to Proton,ANOTHER SHOCKING ROUND OF PRICE CUTS!!!!
    Till end March,Protong is sacrificing RM 5K for Suprima and Preve and RM4K for Exoras.
    Proton diehards will grab this opportunity but for PROTON,it is actually BAD NEWS.Due to the basic Vios and City hitting their Suprima sales HARD,Proton has no choice but to slash prices.Stocks are building up at their yards.
    Well,PROTONG,the BLEEDING will continue even with the Global Small Car on its way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Proton offers that discount said to clear last year stock, not for this year model. Similar to city giveaways of RM7k for the previous model. Anyway, good option for the customers all around.

• Albert Lee on Mar 22, 2014 at 2:29 pm

MR.Razz,Now is already towards end March and you say Protong is clearing 2103 stocks.What about this year 2014 stocks?You mean,their 2 plants are slowing down?If you have friends especially at Shah Alam plant ,they are still producing and pressuring dealers and their branches to stock up to their brim.
        Good for Protong diehards but very bad for Protong cos Honda,Toyota practically leading in the 70-85K segment with their basic specs.
        Just check it out, how many Suprimas have been ordered and delivered when you visit Protong’s outlets.

• That’s what the rebate is for as advertised and explained by SA; for car produced in 2013 RM5k rebate for suprima. None for this year model. Good for current proton users, me included that had used 4 models for the last 12 years. No engine problem whatsoever, but has some minor issues that was easily rectified at service centre as long as still under guaranteed. Just wishing to change to a Honda for the sake of change rather than the problem of proton. Already book a city, but still maintain my Exora, its a good family car.

• razz (Member) on Mar 23, 2014 at 2:14 pm

That’s what being advertised and what SA told me; RM5k discount for suprima 2013 and none for this year make. Good for current proton user, me included and those searching value for money. Already owned 4 proton models for the last twelve years, feeling satisfied. Made a booking for the V pec City for the sake of change, and not because of any problem with proton make. But still keeping my Rxora, its a great family car. BTW, vios have a discount of RM2.5k for this month.

• KORpengKIA on Mar 21, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Kia rio anytime than city,rio look more compact n solid,unlike city milo tin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • initial d on Mar 21, 2014 at 9:37 pm

was or is honda city the best in its class? never is and never was. not yet.

• Sam Loo on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:10 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Great comprehensive coverage!!! I love this kind of post, it’s like virtual showroom for me! nope even better than showroom, because normal showroom doesn’t even have all variants at the same time so it’s impossible to compare each variant in one shot.
    Appreciated effort of the photographer as well, as it’s so nice to the extend that angle of photos is similar for each part of the car, made it even easier for comparison.
    Thanks a lot!!!!

Back to this honda city, for my own view, if go for under 80k, I will take vios J, if above 80k, i will take city E :)

• peyno on Mar 22, 2014 at 6:52 am

bye bye VIOS 2 airbags n 4 AT
    Now.. japan wannabe can’t afford real JDM and end up with jepun celup asean made hv many choices now.. vios almera and CITY

• VTECunicorrnFART on Mar 22, 2014 at 11:28 am

if you want vios, better get myvi 1.5 to save your pocket, same toyota technology wth 4AT, same performance, same fuel consumption but myvi se cheaper than vios.
    that new city is amazing with eco button and cvt for less fuel, enough big leg room compared with d segment, 6 airbags, and some more ivtec unicorn fart

• Do You Have a Honda? on Mar 22, 2014 at 12:27 pm

HONDA CITY = Best fuel consumption compared to Vios.

New city dont have paddle shift? :(

• Do You Have a Honda? on Mar 22, 2014 at 12:39 pm

wondering why so many stupid comparing Honda – Proton Malaysia? Its too way far to compared. From interior,exterior,performance & quality Honda will win..damn stupid Proton actually is overprice car..

But still cannot denied that Proton for export market much more better than malaysia market. Potong buyer in malaysia always kena tipu..

• people on Mar 22, 2014 at 10:46 pm

I admit that its not fair to compare proton with honda. How you sure that buying honda will promise there is no problem at all and everything goes perfect. It does not mean driving proton car is stupid. Buying a car is very subjective. With insurance premium goes higher

• Donald on Mar 23, 2014 at 2:43 am

Don’t worry Proton die hard fans. Proton will rebadge this city as proton cd when next generation city come out.

• We are educated enough to judge quality and its our choice to buy which which give best value to our money. But proton car overprice comparatively in local market? Buyers kena tipu?? You judge your views. Let others judge theirs.

• razz (Member) on Mar 23, 2014 at 2:23 pm

We are educated enough to make judgement on own need and search for cars thats best fit your own perception of value for money. Proton overpriced comparatively in Malaysia??Buyer kena tipu??? You make your own judgement. As previous and current owner of proton make, sorry to say it seem you tipu yourself by that overgeneralization.

• My humble comment:
    Still can’t figure out why would Honda Malaysia introduce S spec while OTR price is RM75,800,and interior is damn low cost and without any special function,with the same price (Tan Chong is given 3k rebate),I would rather buy Almera high spec than City S spec. They thought nowadays with the market so congested,people will buy it because it is Honda?
    However, the flagship V spec is definitely a good buy,it will kill off Vios kao kao,and in the meantime,grab some of the kimchi brothers (Elantra and Cerato 1.6)buyers.
    No offense to Honda,just my marketing point of view.Will book my City V spec next week!

• Adhan Hatta on Mar 22, 2014 at 2:00 pm

I already booked Hyundai Elantra, Should i change to this new Honda City Modelo Spec ?

• Albert Lee on Mar 22, 2014 at 7:01 pm

En.Adhan,please quickly go back to the Kimchi showroom,take a HARD LOOK at the dashboard plastics.Is it the same quality as PROTON ? If so,please exterminate your booking and book Honda.

• razz (Member) on Mar 23, 2014 at 2:36 pm

En Adhan, sama je kita sedang cari kereta yang sesuai. Specify our need and budget, look around and make comparison in various aspect including, driving, comfort, safety features, FC, probably RV etc. Plastic??? Look for honest feedback from users such as in this forum and then TEST DRIVE. Then your decision is the best decision.

• mohd fizrill on Mar 22, 2014 at 6:43 pm

nice, the first honda city to have a rear air conditioner vents

• How come only S and S+ have smoked headlamps?? Its looks nicer than the plain one in E and V..

• Anyone can tell me is that the audio unit in V spec equipped with Built-in GPS ??

• SAM LOO NIECE on Mar 23, 2014 at 12:08 am

Covering for sam loo ma, honda city lowest spec very bad ma, dont buy , no RV, drb use spare body panel from plotong

• Sam Loo on Mar 23, 2014 at 12:45 am

There will always be sorhais that buys kimchis.

Great to know, coz they are essential for my business

• Donald on Mar 23, 2014 at 2:44 am

Don’t upset Proton die hard fans. Proton will rebadge this car as proton cd when next generation come out.

• lemonguy on Mar 23, 2014 at 9:00 am

I just hope everyone here sharing car opinions rather than bashing….everyone have their choice to choose whats car suit them the most. Nothing is perfect in this world. Just my 2 sen thought

• Peter on Mar 23, 2014 at 9:12 am

I would get the s version. I just need the good fc to go to work. Dun really need good HU or 16 thin rims as there are plenty on the market. Leather seat? I can wrap them up. Rear camera??? Duhh i’m not a noob driver. My ol civic even dun have a rear parking sensor and still i manage to reverse park. Multiple air bags that can make your car float during flood?? Do i really need that? I got lot of airbags and its a moving tank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • sgdude (Member) on Mar 23, 2014 at 11:19 am

Does the highest spec city is better than the highest spec civic of last year?

• anak malaysia on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:18 am

Last sekali kebanyakkan orang akan beli myvi/alza bcoz…value for money, simple and reliable…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • I think the exterior looks much, much better than the older model. The old one had too many angles, like the designer was bored or something.

Unfortunately I don’t like the interior in this. I can see it getting very dusty and dirty looking. Again, too many angles, nooks, crannies – it’s like they WANT it to look filthy dirty? It reminds me of a 1980’s hi-fi. Sorry but I’m too lazy to clean the interior every other day. The exterior looks great though.

• Jebonr on Mar 25, 2014 at 11:23 am

It’s still look the same to me. But the Hybrid offering is tempting.

• what do u guys think about the touch panel air-con on v spec. is it worth for the money

• Turnip on Mar 28, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Test driven this morning. Excellent drive. CVT engine is smooth with reasonable good pickup. Better than I expected. Downside is the touch panels. Think new owners need to get used to it.

• S and S+ model got smoked headlamp??!!

• keysight on Apr 04, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Good: 6 airbags, rear air cond vent, vsc
    Bad: cvt, no paddle shifter, rear drum brake, ugly audio, plastic dash, dump meter panel.

To me, cvt and no paddle shifter are the deal breaker.

• RedDevils on Apr 09, 2014 at 11:18 am

from what all other users are saying. CVT is a Pro rather than a Con

• saipol on Apr 07, 2014 at 3:17 pm

i had a car already, superb… nice handling, nice pickup no need paddle shifter. must buy it….

• miss ct on Apr 12, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Suke honda ct yg baru..mcm nk beli la… I love my kancil forever..best mini car on earth..syg 2 2 ni.jnji jage baik2… nk beli ape brand pun ok..jgn la hina2 org…we have from kancil to proton then vios n otw honda… all family car n love all..boleh?

• Hishammuddin Hussein on Apr 21, 2014 at 11:33 am

Me minister of transport, recommend u all take flight

• ?? Facts on Apr 25, 2014 at 4:06 pm

if compare by cost 75k

1.Inspira ( Manual no cvt, 2 airbags only) 1.8 Mivec – more fuel
    2.Almera (Space!,ugly – need bodykit)
    3.City (CVT, ivtec, shit airbags, ugly dashboard)
    4.Vios (sit on lowest)

City full spec is reaching near 90k with airbags.

So whos the clear winner in terms of spec and details?. Inspira isnt it?

• Zamani on May 20, 2014 at 10:30 am

My new 2014 Honda City S+ consume 18.6km/litre compared to my previous 2005 Toyota Vios E 20km/litre. 2005 Vios is more fuel saving compared to 2014 City.

• Azrul on May 26, 2014 at 11:56 pm

Just got my city v spec with modulo b.kit. So far very impressive. The car is quiet, not so noisy compare to elantra. Very fuel eficiency. . Drove for 110km in a full tank ( ave. 80-100km/h) and not a single bar reduce on econ mode. No gps n reverse camera but my SA said can order for tht if u want . But i dont remember how much . Te interior is nice. Compared to vios, the interior is so so. Nothing special but city have modern touch and it feels like driving bmw or merc since it have rear aircond, 6airbegs, 8 speakers. Plus they have 2 charging port which is suitable for kids who love to play ipad in the car for a long journey, . So far no regret buying this

• masyi on May 28, 2014 at 3:06 pm

s+ is worth buying…going to get s+

• Los'D on Jun 09, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Hi guys, can u snap a picture of the back passenger door just to see if there is space for cup holder or things Magazine? u guys seems to snap all the photos accept that.:)

• racmar85 on Nov 11, 2016 at 11:12 pm

I don’t agree, look at http://paultan.org/2013/06/24/hyundai-santa-fe-launch-malaysia/