Renault Clio RS 200 EDC to launch on March 25, 2014

renault-clio-rs-200-edc-contest

It looks like the Renault Clio RS 200 EDC will be launched next week on March 25, 2014, as revealed by Renault Malaysia’s Facebook fan page. The car will be launched at the Sepang International Circuit, a befitting launch location for a car that shares DNA with its larger sibling the Megane RS, which is very comfortable on the track. According to their FB post, F1 driver Kamui Kobayashi will be at the launch.

The latest generation Clio RS no longer employs a normally aspirated 2.0 litre engine mated to a manual gearbox – it now uses a 200 hp, 240 Nm 1.6 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine that sends powers to the wheels via an EDC gearbox, which is what Renault calls its dual-clutch transmission.

It was previewed in Malaysia this exact day last year in left hand drive form, but we first sighted a red right hand drive car in Malaysia earlier this year in PJ.

Renault Malaysia also invites the public to participate in a Facebook contest where a pair of exclusive invites to the launch can be won. There are a total of four pairs to be won. It involves answering some questions and tagging a friend that you want to go with.

Find out more details about the contest and participate here: Renault Malaysia Facebook contest

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Aceonz on Mar 21, 2014 at 10:20 am

hopefully wont that expensive…

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 10:27 am

Any news about the Clio TCe 120?

• A M Nadzim on Mar 21, 2014 at 10:30 am

hopefully this machine is cheaper than MK7-GTI.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 10:54 am

It should be, cause the Clio competes with the Polo. The Megane is the Golf competitor.

• Motohead on Mar 21, 2014 at 10:48 am

It is in the same class as the Peugeot 208 GTi. But the sales person in PJ once quoted that the Clio price could be ranging from RM160k to RM200k If the 208 GTi could be priced at RM 140k, should we expect good pricing as well from Renault? After all the 208 has the same 200 hp at 5,800 rpm and even better torque of 275 Nm!

• Peter on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:22 am

Darn, its launching before the Fiesta ST.
    Now I don’t know which to get. At least it gives more option, but ST is still many months away =(

• mr_em on Mar 21, 2014 at 11:32 am

I saw a load of 4-5 Clio RS 200 EDC on a transporter from Batu Tiga toll heading to PJ yesterday… sorry was driving so cannot take any photos… definitely saw one in red at the top end of the lorry…

• aiyo..why the dual clutch lah…sure got problem after 2 years+. high maintenance, sure RV is affected. better stick to advanced single clutch with 7 gears minimum

• Peter on Mar 21, 2014 at 3:56 pm

I think this car is using a wet-clutch. Its usually the dry-clutch that has the most problems in “hot Asian traffic jams”

• irenic (Member) on Mar 22, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Priced at RM171k on the road makes this clio expensive rm30k over 208gti. An absolute big win for 208gti. seriously.

Clio rs vs 208gti:

# 197hp / 240nm vs 200hp / 270nm
        # 4 airbags vs 6 airbags
        # 3 years / 100k warranty vs 5 years / unlimited mileage
        # 6 speed automatic dry dual clutch gearbox vs 6 speed manual gearbox
        # 4 doors vs 2 doors
        # no sunroof vs panoramic moonroof
        # limited service center vs many service center
        # worst RV vs worse RV

Just in my honest opinion~

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 22, 2014 at 5:04 pm

The 4 airbags will be of the combined sort, I guess. i.e. Curtain and side airbags combined into one. There is no protection for rear passengers, then again in Europe the rear seats in B segment cars are rarely occupied, so it’s not uncommon that the rear seat curtain airbags are omitted, and only available as an option.

Where did you get the price figure from?

• irenic (Member) on Mar 23, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Well yes they might have a strong reason why the airbags only cover front passenger and driver. However my point is Peugeot does it better by provide airbag for rear passengers as well.

I dont wish to reveal where I got the price from. Some more it was just a rough figure.

Want to know final price with insurance? It’s more than RM172k, closer to RM173k.

• Amirzaheenminhaj on Mar 21, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Great the same day as the all new HTC one launching… I’ll be booking both ya…

• roti canai (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 1:10 pm

cant think of a good reason why you should buy this over the peugeot 208 GTI unless you really hate peugeot

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Looks perhaps. The 208 looks good, but the Clio looks great. Those round shapes… remind a bit of something like an Alfa Romeo 8c. Especially in dezir red.

Also, if you want auto, you’ll have to get the Clio, if you want manual it’s the 208. Or you could get a Fiesta ST. Or a Polo GTI.

Pricing will be crucial here, if they price it like the old Clio RS (around 200k IINM) then it will be dead in the water.

• Peter on Mar 21, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Agree, plus I find the red-bit’s in the 208 really overdone (i.e. to 20-something racer boy look).

• hazamiey on Mar 21, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Guys, i once felt really2 want to buy this car. But since EDC is a dry clutch type dual clutch gearbox, i don’t think it is a good buy here in Malaysia. Lots of people having problems with dry dual clutch gearbox in VW cars. So i don’t expect any better tech from Renault. If want to get an auto for performance car looks elsewhere. Or better stick to manual shifting Fiesta ST.

• VWGTIMALAYSIA on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:22 am

agree with u bro…but read some articles where they said the clio EDC has been used in other Renault’s for the last 3-4 years wout any trouble so we never know if they have a better way out unline my own VW ..grrrrr

• BLT Club (Member) on Mar 21, 2014 at 7:15 pm

A nice proper hot hatch. However based on Top Gear, the gearbox is not up to mark. Of the 208 GTi, Clio, and Fiesta ST, the little Ford comes up on top!

• A sales guy in PJ showroom quote that the price is going for RM169K

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 22, 2014 at 5:05 pm

If that’s true Renault can expect to sell about… 0 of them. That price tag might have been ok a couple of years ago, when there was no competition. But these days there is plenty of cheaper competition (which overseas is not cheaper!).

• Anuar on Mar 21, 2014 at 10:45 pm

nothing special. ugly car.

• irenic (Member) on Mar 23, 2014 at 4:52 pm

For me it looks pretty good. Shame about the price though.

• ahmadfaris93 on Mar 22, 2014 at 3:59 pm

They should sell the normal Clio as well. Price it reasonably enough, people will have more variety besides just Fiesta and 208

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 22, 2014 at 5:07 pm

They said they will, according to PT, though they were mentioning the TCe 120 with EDC dual clutch gearbox, which would probably be the second highest spec (only the RS is more expensive) (lower models are manual only, AFAIK).

• dennisyeoh55 on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:25 am

good to see them back in malaysia as they were so quite. i used to drive both renault n peugot in eurpoe for my past 8 years..i must give a hat to Renault for comfort with performance and yes more reliable and safe then peugot in general.