Mercedes-Benz S 63 AMG Coupe: sleek 585 hp bruiser

Mercedes-Benz S 63 AMG Coupé (C 217) 2014

Hot on the heels of the new S-Class Coupe is AMG’s latest take on the big German two-door cruiser – the Mercedes-Benz S 63 AMG Coupe, set to make its debut at the New York Auto Show next month.

Starting with the already gorgeous body of the regular coupe, AMG added their usual kit, including an E 63-esque front fascia, larger side sills and an aggressive rear diffuser design. 19-inch ten-spoke forged wheels are standard, while a choice of 20-inch items are offered as optional extras.

Inside, you get treated to a thicker, more contoured steering wheel, as well as more heavily bolstered quilted leather seats. The aluminium shift paddles are also new, as are the graphics on the digital instrument cluster. AMG logos feature everywhere in the cabin, and a debossed AMG emblem adorns the front armrest.

Mercedes-Benz S 63 AMG Coupé  (C 217) 2014

The real treat, however, is under the bonnet, where you will find AMG’s 5.5 litre twin-turbocharged V8. Carried over from the sedan, it produces a heady 585 hp at 5,500 rpm and a tree-pulling 900 Nm from 2,250 to 3,750 rpm. The seven-speed AMG Speedshift MCT transmission with its three adjustable modes is also from the sedan, as well as the optional 4MATIC four-wheel drive.

Like the sedan, the S 63 AMG Coupe also features a number of weight-saving features, including a lithium-ion battery as well as the standard composite brakes (ceramic composite brakes are optional and save even more weight). As a result, mass has dropped by 65 kg over the previous CL 63.

Despite weighing the same as the long-wheelbase sedan at 1,995 kg, it goes from 0-100 km/h in 0.1 second less – 4.3 seconds for the rear-wheel drive model, 3.9 for the 4MATIC. Top speed as usual is limited to 250 km/h.

Mercedes-Benz S 63 AMG Coupé  (C 217) 2014

Two different types of AMG sports suspension are provided – the 4MATIC gets a version of the standard AIRMATIC air suspension, while rear-wheel drive models get Magic Body Control, including the curve tilting function that made its production debut on the regular coupé.

Sales of the S 63 AMG Coupe will begin next month for the 4MATIC variant, with the rear-wheel drive model joining the lineup in July. Next year will see the introduction of a limited “Edition 1” model, complete with Swarovski-studded LED headlights, designo Exclusive nappa leather seats, high-gloss black poplar wood trim as well as standard-fit Night View Assist Plus.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Aceonz on Mar 21, 2014 at 1:03 pm

damn sexy….

• The Truth About DSG on Mar 21, 2014 at 2:32 pm

VGM will tell Malaysians that the VW cc is far better than this car. They will say both also German brands, why waste money buying Mercedes when VW sama taraf as Mercedes and BMW.

Malaysian towkays will then divert their decision to buy this Mercedes and buy the VW CC. The towkays will believe both VW and Mercedes sama taraf!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • hippi on Mar 21, 2014 at 2:42 pm

and damn expensive

• Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:47 pm

of course what do u expect? u cant expect low price for something good. nothing good in life is cheap

u get what u paid for. if u want incredible technology the epitome of german engineering yet luxurious and sheer opulence

Mercedes Benz, the future of automotive. The best or nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • Pls check if you will, the steering look like that of Mazda 6

• Stim.

• Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 3:31 pm

yup damn stim

btw the steering can fit on my e class coupe or not? got amg badge summore the steering pergh damn chun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
      • Pls check if you don’t believe me, the steering is like those of Mazda 6

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 21, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Will there be an S 65 AMG V12 Bi-Turbo Coupe…?

• This is what we call car design!!! Not some Camry 2.0G X!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • samoron on Mar 21, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Agreed. But for some people, even if a Toy car is fitted with single cylinder engine, 2 speed transmission, no airbags, no traction control, optional wipers and a make-me-puke design, they still think it is the best car in the world with the best RV. Human brain is just amazing.

• Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 3:33 pm

why compare japanese econobox with german engineering? Mercedes truly ahead of the game, that blackened sport rims and red caliper fuhh i plan to do the same on my e class coupe. i want to make my rims black and buy AP racing 8 pots brakes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
      • Ok ok ok.. u got E-Class coupe.. here a potato

• Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:45 pm

yaya how u know i got e class coupe? i am proud owner of e class coupe here. 2 years already and still in love with it <3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • granitefoot on Mar 21, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Sigh….if only I am a multimillionaire……

• kami (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 2:25 pm

oprah’s ass..fugly butt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Is that a digital display speedometer? If its true…I’m impressed. If only I could afford to own one ~ sigh ~

• Sheer class!

• thedarkside on Mar 21, 2014 at 3:25 pm

that is one hot looking merc

• farghmee on Mar 21, 2014 at 3:38 pm

weird…

SLS wannabe?

• Proton Fans on Mar 21, 2014 at 3:38 pm

If Proton R&D and Procurement Dept can put more effort work out with this kind of material or similarly of this car…. I think Malaysian will love to buy Proton then any other brand.

• What with the audi like back design?

• DrCooper on Mar 21, 2014 at 4:21 pm

The dash looks like somebody put 2 Mini tablet PC on the dashboard with speedometer and GPS apps..doesn’t blend with the rest of the interior

• mmaker on Mar 21, 2014 at 4:22 pm

bmw 7 series really behind s class by 100 miles

• Gracke on Mar 21, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Volkswagen Passat CC kinetic DNA!!!!

• This car will give the Bentley GT a run for its money. The gentlemen’s coupe of choice.

• Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 6:57 pm

if i have the money for both i’d still pick bentley continental gt because of the badge and also 4.0 v8 means much cheaper roadtax

• BLT Club (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 8:44 pm

As much as I like this car, I think the gentlemen’s coupe is an Aston, preferably the Vanquish.

• roxas on Mar 21, 2014 at 8:40 pm

awesome in n out ! and a very long tablet as its instruments

• At the back like Passat uncle style.

• Sexy Front… but ugly ass!

• The Rock on Mar 24, 2014 at 9:30 am

Steering look like Kia K5 steering.